DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and species A-D in the reply filed on 6/19/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim ends with 2 periods. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 6 fails to further limit claim 1 because the range for the layer thickness is broader than the range recited in claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2017/0216818).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 5-6, Lee et al. (US 2017/0216818) discloses a photocatalytic functional film comprising a solid substrate and an amorphous TiO2 film (“barrier layer”) ([0008]). The reference further teaches that the barrier layer thickness may be 20nm-500 nm ([0016]).
Regarding claim 3, the Lee et al. teaches that the substrate may be plastic ([0036], [0075]).
Regarding claim 4, Lee et al. teaches that the metal oxide is TiO2 ([0008]) and that the substrate is plastic ([0075]).
Regarding claims 7 and 11, Lee et al. discloses a photocatalytic functional film comprising a solid substrate, an amorphous TiO2 film (“barrier layer”), and porous metal nanoparticles ([0008], [0013], Examples). The reference further teaches that the barrier layer thickness may be 20nm-500 nm ([0016]).
Regarding claims 9-10, Lee et al. teaches that the film further comprises a photocatalytic layer stacked on top of the barrier layer, which is also an amorphous TiO2 film, wherein the metal particles are embedded in and on a surface of the photocatalytic material ([0038]). Refer also to Figure 1. In this way, layer 30 is considered to correspond to the metal oxide matrix required by claim 10.
Regarding claim 14, Lee et al. teaches that the barrier layer may be 20nm-500nm ([0016]) and that the photocatalytic layer may be 50nm-500nm ([0017]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2017/0216818) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Yoshioka et al. (US 2009/0317624).
The teachings of Lee et al. are applied as above for claim 7.
Lee et al. does not teach that the metal particles are silver (Ag) but does suggest that the metal particles are not particularly limited as long as they can provide photoactivity to the film such as deodorization or antibacterial effects ([0022], [0047]).
Yoshioka et al. (US 2009/0317624) discloses a photocatalytic film containing titanium dioxide particles ([0001]). The reference further teaches that providing silver particles to the film provides enhanced antifouling and antibacterial function to the photocatalytic film ([0005]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have modified the film taught by Lee et al. to include the silver particles suggested by Yoshioka et al. to provide a photocatalytic film having enhanced properties. Because both films are of a similar structure and used in the same or similar manner, one would have reasonable expectation of success from the combination.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2017/0216818) as applied to claims 7 and 10 above, and further in view of Yoshioka et al. (US 2009/0317624) and JP 2000-334309 (references are made with respect to the machine translation provided).
The teachings of Lee et al. are applied as above for claims 7 and 10.
The difference between the reference and the claims is that the reference does not teach the use of a PVA matrix material.
Yoshioka et al. (US 2009/0317624) discloses a photocatalytic film containing titanium dioxide particles ([0001]). The reference further teaches that providing silver particles to the film provides enhanced antifouling and antibacterial function to the photocatalytic film ([0005]).
The JP reference also teaches a photocatalytic film containing silver particles and further teaches that a layer providing such material may be provided as a colloid using PVA as a binder (matrix) material. Refer to page 3 of the translation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have modified the film taught by Lee et al. to include the silver particles suggested by Yoshioka et al. to provide a photocatalytic film having enhanced properties. Because both films are of a similar structure and used in the same or similar manner, one would have reasonable expectation of success from the combination. The JP reference provides a method and structure for forming the structure suggested by the combined teachings, thereby providing one of ordinary skill motivation to make the modification.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742