DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Song et al. (US 2025/0062784 A1; hereinafter “Song”).
For claim 1, Song teaches detecting an interaction of a user with a communication device (see paragraph 0022; the SAR sensor determines a distance between the electronic device and a human body by using a signal of the first antenna electrode and/or a signal of the second antenna electrode); identifying a modality of the interaction of the user with the communication device (see paragraph 0022; the SAR sensor determines a distance between the electronic device and a human body by using a signal of the first antenna electrode and/or a signal of the second antenna electrode and see paragraph 0025; the human body is close to the antenna electrode, the dielectric constant changes due to a change in an external medium, and then the capacitance between the antenna electrode and the ground changes); and adjusting a link establishment characteristic of the communication device based on the modality of the interaction (see paragraph 0022; where an adjustment path is disposed between the first antenna electrode and the second antenna electrode, and the adjustment path is configured to adjust a connection status between the first antenna electrode and the second antenna electrode and see paragraph 0029; adjustment path is disposed between the first antenna electrode and the second antenna electrode, and is configured to adjust the connection status between the first antenna electrode and the second antenna electrode), wherein identifying the modality of the interaction of the user with the communication device is based on an activation location of at least one specific absorption rate (SAR) sensor disposed on the communication device (see paragraph 0022; electronic device in embodiments of this application includes: a SAR sensor, where the SAR sensor includes a first detection channel and a second detection channel; and a first antenna electrode and a second antenna electrode, where the first antenna electrode is connected to the SAR sensor through the first detection channel, the second antenna electrode is connected to the SAR sensor through the second detection channel, and the SAR sensor determines a distance between the electronic device and a human body by using a signal of the first antenna electrode and/or a signal of the second antenna electrode; where an adjustment path is disposed between the first antenna electrode and the second antenna electrode, and the adjustment path is configured to adjust a connection status between the first antenna electrode and the second antenna electrode).
For claim 2, Song teaches further comprising detecting the interaction via the at least one SAR sensor (see paragraph 0022; electronic device in embodiments of this application includes: a SAR sensor, where the SAR sensor includes a first detection channel and a second detection channel; and a first antenna electrode and a second antenna electrode, where the first antenna electrode is connected to the SAR sensor through the first detection channel, the second antenna electrode is connected to the SAR sensor through the second detection channel, and the SAR sensor determines a distance between the electronic device and a human body by using a signal of the first antenna electrode and/or a signal of the second antenna electrode; where an adjustment path is disposed between the first antenna electrode and the second antenna electrode, and the adjustment path is configured to adjust a connection status between the first antenna electrode and the second antenna electrode).
For claim 15, Song teaches memory storing computer executable instructions; a controller, operatively connected to the memory, the controller configured to execute the instructions and cause the communication device to (see paragraph 0129): detect an interaction of a user with the communication device (see paragraph 0022; the SAR sensor determines a distance between the electronic device and a human body by using a signal of the first antenna electrode and/or a signal of the second antenna electrode); identify a modality of the interaction of the user with the communication device (see paragraph 0022; the SAR sensor determines a distance between the electronic device and a human body by using a signal of the first antenna electrode and/or a signal of the second antenna electrode and see paragraph 0025; the human body is close to the antenna electrode, the dielectric constant changes due to a change in an external medium, and then the capacitance between the antenna electrode and the ground changes); and adjust a link establishment characteristic of the communication device based on the modality of the interaction (see paragraph 0022; where an adjustment path is disposed between the first antenna electrode and the second antenna electrode, and the adjustment path is configured to adjust a connection status between the first antenna electrode and the second antenna electrode and see paragraph 0029; adjustment path is disposed between the first antenna electrode and the second antenna electrode, and is configured to adjust the connection status between the first antenna electrode and the second antenna electrode), wherein the instructions cause the communication device to identify the modality of the interaction of the user with the communication device based on an activation location of the at least one specific absorption rate (SAR) sensor disposed on the communication device (see paragraph 0022; electronic device in embodiments of this application includes: a SAR sensor, where the SAR sensor includes a first detection channel and a second detection channel; and a first antenna electrode and a second antenna electrode, where the first antenna electrode is connected to the SAR sensor through the first detection channel, the second antenna electrode is connected to the SAR sensor through the second detection channel, and the SAR sensor determines a distance between the electronic device and a human body by using a signal of the first antenna electrode and/or a signal of the second antenna electrode; where an adjustment path is disposed between the first antenna electrode and the second antenna electrode, and the adjustment path is configured to adjust a connection status between the first antenna electrode and the second antenna electrode).
For claim 16, Song teaches wherein the instructions further cause the communication device to detect the interaction via the at least one SAR sensor (see paragraph 0022; electronic device in embodiments of this application includes: a SAR sensor, where the SAR sensor includes a first detection channel and a second detection channel; and a first antenna electrode and a second antenna electrode, where the first antenna electrode is connected to the SAR sensor through the first detection channel, the second antenna electrode is connected to the SAR sensor through the second detection channel, and the SAR sensor determines a distance between the electronic device and a human body by using a signal of the first antenna electrode and/or a signal of the second antenna electrode; where an adjustment path is disposed between the first antenna electrode and the second antenna electrode, and the adjustment path is configured to adjust a connection status between the first antenna electrode and the second antenna electrode).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Arrasvuori et al. (US 9843351 B2 hereinafter “Arrasvuori”).
For claim 4, Song teaches all of the claim subject matter with the exception of wherein the link establishment characteristic is selected from the group consisting of a roaming parameter, and a new communication session establishment parameter. Yet, in the same field of endeavor of improving wireless communication devices, Arrasvuori teaches wherein the link establishment characteristic is selected from the group consisting of a roaming parameter (Fig 8 and ¶0065 - In accordance with previous examples, user 800 may execute a predetermined orientation and/or motion pattern to initiate scanning at 802. Scanning 802 may then discover any number of POIs in range of user 800's WCD.), and a new communication session establishment parameter (¶0010 - Certain recognized patterns performed by a user may initiate events within the device, such as activating a scan mode, initiating communication with another device, accepting information etc.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song to include selecting the link establishment characteristic from a roaming parameter and a new communication session establishment parameter as taught by Arrasvuori. The motivation to do so is that it yields benefits over other scanning methods such as being faster, more efficient, and more secure, as noted by Arrasvuori (¶0048).
For claim 12, Song teaches all of the claim subject matter with the exception of restoring the link establishment characteristic when one of (a) the interaction of the user with the communication device is no longer detected, and (b) the modality of the interaction of the user with the communication device has changed. Yet, in the same field of endeavor of improving wireless communication devices, Arrasvuori teaches restoring the link establishment characteristic when one of (a) the interaction of the user with the communication device is no longer detected, and (b) the modality of the interaction of the user with the communication device has changed (Fig. 10A and ¶0072 - If no device has been found then an inquiry made be made in step 1006 as to whether scanning may continue. If, for example, the user no longer wishes to seek out other users/devices, then the process may end in step 1014. This may occur due to a timeout elapsing, or alternatively, in response to a termination pattern or key press performed by the user.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song to include restoring the link establishment characteristic as taught by Arrasvuori. The motivation to do so is that it yields benefits over other scanning methods such as being faster, more efficient, and more secure, as noted by Arrasvuori (¶0048).
For claim 18, Song teaches all of the claim subject matter with the exception of wherein the link establishment characteristic is selected from the group consisting of a roaming parameter, and a new communication session establishment parameter. Yet, in the same field of endeavor of improving wireless communication devices, Arrasvuori teaches wherein the link establishment characteristic is selected from the group consisting of a roaming parameter (Fig 8 and ¶0065 - In accordance with previous examples, user 800 may execute a predetermined orientation and/or motion pattern to initiate scanning at 802. Scanning 802 may then discover any number of POIs in range of user 800's WCD.), and a new communication session establishment parameter (¶0010 - Certain recognized patterns performed by a user may initiate events within the device, such as activating a scan mode, initiating communication with another device, accepting information etc.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song to include selecting the link establishment characteristic from a roaming parameter and a new communication session establishment parameter as taught by Arrasvuori. The motivation to do so is that it yields benefits over other scanning methods such as being faster, more efficient, and more secure, as noted by Arrasvuori (¶0048).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Arrasvuori, further in view of Yang (CN 112492521 A), and further in view of Shaw et al (US 2024/0107431 A1), hereinafter Shaw. Machine translation of CN 112492521 A has been relied upon and was attached previously.
For claim 5, Song teaches all of the claim subject matter with the exception of wherein adjusting the link establishment characteristic is selected from the group consisting of modifying a roaming scan trigger, initiating a scan for one or more access points, updating a scanning list of one or more access points, modifying a number of lost beacons parameter to initiate an access point scan, modifying a method of scanning for access points, switching from scanning a first band to scanning a second band, and switching from scanning a first set of channels on the first band to a second set of channels on the first band. Yet, in the same field of endeavor of improving wireless communication devices, Arrasvuori teaches wherein the link establishment characteristic is selected from the group consisting of modifying a roaming scan trigger, initiating a scan for one or more access points, updating a scanning list of one or more access points, and modifying a method of scanning for access points (¶0065 - In accordance with previous examples, user 800 may execute a predetermined orientation and/or motion pattern to initiate scanning at 802. Scanning 802 may then discover any number of POIs in range of user 800's WCD. A POI may be, for example, an automated access point supporting short-range wireless communication). However, Song and Arrasvuori do not disclose wherein the link establishment characteristic is selected from modifying a number of lost beacons parameter to initiate an access point scan, switching from scanning a first band to scanning a second band, and switching from scanning a first set of channels on the first band to a second set of channels on the first band. Yet, in the same field of endeavor of improving wireless communication devices, Yang teaches wherein the link establishment characteristic is selected from modifying a number of lost beacons parameter to initiate an access point scan (Page 9 Paragraphs 5 and 6 - continuously monitoring the number of the lost beacon frames; if the number of the lost beacon frames is more than 100, executing roaming triggering;). However, Song, Arrasvuori, and Yang fail to teach switching from scanning a first band to scanning a second band, and switching from scanning a first set of channels on the first band to a second set of channels on the first band. Yet, in the same field of endeavor of improving wireless communication devices, Shaw teaches wherein the link establishment characteristic is selected from switching from scanning a first band to scanning a second band(¶0036 - the wireless device may also support a second band. Accordingly, as shown in FIG. 3B, additional scanning operations 312, scanning operations 314, and scanning operations 316 may be performed for a second band of the wireless device.), and switching from scanning a first set of channels on the first band to a second set of channels on the first band(¶0032 - Timing diagram 300 additionally includes switching operation 308 in which one or more components of the wireless device, such as the PHY layer, may be switched to scan additional channels. Accordingly, the wireless device may cycle through sets or groups of channels until all channels have been scanned.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song to include a link establishment characteristic selected from modifying a roaming scan trigger, initiating a scan for one or more access points, updating a scanning list of one or more access points, and modifying a method of scanning for access points, as taught by Arrasvuori, along with a link establishment characteristic of modifying a number of lost beacons parameter to initiate an access point scan, as taught by Yang, and a link establishment characteristic selected from switching from scanning a first band to a second band, and switching from scanning first channels to second channels on the first band, as taught by Shaw. The motivation to do so is that it yields benefits over other scanning methods such as being faster, more efficient, and more secure, as noted by Arrasvuori (¶0048).
For claim 19, Song teaches all of the claim subject matter with the exception of wherein adjusting the link establishment characteristic is selected from the group consisting of modifying a roaming scan trigger, initiating a scan for one or more access points, updating a scanning list of one or more access points, modifying a number of lost beacons parameter to initiate an access point scan, modifying a method of scanning for access points, switching from scanning a first band to scanning a second band, and switching from scanning a first set of channels on the first band to a second set of channels on the first band. Yet, in the same field of endeavor of improving wireless communication devices, Arrasvuori teaches wherein the link establishment characteristic is selected from the group consisting of modifying a roaming scan trigger, initiating a scan for one or more access points, updating a scanning list of one or more access points, and modifying a method of scanning for access points (¶0065 - In accordance with previous examples, user 800 may execute a predetermined orientation and/or motion pattern to initiate scanning at 802. Scanning 802 may then discover any number of POIs in range of user 800's WCD. A POI may be, for example, an automated access point supporting short-range wireless communication). However, Song and Arrasvuori do not disclose wherein the link establishment characteristic is selected from modifying a number of lost beacons parameter to initiate an access point scan, switching from scanning a first band to scanning a second band, and switching from scanning a first set of channels on the first band to a second set of channels on the first band. Yet, in the same field of endeavor of improving wireless communication devices, Yang teaches wherein the link establishment characteristic is selected from modifying a number of lost beacons parameter to initiate an access point scan (Page 9 Paragraphs 5 and 6 - continuously monitoring the number of the lost beacon frames; if the number of the lost beacon frames is more than 100, executing roaming triggering;). However, Song, Arrasvuori, and Yang fail to teach switching from scanning a first band to scanning a second band, and switching from scanning a first set of channels on the first band to a second set of channels on the first band. Yet, in the same field of endeavor of improving wireless communication devices, Shaw teaches wherein the link establishment characteristic is selected from switching from scanning a first band to scanning a second band(¶0036 - the wireless device may also support a second band. Accordingly, as shown in FIG. 3B, additional scanning operations 312, scanning operations 314, and scanning operations 316 may be performed for a second band of the wireless device.), and switching from scanning a first set of channels on the first band to a second set of channels on the first band(¶0032 - Timing diagram 300 additionally includes switching operation 308 in which one or more components of the wireless device, such as the PHY layer, may be switched to scan additional channels. Accordingly, the wireless device may cycle through sets or groups of channels until all channels have been scanned.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song to include a link establishment characteristic selected from modifying a roaming scan trigger, initiating a scan for one or more access points, updating a scanning list of one or more access points, and modifying a method of scanning for access points, as taught by Arrasvuori, along with a link establishment characteristic of modifying a number of lost beacons parameter to initiate an access point scan, as taught by Yang, and a link establishment characteristic selected from switching from scanning a first band to a second band, and switching from scanning first channels to second channels on the first band, as taught by Shaw. The motivation to do so is that it yields benefits over other scanning methods such as being faster, more efficient, and more secure, as noted by Arrasvuori (¶0048).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Arrasvuori, and further in view of Tian et al. (CN 116866943 A), hereinafter Tian. Machine translation of CN 116866943 A has been relied on and was attached previously).
For claim 6, Song and Arrasvuori teaches all of the claim subject matter with the exception of wherein the roaming parameter comprises a first roaming threshold. Yet, in the same field of endeavor of improving wireless communication devices, Tian teaches wherein the roaming parameter comprises a first roaming threshold (See Abstract - according to the signal intensity of the network equipment and the signal intensity of the terminal equipment, the initial roaming threshold value of the terminal equipment is adjusted to obtain a target roaming threshold value; wherein the target roaming threshold is used to determine whether the terminal device enters a roaming state.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song and Arrasvuori to include the roaming parameter comprising a first roaming threshold as taught by Tian. The motivation to do so is that the equipment can enter a roaming state at a proper time, and the equipment is more suitable for different network environments, as noted by Tian (See Abstract).
For claim 7, Song and Arrasvuori teaches all of the claim subject matter with the exception of adjusting the first roaming threshold to a second roaming threshold having a received signal strength indication (RSSI) value stronger than an RSSI value of the first roaming threshold to compensate for at least one of signal absorption by a body part of the user or transmit power backoff by the communication device. Yet, in the same field of endeavor of improving wireless communication devices, Tian teaches adjusting the first roaming threshold to a second roaming threshold having a received signal strength indication (RSSI) value(Page 6 Paragraph 4 - Wherein, the signal strength may include: a strength indication (Received Signal Strength Indicator, RSSI) of the received signal.) stronger than an RSSI value of the first roaming threshold to compensate for at least one of signal absorption by a body part of the user or transmit power backoff by the communication device. (Page 7 para. 3 - the initial roaming threshold may be adjusted according to the signal strength of the network device and the signal strength of the terminal device, so that the obtained target roaming threshold corresponds to the signal strength of the terminal device and the signal strength of the network device.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song and Arrasvuori to include adjusting the first roaming threshold to a second roaming threshold having a received signal strength indication (RSSI) value stronger than an RSSI value of the first roaming threshold to compensate for at least one of signal absorption by a body part of the user or transmit power backoff by the communication device, as taught by Tian. The motivation to do so is that the equipment can enter a roaming state at a proper time, and the equipment is more suitable for different network environments, as noted by Tian (See Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Kim et al. (US 2015/0116211 A1, hereinafter “Kim”).
For claim 8, Song teaches all of the claim subject matter with the exception of wherein identifying the modality of the interaction of the user with the communication device is based on detecting activation of an audio receiver of the communication device. Yet, in the same field of endeavor of improving wireless communication devices, Kim teaches wherein identifying the modality of the interaction of the user with the communication device is based on detecting activation of an audio receiver of the communication device (See Fig 6 Steps 603-607).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lu to include identifying the modality of the interaction based on activation of an audio receiver as taught by Kim. The motivation to do so is that it enables the mobile device to be controlled without mechanically touching the mobile device, as noted by Kim (¶0012).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Lu et al. (US 2023/0138665 A1; hereinafter “Lu”)
For claim 9, Song teaches all of the claim subject matter with the exception of wherein identify the modality of the interaction of the user with the communication device is based on an accelerometer sensor of the communication device. Lu from the field of communications similar to that of Song teaches the device-based on information from one or more sensors (e.g., capacitive sensor, grip sensor, accelerometer, gyroscope, etc.) and/or other information (e.g., application information)—determines a device state with a larger separation distance (and specific device surface(s)) for SAR exposure, then technically, that distance (and device surface(s)) may also be used to account for a lower PD exposure (see paragraph 0082). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the senor of Song be an accelerometer as taught by Lu. The motivation for doing this is to provide for an efficient system where other information can be gather for evaluation.
For claim 11, Song teaches all of the claim subject matter with the exception of wherein the communication device is selected from the group consisting of a wireless local area network (WLAN) communication device and a wireless wide area network (WWAN) communication device. Lu from the field of communications similar to that of Song teaches wireless communication device (e.g., UE 120) may simultaneously transmit signals using multiple wireless communication technologies. For example, the wireless communication device may simultaneously transmit signals using a first wireless communication technology operating at or below 6 GHz (e.g., 3G, 4G, 5G, WLAN, Bluetooth, NTN, etc.) and a second wireless communication technology operating above 6 GHz (e.g., mmWave 5G in 24 to 60 GHz bands, IEEE 802.11ad or 802.11ay) (see paragraph 0047). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Song device to be from the various wireless network as taught by Lu where the selection of the wireless network would yield a reasonable and predictable result.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song of Arrasvuori, further in view of He et al. (US 9716995 B2), hereinafter He.
For claim 10, Song and Arrasvuori teaches all of the claim subject matter with the exception of teach wherein the roaming parameter is adjusted by the communication device by modifying a firmware register setting. Yet, in the same field of endeavor of improving wireless communication devices, He teaches wherein the roaming parameter is adjusted by the communication device (¶0025 - As will be discussed below, aspects of this disclosure include adjusting one or more roaming parameters, such as roaming threshold, switching threshold, roaming interval and others as may be appropriate.) by modifying a firmware register setting (¶0012 - Unless specifically stated otherwise as apparent from the following discussions, it is appreciated that throughout the present application, discussions utilizing the terms such as “accessing,” “receiving,” “sending,” “using,” “selecting,” “determining,” “normalizing,” “multiplying,” “averaging,” “monitoring,” “comparing,” “applying,” “updating,” “measuring,” “deriving” or the like, refer to the actions and processes of a computer system, or similar electronic computing device, that manipulates and transforms data represented as physical (electronic) quantities within the computer system's registers and memories into other data similarly represented as physical quantities within the computer system memories or registers or other such information storage, transmission or display devices.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song and Arrasvuori to include adjusting the roaming parameter by modifying a firmware register setting, as taught by He. The motivation to do so is that it may balance energy expended to discover alternative APs against demand for connectivity, as noted by He (¶0007).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Tian.
For claim 13, Song teaches all of the claim subject matter with the exception of wherein the link establishment characteristic is adjusted when a received signal strength indication (RSSI) is below a predetermined threshold. Yet, in the same field of endeavor of improving wireless communication devices, Tian teaches wherein the link establishment characteristic is adjusted when a received signal strength indication (RSSI) is below a predetermined threshold(Page 7 Paragraph 7 - In the embodiment of the disclosure, when the terminal device is associated with the network device, it may be determined whether the signal strength of the terminal device is less than or equal to the pre-measurement threshold, and when the signal strength of the terminal device is less than or equal to the pre-measurement threshold, that is, the detection mode is entered, the signal strength of the terminal device and the signal strength of the network device are acquired. Here, the pre-prediction threshold is used to trigger the process of the analog terminal device triggering roaming. Page 6 Paragraph 4 - Wherein, the signal strength may include: a strength indication (Received Signal Strength Indicator, RSSI) of the received signal.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lu to include adjusting the link establishment characteristic when a received signal strength indication is below a predetermined threshold, as taught by Tian. The motivation to do so is that the equipment can enter a roaming state at a proper time, and the equipment is more suitable for different network environments, as noted by Tian (See Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song Lu in view of So (KR 102208304 B1). Machine translation of KR 102208304 B1 has been relied on and was attached previously.
For claim 14, Song teaches all of the claim subject matter with the exception of wherein the link establishment characteristic is adjusted when the communication device detects at least one base station with a stronger received signal strength indication (RSSI) than a current base station.Yet, in the same field of endeavor of improving wireless communication devices, So teaches wherein the link establishment characteristic is adjusted when the communication device detects at least one base station with a stronger received signal strength indication (RSSI) than a current base station (Page 6 Paragraph 1 - a terminal performs a scan to acquire received signal strengths of neighboring access points. Next, the scanned access points are sorted in RSSI order in the lowest order (S610). At this time, if the highest RSSI value of the neighboring access points RSSI .sub.1 is greater than the RSSI γ .sub.current of the currently connected access point by α (S620), the connection of the currently connected access point is stopped and an optimal access point is attempted). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song to include adjusting the link establishment characteristic when the device detects a base station with a stronger received signal than the current base station, as taught by So. The motivation to do so is that it supports high-speed Wi-Fi handoff without changing the Wi-Fi standard protocol, as noted by So (Page 3 Paragraph 8).
Conclusion
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465