DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Figs. 2 and 4 are functional block diagrams that merely show blank boxes/blocks for the claimed methodology which do not show the features of the invention as recited in the claims. In other words, raw reference numbers and otherwise blank boxes are simply not sufficient to show the claimed method features. Moreover, the other figures are basic diagrams that do not show these features either.
Therefore, claim methodology must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered. It is suggested that English language labels be applied to the blank boxes of Figs. 2 and 4 which should resolve this objection.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 3 is an incomplete sentence ending in the conjunction “and”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “wherein the generating comprises, upon generating the rejection signal, generating a go-ahead signal that causes the second sensor data to be brought to further processing.” It is unclear to what “go-ahead signal” refers. Likewise, “to be brought to further processing” is wholly unclear. First of all, “brought to” infers physically bringing something to a location. Secondly, what is meant by “further processing”?
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected due to their dependency upon claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ohgushi (US 2021/0117703 A1).
Claim 1
In regards to claim 1, Ohgushi discloses a method for avoiding or reducing false positives in a computer vision task {see below mapping particularly for the last step. Note also that “avoiding false positives for a computer vision task” is mere intended use because the body of the claim fails to breathe life and meaning or in any way refer to this intended use/generalized goal}, the method comprising:
receiving first sensor data and object recognition data generated based on the first sensor data, wherein the object recognition data is indicative at least of an object type and an object location of an object identified by the first sensor data, wherein the object type comprises at least one semantic descriptor {Fig. 1 semantic label estimation unit 14 inputs sensor data from in-vehicle camera 12 and generates object recognition data indicative of object type, location and including a semantic descriptor (label) for each pixel as per [0042]-[0043]};
generating comparative object data comprising the object defined by the object recognition data {the output of the semantic label estimation unit is comparative object data including the semantically labelled object on a pixel basis};
generating from the at least one semantic descriptor synthetic object data that correspond with the semantic descriptor {see original image estimation unit 16 which generates synthetic object data (reconstructed original image) from the semantic label image, Fig. 1, [0044]};
comparing the comparative object data with the synthetic object data {Fig. 1, difference calculation unit 18, [0045]-[0046]}; and
generating a confirmation signal that indicates confirmation of the validity object recognition data or a rejection signal that causes the object recognition data to be rejected from further processing based on a result of comparing the comparative object data with the synthetic object data {road obstacle detection unit 20 {road obstacle detection unit that determines that, for portions having a different over a threshold, that the object recognition data (semantic label) is incorrect (rejection signal such that the object recognition data from unit 14 is not used for the road obstacle detection; instead, the reconstructed image (synthetic) data is used to detect the road obstacle as per [0047]) or (generates a confirmation signal)}.
Claim 4
In regards to claim 4, Ohgushi discloses wherein the first sensor data comprises image data gathered by an imaging sensor apparatus {see above cites for claim 1 including camera 12}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohgushi and Zhu {US 9,555,740 B1}.
Claim 2
In regards to claim 2, Ohgushi is not relied upon to disclose a second different sensor type or the processing steps of claim 2.
Zhu teaches receiving second sensor data from a sensor type different than a sensor type of the first sensor data, wherein the second sensor data comprises information about a same portion of an environment in which the object is located {column 8, lines 41--column 10, line 39}, and
wherein the generating comprises, upon generating the rejection signal, generating a go-ahead signal that causes the second sensor data to be brought to further processing {see column 1, lines 44-51; column 8, lines 10-40; cross-validation algorithm column 12, lines 14-37; column 14, line 58—column 15, line 52; column 17, line 44—column 18, line 12; and column 19, line 18—column 21, line 67}.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified Ohgushi’s method to include receiving second sensor data from a sensor type different than a sensor type of the first sensor data, wherein the second sensor data comprises information about a same portion of an environment in which the object is located, and wherein the generating comprises, upon generating the rejection signal, generating a go-ahead signal that causes the second sensor data to be brought to further processing as taught by Zhu because cross-validation between sensor modalities improves the accuracy, reliability an safety of object detection systems for vehicle applications, because there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claims 3 and 5
Ohgushi is not relied upon to disclose but Zhu teaches (claim 3) wherein the comparing comprises comparing the first sensor data and the second sensor data and (claim 5) wherein the second sensor data comprises non-image data gathered by a non-imaging sensor apparatus {see column 8, lines 10-40; column 14, line 58—column 15, line 52; column 12, lines 14-37 while noting that the sensors include image data and non-imaging sensor data (sonar and/or radar)}.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified Ohgushi’s method to include wherein the comparing comprises comparing the first sensor data and the second sensor data and wherein the second sensor data comprises non-image data gathered by a non-imaging sensor apparatus as taught by Zhu because cross-validation between sensor modalities improves the accuracy, reliability an safety of object detection systems for vehicle applications, because there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 6
In regards to claim 2, Ohgushi discloses a method controlling a motor vehicle, the method comprising:
obtaining first sensor data; determining object recognition data based on the first sensor data, wherein the object recognition data is indicative at least of an object type and an object location of an object identified by the first sensor data, wherein the object type comprises at least one semantic descriptor {Fig. 1 semantic label estimation unit 14 inputs sensor data from in-vehicle camera 12 and generates object recognition data indicative of object type, location and including a semantic descriptor (label) for each pixel as per [0042]-[0043]};
generating comparative object data that comprising the object defined by the object recognition data {the output of the semantic label estimation unit is comparative object data including the semantically labelled object on a pixel basis};
generating from the at least one semantic descriptor synthetic object data that correspond with the semantic descriptor {see original image estimation unit 16 which generates synthetic object data (reconstructed original image) from the semantic label image, Fig. 1, [0044]};
comparing the comparative object data with the synthetic object data {Fig. 1, difference calculation unit 18, [0045]-[0046]};
generating a confirmation signal that indicates confirmation of the validity object recognition data or otherwise a rejection signal that causes the object recognition data to be rejected from further processing data {road obstacle detection unit 20 {road obstacle detection unit that determines that, for portions having a different over a threshold, that the object recognition data (semantic label) is incorrect (rejection signal such that the object recognition data from unit 14 is not used for the road obstacle detection; instead, the reconstructed image (synthetic) data is used to detect the road obstacle as per [0047]) or (generates a confirmation signal)}; and
Zhu teaches generating a control signal for the motor vehicle in response to receiving the confirmation signal and the object recognition data, wherein the control signal is based on the object recognition data {column 12, lines 21-37; column 19, line 18—column 20, line 33}.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified Ohgushi’s method to include generating a control signal for the motor vehicle in response to receiving the confirmation signal and the object recognition data, wherein the control signal is based on the object recognition data
as taught by Zhu because cross-validation between sensor modalities improves the accuracy, reliability an safety of object detection systems for vehicle applications and control signals related thereto, because there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 7
In regards to claim 7, Ohgushi is not relied upon to disclose but Zhu teaches wherein the generating comprises generating a control signal in response to receiving the rejection signal {column 12, lines 21-37; column 19, line 18—column 20, line 33}.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified Ohgushi’s method to include wherein the generating comprises generating a control signal in response to receiving the rejection signal as taught by Zhu because cross-validation between sensor modalities improves the accuracy, reliability an safety of object detection systems for vehicle applications and control signals related thereto, because there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 8
In regards to claim 8, Ohgushi is not relied upon to disclose but Zhu teaches
receiving second sensor data that includes information about a same portion of an environment around the motor vehicle in which the object is located {column 8, lines 41--column 10, line 39}.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified Ohgushi’s method to include receiving second sensor data that includes information about a same portion of an environment around the motor vehicle in which the object is located as taught by Zhu because cross-validation between sensor modalities improves the accuracy, reliability an safety of object detection systems for vehicle applications and control signals related thereto, because there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claims 9-11
The rejection of method claims 3-5 above applies mutatis mutandis to the corresponding limitations of method claim 9-11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Antonides US 20220405578 A1 discloses multi-modal fusion including a GAN to generate synthetic sensor data. See [0064] and Fig. 1.
Karjalainen, Antti Ilari, Roshenac Mitchell, and Jose Vazquez. "Training and validation of automatic target recognition systems using generative adversarial networks." 2019 Sensor Signal Processing for Defence Conference (SSPD). IEEE, 2019.
/MICHAEL ROBERT CAMMARATA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667