Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 6, and 8 recites the limitation “determining whether a plurality of transformation forms are allowed for a current block; obtaining partitioning information indicating a partitioning depth for the current block based on the determination”. The applicant’s originally filed specification fails to disclose this limitation. More specifically, in the applicant’s remarks filed 4/1/2026, the applicant cites [0102] and [0653]-[0655] of the applicant’s specification as disclosing this limitation. The examiner notes the cited paragraphs appear to be directed toward discrete steps of the encoding/decoding process and the process of obtaining partitioning depth information is not dependent upon a determination of allowable transform types.
Claims 2-5 are rejected based on their respective dependencies upon claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (Zhao) (US 2017/0280162).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses an image decoding method performed by an image decoding apparatus, the image decoding method comprising:
determining whether a plurality of transformation forms are allowed for a current block ([0059], a flag is signaled to indicate allowable transform types);
obtaining partitioning information indicating a partitioning depth for the current block based on the determination ([0049], a split depth is signaled) (please see the 35 USC 112a rejection above regarding this limitation);
determining a size of a subblock based on the partitioning information ([0048], the subblock size is determined relative to a split type) and at least one of a size of a current block or a shape of the current block ([0021], the size of the sub block is determined based on the size of a leaf node block);
partitioning the current block into one or more subblocks based on the size of the subblock ([0021], [0023], [0048], [0051], the size of the sub block can not exceed a maximum or a minimal size);
performing inverse-transformation for the subblock ([0047], inverse transformation is performed);
generating a residual signal based on the inverse-transformation ([0048], a residual is generated); and
reconstructing the current block based on the residual signal and a prediction signal ([0005], [0118], [0157], [0160], samples (residuals) of the transform block are added to a prediction block to reconstruct a block),
wherein the prediction signal is generated by determining a prediction mode of the current block and performing prediction based on the determined prediction mode ([0095], a prediction mode is signaled for performing prediction),
wherein a binary tree partitioning is allowed for the current block having a width different from a height (FIG. 4a, block 51 is partitioned into blocks 55 and 56 using binary partitioning; block 53 is partitioned to produce blocks 61 and 62 using binary partitioning), and
wherein the partitioning for the current block is ([0049], splitting is iterated until the block reaches a predetermined size) based on depth information indicating a number of partitioning times for the current block ([0049], [0051], the block is split a number of times until it reaches a size indicated by a partitioning depth).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao discloses wherein, in case the current block is square, a quadtree partitioning is performed for the current block (FIG. 4a, square block 50 is partitioned to yield 4 leaf blocks 51-53).
Regarding claim 3, Zhao discloses wherein the partitioning the current block is performed based on a predetermined index for a partitioning ([0053], partitioning flags are signaled), and
wherein, in case the current block is a 4Nx4N block (FIG. 3, block 40), the current block is not partitioned (FIG. 3, square blocks with solid lines are not furthered partitioned), or the current block is partitioned into four 2Nx2N subblocks (FIG. 4, block 51-53).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao discloses an image encoding method performed by an image encoding apparatus, the image encoding method comprising:
obtaining a residual signal for a current bock based on a prediction signal ([0048], a residual is generated);
determining whether a plurality of transformation forms are allowed for a current block ([0059], a flag is signaled to indicate allowable transform types);
obtaining partitioning information indicating a partitioning depth for the current block based on the determination ([0049], a split depth is signaled) (please see the 35 USC 112a rejection above regarding this limitation);
determining a size of a subblock based on the partitioning information ([0048], the subblock size is determined relative to a split type) and at least one of a size of a current block or a shape of the current block ([0021], the size of the sub block is determined based on the size of a leaf node block);
partitioning the current block into one or more subblocks based on the size of the subblock ([0021], [0023], [0048], [0051], the size of the sub block can not exceed a maximum or a minimal size);
performing transformation for the subblock ([0049], [0058], transform is applied); and
encoding the residual signal based on the transformation ([0048], a residual is generated),
wherein the prediction signal is generated by determining a prediction mode of the current block and performing prediction based on the determined prediction mode ([0095], a prediction mode is signaled for performing prediction),
wherein a binary tree partitioning is allowed for the current block having a width different from a height (FIG. 4a, block 51 is partitioned into blocks 55 and 56 using binary partitioning; block 53 is partitioned to produce blocks 61 and 62 using binary partitioning), and
wherein depth information indicating a number of partitioning times for the current block indicating that the partitioning for the current block is encoded ([0049], splitting is iterated until the block reaches a certain size; [0051], the block is split a number of times until it reaches a size indicated by a partitioning depth).
Regarding claim 8, the limitations of claim 8 are rejected in the analysis of claim 6. Zhao further discloses a method of transmitting a bitstream (FIG. 10, the bitstream is received by receiving device 14), generating a bitstream based on the encoding of the residual signal ([0005], [0118], [0157], [0160], samples (residuals) of the transform block are added to a prediction block to reconstruct a block), transmitting the bitstream (FIG. 10, the bitstream is received by receiving device 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (Zhao) (US 2017/0280162) in view of Zhang et al. (Zhang) (US 2017/0150186).
Regarding claim 4, Zhao discloses the method of claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Zhao is silent about wherein selection information indicating whether a partitioning shape for transformation of the current block is determined adaptively is obtained from a bitstream, and wherein the partitioning the current block is performed based on the selection information.
Zhang from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein selection information indicating whether a partitioning shape for transformation of the current block is determined adaptively is obtained from a bitstream ([0204], a transform split type is signaled and splitting is performed), and wherein the partitioning the current block is performed based on the selection information ([0204], a transform split type is signaled and splitting is performed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zhang into the teachings of Zhao for more efficient video coding and decoding.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (Zhao) (US 2017/0280162) in view of Kang et al. (Kang) (US 2014/0286421).
Regarding claim 5, Zhao discloses the method of claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Zhao is silent about wherein the partitioning the current block is performed differently according to whether a prediction mode of the current block is an inter mode or an intra mode.
Kang from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the partitioning the current block is performed differently according to whether a prediction mode of the current block is an inter mode or an intra mode ([0085], Table 1, there are different split types for each prediction mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kang into the teachings of Zhao for more efficient video coding and decoding.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Li et al. (Li) (US 2017/0208336) ([0078], the depth of a node in a tree structure may refer to the length of the path (e.g., the number of splits) from the node to the root of the tree structure).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488