DETAILED ACTION
This action is a first action on the merits. The claims filed on December 1, 2023 have been entered. Claims 1-14 are pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on December 1, 2023 has been considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “body panel end” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2: Claim 2 recites the limitation "body panel end" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, it is unclear as to which part is consider to the be the “body panel end” as it appears in as if the gutter flange is the body panel end. From review of the Specification as filed on December 1, 2023 (hereinafter Specification), Figure 4 shows gutter flange 30 located at the end of the body panel 14 and there is no part number for the “body panel end” in the Specification. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim 8: Claim 8 recites the limitation "the roof door end" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, it is unclear as to which part is consider to the be the “roof door end”. A review of the Specification as filed on December 1, 2023 (hereinafter Specification) fails to find any mention of “a roof door end” and the drawings do not disclose a door much less a “roof door end”. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner has interpretate the “roof door end” to actually be the “roof panel end”, which is supported by the Specification. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claims 9-14 are subsumed by the previously noted rejections because of their dependance either directly or indirectly. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 8-9, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ido et al., US 2005/0116509 (hereinafter Ido) (all citations are to the English translation dated 2026).
Claim 1: Ido discloses a vehicle sealing junction (Fig 3) comprising:
a roof panel (roof panel 2), a body panel (roof side rail 3) and a frame (rail roof side inner panel 5) (Fig 2-3, par [0027]);
the roof panel (2) having a terminal end (joint portion 15) directed toward the body panel (3) with an apex (semicircular curved surface 12) on the roof panel end (15) extending toward an arcuate portion (recessed portion 16) of the body panel (3) (Fig 2-3, par [0028]);
the body panel (3) including a gutter flange (joint surface 7) extending toward the roof panel end (15), the gutter flange (7) positioned under the roof panel end (15) (Fig 2-3, par [0027]-[0029]); and
the frame (5) providing a securement surface (upper joint surface 10) for the gutter flange (7) (Fig 2-3, par [0027]-[0029]).
Claim 8: Ido discloses a vehicle (see Fig 1) comprising:
a roof panel (roof panel 2), a body panel (roof side rail 3) and a frame (rail roof side inner panel 5) (Fig 2-3, par [0027]);
the roof panel (2) having a terminal end (joint portion 15) directed toward the body panel (3) with an apex (semicircular curved surface 12) on the roof panel end (15) extending toward an arcuate portion (recessed portion 16) of the body panel (3) (Fig 2-3, par [0028]);
the body panel (3) including a gutter flange (joint surface 7) extending toward the roof panel end (15), the gutter flange (7) positioned under the roof door end (15) (Fig 2-3, par [0027]-[0029]); and
the frame (5) providing a securement surface (upper joint surface 10) for the gutter flange (7) (Fig 2-3, par [0027]-[0029]).
Claims 2 and 9: Ido discloses wherein a gap (within recess portion 16) is formed between the roof panel end (15), body panel end (vertical surface 6) and gutter flange (7).
Claims 5 and 12: Ido discloses wherein the roof panel (2) is secured (via weld A) to the body panel (3) (see Fig 4, par [0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 6-7, 10-11, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ido.
Claims 3 and 10: Ido discloses wherein the roof panel end acts as a flange (at joint surface 14) (Fig 3, par [0030]).
Ido is silent as to the flange having a length greater than or equal to 5.5 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to for the flange to have a length greater than or equal to 5.5 mm, since it has been held by the courts that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984),
Claims 4 and 11: Ido discloses wherein the gutter flange (joint surface 7) has a length (see Fig 3, par [0029]-[0031]).
Ido is silent as to the flange having a length greater than or equal to 6.0 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to for the flange to have a length greater than or equal to 6.0 mm, since it has been held by the courts that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984),
Claims 6 and 13: Ido discloses a distance from a roof radius (at end of joint portion 15 end of joint surface 14) to the frame (upper joint surface 10 of rail roof inner side panel 5) (see Fig 3, par [0029]-[0031]).
Ido is silent as to a distance from a roof radius to the frame is less than 3 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to for a distance from a roof radius to the frame is less than 3 mm, since it has been held by the courts that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984),
Claims 7 and 14: Ido discloses a distance from the body panel (at joint surface 7 of body panel 3) to the frame (5) (see Fig 3, par [0029]-[0031]).
Ido is silent as to distance from the body panel to the frame is less than 2.6 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for distance from the body panel to the frame is less than 2.6 mm, since it has been held by the courts that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art of Katsuma, US 2004/0212222 which discloses a vehicle body structure, Reed et al., US 6,578,909 which discloses a vehicle roof structure, and Yoshihide et al., Japanese Patent No. JP 2000247259 A which discloses a roof-molding free body structure are relevant to the claims but were not relied upon in the current rejections.
Claims 1-14 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
/CAROLINE N BUTCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676