DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1 and 11 - 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0239982 A1 to Alameh et al . (“Alameh”, originally cited in IDS filed 1 December 2023) . As per claims 1 and 14 , the claimed subject matter that is met by Alameh includes: a skin contact sensing device (10) comprising (Alameh: Fig. 15): a contact sensor (11) operable to generate electrical contact signals being indicative of a skin contact (Alameh: ¶ 0048 and Fig. 13, 1301 and Fig. 15, 1517, 1533 and 1543); a processor (12) connected to the contact sensor (11) and operable to process the electrical contact signals received from the contact sensor (11) (Alameh: ¶¶ 0048-0049 and Fig. 15, 1501); and a memory (15) connected to the processor (12) and operable to store at least one calibration parameter (Alameh: ¶¶ 0055-0060 and Fig. 15, 1503), wherein the processor (12) is operable to ascertain a skin contact by processing of the electrical contact signals on the basis of the at least one calibration parameter (Alameh: ¶¶ 0048 and 0062-0065) and wherein the processor (12) is operable to read and to obtain the at least one calibration parameter from the memory (15) (Alameh: ¶¶ 0048 and 0055-0065). As per claim 1 1 , the claimed subject matter that is met by Alameh includes: wherein the contact sensor (11) is a capacitive contact sensor (Alameh: ¶ ¶ 0027 and 0048) . As per claim 1 2 , the claimed subject matter that is met by Alameh includes: wherein the memory (15) is a non-volatile memory (Alameh: ¶ 0055) . As per claim 1 3 , the claimed subject matter that is met by Alameh includes: A wearable electronic device (100) comprising at least one of a housing and a frame (101) and comprising the skin contact sensing device (10) according to claim 1 that is on or in at least one of the housing and the frame (101) (Alameh: Fig. 1) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim s 2 - 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alameh in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0134022 A1 to Kim et al . (“Kim” , originally cited in IDS filed 1 December 2023 ) . As per claim 2 , Alameh fails to specifically teach a sensor controller (13) connected to the contact sensor (11) and controllable by the processor (12), wherein the processor (12) is operable to switch off the sensor controller (13) . The Examiner provides Kim to teach and disclose this claimed feature. The claimed subject matter that is met by Kim includes: a sensor controller (13) connected to the contact sensor (11) and controllable by the processor (12), wherein the processor (12) is operable to switch off the sensor controller (13) ( Kim : ¶ 0135 and Fig. 9, 920) Alameh teaches an electronic sensing device . Kim teaches a comparable electronic sensing device that was improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Kim offers the embodiment of a sensor controller . One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the adaptation of the sensor controller as disclosed by Kim to the electronic sensing device as taught by Alameh for the predicted result of improved electronic sensing device s . No additional findings are seen to be necessary. As per claim 3 , the claimed subject matter that is met by Alameh and Kim includes: wherein the processor (12) is operable to switch on the sensor controller (13) ( Alameh : ¶ ¶ 0048, 0065 and 0069 and Kim: ¶ 0135 ) . The motivation for combining the teachings of Alameh and Kim are discussed in the rejection of claim 2, and are incorporated herein. As per claim 4 , the claimed subject matter that is met by Alameh and Kim includes: wherein the sensor controller (13) is operable to conduct an auto-calibration procedure in response of being switched on ( Alameh : ¶¶ 0048, 0065 and 00 71-0072 and Kim: ¶ 0135) . The motivation for combining the teachings of Alameh and Kim are discussed in the rejection of claim 2, and are incorporated herein. As per claim 5 , the claimed subject matter that is met by Alameh and Kim includes: wherein the sensor controller (13) is operable to generate the at least one calibration parameter by conducting the auto-calibration procedure ( Alameh : ¶¶ 0048, 0065 and 0071-0072 and Kim: ¶ 0135) . The motivation for combining the teachings of Alameh and Kim are discussed in the rejection of claim 2, and are incorporated herein. As per claim 6 , the claimed subject matter that is met by Alameh and Kim includes: wherein the skin contact sensing device (10) is switchable into a sensing mode, in which the processor (12) is operable to disregard the at least one calibration parameter provided by the sensor controller (13) in response of being switched on ( Alameh : ¶¶ 0048, 0065 -0066 and 0071-0072 and Kim: ¶ 0135) . The motivation for combining the teachings of Alameh and Kim are discussed in the rejection of claim 2, and are incorporated herein. As per claim 7 , the claimed subject matter that is met by Alameh and Kim includes: wherein when in the sensing mode, the processor (12) is operable to substitute the at least one calibration parameter provided by the sensor controller (13) in response of being switched on by the at least one calibration parameter stored in the memory (15) ( Alameh : ¶¶ 0048, 0065 and 0071-0072 and Kim: ¶ 0135) . The motivation for combining the teachings of Alameh and Kim are discussed in the rejection of claim 2, and are incorporated herein. As per claim 8 , the claimed subject matter that is met by Alameh and Kim includes: wherein the processor (12) is operable to switch off the sensor controller (13) at predefined times over a predefined time interval ( Alameh : ¶ 0048 and Kim: ¶¶ 0069 and 0135-0138) . The motivation for combining the teachings of Alameh and Kim are discussed in the rejection of claim 2, and are incorporated herein. As per claim 9 , the claimed subject matter that is met by Alameh and Kim includes: wherein the processor (12) is operable to switch off the sensor controller (13) during a first time interval t1 and to switch on the sensor controller (13) during a second time interval t2, wherein the first time interval is larger than the second time interval ( Kim : ¶¶ 0136-0138 and Fig. 10) . The motivation for combining the teachings of Alameh and Kim are discussed in the rejection of claim 2, and are incorporated herein. As per claim 10 , the claimed subject matter that is met by Alameh and Kim includes: wherein the skin contact sensing device (10) is switchable into a manual calibration mode, in which the processor (12) is operable to read and to obtain the at least one calibration parameter provided by the sensor controller (13) in response of being switched on and to store the at least one obtained calibration parameter in the memory (15) ( Alameh : ¶¶ 0048, 0065 and 0071-0072 and Kim: ¶ 0135 ) . The motivation for combining the teachings of Alameh and Kim are discussed in the rejection of claim 2, and are incorporated herein. As per claim 1 5 , the claimed subject matter that is met by Alameh and Kim includes: switching off a sensor controller (13) connected to the contact sensor (11) at predefined times over a predefined time interval ( Alameh : ¶ 0048 and Kim: ¶¶ 0069 and 0135-0138 and Fig. 9, 920) . The motivation for combining the teachings of Alameh and Kim are discussed in the rejection of claim 2, and are incorporated herein. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT Hunter Wilder whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-7948 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 8:30AM-5:30PM . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Florian Zeender can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-6790 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /A. Hunter Wilder/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627