DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Japanese reference(JP 2005-344979A).
Japanese reference in figure 1 teaches a humidifier comprising a housing(main body 1) formed with an air passage through which air passes and a water storage tank(water tank part 2) configured to store water; a humidifying rotor(vaporization filter 3) extending over the air passage and the water storage tank, the humidifying rotor being configured to rotate(translation stating “the vaporization filter 3 rotates around the rotary shaft 8a”) so that a portion of the humidifying rotor having absorbed moisture from the water storage tank moves to the air passage and releases the moisture(noting arrows indicating humidified airflow to outlet 21); and an irradiator(UV lamp 7) configured to irradiate part of the humidifying rotor with ultraviolet light(translation stating “since the photocatalyst is activated and the sterilization effect is acquired on the surface irradiated with ultraviolet rays, the vaporization filter 3 can perform sterilization on both sides”).
With regards to claim 2 , Japanese reference further teaches a controller (control apparatus 6) configured to perform first control in which the controller controls the humidifying rotor and the irradiator so that the irradiator emits ultraviolet light when the humidifying rotor is rotated(translation stating “control apparatus 6 which controls operation movement are provided”, also stating “when the operation switch 10 is pressed, the blower 5 operates, the ultraviolet light 7 is lit, and the display is interlocked with the ultraviolet lamp 7”).
With regards to claim 3, Examiner respectfully submits that the limitations represent a function of the claimed controller, and are not given patentable weight for prior art analysis, wherein for a “controller configured to”, the controller is only required to be capable of performing the claimed function.
With regards to claim 4, Examiner respectfully submits that the limitations represent a function of the claimed controller, and are not given patentable weight for prior art analysis, wherein for a “controller configured to”, the controller is only required to be capable of performing the claimed function.
With regards to claim 5, Examiner respectfully submits that the limitations represent a function of the claimed controller, and are not given patentable weight for prior art analysis, wherein for a “controller configured to”, the controller is only required to be capable of performing the claimed function. Examiner respectfully submits that the vaporization filter is capable of rotating, therefore the control apparatus includes processing structure which is capable of determining a number of rotations when a humidifying operation is in progress.
With regards to claim 6, Japanese reference further teaches wherein the controller is configured to perform the first control every time a predetermined time elapses. Examiner notes translation stating “when the vaporization filter 3 rotates, and the ON in this case, the rotation of the vaporization filter 3 is stopped for a certain period of time, and the vaporization filter 3 is inverted at the certain time interval. When the vaporization filter 3 is inverted by 180 degrees at regular intervals , the surface irradiated with the ultraviolet rays is switched, and the both surfaces of the vaporization filter 3 are irradiated with ultraviolet rays”). Examiner respectfully submits that a statement of “certain time interval” indicates a controller is configured to perform the first control every time a predetermined time elapses.
With regards to claim 7, Japanese reference further teaches wherein the predetermined time is settable.
With regards to claim 8, Japanese reference further teaches wherein the controller is configured to control timing of executing the first control according to an environmental condition around the humidifier(examiner noting an environmental condition around the humidifier includes an increase in humidity).
With regards to claim 10, Examiner respectfully submits that the limitations represent a function of the claimed controller, and are not given patentable weight for prior art analysis, wherein for a “controller configured to”, the controller is only required to be capable of performing the claimed function.
With regards to claim 11, Japanese reference further teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the number of rotations of the humidifying rotor according to a humidification load in the humidifying operation in which the humidifying rotor is rotated.
With regards to claim 12, Examiner respectfully submits that the limitations represent a function of the claimed controller, and are not given patentable weight for prior art analysis, wherein for a “controller configured to”, the controller is only required to be capable of performing the claimed function.
With regards to claims 13-15 Japanese reference further teaches wherein the controller is configured to perform the first control every time a predetermined time elapses. Examiner notes translation stating “when the vaporization filter 3 rotates, and the ON in this case, the rotation of the vaporization filter 3 is stopped for a certain period of time, and the vaporization filter 3 is inverted at the certain time interval. When the vaporization filter 3 is inverted by 180 degrees at regular intervals , the surface irradiated with the ultraviolet rays is switched, and the both surfaces of the vaporization filter 3 are irradiated with ultraviolet rays”). Examiner respectfully submits that a statement of “certain time interval” indicates a controller is configured to perform the first control every time a predetermined time elapses.
With regards to claims 16-20, Japanese reference further teaches wherein the controller is configured to control timing of executing the first control according to an environmental condition around the humidifier(examiner noting an environmental condition around the humidifier includes an increase in humidity).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9 recites “wherein the controller is configured to control an illuminance or irradiation time of ultraviolet light from the irradiator in the first control according to the environmental condition around the humidifier.”. Japanese reference teaches a control apparatus to control the humidifier, however Japanese reference is silent as to wherein the controller is configured to control an illuminance or irradiation time of ultraviolet light from the irradiator in the first control according to the environmental condition around the humidifier.
/ROBERT A HOPKINS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776
December 11, 2025