DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 21-26, 28-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanse (US 2004/0211238) in view of Pettersson et al. (WO 2013083730) and Green et al. (US 20220348188).
Regarding to claims 1, 21, 28:
Hanse discloses a system for determining a rotation matrix between (a) an inertial measurement unit (IMU) (FIG. 1, element 10) and a fixture (FIG. 1, element 12) to which the IMU is attachable or (b) an IMU and one or more fiducials attachable to or integral with the fixture, the system comprising:
the fixture (FIG. 1, element 12) and a rate table (FIG. 1, element 14) positionable to receive the fixture.
Hanse however does not teach a coordinate measuring machine (CMM) positionable to receive the fixture and to measure positions of fiducials attachable to or integral with the fixture.
Pettersson et al. discloses a coordinate measuring machine (FIG. 1, element 1) for determining at least one spatial coordinate of a measurement point of an object (FIG. 1, element 15) mounted on a fixture (FIG. 1, element 5) having a plurality of fiducials (FIG. 1, elements 17a-d).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hanse’s system to include a coordinate measuring machine to enable the measurement of spatial coordinate for purpose of calibration as taught by Pettersson (page 8, line 27 to page 9, line 32).
Hanse also does not teach one or more inclinometers that is/are attachable to the fixture.
Green et al. discloses a system comprising an Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU) and an inclinometer for calibrating the IMU (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hanse’s system to also attach an inclinometer to the fixture for calibrating the IMU to correct the IMU orientation as taught by Green et al. (Abstract).
Regarding to claims 2-3, 22-23, 29: wherein the fixture is attachable to a vehicle, wherein the vehicle is a launch vehicle or a portion of a launch vehicle (Green et al. discloses the use of the system in a vehicle. In addition, the use of the fixture in a particular vehicle is considered as an intended use that does not carry patentable weight).
Regarding to claim 4, 24, 30: wherein the rate table is a two-axis rat table (Hanse: FIG. 2, element 14).
Regarding to claims 5-6, 25-26, 31-32: wherein the one or more fiducials comprise retro-reflective spheres (Pettersson: FIG. 1, elements 17a-d. In addition, the shape of the fiducials, either pyramid or sphere, is just a matter of design choice), wherein the one or more inclinometers include two inclinometers, and wherein the two inclinometers are positionable at a perpendicular or oblique angle relative to one another (Green et al. discloses the inclusion of an inclinometer for calibrating an IMU. Using more than one inclinometer and the arrangement of the inclinometers is just a matter of design choice).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 27, and 33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The primary reasons for the indication of the allowability of the claims is the inclusions therein, in combination as currently claimed, of the limitation that wherein the plate element comprises a first IMU mounting portion and a second IMU mounting portion, wherein the first IMU mounting portion comprises a first IMU mounting surface, the second IMU mounting portion comprises a second IMU mounting surface, and the first IMU mounting surface is angularly offset, and not coplanar with, the second IMU mounting surface is neither disclosed nor taught by the cited prior art of record, alone or in combination.
CONTACT INFORMATION
/LAM S NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853