DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 03/25/2026 has been entered.
The double patenting rejection of claims 1-21 is maintained. The current amendment claims are not distinct from the conflicting application.
The rejection of claims 1-21 under 35 U.S.C 101 is maintained (see below).
The rejection of claims 1-21 under 35 U.S.C 112 (b) is maintained.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are amended.
Claims 1-21 are pending of which claims 1, 8 and 15 are independent claims.
Response to Arguments
The applicant's arguments filed on 03/25/2026 regarding claims 1-21 have been fully considered. The arguments regarding to 35 U.S.C 101 are not persuasive.
Regarding to applicant’s argument under Step 2A Prong one with limitations:
encrypting data [by a processor] based on a key, the key based on a conversion from a first colorspace to a second colorspace;
generating an altered key [by the processor], wherein the altered key is based on the key, wherein the altered key is based on an alteration of the conversion from the first colorspace to the second colorspace;
encrypting, [by a processor,] another data based on the altered key; and
Examiner has changed abstract ideas group to Mathematical Concepts because encrypting data and converting colorspace involve mathematical calculations. Further, “processors” and “transmitting the encrypted data or another data” are generic computer components and functions that doesn’t amount significantly more that the abstract idea. Also regarding to argument that Research Corp. Techs. v. Microsoft Corp., 627 F.3d 859, 868 (Fed. Cir. 2010), the court determined that a claim to a method for rendering a halftone image of a digital image by comparing, pixel by pixel, the digital image against a blue noise mask, where the method required the manipulation of computer data structures (e.g., the pixels of a digital image and a two-dimensional array known as a mask) and the output of a modified computer data structure (a halftoned digital image), did not recite a mental process because the claimed method could not be practically performed in the human mind, examiner noted that the claimed limitation doesn’t recite pixel level masking or changing. Instead, it recites conversion from a first colorspace to a second colorspace for generating of key or an altered key without description of how the color space is converted. Therefore, the claimed subject matter is abstract.
Regarding to applicant’s argument under Step 2A Prong 2 that “a key and an altered key are also additional elements besides processors and transmitting”, examiner respectively points out that “a key or an altered key” as discussed above are not additional elements. They are part of abstract idea that is generated using mathematical calculations.
Further, regarding to applicant’s argument under Step 2B of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance that “the claimed invention recites limitations that provide improvements to a technology or technical field. For example, the elements recited in claim 1 includes specific processes performed by the processor to generate an altered encryption key based on altering a conversion between different colorspaces for improved encryption of data transmission”, examiner respectively disagree because performing different colorspace conversion using a generic processor does not integrate the judicial exception (mathematical concepts) into a practical application and amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Merely using processor or transmitter to the abstract idea doesn’t transforms the abstract idea into a patent-eligible application.
The arguments regarding to 35 U.S.C103 have been fully considered but the arguments are essentially directed towards the newly introduced limitations and they are addressed in this Office Action, below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory Obviousness-Type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of Patent No. 11,838,401. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the claim(s) of the instant application is fully disclosed and covered by the Patent No. 11,838,401.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory Obviousness-Type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of Patent No. 11,184,150. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the claim(s) of the instant application is fully disclosed and covered by the Patent No. 11,184,150.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory Obviousness-Type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of Patent No. 10,523,420. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the claim(s) of the instant application is fully disclosed and covered by the Patent No. 10,523,420.
“A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim. In re Longi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651 (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting because the claims at issue were obvious over claims in four prior art patents); In re Berg, 140 F.3d at 1437, 46 USPQ2d at 1233 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting where a patent application claim to a genus is anticipated by a patent claim to a species within that genus). “ELI LILLY AND COMPANY v BARR LABORATORIES, INC., United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC (DECIDED: May 30, 2001).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Applying the subject matter eligibility test, as outlined in MPEP 2106:
Step 1: Statutory Category
The claims fall within a statutory category. Claims 9-20 are considered “machines” based claims and claims 1-7 are considered “processes”. Both machines and processes are members of the statutory categories. Thus, the analysis moves towards step 2A, prong one of the subject matter eligibility test.
Step 2A, Prong One: Judicial Exception
The claims recite a judicial exception, specifically an abstract idea. For example, claims 1, 8 and 15 recite encrypting data using a key based on conversion from one colorspace to another colorspace, generating an altered key based on the key and based on alteration of the conversion from first colorspace to second colorspace, encrypting another data using altered key. Such processes are akin to a mathematical concept, which have been recognized as abstract ideas. Thus, the analysis moves towards step 2A, prong two.
Step 2A, Prong Two: Integration into a Practical Application
The claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements, such as a processor, memory and transmitting encrypted data from one processor to another processor via a network do not impose any meaningful limits of on the abstract idea. Transmitting data via transmission medium and processor is a generic computer function. In Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp., 2023-2437 (Fed. Cir. Apr. 18, 2025), the Federal Circuit held that applying generic machine learning techniques to a specific field without improving the underlying technology does not constitute a practical application. The court emphasized that claims must delineate how the machine learning technology achieves a technological improvement. Thus, the analysis moves towards step 2B.
Step 2B: Inventive concept
Finally, the claims do not recite an inventive concept that transforms the abstract idea into a patent-eligible application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of a processor, memory and transmitting data from one processor to another processor via a network amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
Claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-21 merely add details to the generic off-shelf components that were already disclosed in claims 1, 8 and 15, but do not alter the outcome of the analysis above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Specifically, while the claim recites “…an indication of the alteration …”, the specification lacks a detailed description of the term. As established in Ariad Pharms., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1351, 94 USPQ2d 1161,5 1172 (Fed. Cir. 2010), the specification must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Merely stating that machine learning is used, without further elaboration, does not satisfy this requirement.
Claims 1-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, Key limitations, "transmit the encrypted another data via the transmission medium to the receiving processor, wherein the receiving processor receives an indication of the alteration" as presented is unclear because the bounds of “an indication” is unknown, the claims are indefinite under 35 U.S.C § 112(b).
Independent claims 9 and 15 are also rejected for the same rational as claim 1.
Dependent claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-21 are also rejected for inheriting the deficiencies of the independent claims from which they depend on.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, 12, 15-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US 2017/0061584, hereinafter Lim) in view of Lee (US 2010/0034380) and Chen et al. (Pub. No.: US 2009/0184976, hereinafter Chen) and Muppalla et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0180038, hereinafter Muppalla).
Regarding claim 1: Lim discloses A method, comprising:
the key based on a conversion from a first colorspace to a second colorspace (Lim - [0036]: image signal processor 106 may implement back-end interface 342. Back-end interface 342 may receive image data from other image sources than image sensor(s) 102. back-end interface 342 may convert RGB, YCbCr 4:2:0, or YCbCr 4:2:2 formatted image data into YCbCr 4:4:4 color format);
However, Lim doesn’t explicitly teach, but Lee discloses:
the key based on a conversion from a first colorspace to a second colorspace (Lee - [0059]: The key generating unit 210 generates an encryption key (hereinafter, also referred to as ‘E-KEY’) having color space information);
encrypting, by a processor, another data based on the altered key (Lee - [0079]: the first encrypting unit 120 of the scanning apparatus 100 performs operation S16 of an encrypting for the scan image by using the encryption key (E-KEY). [0059]: the generated encryption key may be randomly generated, that is, generated by using a random number); and
transmitting, by the processor, the encrypted data via a transmission medium to the receiving processor; and transmitting, by the processor, the encrypted another data via the transmission medium to the receiving processor (Lee - [0086]: Fig. 4, Then, the scanning apparatus 100 transmits the scan image (data of the converted scan image) encrypted by the encryption key to the host apparatus 200 through the first communicating unit 130 in operation S17).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lim with Lee so that color space conversion key is used as encryption key for data encryption. The modification would have allowed the system to enhance security and system adaptability.
However, the combination of Lim and Lee doesn’t explicitly teach, but Chen discloses:
generating an altered key by the processor, wherein the altered key is based on the key, wherein the altered key is based on an alteration of the conversion from the first colorspace to the second colorspace; encrypting, by a processor, another data based on the altered key (Chen - [0026]: a gamma-encoded video signal is transformed into an R′G′B′ colorspace, is then gamma-decoded into a RGB colorspace, is then transformed into a chrominance-compensated rgb colorspace, is then gamma-reencoded into a chrominance-compensated r′g′b′ colorspace and is finally transformed into the system-native format);
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lim and Lee with Chen so that color space conversion alteration is used to convert to different color space. The modification would have allowed the system to enhance security.
However, the combination of Lim, Lee and Chen doesn’t explicitly teach, but Muppalla discloses:
wherein the receiving processor receives an indication of the alteration separate from the transmission of the encrypted another data (Muppalla - [0049]: The decryption key may be received as transmitted).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lim and Lee and Chen with Muppalla so that a decryption key (an indication of alteration) is transmitted. The modification would have allowed the system to take further actions based on the received indication.
Regarding claim 2: Lim as modified discloses wherein the key is based on a first color channel of a plurality of color channels of the second colorspace, wherein the altered key is based on a second color channel of the plurality of color channels of the second colorspace (Lim - [0043]: Color space conversion may convert image data to another color format or space (e.g., RBG to YCbCr). Gamma mapping may provide non-linear mapping functions for particular color channels of pixel data (e.g., Y, Cb, and Cr channels) in order to apply different image effects, including, but not limited to, black and white conversion, sepia tone conversion, negative conversion, or solarize conversion)).
wherein encryption using the key causes the data to be encrypted in the first color channel; wherein encryption using the altered key causes the another data to be encrypted in the second color channel (Lee - [0082-0083] scan data of an RGB color space is converted to correspond to color spaces Ex, Ey and Ez, that is, the color space of the encryption key. [0059]: The key generating unit 210 generates an encryption key (hereinafter, also referred to as ‘E-KEY’) having color space information. Here, the generated encryption key may be randomly generated, that is, generated by using a random number).
The reason to combine is in the same rational as claim 1.
Regarding claim 5: Lim as modified discloses wherein wherein the alteration of the conversion from the first colorspace to the second colorspace comprises converting the first colorspace to a third colorspace, the first, second, and third colorspaces comprising distinct colorspaces (Lee - [0070]: the processed scan image may be implemented as PCS data corresponding to a standard color space such as an RGB color space defined by R, G, and B color components, an XYZ color space defined by X, Y, Z components, and a Lab color space defined by L, a, and b components).
The reason to combine is the same rational as claim 1.
Regarding claim 21: Lim as modified discloses wherein the indication of the alteration comprises an altered decryption key (Muppalla - [0049]: The decryption key may be received as transmitted).
The reason to combine is the same rational as claim 1.
Regarding claims 8-9 and 12: Claims are directed to computer readable medium claims and do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 1-2 and 5. Therefore, claims 9-10 and 14 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claims 1-2 and 5. Furthermore, Lim in para. [0029] discloses computer readable storage medium where the storage medium executes instructions from a processor.
Regarding claims 15-16 and 19: Claims are directed to apparatus/device claims and do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 1-2 and 5. Therefore, claims 26-29 are also rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claims 1-2 and 5. Furthermore, Lim in para. [0029] discloses a processor; and a memory (see also Fig. 1).
Claims 3, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US 2017/0061584, hereinafter Lim) in view of Lee (US 2010/0034380, Chen et al. (Pub. No.: US 2009/0184976, hereinafter Chen), Muppalla et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0180038, hereinafter Muppalla) and Messler (Pub. No.: US 2009/0103801).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17: Lim as modified doesn’t explicitly teach but Messler discloses wherein the key is based on a superimposition of a first color channel of a plurality of color channels of the first colorspace onto a first color channel of a plurality of color channels of the second colorspace (Messler - [0030]: for a plurality of single-colour images, each representing the superimposition contributions by the original intensity values for another of the colour channels, to be generated based on a respective property or structure of the object or the sample or on a respective dye of the object or the sample and/or for there to be generated, based on a respective property or structure of the object or the sample or on a respective dye of the object or the sample, a single-colour image which represents overall superimposition contributions to the colour channels and corresponds to a pixel-by-pixel combination of the intensity pixels of the single-colour images respectively representing the superimposition contributions by the original intensity values, in particular a pixel-by-pixel combination containing a summation of original intensity values for the colour channels).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lim and Lee, Chen, Muppalla with Messler so that the color conversion is a representing of the superimposition contributions by the original intensity values for another of the colour channels. The modification would have allowed the system to convert a colorspace using superimposition.
Claims 4, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US 2017/0061584, hereinafter Lim) in view of Lee (US 2010/0034380), Chen et al. (Pub. No.: US 2009/0184976, hereinafter Chen), Muppalla et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0180038, hereinafter Muppalla) and Shazeer et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0130213, hereinafter Shazeer).
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18: Lim as modified doesn’t explicitly teach but Shazeer discloses wherein the key is based on a first ordering of a plurality of color channels of the second colorspace, wherein the altered key is based on a second ordering of the plurality of color channels of the second colorspace, wherein the first ordering is distinct from the second ordering (Shazeer - [0037]: apply an attention mechanism over the inputs at the generation order positions preceding the corresponding position using one or more queries derived from the input at the particular generation order position to generate a updated representation for the particular generation order position).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lim and Lee, Chen, Muppalla with Shazeer so that the order sequence can be updated. The modification would have allowed the system to a convert colorspace.
Claims 6, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US 2017/0061584, hereinafter Lim) in view of Lee (US 2010/0034380), Chen et al. (Pub. No.: US 2009/0184976, hereinafter Chen), Muppalla et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0180038, hereinafter Muppalla) and Holman et al. (Pub. No.: US 2015/0106623).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20: Lim as modified doesn’t explicitly teach but Holman discloses wherein the key is based on a first range of values of a first color channel of a plurality of color channels of the second colorspace, wherein the altered key is based on a second range of values of the first color channel, wherein the first and second ranges are distinct ranges (Holman - [0350]: FIG. 10, e.g., FIG. 10B, shows a unique device encryption key associated with a device that captured the acquired image generating at least partly based on a unique device identifier and at least partly based on a property of the obtained image data module 1022 generating the unique device encryption key (e.g., a WPA key) that is unique to the particular device (e.g., a wearable computer, e.g., Google Glass), at least partly based on a unique device identifier (e.g., a unique number assigned to the device at the time of manufacture) and at least partly based on a feature of the acquired image data (e.g., a number of pixels in the captured image data that have a red color range of between 200 and 250)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lim and Lee, Chen, Muppalla with Holman so that encryption key can be based on color range. The modification would have allowed the system to enhance security.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US 2017/0061584, hereinafter Lim) in view of Lee (US 2010/0034380), Chen et al. (Pub. No.: US 2009/0184976, hereinafter Chen), Muppalla et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0180038, hereinafter Muppalla) and Dikmen et al. (US 2011/0293179).
Regarding claims 7 and 14: Lim as modified doesn’t explicitly teach but Dikmen discloses wherein the alteration of the conversion from the first colorspace to the second colorspace alters at least one attribute of the conversion from the first colorspace to the second colorspace (Dikmen - [0090]: a fusion formula may be used to modify or change pixel values of a channel of the colorspace image to which the RGB image has been converted).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lim and Lee, Chen, Muppalla with Dikmen so that pixel values of a channel of the colorspace image is modified. The modification would have allowed the system to convert colorspace.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Aree et al. (Pub. No.: US 2017/0076127) - Method To Store A Secret QR Code Into A Colored Secure QR Code
Sawada (Patent No.: US 7327875) - Method And Apparatus For Color Conversion
/MENG LI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2437