DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments filed 7/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument stated that Ohshima fails teaching “wherein each node comprises information regarding an element type of the respective element,
wherein the element type comprises at least a type selected from: voltage rail (L, R), contact (El, E2, E3), coil (Al, A2, A3), or function block (FB1, FB2, CALC), and
wherein each edge is defined by an ordered pair of the nodes connected by the respective edge;”.
Examiner respectfully disagree. Ohshima recites: “The branch cells represent the contacts and the output coils.” (C7, L5-6). The branch cells map to the nodes. Ohshima recites: “The right chain is connected to the associated node cell and connects the branch cell downstream of that node cell. The left chain is also connected to that node cell and connects the branch cell upstream of that node cell.” (C7, L9-14). The right chain and left chain map to the edges. “upstream” and “downstream” shows each chain is defined by an ordered pair of node cell and branch cell.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 6, 10 – 13, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Ohshima et al. US 4,449,180 (hereinafter Ohshima).
Regarding claim 1, Ohshima teaches: a method for generating a control program for controlling an automation system, the method comprising:
generating a graphical diagram of the control program according to the Ladder Diagram LD graphical programming language for Programmable Logic Controllers in a diagram generating step (Fig. 10a, C6, L57-59 - - Fig. 10a shows a ladder diagram);
generating a data flow graph as a representation of the graphical diagram in a graph generating step, wherein elements of the graphical diagram are represented as nodes and connecting lines between elements of the graphical diagram are represented as edges of the data flow graph (Fig. 10b or Fig. 10c are data flow graph; C6, L55-65);
wherein each node comprises information regarding an element type of the respective element (C7, L5-6 - - “The branch cells represent the contacts and the output coils.”, The branch cells map to the nodes),
wherein the element type comprises at least a type selected from: voltage rail (L, R), contact (El, E2, E3), coil (Al, A2, A3), or function block (FB1, FB2, CALC) (C7, L5-6 - - “The branch cells represent the contacts and the output coils.”, the branch cells map to the nodes; contacts and output coils are types), and
wherein each edge is defined by an ordered pair of the nodes connected by the respective edge (C7, L9-14 - - The right chain and left chain map to the edges. “upstream” and “downstream” shows each chain is defined by an ordered pair of node cell and branch cell); and
generating a version of the control program executable by a programmable logic controller based on the data flow graph in a program generating step (C21,L54-55 - - convert the ladder program to machine instructions of the programmable sequence controller).
Claim 12 is substantially similar to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons and rationale as above.
Claim 13 is substantially similar to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons and rationale as above.
Regarding claim 2, Ohshima teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Ohshima further teaches:
receiving graphical programming requests according to the graphical programming language ladder diagram LD in a receiving step, wherein the graphical programming requests comprise adding and/or removing and/or rearranging elements and/or connecting lines of the graphical diagram; wherein the graph generating step comprises:
modifying the data flow graph by adding and/or removing and/or rearranging nodes and/or edges of the data flow graph according to the programming requests in a programming step (Fig. 10c, C5, L15-19 - - image editing device corrects the ladder diagram in response to image editing commands inputted from the keyboard; C6, L60-65 - - eliminating redundant portions (e.g. mere horizontal and vertical lines)); and wherein the graph generating step comprises:
adding and/or removing and/or rearranging elements and/or connecting lines within the graphical diagram based on the modifications to the data flow graph and according to the graphical programming requests in a graphical programming step (Fig. 8, Figs 36a-36c, C25, L45-50 - - convert Boolean expression to ladder diagram; thus after the data flow graph is converted to Boolean expression, then the Boolean expression can be converted to ladder diagram).
Regarding claim 3, Ohshima teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Ohshima further teaches: reading in a control program programmed in the graphical programming language ladder diagram LD in a reading step; wherein the graph generating step comprises:
generating a data flow graph based on the information of the read-in control program in a second graph generating step; and wherein the diagram generating step comprises:
generating the graphical diagram based on the information of the data flow graph in a displaying step (Figs 36a-36c, C25, L45-50 - - convert Boolean expression to ladder diagram; the Boolean expression is a control program).
Regarding claim 6, Ohshima teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Ohshima further teaches: the data flow graph is configured as an acyclic graph and comprises a start node and an end node (Fig. 15 is an acyclic graph).
Regarding claim 10, Ohshima teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Ohshima further teaches: elements of the graphical diagram comprise voltage rails and/or contacts and/or coils and/or functional block instances and/or functional blocks and/or further elements defined according to the programming language ladder diagram LD (Fig. 2, Fig. 10a).
Regarding claim 11, Ohshima teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Ohshima further teaches: storing the data flow graph in a text representation and/or storing the executable version of the control program in an executing file in a storing step (C23, L6-9 - - machine instruction sequence program is stored).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohshima et al. US 4,449,180 (hereinafter Ohshima) in view of Krishna Mohan et al. US 2014/0344637 (hereinafter Mohan).
Regarding claim 7, Ohshima teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Ohshima does not explicitly teach: topologically sorting the nodes of the data flow graph and the corresponding elements of the respective graphical diagram in a sorting step, wherein in the topological sorting an order of the nodes of the data flow graph and the corresponding elements of the graphical diagram is determined, and wherein the order corresponds to a distance of each node from the start node; and
arranging the elements of the graphical diagram according to the order of topological sorting in the first arranging step.
However, Mohan teaches: topologically sorting the nodes of the data flow graph and the corresponding elements of the respective graphical diagram in a sorting step, wherein in the topological sorting an order of the nodes of the data flow graph and the corresponding elements of the graphical diagram is determined, and wherein the order corresponds to a distance of each node from the start node (Claim 1, [0033] - - topographical sorting the nodes based on the distance from the primary inputs); and
arranging the elements of the graphical diagram according to the order of topological sorting in the first arranging step ([0034] - - generating final vectors for the circuit).
Ohshima and Mohan are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to graphical programming.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Ohshima, and incorporating optimization, as taught by Mohan.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve performance, as suggested by Mohan (Page 15-16, conclusions).
Claims 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohshima et al. US 4,449,180 (hereinafter Ohshima) in view of Milik “On hardware synthesis and implementation of PLC programs in FPGAs” from “Microprocessors and Microsystems 44 (2016) 2–16” (hereinafter Milik).
Regarding claim 8, Ohshima teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Ohshima does not explicitly teach: the graphical programming step and/or the displaying step comprise:
optimizing the arrangement of the elements and/or the connecting lines of the graphical diagram with the aid of an optimizing algorithm in an optimizing step, wherein the optimizing comprises minimizing lengths of the connecting lines and/or minimizing distances of elements and/or avoiding intersections of a plurality of connecting lines.
However, Milik teaches: the graphical programming step and/or the displaying step comprise:
optimizing the arrangement of the elements and/or the connecting lines of the graphical diagram with the aid of an optimizing algorithm in an optimizing step, wherein the optimizing comprises minimizing lengths of the connecting lines and/or minimizing distances of elements and/or avoiding intersections of a plurality of connecting lines. (Page 7, right column - - reducing the total number of nodes, Fig. 5D, Page 10 left column - - the optimization procedure merged arithmetic node, which results in tree height reduction, this is minimizing distances of elements).
Ohshima and Milik are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to Programmable Logic Controller programs.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Ohshima, and incorporating optimization, as taught by Milik.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve performance, as suggested by Milik (Page 15-16, conclusions).
Regarding claim 9, Ohshima teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Ohshima does not explicitly teach: edges of the data flow graph are configured as directed edges, and wherein a direction of an edge between two nodes of the data flow graph represents a current flow between the elements of the graphical diagram represented by the nodes.
However, Milik teaches: edges of the data flow graph are configured as directed edges, and wherein a direction of an edge between two nodes of the data flow graph represents a current flow between the elements of the graphical diagram represented by the nodes (Fig. 7, Fig. 8).
Ohshima and Milik are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to Programmable Logic Controller programs.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Ohshima, and incorporating directed edges representing current flow, as taught by Milik.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to allow optimization, as suggested by Milik (Page 7, right column).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YUHUI R PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116