Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Luna et al.(US20150282768) hereinafter Luna et al.
Luna et al. teaches a device including an array 100 of electrodes 110 coupled to a physiological information generator 120 that is configured to generate data representing one or more physiological characteristics associated with a user that is wearing or carrying array 101. Also shown are motion sensors 160, which, for example, can include accelerometers. Motion sensors 160 are not limited to accelerometers. Physiological information generator 120 can determine the bioelectric impedance (“bioimpedance”) of one or more types of tissues of a wearer to identify, measure, and monitor physiological characteristics. [0046] Physiological information generator 120 is shown to include a sensor selector 122, a motion artifact reduction unit 124, and a physiological characteristic determinator 126. Sensor selector 122 is configured to select a subset of electrodes, and is further configured to use the selected subset of electrodes to acquire physiological characteristics. Sensor selector 122 can be configured to determine (periodically or aperiodically) whether the subset of electrodes 110a and 110b are optimal electrodes 110 for acquiring a sufficient representation of the one or more physiological characteristics from the second signal. [0050] Physiological characteristic determinator 126 is configured to receive the physiological-related signal component of the second signal and is further configured to process (e.g., digitally) the signal data including one or more physiological characteristics to derive physiological signals, such as either a heart rate (“HR”) signal or a respiration signal, or both.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Luna et al teaches a band configured to secure the wearable device to a wrist of a user; a plurality of electrodes positioned to contact the user when the band secures the wearable device to the wrist of the user; and a processor configured to: cause the plurality of electrodes to apply electrical signals to the user; measure the electrical signals from the user using the plurality of electrodes; generate a set of impedance data from the measured electrical signals; and identify one or more respiratory cycles using the set of impedance data. Note fig. 1A, paragraphs [0045] – [0055].
Regarding claims 2, 9, 12-13, and 19 Luna et al teaches wherein the processor is configured to:
perform a set of measurements using the plurality of electrodes to determine a plurality of contact metrics for a plurality of subsets of the plurality of electrodes, wherein each contact metric of the plurality of contact metrics represents a contact quality of a corresponding subset of the plurality of subsets; select a subset of the plurality of subsets using the plurality of contact metrics; and
use the selected subset of the plurality of subsets to measure the electrical signals from the user and wherein determining the set of contact metrics comprises determining a contact impedance for one or more of the electrodes. Note fig. 1A, paragraphs [0045] – [0055] and [0129], [0130] Sensor selector 2420 includes an electrode contact state evaluator 2422, which is configured to determine a state of contact for one or more drive electrodes 2402 and one or more sink electrodes 2404 (or pick-up electrodes 2404). In some examples, electrode contact state evaluator 2422 is configured to determine whether an electrode is contacting (or is sufficiently contacting) tissue. To illustrate, consider a case in which there are four electrodes composed of two pairs of drive and pick up electrodes (e.g., a tetrapolar electrode system), whereby one drive electrode 2402 is floating or otherwise not in contact with tissue. Electrode contact state evaluator 2422 can detect the now “tripolar” electrode system, and can generate data indicating such state. Other components of physiological information generator 2410 may use this information, such as drive signal adjuster 2432 to determine or select a modified current profile or magnitude with which to apply to the drive electrode in contact with tissue. [0131] View of the foregoing, electrode contact data evaluator 2422 facilitates physiological characteristics determination in cases in which less than all electrodes are in contact with tissue. Further, electrode contact state evaluator 2422 can determine a state in which a negligible amount (e.g., none) of the electrodes are in contact with tissue, and then can generate data indicating that a wearable device including electrodes 2402 and 2404 are “off body.” Thus, bioimpedance drive signals may cease or otherwise be reduced and frequency so as to save or otherwise conserve power.
Regarding claims 3 and 10 , Luna et al teaches wherein the processor is configured to:
determine a first subset of electrodes from the plurality of electrodes that is used to apply the electrical signals to the user; and determine a second subset of electrodes from the plurality of electrodes that is used to measure the electrical signals from the user. Note fig. 1A, paragraphs [0045] – [0055] and [0130] – [0131].
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Luna et al teaches wherein the first subset of electrodes comprises different electrodes from the second subset of electrodes. Note fig. 1A, paragraphs [0045] – [0055] and [0130] – [0131].
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Luna et al teaches a motion sensor positioned at least partially within the wearable device, wherein the processor is configured to: determine a motion state of the user using the motion sensor; and cause the plurality of electrodes to apply the electrical signals in response to determining that the motion state satisfies a low motion criteria. Note fig. 1A, paragraphs [0045] – [0055] and [0109] – [0110].
Regarding claims 7, 15, and 20 Luna et al teaches a housing; and a touch-sensitive display coupled to the housing; wherein: the band is configured to secure the housing to the wrist of a user; and
at least one of the plurality of electrodes is positioned on the band. Note fig. 1A, paragraphs [0045] – [0055] and [0158] Computing platform 3100 includes a bus 3102 or other communication mechanism for communicating information, which interconnects subsystems and devices, such as processor 3104, system memory 3106 (e.g., RAM, etc.), storage device 3108 (e.g., ROM, etc.), a communication interface 3113 (e.g., an Ethernet or wireless controller, a Bluetooth controller, etc.) to facilitate communications via a port on communication link 3121 to communicate, for example, with a computing device, including mobile computing and/or communication devices with processors. Processor 3104 can be implemented with one or more central processing units (“CPUs”), such as those manufactured by Intel® Corporation, or one or more virtual processors, as well as any combination of CPUs and virtual processors. Computing platform 3100 exchanges data representing inputs and outputs via input-and-output devices 3101, including, but not limited to, keyboards, mice, audio inputs (e.g., speech-to-text devices), user interfaces, displays, monitors, cursors, touch-sensitive displays, LCD or LED displays, and other I/O-related devices.
Regarding claim 14, Luna et al teaches wherein: the electrodes comprise a first set of electrodes positioned at a first location of the wearable device and a second set of electrodes positioned at a second location of the wearable device; and
the selecting the subset of the electrodes comprises selecting one of the first set of electrodes or the second set of electrodes. Note fig. 1A, paragraphs [0045] – [0055] and [0127]-[0134].
Regarding claim 17, Luna et al teaches wherein: the motion sensor comprises an accelerometer configured to output acceleration measurements; and determining that the motion state of the user meets the low motion criteria comprises determining that acceleration measurements are below a defined acceleration value. Note fig. 1A, paragraphs [0045] – [0055] and [0072].
Regarding claim 18, Luna et al teaches wherein: the set of electrodes comprises:
first electrodes that are configured to apply the electrical signal to the user; and second electrodes that are configured to sense the electrical signal from the user; and the measured impedance of the user is determined from the applied and sensed electrical signal. Note fig. 1A, paragraphs [0045] – [0055] and [0071] - [0072].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luna et al.(US20150282768) hereinafter Luna et al. in view of Olivier et al.( CN 108882847) hereinafter Olivier et al.
Luna et al. teaches the claimed invention as set forth above including the use of optical sensors for detecting motion.
However Luna et al. does not specifically set forth an optical sensor coupled to the wearable device, wherein the processor is configured to: generate a set of optical data using the optical sensor; and identify the one or more respiratory cycles using the set of optical data.
Olivier et al. teaches system of the invention comprises at least one low energy sensor and at least one high-energy sensor combination, the at least one low energy sensor and the at least one high-energy sensor operating in series and respectively measuring the original first physiological signal and the original second physiological signal from a human subject. low energy first physiological sensor and a second physiological sensor with high energy are provided for determining the physiological signals of the same physiological parameter, the physiological parameters may include heart rate, heart rate variability and respiratory rate. Additionally, the system includes at least one motion sensor, measuring original motion reference signal from the motion sensor, and at least one microprocessor, the at least one microprocessor to perform the selective control of said low energy sensor and the high energy sensor, the sampling frequency of the motion sensor for selectively controlling and selectively the motion correction process. the high energy sensor and the low energy sensor during changing of a user activity level evaluation can be provided with activation overlap. Referring to FIG. 1, wearable device, physiological monitoring system 100 comprises in the mobile technology and internet technology background of 101. The wearable device 101 comprises a sensor, the sensor is used for the physiological parameter and the motion parameter of the human subject is sampled so as to obtain physiological parameters (such as heart rate, heart rate variability and respiratory rate). sensor of wearable device 101 comprises at least one low-energy sensor 106 and at least one high-energy sensor 104. low energy sensor 106 may include at least two counter electrode 102 103 BIA sensor and high-energy sensor 104 can be a PPG sensor.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include in the device of Luna et al. an optical sensor in addition to the electrode sensors for detecting respiratory rate as taught by Olivier et al. to improve efficiency and prolong battery life.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Munoz et al.(US 10751003) teaches improved techniques for reducing motion-related artifacts in optical/PPG measurements for vital signs monitoring. In general, techniques described herein are based on using measurements of reference sensors that include sensors other than optical sensors used for the optical measurements, e.g., biopotential sensors, bioimpedance sensors, and/or capacitive sensors.
McCombie et al.( US 20100298659) teaches a body-worn monitor that measures a patient's vital signs (e.g. blood pressure, SpO2, heart rate, respiratory rate, and temperature) while simultaneously characterizing their activity state (e.g. resting, walking, convulsing, falling). The body-worn monitor processes this information to minimize corruption of the vital signs by motion-related artifacts.
Arnold(20230084864) teaches A device comprising: at least one of an accelerometer or a gyroscope and a processor. The at least one of the accelerometer or gyroscope is capable of measuring movements related to respiration of a user of the device.
Rogers et al.( WO 2020092764) teaches a sensor network for measuring physiological parameters of a mammal subject includes a plurality of spatially separated sensor systems that is time-synchronized to each other. Each of the plurality of spatially separated sensor systems is attached to a respective position of the mammal subject and includes a sensor member for measuring at least one physiological parameter. the sensor member of the first sensor system comprises at least two electrodes spatially apart from each other for electrocardiogram (ECG) generation. In one embodiment, the sensor member of the second sensor system comprises a photoplethysmogram (PPG) sensor comprising an optical source and an optical detector located within a sensor footprint. In one embodiment, each sensor member of the first sensor system and the second sensor system further comprises one or more of an accelerometer for measuring at least one of a position and a movement; an inertial measurement unit (IMU) for measuring at least one of a movement, a force, an angular rate, and an orientation; and a temperature sensor for measuring temperature. In one embodiment, the accelerometer or the IMU is used to measure at least one of seismocardiography (SCG) and a respiratory rate.
Satchwell et al.( WO 0028892) teaches a wrist mounted unit measures heart rate. The unit includes a number of electrodes that are positioned to lie along the line of a radial artery. One pair (214, 217) of electrodes are used to apply a high frequency square wave current to the wrist. The inner pair of electrodes (215, 216) measure the impedance between them. This is dependent upon the volume of blood in the artery. The electrodes are connected to a microcontroller that can extract heart rate data.
ROTHKOPF(CN 205121417) teaches a wearable electronic device, comprising a housing and attached to the housing and configured to the wearable electronic device fixing belt on the user body. The device may also include an array of light emitting diodes (LEDs) deployed in the housing, the LED array is configured to emit light. the photoelectric detector can be disposed within the housing, which is configured to receive light emitted by the LEDs in the LED array and light reflected from the body of the user, and in response to the received light to generate a first sensor signal. The device may also include at least one pair of electrodes disposed on the outer surface of the wearable electronic device. The electrodes may be configured on corresponding part of the electrode in contact with the body, to generate a second sensor signal. The device may also include is configured based on the first and second sensor signal calculation processing unit of the one or more health metrics. The device may also include is at least partially disposed within the housing and configured to display the one or more health metrics.
/BRIAN L CASLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791