DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Claims 1-15, in the response filed 9 December, 2025 is acknowledged. The restriction requirement is hereby made final. Claims 16-20 are withdrawn, and claims 1-15 are examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because 330a and 330b, sidewalls in the disclosure paragraph 65, are instead pointing to parts of o-ring 346 in Fig.4. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In regards to claims 1, 3-4, 7-8 and 11, the claims recite “generally tubular body”.
While the use of relative terminology does not automatically render the claim indefinite, acceptability of the claim language depends on whether one of ordinary skill in the art would understand what is claimed, in light of the specification. See MPEP 2173.05 (b).
The applicant does disclose the structure which corresponds to the “generally tubular body”, however the applicant does not set forth sufficient definition of the term for someone to understand the metes and bounds of the limitation “generally tubular body” when set forth in claims without resorting to undue speculation. Therefore, the claims are unclear.
For the purposes of prosecution, it will be assumed that this means “tubular body”, which is a term at least encompassing the applicant’s disclosed “generally tubular body”.
In regards to claim 12, the claim recites "the inner surface of a radially inward extending annular ledge" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, the claim is unclear. For the purposes of prosecution, it will be assumed this is a newly recited item.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Kamp (US 6,283,511).
In regards to Claim 1, Kamp discloses a connector [51, Figs.2-3, col.5 ll.45-51] arranged and configured to couple a tube set to an endoscope [As this is a device for connecting fluid lines, it could be used for such], the connector comprising:
a housing [52, Figs.2-3] having a generally tubular body, the housing including a first end [57, Fig.2], a second end [where 52 joins the tube at its lower end, Fig.2], and a lumen [interior 61 of 52, Fig.2] extending therethrough;
a first coupling mechanism [portions of 52 distal to 78, Fig.2, note that “first coupling mechanism” is very broad as set forth here] adjacent to the first end of the housing; and
a second coupling mechanism extending from a first end [78, Fig.2] of the second coupling mechanism adjacent to the first end of the housing to a second end [optionally any of 77-70, Fig.2] of the second coupling mechanism, the second end of the second coupling mechanism positioned between the first end and the second end of the housing;
wherein the second coupling mechanism is different from the first coupling mechanism [Fig.2, “different” here means non-identical].
In regards to claim 2, Kamp discloses the connector of claim 1, further comprising a third coupling mechanism [areas further towards the second end of the housing from the second coupling mechanism in 51, Fig.2, note that “third coupling mechanism” is very broad as set forth here] positioned between the second end of the second coupling mechanism and the second end of the housing, the third coupling mechanism different from the first and the second coupling mechanisms [Fig.2, col.11 ll.33-36, for example. Note that “different” merely means non-identical, which is very broad.].
In regards to claim 7, Kamp discloses the connector of claim 1, wherein the second coupling mechanism comprises a first helically extending recess [any of the spaces between 70-78 on one side of 52, Fig.2] and a second helically extending recess [any of the spaces between 70-78 on an other side of 52, Fig.2, col.6 ll.19-28] formed in an inner surface [center-facing surfaces of projections 70-78, Fig.2] of the generally tubular body, the first and second helically extending recesses spatially separated from one another [Fig.2, col.6 ll.19-28].
In regards to claim 8, Kamp discloses the connector of claim 7, wherein each of the first and second helically extending recesses extend less than 180º about an inner circumference of the generally tubular body [Fig.2, col.6 ll.19-28].
In regards to claim 9, Kamp discloses the connector of claim 7, wherein each of the first and second helically extending recesses extend from a first end to a second end [Fig.2, col.6 ll.19-28: from an “upper” end to a “lower” end on the tilt].
In regards to claim 10, Kamp discloses the connector of claim 9, further comprising a mechanical stop [85, Fig.2, col.10 ll.51-col.11 ll.5] positioned adjacent to the second end of each of the first and second helically extending recesses [“adjacent” here is a broad limitation].
In regards to claim 11, Kamp discloses the connector of claim 2, wherein the third coupling mechanism comprises internal threading [if the “third coupling mechanism” is defined as including the space between 76 and the second end of the housing, it includes this discontinuous threading: Fig.2, col.6 ll.19-28] extending about an inner surface of the generally tubular body.
In regards to claim 12, Kamp discloses the connector of claim 2, wherein the internal threading is formed about the internal surface of a radially inward extending annular ledge [This ledge is not positively claimed, and this could be interpreted as product-by-process. As such, the internal threading of Kamp could be formed by such a process.].
In regards to claim 13, Kamp discloses the connector of claim 1, further comprising a sealing member [as the applicant has not provided a strict definition of the term “sealing member”, this could be any part of 51 adjacent to the first coupling mechanism, as any part of this could be used as part of a seal] positioned adjacent to the first coupling mechanism.
In regards to claim 14, Kamp discloses the connector of claim 1, further comprising a sealing member [as the applicant has not provided a strict definition of the term “sealing member”, this could be any part of 51 adjacent to the second coupling mechanism, as any part of this could be used as part of a seal] positioned adjacent to the second coupling mechanism.
In regards to claim 15, Kamp discloses the connector of claim 2, further comprising a sealing member [as the applicant has not provided a strict definition of the term “sealing member”, this could be any part of 51 adjacent to the third coupling mechanism, as any part of this could be used as part of a seal] positioned adjacent to the third coupling mechanism.
In the alternative:
In regards to claim 1, in the alternative Kamp discloses a connector a connector [1, Figs.1-3, col.5 ll.45-51] arranged and configured to couple a tube set to an endoscope [As this is a device for connecting fluid lines, it could be used for such], the connector comprising:
a housing [2-3, Figs.1-3] having a generally tubular body, the housing including a first end [lower, distal end of 1, Figs.1-2], a second end [where 2 joins the tube at its upper, proximal end, Figs.2-3], and a lumen [bore 11 of 1-2, Fig.2] extending therethrough;
a first coupling mechanism [portions of 1 distal to 23, Figs.1-2, note that “first coupling mechanism” is very broad as set forth here] adjacent to the first end of the housing; and
a second coupling mechanism extending from a first end [23, Figs.1-2] of the second coupling mechanism adjacent to the first end of the housing to a second end [28, Figs.1-2] of the second coupling mechanism, the second end of the second coupling mechanism positioned between the first end and the second end of the housing;
wherein the second coupling mechanism is different from the first coupling mechanism [Figs.1-2: “different” here means non-identical].
In regards to claim 2, in the alternative Kamp discloses the connector of claim 1, further comprising a third coupling mechanism [areas further towards the second end of the housing from the second coupling mechanism in 1, Figs.1-2, note that “third coupling mechanism” is very broad as set forth here] positioned between the second end of the second coupling mechanism and the second end of the housing, the third coupling mechanism different from the first and the second coupling mechanisms [Fig.2, this could be used as part of a coupling scheme. Note that “different” merely means non-identical, which is very broad.].
In regards to claim 3, in the alternative Kemp discloses the connector of claim 1, wherein the first coupling mechanism comprises external threading [21-23, Figs.1-2, 5] extending about an outer surface of the generally tubular body.
In regards to claim 4, in the alternative Kemp discloses the connector of claim 3, wherein the external threading is discontinuous about a circumference of the generally tubular body [Figs.1-2].
In regards to claim 5, in the alternative Kemp discloses the connector of claim 1, wherein the first coupling mechanism comprises a first segment [set 4 of 21-23, Figs.1-2, col.5 ll.62-64] and a second segment [set 5 of 21-23, Figs.1-2, col.5 ll.61-64], the first and second segments each having an arc length of less than 180º and separated by a first and a second cut out region.
In regards to claim 13, in the alternative Kamp discloses the connector of claim 1, further comprising a sealing member [as the applicant has not provided a strict definition of the term “sealing member”, this could be any part of 1 adjacent to the first coupling mechanism, as any part of this could be used as part of a seal] positioned adjacent to the first coupling mechanism.
In regards to claim 14, in the alternative Kamp discloses the connector of claim 1, further comprising a sealing member [as the applicant has not provided a strict definition of the term “sealing member”, this could be any part of 11 adjacent to the second coupling mechanism, as any part of this could be used as part of a seal] positioned adjacent to the second coupling mechanism.
In regards to claim 15, in the alternative Kamp discloses the connector of claim 2, further comprising a sealing member [as the applicant has not provided a strict definition of the term “sealing member”, this could be any part of 1-2 adjacent to the third coupling mechanism, as any part of this could be used as part of a seal] positioned adjacent to the third coupling mechanism.
Claims 1-6 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Wells et al. (US 2008/0073911).
In regards to Claim 1, Wells discloses a connector [51, Figs.2-3, col.5 ll.45-51] arranged and configured to couple a tube set to an endoscope [Figs.1-2, para.35: this could be used to couple a tube set to an endoscope], the connector comprising:
a housing [10, Figs.2-3] having a generally tubular body, the housing including a first end [26, 56, Figs.1a, 1d], a second end [28, Fig.2a], and a lumen [30, Fig.2a, para.35] extending therethrough;
a first coupling mechanism [all 55, Figs.1-2, para.43-45] adjacent to the first end of the housing; and
a second coupling mechanism extending from a first end [any portion of 10 not part of 55 and not proximal to 24, Figs.1-2] of the second coupling mechanism adjacent to the first end of the housing [Figs.1-2] to a second end [Figs.1-2] of the second coupling mechanism, the second end of the second coupling mechanism positioned between the first end and the second end of the housing;
wherein the second coupling mechanism is different from the first coupling mechanism [Figs.1-2, “different” here means non-identical].
In regards to claim 2, Wells discloses the connector of claim 1, further comprising a third coupling mechanism [areas further towards the second end of the housing from the second coupling mechanism in 10, Fig.1b, note that “third coupling mechanism” is very broad as set forth here] positioned between the second end of the second coupling mechanism and the second end of the housing, the third coupling mechanism different from the first and the second coupling mechanisms [Figs.1-2, para.35. Note that “different” merely means non-identical, which is very broad.].
In regards to claim 3, Wells discloses the connector of claim 1, wherein the first coupling mechanism comprises external threading [60, Figs.1-2, para.45] extending about an outer surface of the generally tubular body.
In regards to claim 4, Wells discloses the connector of claim 3, wherein the external threading is discontinuous about a circumference of the generally tubular body [Figs.1a, 2c, para.45].
In regards to claim 5, Wells discloses the connector of claim 1, wherein the first coupling mechanism comprises a first segment [one of 55, Figs.1a, 2c] and a second segment [another of 55, Figs.1a, 2c], the first and second segments each having an arc length of less than 180º and separated by a first and a second cut out region [Spaces between 55, Figs.1a, 2c].
In regards to claim 6, Wells discloses the connector of claim 5, wherein the first and second segments include threading [60, Figs.1a, 2c, para.45] extending about an outer surface thereof.
In regards to claim 13, Wells discloses the connector of claim 1, further comprising a sealing member [as the applicant has not provided a strict definition of the term “sealing member”, this could be any part of 10 adjacent to the first coupling mechanism, as any part of this could be used as part of a seal] positioned adjacent to the first coupling mechanism.
In regards to claim 14, Wells discloses the connector of claim 1, further comprising a sealing member [as the applicant has not provided a strict definition of the term “sealing member”, this could be any part of 10 adjacent to the second coupling mechanism, as any part of this could be used as part of a seal] positioned adjacent to the second coupling mechanism.
In regards to claim 15, Wells discloses the connector of claim 2, further comprising a sealing member [as the applicant has not provided a strict definition of the term “sealing member”, this could be any part of 10 adjacent to the third coupling mechanism, as any part of this could be used as part of a seal] positioned adjacent to the third coupling mechanism.
Claims 1-2 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Parks et al. (US 5,234,417).
In regards to claim 1, Parks discloses a connector [600, Fig.17, col.7 ll.6-20] arranged and configured to couple a tube set to an endoscope [Fig.17: it could be used in this fashion], the connector comprising:
a housing [600, Fig.17] having a generally tubular body, the housing including a first end [“top” end of 600, Fig.17], a second end [“bottom” end of 600, Fig.17], and a lumen [lumen between inlet opening 606 and outlet opening 608] extending therethrough;
a first coupling mechanism [“top” 1/3 of 600, Fig.17] adjacent to the first end of the housing; and
a second coupling mechanism [any selected part of 600 “above” 604, Fig.17, ie. any part of the “top” 2/3 of 600] extending from a first end [this could be defined in this fashion] of the second coupling mechanism adjacent to the first end of the housing [Fig.17] to a second end Fig.17] of the second coupling mechanism, the second end of the second coupling mechanism positioned between the first end and the second end of the housing [it is defined in this fashion];
wherein the second coupling mechanism is different from the first coupling mechanism [Fig.17, “different” here means non-identical].
In regards to claim 2, Parks discloses the connector of claim 1, further comprising a third coupling mechanism [“bottom” 1/3 of 600, including 604 and the ledge on which it sits, Fig.17] positioned between the second end of the second coupling mechanism and the second end of the housing, the third coupling mechanism different from the first and the second coupling mechanisms [Fig.17. Note that “different” merely means non-identical, which is very broad.].
In regards to claim 11, Parks discloses the connector of claim 2, wherein the third coupling mechanism comprises internal threading [604, Fig.17, col.7 ll.6-20] extending about an inner surface of the generally tubular body.
In regards to claim 12, Parks discloses the connector of claim 2, wherein the internal threading is formed about the internal surface of a radially inward extending annular ledge [Fig.17].
In regards to claim 13, Parks discloses the connector of claim 1, further comprising a sealing member [as the applicant has not provided a strict definition of the term “sealing member”, this could be any part of 600 adjacent to the first coupling mechanism, as any part of this could be used as part of a seal] positioned adjacent to the first coupling mechanism.
In regards to claim 14, Parks discloses the connector of claim 1, further comprising a sealing member [as the applicant has not provided a strict definition of the term “sealing member”, this could be any part of 600 adjacent to the second coupling mechanism, as any part of this could be used as part of a seal] positioned adjacent to the second coupling mechanism.
In regards to claim 15, Parks discloses the connector of claim 2, further comprising a sealing member [as the applicant has not provided a strict definition of the term “sealing member”, this could be any part of 600 adjacent to the third coupling mechanism, as any part of this could be used as part of a seal] positioned adjacent to the third coupling mechanism.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Muller (US 6,168,213)
Kirby (US 6,250,688)
/AARON B FAIRCHILD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795