DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by VanGilder et al (US Pub. 2022/01831911; hereinafter VanGilder) .
The applied reference has a common assignee and common inventors with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
As per claim 1, VanGilder discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing thereon sequences of computer-executable instructions for assessing cooling in a space containing one or more units of information technology (IT) equipment and one or more cooling units [abstract; Fig. 1A-5], the sequences of computer-executable instructions including instructions that instruct at least one processor to:
receive information-technology-device information indicative of the one or more units of IT equipment, the information-technology-device information including information-technology- device-location information and temperature information [para 0004; “… receive information-technology-device information indicative of a plurality of information-technology devices in a space, the information-technology-device information including information-technology-device-location information, temperature information, and capture-index information …” ];
determine, for each unit of IT equipment of the one or more units of IT equipment based on the information-technology-device information, an IT-equipment-cooling assessment [para 0004-0007; “… determine, based on the information-technology-device-location information, the temperature information, and the at least the portion of the capture-index information, a respective cooling-performance assessment …”; para 0039; “… determining a cooling-performance assessment for an IT device …”];
receive cooling-unit information indicative of at least one of air output by the one or more units of IT equipment to the one or more cooling units or air provided by the one or more cooling units to the one or more units of IT equipment [para 0005; the capture-index information includes at least one of a cold-aisle capture index (CACI)];
determine, based on the cooling-unit information, at least one of a cooling-airflow-return effectiveness or a cooling-airflow-supply effectiveness, the cooling-airflow-return effectiveness being indicative of how effectively the one or more cooling units capture air output by the one or more units of IT equipment and the cooling-airflow-supply effectiveness being indicative of how effectively the one or more cooling units provide air to the one or more units of IT equipment [Fig. 3; para 0039, 0057; “Examples of the disclosure include determining a cooling-performance assessment for an IT device based at least in part on a temperature, a location of the IT device, and one or more capture indices for the IT device. As discussed above, capture indices may include a CACI and/or a HACI.”]; and
display, via a user interface: a simulation display depicting the one or more units of IT equipment, an effectiveness indicator for the at least one of the cooling-airflow-return effectiveness or the cooling-airflow-supply effectiveness, and a respective IT indicator for each IT-equipment-cooling assessment, wherein each respective IT indicator is displayed in association with a respective unit of IT equipment to which the respective IT indicator corresponds [Fig. 2A-2C; para 0070; “As discussed above and as illustrated in FIGS. 2A-2C, indicators of each of the one or more cooling-performance assessments may be displayed to a user.”].
As per claim 8, VanGilder a method of assessing cooling in a space containing one or more units of information technology (IT) equipment and one or more cooling units, the method comprising:
receiving information-technology-device information indicative of the one or more units of IT equipment, the information-technology-device information including information- technology-device-location information and temperature information [para 0004; “… receive information-technology-device information indicative of a plurality of information-technology devices in a space, the information-technology-device information including information-technology-device-location information, temperature information, and capture-index information …”];
determining, for each unit of IT equipment of the one or more units of IT equipment based on the information-technology-device information, an IT-equipment-cooling assessment [para 0004-0007; “… determine, based on the information-technology-device-location information, the temperature information, and the at least the portion of the capture-index information, a respective cooling-performance assessment …”; para 0039; “… determining a cooling-performance assessment for an IT device …”];
receiving cooling-unit information indicative of at least one of air output by the one or more units of IT equipment to the one or more cooling units or air provided by the one or more cooling units to the one or more units of IT equipment [para 0005; the capture-index information includes at least one of a cold-aisle capture index (CACI)];
determining, based on the cooling-unit information, at least one of a cooling-airflow- return effectiveness or a cooling-airflow-supply effectiveness, the cooling-airflow-return effectiveness being indicative of how effectively the one or more cooling units capture air output by the one or more units of IT equipment and the cooling-airflow-supply effectiveness being indicative of how effectively the one or more cooling units provide air to the one or more units of IT equipment [Fig. 3; para 0039, 0057; “Examples of the disclosure include determining a cooling-performance assessment for an IT device based at least in part on a temperature, a location of the IT device, and one or more capture indices for the IT device. As discussed above, capture indices may include a CACI and/or a HACI.”]; and
displaying, via a user interface: a simulation display depicting the one or more units of IT equipment, an effectiveness indicator for the at least one of the cooling-airflow-return effectiveness or the cooling-airflow-supply effectiveness, and a respective IT indicator for each IT-equipment-cooling assessment, wherein each respective IT indicator is displayed in association with a respective unit of IT equipment to which the respective IT indicator corresponds [Fig. 2A-2C; para 0070; “As discussed above and as illustrated in FIGS. 2A-2C, indicators of each of the one or more cooling-performance assessments may be displayed to a user.”].
As per claim 15, VanGilder discloses a system comprising:
one or more units of information technology (IT) equipment in a space [Abstract; “… a plurality of information-technology devices in a space …”];
one or more cooling units in the space [para 0003; cooling devices in a data center; para 0012; cooling equipment in an IT room; para 0027; cooling devices or cooling resources]; and
at least one processor coupled to memory and/or storage [para 0004; “… an information-technology-design system is provided comprising at least one processor coupled to at least one memory …”] and being configured to:
receive information-technology-device information indicative of the one or more units of IT equipment, the information-technology-device information including information-technology-device-location information and temperature information [para 0004; “… receive information-technology-device information indicative of a plurality of information-technology devices in a space, the information-technology-device information including information-technology-device-location information, temperature information, and capture-index information …”];
determine, for each unit of IT equipment of the one or more units of IT equipment based on the information-technology-device information, an IT-equipment-cooling assessment [para 0004-0007; “… determine, based on the information-technology-device-location information, the temperature information, and the at least the portion of the capture-index information, a respective cooling-performance assessment …”; para 0039; “… determining a cooling-performance assessment for an IT device …”];
receive cooling-unit information indicative of at least one of air output by the one or more units of IT equipment to the one or more cooling units or air provided by the one or more cooling units to the one or more units of IT equipment [para 0005; the capture-index information includes at least one of a cold-aisle capture index (CACI)];
determine, based on the cooling-unit information, at least one of a cooling- airflow-return effectiveness or a cooling-airflow-supply effectiveness, the cooling- airflow-return effectiveness being indicative of how effectively the one or more cooling units capture air output by the one or more units of IT equipment and the cooling-airflow-supply effectiveness being indicative of how effectively the one or more cooling units provide air to the one or more units of IT equipment [Fig. 3; para 0039, 0057; “Examples of the disclosure include determining a cooling-performance assessment for an IT device based at least in part on a temperature, a location of the IT device, and one or more capture indices for the IT device. As discussed above, capture indices may include a CACI and/or a HACI.”]; and
display, via a user interface: a simulation display depicting the one or more units of IT equipment, an effectiveness indicator for the at least one of the cooling-airflow-return effectiveness or the cooling-airflow-supply effectiveness, and a respective IT indicator for each IT-equipment-cooling assessment, wherein each respective IT indicator is displayed in association with a respective unit of IT equipment to which the respective IT indicator corresponds [Fig. 2A-2C; para 0070; “As discussed above and as illustrated in FIGS. 2A-2C, indicators of each of the one or more cooling-performance assessments may be displayed to a user.”].
As per claims 2, 9, and 16, VanGilder discloses wherein the cooling- airflow-return effectiveness is indicative of a percentage of air output by the one or more units of IT equipment that is directly captured by the one or more cooling units [para 0039-0042].
As per claims 3, 10, and 17, VanGilder discloses wherein being directly captured by the one or more cooling units includes the air output by the one or more units of IT equipment being captured by the one or more cooling units without first passing through other devices capable of changing a temperature of the air [Fig. 3; para 0043].
As per claims 4, 11, and 18, VanGilder discloses wherein the cooling- airflow-supply effectiveness is indicative of a percentage of air that is supplied by the one or more cooling units directly to the one or more units of IT equipment [para 0039-0042].
As per claims 5, 12, and 19, VanGilder discloses wherein being directly supplied to the one or more cooling units includes the air output by the one or more cooling units being provided to the one or more units of IT equipment without first passing through other devices capable of changing a temperature of the air [para 0041].
As per claims 6 and 13, VanGilder discloses wherein determining the at least one of the cooling-airflow-return effectiveness or the cooling-airflow-supply effectiveness is based on every unit of IT equipment in the space [Fig. 2A-2C; para 0035].
As per claims 7, 14, and 20, VanGilder discloses wherein determining the at least one of the cooling-airflow-return effectiveness or the cooling-airflow-supply effectiveness includes weighting an airflow rate of each of the one or more units of IT equipment [para 0066-0068].
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A. US-20220151109 discloses systems and methods for generating in a graphical user interface a display representing air temperatures, pressures, and velocities in an information technology room.
B. US-20190187764 discloses predicting transient cooling performance for a data center and adjusting values of HACI and CACI.
C. US-20160249487 discloses a system and method for optimizing cooling efficiency of a data center.
D. US-20160234972 discloses a simulation-based cooling optimization method that provides real-time cooling set points in a data center.
E. US-20140316720 discloses management of cooling using real-time Computational Fluid Dynamic (CFD) software associated with data processing systems in a computer data center.
F. US-20100131109 discloses a system and method for providing energy assessment and optimization in a data center that includes at least one cooling provider, and at least one cooling consumer, the at least one cooling consumer having cooling requirements.
U. Norouzi-Khangah et al (Performance assessment of cooling systems in data center; Methodology and application of a new thermal metric) disclose a comprehensive cooling index to assess performance of cooling systems in data center and demonstrates its application on a real case by using CFD (computational fluid mechanics) method.
Conclusion
/SURESH SURYAWANSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116
1 Prior art cited by applicant in submitted information discloser statement.