Drawings
The previous objection of Fig. 1 has been withdrawn due to the replacement sheet filed on 11/6/2025.
Claim Objections
The previous objection of claims 1, 2, & 6 has been withdrawn due to the amendments filed on 11/6/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant respectfully argues “the motivation to combine and duplicate the circuit described in Feldtkeller with the circuit described in Kasai is unfounded” and “if Feldtkeller’s circuit were to be duplicated and combined with Kasai, the combination would not disclose “measuring resistors; and resistors,” and “wherein a first resistor of the resistors relates to a positive reference voltage, and a second and third resistor of the resistors have the same resistance value” as recited in amended claim 1. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In response to applicant’s argument “One skilled in the art would not equate,” “a current source element to a resistor element” and “which intentionally includes resistivity beyond inherent resistance”, the previous rejection of claim 2 has been withdrawn. It is understood that the inherent resistance in the current source of Feldtkeller could not be defined as a resistor. However, upon further examination, the amended claim 1 is now rejected in view of Kasai et al., US6335600, and Peter et al., US4951188. Peter teaches resistors (R45, R40, & R47; [Fig. 1B]) and measuring resistors (R1 & R2; [Fig. 1B]) and a positive reference voltage (5V; [Fig. 1B]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 & 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasai et al., US6335600 (hereinafter referred to as Kasai, and in view of Peter et al., US4951188 (hereinafter referred to as Peter).
In regards to claim 1, Kasai teaches an H-bridge circuit (bridge circuit 31; [Fig. 7]) for energizing (controls an electric motor; [Col. 1, Ln. 13-16]) an inductor (DC motor 10; [Fig. 7]), comprising: four switches (switching elements SW1-SW4; [Fig. 7]); and freewheeling diodes (reflux diodes D11-D14 or Di1-Di4; [Fig. 7]), wherein a respective freewheeling diode of the freewheeling diodes is connected in parallel (parallel; [Col. 5, Ln. 60-62]) with each respective switch of the switches ([Fig. 7]).
Kasai does not teach the H-bridge circuit comprising: measuring arrangements; measuring resistors; and resistors, wherein a first resistor of the resistors relates to a positive reference voltage, and a second and third resistor of the resistors have the same resistance value.
Peter teaches the H-bridge circuit comprising: measuring arrangements (IC6/1 & IC6/2; [Fig. 1B]); measuring resistors (R1 & R2; [Fig. 1B]); and resistors (R40, R45, R47, R56-R60; [Fig. 1B]), wherein a first resistor (R45; [Fig. 1B]) of the resistors relates to a positive reference voltage (5V; [Fig. 1B]), and a second (R40; [Fig. 1B]) and third resistor (R47; [Fig. 1B]) of the resistors have the same resistance value (75k; [Col. 7, Ln. 3-4]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Kasai in order to incorporate the H-bridge circuit comprising: measuring arrangements; measuring resistors; and resistors, wherein a first resistor of the resistors relates to a positive reference voltage, and a second and third resistor of the resistors have the same resistance value as taught by Peter. The motivation for doing so would be to have a better regulated current control along with overcurrent protection.
In regards to claim 3, Kasai teaches the H-bridge circuit further comprising: short-circuit resistors (resistors R1, R2, R5, & R6; [Fig. 7]), two of the short-circuit resistors being connected to ground (R1 and R2; [Fig. 7]), and two of the short-circuit resistors (R5 and R6; [Fig. 7]) being connected to a battery (battery 24; [Fig. 7]) voltage (power voltage Vb; [Fig. 7]).
In regards to claim 4, Kasai does not teach wherein resistance values of the resistors are significantly higher than resistance values of the measuring resistors.
Peter teaches wherein resistance values of the resistors (75k; [Col. 7, Ln. 3-4]) are significantly higher than resistance values of the measuring resistors (10 milliohms; [Col. 6, Ln. 61-62]) (Examiner’s Note: Peter teaches across the different embodiments of the resistors being in the thousands of ohms and the measuring resistors being in the range of milliohms.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Kasai in order to incorporate wherein resistance values of the resistors are significantly higher than resistance values of the measuring resistors as taught by Peter. The motivation for doing so would be to have a better regulated current control along with overcurrent protection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 allowed.
The claimed combination found within independent claims 5 & 6 is/are considered novel and unobvious in view of the prior art of record. The closest prior art is considered to be
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regards to independent claim 5, the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination or limitations including “wherein the short-circuit resistors are high-impedance when there is no short-circuit, and wherein directions of currents flowing through the measuring resistors differing in their polarity sign.”
Claim 7 is allowed due to dependence on claim 5.
In regards to independent claim 6, the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination or limitations including “wherein a measuring arrangement of the measuring arrangements is used to measure, in a freewheeling mode, whether there is a difference between the currents flowing through the measuring resistors in which case at least one of the short circuit resistors becomes less resistive.”
Claim 8 is allowed due to dependence on claim 6.
Conclusion
SAMANTHA LYNETTE FAUBERT
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838