DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 12/01/2023 and 01/08/2026 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2018/0242334 A1 herein Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an electronic device (read as wireless communication equipment) (Kim – Figure 1, [0035]) comprising:
an antenna (read as antenna ANT) (Kim – Figure 1, [0039]);
an antenna tuner (read as antenna tuner 300) (Kim – Figure 1, [0036], and [0039]);
a transceiver (read as control circuit 100 may include transmitter 140 and receiver 150) (Kim – Figure 1, Figure 3, [0057]);
a power amplifier electrically connected to the antenna tuner and configured to perform, power amplification according to an execution of impedance matching (read as antenna tuner 300 may include an impedance tuner also called an impedance matching circuit; power amplifier 220 may amplify a power of the RF transmission signal) (Kim – Figure 1, and [0039]-[0040]); and
at least one processor operatively connected to the transceiver, the antenna tuner, and the power amplifier (read as processor such as application processor of an electronic device; wireless communication equipment 1000 may include a main processor 1700) (Kim – Figure 21, [0063], [0179]),
wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
configure a reference tuner code for the antenna tuner connected to the antenna in a signal path of the transceiver (read as tuning value setting module 130b may find a minimum parameter value by comparing a plurality of parameter values and may set a tuning value, that is, a tuning code, corresponding to the minimum value of the parameter) (Kim – [0142]-[0143]) and identify a reflection coefficient of the antenna (read as look-up table 160a may include a tuning value corresponding to each of various values of the reflection coefficient; tuning value setting module 130a may search the look-up table 160a based on the reflection coefficient, tuning value setting module 130a may set a tuning value by selecting a tuning value corresponding to the reflection coefficient in the look-up table 160a) (Kim – [0077]-[0078]), and
calculate a tuner code of the antenna tuner based on whether the identified reflection coefficient of the antenna has been changed and an operation of at least one component of the antenna tuner and perform the impedance matching of the antenna (read as parameter calculation module 120a may calculate a reflection coefficient based on data; frequency to which the transmission signal S is allocated may be continuously changed, and magnitude and phase of the reflection coefficient may be changed according to the frequency; the calculated reflection coefficient may be compensated based on the reference frequency) (Kim – [0074]-[0075]).
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, Kim further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: compare the reflection coefficient of the antenna with a previous reflection coefficient of the antenna (read as compare similar reflection coefficients wherein similar reflection coefficients for all frequencies and tuning values corresponding to the similar reflection coefficients are stored in a look-up table) (Kim – [0111]), and calculate the tuner code of the antenna tuner based on whether a first switch of the antenna tuner is on or off (read as switch 240a may apply signals output through the first port P3 and the fourth port P4 of the bidirectional coupler 230a, the forward reception signal and the reverse reception signal, to the RF modulator 210a) (Kim – [0069]) based on a difference being present as a result of the comparison (read as parameter calculation module 120a may calculate a reflection coefficient based on first sampling data obtained in a first sampling and second sampling data obtained in a second sampling) (Kim – [0074]).
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 2, Kim further teaches wherein based on the first switch being on, the at least one processor is configured to: maintain, as an existing value, a value of a first variable capacitor connected in series to the first switch, and calculate the tuner code of the antenna tuner based on at least one of an on or off of at least another switch connected in parallel to the first switch and a change in a voltage of a second variable capacitor connected in parallel to the first switch (read as impedance tuner 300a may include a capacitor and an inductor, and a capacity of the capacitor may vary according to an applied voltage; at least one from among a magnitude and a phase of an impedance may be changed when a voltage is applied to the impedance tuner 300a is changed based on an impedance control signal ICS) (Kim – Figure 4, and [0066]).
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 2, Kim further teaches wherein based on the first switch being off, the at least one processor is configured to: maintain, as a maximum voltage, a value of a first variable capacitor connected in series to the first switch, and calculate the tuner code of the antenna tuner based on at least one of an on or off of at least another switch connected in parallel to the first switch and a change in a voltage of the second variable capacitor (read as impedance tuner 300a may include a capacitor and an inductor, and a capacity of the capacitor may vary according to an applied voltage; at least one from among a magnitude and a phase of an impedance may be changed when a voltage is applied to the impedance tuner 300a is changed based on an impedance control signal ICS) (Kim – Figure 4, and [0066]).
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 2, Kim further teaches wherein based on a difference not being present as a result of the comparison, the at least one processor is configured to update the tuner code of the antenna tuner based on a change in a voltage of a first variable capacitor connected in series to the first switch of the antenna tuner (read as parameter calculation module 120a may obtain an improved and/or optimal tuning value by compensating for a reflection coefficient calculated in real time base on the reference frequency and setting a tuning value by referring to the look-up table 160a based on the compensated reflection coefficient; parameter calculation module 120a may select a tuning value corresponding to the compensated reflection coefficient in a look-up table 160a generated based on the reference frequency) (Kim – [0112]).
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 5, Kim further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to perform, based on the reflection coefficients of the antenna identified in different cycles, updating the tuner code based on a difference not being present and a difference being present as a result of the comparison (read as parameter calculation module 120a may obtain an improved and/or optimal tuning value by compensating for a reflection coefficient calculated in real time base on the reference frequency and setting a tuning value by referring to the look-up table 160a based on the compensated reflection coefficient; parameter calculation module 120a may select a tuning value corresponding to the compensated reflection coefficient in a look-up table 160a generated based on the reference frequency) (Kim – [0112]).
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1, Kim further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: apply the reference tuner code to the antenna tuner, and select a ground code of at least one ground controller connected to a signal path of the antenna (read as antenna 400c may include a shorting pin 401, a radiating element 402, a feed point 403, a ground plane 404, the impedance tuner 410, and the aperture tuner 420; the shorting pin 401 connects the antenna 400c to the ground plane 404) (Kim – [0157]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches a method of operating an electronic device (read as wireless communication equipment) (Kim – Figure 1, [0035]) comprising an antenna (read as antenna ANT) (Kim – Figure 1, [0039]), comprising:
applying a reference tuner code (read as tuning value setting module 130b may find a minimum parameter value by comparing a plurality of parameter values and may set a tuning value, that is, a tuning code, corresponding to the minimum value of the parameter) (Kim – [0142]-[0143]) to an antenna tuner connected to a signal path of an antenna (read as antenna tuner 300) (Kim – Figure 1, [0036], and [0039]), and identifying a reflection coefficient of the antenna (read as look-up table 160a may include a tuning value corresponding to each of various values of the reflection coefficient; tuning value setting module 130a may search the look-up table 160a based on the reflection coefficient, tuning value setting module 130a may set a tuning value by selecting a tuning value corresponding to the reflection coefficient in the look-up table 160a) (Kim – [0077]-[0078]); and
calculating a tuner code of the antenna tuner based on whether the identified reflection coefficient of the antenna has been changed and an operation of at least one component of the antenna tuner (read as parameter calculation module 120a may calculate a reflection coefficient based on data; frequency to which the transmission signal S is allocated may be continuously changed, and magnitude and phase of the reflection coefficient may be changed according to the frequency; the calculated reflection coefficient may be compensated based on the reference frequency) (Kim – [0074]-[0075]), and performing impedance matching of the antenna (read as tuning value module 130a may select a similar reflection coefficient closest to a similar reflection coefficient calculated in real time in the look-up table 160a, and may set a tuning value corresponding to the selected similar reflection coefficient as an optimal tuning value for compensating for an impedance mismatch) (Kim – [0106]).
Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 11, Kim further teaches further comprising: comparing the reflection coefficient of the antenna with a previous reflection coefficient of the antenna (read as compare similar reflection coefficients wherein similar reflection coefficients for all frequencies and tuning values corresponding to the similar reflection coefficients are stored in a look-up table) (Kim – [0111]); and calculating the tuner code of the antenna tuner based on an on or off of a first switch of the antenna tuner (read as switch 240a may apply signals output through the first port P3 and the fourth port P4 of the bidirectional coupler 230a, the forward reception signal and the reverse reception signal, to the RF modulator 210a) (Kim – [0069]) based on a difference being present as a result of the comparison (read as parameter calculation module 120a may calculate a reflection coefficient based on first sampling data obtained in a first sampling and second sampling data obtained in a second sampling) (Kim – [0074]).
Regarding claim 13 as applied to claim 12, Kim further teaches further comprising, based on the first switch being on: maintaining, as an existing value, a value of a first variable capacitor connected in series to the first switch, and calculating the tuner code of the antenna tuner based on at least one of an on or off of at least another switch connected in parallel to the first switch and a change in a voltage of a second variable capacitor connected in parallel to the first switch (read as impedance tuner 300a may include a capacitor and an inductor, and a capacity of the capacitor may vary according to an applied voltage; at least one from among a magnitude and a phase of an impedance may be changed when a voltage is applied to the impedance tuner 300a is changed based on an impedance control signal ICS) (Kim – Figure 4, and [0066]).
Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 12, Kim further teaches further comprising, based on the first switch being off, maintaining, as a maximum voltage, a value of a first variable capacitor connected in series to the first switch, and calculating the tuner code of the antenna tuner based on at least one of an on or off of at least another switch connected in parallel to the first switch and a change in a voltage of the second variable capacitor connected in parallel to the first switch (read as impedance tuner 300a may include a capacitor and an inductor, and a capacity of the capacitor may vary according to an applied voltage; at least one from among a magnitude and a phase of an impedance may be changed when a voltage is applied to the impedance tuner 300a is changed based on an impedance control signal ICS) (Kim – Figure 4, and [0066]).
Regarding claim 15 as applied to claim 12, Kim further teaches further comprising, based on a difference not being present as a result of the comparison, updating the tuner code of the antenna tuner based on a change in a voltage of a first variable capacitor connected in series to the first switch of the antenna tuner (read as parameter calculation module 120a may obtain an improved and/or optimal tuning value by compensating for a reflection coefficient calculated in real time base on the reference frequency and setting a tuning value by referring to the look-up table 160a based on the compensated reflection coefficient; parameter calculation module 120a may select a tuning value corresponding to the compensated reflection coefficient in a look-up table 160a generated based on the reference frequency) (Kim – [0112]).
Regarding claim 16 as applied to claim 12, Kim further teaches wherein updating the tuner code based on a difference not being present and a difference being present as a result of the comparison is performed based on the reflection coefficients of the antenna identified in different cycles (read as parameter calculation module 120a may obtain an improved and/or optimal tuning value by compensating for a reflection coefficient calculated in real time base on the reference frequency and setting a tuning value by referring to the look-up table 160a based on the compensated reflection coefficient; parameter calculation module 120a may select a tuning value corresponding to the compensated reflection coefficient in a look-up table 160a generated based on the reference frequency) (Kim – [0112]).
Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 11, Kim further teaches further comprising: applying the reference tuner code to the antenna tuner, and selecting a ground code of at least one ground controller connected to a signal path of the antenna (read as antenna 400c may include a shorting pin 401, a radiating element 402, a feed point 403, a ground plane 404, the impedance tuner 410, and the aperture tuner 420; the shorting pin 401 connects the antenna 400c to the ground plane 404) (Kim – [0157]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/APRIL G GONZALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648