DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment in the reply filed on 5/4/26 is acknowledged, with the cancellation of Claims 25 and 26; and the additional newly added Claims 27 and 28. Claims 1-24, 27, and 28 are pending. Claims 1-24, 27, and 28 are examined on the merits.
Any rejection that is not reiterated is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections –35 USC § 112, 2nd
Claims 1-24, 27, and 28 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “A method for treating skin, mucosal and systemic condition resulting from microbial overgrowth, imbalance or infection…”. The recitation is very confusing, does it mean the patient suffers from skin, mucosal and systemic condition simultaneously? Instead of “A method for treating skin, mucosal or systemic condition…?”
Therefore, the metes and bounds of claims are rendered vague and indefinite. The lack of clarity renders the claims very confusing and ambiguous since the resulting claims do not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired.
All other cited claims depend directly or indirectly from rejected claims and are, therefore, also, rejected under U.S.C. 112, second paragraph for the reasons set forth above.
Claim Rejections –35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-24, 27 and 28 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Zeilkha et al (WO 2020157748 A1), as evidenced by Wikipedia (Sepsis from Wikipedia, accessed on 5/6/26, pp. 1-34)*.
Zeilkha et al teach in one preferred embodiment of this composition, the TQ concentration is about 3% (w/w) (thus at least 2.5%), the FFA concentration is 1.7% (thus 2.5% or less; 2.0% or less, thus claims 1 and 2 are met, thus claims 19, and 20 are met; thus claim 5 is met) and the concentration of astaxanthin is about 15% (w/w) (page 8, 2nd paragraph) (3%/1.7% = 1.76:1, thus greater than 1.2:1, thus claim 1 is met).
Zeilkha et al teach non-limiting examples of such NO-related inflammatory conditions which may be treated, inhibited or prevented with the method of the present invention include: osteoarthritis, rheumatoid arthritis, asthma, rhinitis and other upper respiratory tract inflammatory conditions, adult respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS), cardiovascular inflammation, reperfusion injury, peritonitis, cirrhosis, inflammatory bowel disease, inflammatory skin disorders including psoriasis, bullous diseases, eczema, allergic reactions in the skin, inflammatory conditions of the eyes, retinopathy, inflammatory conditions of infective origin, such as sepsis, (thus a method for treating systemic condition) etc. (page 10, 3rd paragraph) (thus resulting from microbial overgrowth, imbalance or infections).
Zeilkha et al teach the composition according to claim 18, wherein the weight ratio of FFA to TQ is equal to or less than 1: 1 (see claim 19) (thus claim 4 is met).
Zeilkha et al teach this oil had the following composition p-cymene and carvacrol (page 22, middle of the page) (thus claim 7 is met).
Zeilkha et al teach the composition according to claim 12, wherein the TQ is present in Nigel/a sativa (NS) oil (see claim 13).
Zeilkha et al teach the composition according to claim 13, wherein the NS oil is a cold-pressed oil (thus claim 6 is met).
Zeilkha et al teach a method for treating, inhibiting or preventing inflammatory diseases or disorders (thus without an inflammatory condition, thus claims 27 and 28 are met) comprising administering to a mammalian subject in need of such treatment a composition according to any of the preceding claims (see claim 27).
Zeilkha et al teach the method according to claim 17, wherein the mammalian subject is a human (see claim 28).
Zeilkha et al teach in another embodiment the compositions may be formulated for topical administration, for example as creams, ointments or lotions for application to the skin or external mucous membranes, or as pessaries for rectal or vaginal administration (page 11, 2nd paragraph from the bottom) (thus claims 25 and 28 are met).
Zeilkha et al teach a typical daily dose for the method of treatment disclosed above would be a single capsule containing 500mg of the composition, of which 15mg would be TQ (page 10, last paragraph) (thus claim 26 is met).
Zeilkha et al teach many, but not all, of the pharmacologically active agents are present in the oil contained within the NS seed (page 1, 2nd paragraph from the bottom).
Applicant is noted that since “preventing” presents in claims 27 and 28, it does not require the patient population has microbial overgrowth, as long as the claimed composition is being administered to a subject, it is inherent that the claim is going to perform the claimed designated function, which is to prevent skin mucosa, and systemic conditions resulting from microbial overgrowth, thus claims 27 and 28 are met.
As evidenced by Sepsis from Wikipedia, Sepsis is caused by many organisms, including bacteria, viruses, and fungi, thus resulting from microbial overgrowth, imbalance or infections, thus claim 1 is met
Therefore, the reference is deemed to anticipate the instant claim above.
*This reference is cited merely to relay an intrinsic property and is not used in the basis for rejection per se.
Applicant argues that “the composition of Zeikha is only administered to subjects with an inflammatory condition. As claim 27 excludes administration to a subject with an inflammatory condition, it is not anticipated by Zeilkha. (page 8, last paragraph bridging page 9).
This is not found persuasive. Zeilkha et al teach a method for treating, inhibiting or preventing inflammatory diseases or disorders (thus without an inflammatory condition, thus claims 27 and 28 are met) comprising administering to a mammalian subject in need of such treatment a composition according to any of the preceding claims (see claim 27).
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, and therefore the rejections in the record are maintained.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/Qiuwen Mi/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655