DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-28 are pending in the application. Claims 1-8, 10, 13, 15, 16, 18, 21, 23, 25, 27 and 28 are rejected. Claims 9, 11, 12, 14, 17, 19, 20, 22, 24 and 26 are withdrawn from considerations.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species of infantile spasm in the reply filed on August 25th, 2026 is acknowledged.
As per MPEP 803.02, the examiner will determine whether the entire scope of the claims is patentable. Applicants' elected species is not allowable. MPEP 803.02 states:
Following election, the Markush claim will be examined fully with respect to the elected species and further to the extent necessary to determine patentability. […]
If the Markush claim is not allowable, the provisional election will be given effect and examination will be limited to the Markush claim and claims to the elected species, with claims drawn to species patentably distinct from the elected species held withdrawn from further consideration. […]
If on examination the elected species is found to be anticipated or rendered obvious by prior art, the Markush claim and claims to the elected species will be rejected, and claims to the nonelected species will be held withdrawn from further consideration.
As the elected species has been found not allowable, the Markush-type claims have been rejected and claims to the nonelected invention held withdrawn from further consideration. Claims 1-8, 10, 13, 15, 16, 18, 21, 23, 25, 27 and 28 embrace the elected species at least since convulsive seizures do not appear to be a seizure associated with the elected species of infantile spasms. Claims 1-8, 10, 13, 15, 16, 18, 21, 23, 25, 27 and 28 have been examined to the extent that they are readable on the elected embodiment. Since the elected species is not allowable, subject matter not embraced by the elected embodiment is therefore withdrawn from further consideration.
Any additional issues (such as under 35 USC 112, first paragraph) applicable to non-elected species were discovered incidental to the search of the elected species and are presented below in the interest of compact prosecution.
Priority
This application is a continuation of U.S. Application Serial No. 18/320,906, which is a continuation of U.S. Application Serial No. 17/472,016, which is a continuation of U.S. Application No. 17/119,873, which is a continuation of U.S. Application No. 16/791,940, which is a continuation of U.S. Application No. 15/948,412, which is a continuation of U.S. Application Serial No. 15/449,084, which is a continuation of U.S. Application No. 15/284,766, which is a continuation of U.S. Application No. 14/741,783, which claims priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a-d) to U.K. Application No’s. GB1410771 and GB1506550, filed June 17th, 2014 and April 17th, 2015.
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file in the ‘084 application.
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 18/320,906 (and each of the series of continuations), fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
Instant claims 1-8, 10, 13, 15, 16, 18, 21, 23, 25, 27 and 28 are rejected as containing new matter relative to the originally filed disclosure, which discussions are incorporated here by reference. Since the parent application 18/320,906 (and each of the series of continuations) contains the same disclosure as the instant application, the instant claims are unsupported by the parent application(s) for the same reason as discussed under 35 USC 112, first paragraph.
For this reason, the earliest effective filing date of the instant claims is February 13th, 2024, when the limitations introducing new matter were added.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Examiner has considered the Information Disclosure Statement(s) filed on August 24th, 2026, October 1st, 2024 and April 8th, 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, first paragraph
(1 of 2) Claims 1-8, 10, 13, 15, 16, 18, 21, 23, 25, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a new matter rejection.
Claim 1 recites the treatment of “benign polymicrogyria”. The limitation of “polymicrogyria” only appears in the application as filed on page 8 as follows:
The application as filed only specifically points to “bilateral polymicrogyria”. There is no discussion or suggestion in the application that the method should be applied to other forms including “benign polymicrogyria,” especially since the descriptor of “benign” suggests that epileptic symptoms would not necessarily be observed. Dependent claims 2-8, 10, 13, 15, 16, 18, 21, 23, 25, 27 and 28 each embrace the treatment of “benign polymicrogyria” and are rejected as containing new matter for the same reason.
(2 of 2) Claims 1, 10, 15, 16, 18, 21, 23, 25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a new matter rejection.
In the amendment filed February 13th, 2024, claim 1 was amended to replace “at least 98 % w/w CBD” with “at least 95 % w/w CBD”. This limitation is rejected as indefinite; however, the specification does not teach or reasonably suggest the newly recited range. As noted in MPEP 2163.05(III): “With respect to changing numerical range limitations, the analysis must take into account which ranges one skilled in the art would consider inherently supported by the discussion in the original disclosure.” In this situation, the specification as filed only discloses a range of at least 98 % w/w CBD, such as the following on page 1:
The material prepared and tested on pages 8 and 9 of the specification is similarly reported to contain ≥ 98.0 % w/w CBD. Furthermore, the specification as filed discusses the importance of CBD purity in paragraphs [0027] and [0028].
The instant claims are further limited to the treatment of specific types of treatment-resistant epilepsies including infantile spasms, which is only mentioned once in the application as filed on page 8 (paragraph [0050]) where it does not appear that any infantile spasm subjects were actually treated.
Given the specification’s discussion of the importance of CBD purity level along with the only disclosed purity range of at least 98 % w/w CBD, the originally filed specification does not support the amended claims that recite a broader range of weight percentages and especially for conditions that were apparently not even tested and/or determined to not be affected by using lower weight percentages.
Dependent claims 10, 15, 16, 18, 21, 23, 25 and 27 each embrace the broader range and are rejected as containing new matter for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, second paragraph
Claims 1-8, 10, 13, 15, 16, 18, 21, 23, 25, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-8, 10, 13, 15, 16, 18, 21, 23, 25, 27 and 28 are rejected as indefinite based on the limitation in claim 1 of “a pharmaceutical composition comprising a cannabidiol (CBD) drug substance, wherein the CBD drug substance comprises at least 95 % w/w CBD…”. The effect of the weight percentage limitation is unclear. The claim recites that the “pharmaceutical composition” comprises the drug substance such that the composition itself is apparently otherwise open-ended. Therefore, it is unclear how to parse which components of the composition should be calculated to determine the weight percentage. For instance, a pharmaceutical composition overall could contain 50 % w/w THC and 50 % w/w CBD. If the composition were prepared from synthetic THC and synthetic CBD, each with purities of 100 % w/w, the composition could be argued to meet the limitation of the instant claim. Similarly, a pharmaceutical composition could be prepared using an extract containing 50 % w/w THC and 50 % w/w CBD. The composition could be argued not to meet the limitation of the instant claim since the source of CBD did not have at least 95 % w/w CBD. The two pharmaceutical compositions, however, contain identical components in identical weight percentages. Furthermore, MPEP 2113(I) notes that product-by-process limitations are not given patentable weight. For this reason, it is unclear whether (1) the weight percentage limitation is effectively meaningless, (2) the weight percentage is intended to be calculated with respect to the overall composition, (3) the weight percentage is intended to be calculated with respect to components that, for instance, might otherwise be found together with CBD as it occurs naturally, or some other possibility.
Dependent claims 2-8, 10, 13, 15, 16, 18, 21, 23, 25, 27 and 28 do not correct or clarify the issue discussed above. The same issue applies to dependent claims that recite percentages of additional components.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 13, 16, 21, 23, 25, 27 and 28 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Hussain et al. Epilepsy & Behavior 2020, 102, 106826. The instant claims have an earliest effective filing date of February 13th, 2024.
The prior art teaches in the abstract: “Children six to 36 months of age with IS that failed treatment with both adrenocorticotropic hormone (ACTH) and vigabatrin (VGB) were eligible for enrollment. Children receiving clobazam were excluded. After baseline overnight video-electroencephalography (vEEG) to confirm diagnosis and ascertain hypsarrhythmia, patients were treated with synthetic CBD oral solution (20 mg/kg/day).” The prior art teaches treatment of infantile spasm (IS) with a dose of CBD embraced by instant claims 1, 16 and 23 and where the subjects were previously treated having symptoms not otherwise controlled (corresponding to treatment-resistance). Regarding the weight percentage limitations of instant claims 1-8, 27 and 28, these limitations are rejected as indefinite and at least one interpretation renders the limitation meaningless relative to the broader “pharmaceutical composition”. Regarding instant claims 10, 13, 21 and 25, the prior art teaches for one patient (page 3, Efficacy) “After administration of the first dose of CBD, the parent reported no spasms on days 1 through 5,…”. At least since the instant claims do not require any duration of effect or time after administration, the prior art result from said patient is deemed to anticipate claims 10, 13, 21 and 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10, 13, 15, 16, 18, 21, 23, 25, 27 and 28 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10,765,643. The instant claims have an earliest effective filing date of February 13th, 2024.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. (See MPEP § 2141.01)
The claims of the patent recite a method of treating infantile spasms (claim 5 of the patent), where the epilepsy is treatment resistant (claim 6 of the patent), where the CBD has a purity at least 98% w/w CBD (claim 8 of the patent) and across dosages overlapping with the instant claims 1, 15, 16 and 23 (claim 2 of the patent).
Ascertainment of the differences between the prior art and the claims. (See MPEP § 2141.02)
The prior art generically encompasses methods instantly claimed but does not teach a single embodiment where CBD was administered to a subject having infantile spasms.
Finding of prima facie obviousness --- rationale and motivation (See MPEP § 2141.02)
At least in the interest of determining optimum treatment protocols for the types of conditions recited in the claims of the patent, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to test CBD across the dosage ranges recited in the patent for the treatment of infantile spasms. MPEP 2145(II)(A) notes: ‘Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”.’
The instant claims reciting weight percentages (claims 1-8, 27 and 28) are rejected as indefinite; however, at least since the claims of the patent recite a lower limit of 98% w/w CBD, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have at least been motivated to test pure CBD. Regardless, the prior art teaches a CBD material in column 8 having the instantly recited percentages.
Regarding instant claims 10, 13, 18, 21 and 25, the instantly claimed result is not required to be statistically significant such that any trivial or temporary reduction would be embraced by the instant claims. The instantly recited result appears to be a result of optimization discussed in view of MPEP 2145(II)(A).
Double Patenting
(1 of 3) Claims 1-8, 10, 13, 15, 16, 18, 21, 23, 25, 27 and 28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,419,829. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent recite a method of treating infantile spasm (claim 7 of the patent), where the epilepsy is treatment resistant (claim 17 of the patent), where the CBD is in the form of an extract comprising at least 98% w/w CBD (claim 4 of the patent) and across dosages overlapping with the instant claims 1, 15, 16 and 23 (claim 14 of the patent). The instant claims reciting weight percentages are rejected as indefinite; however, at least since the claims of the patent recite a lower limit of 98% w/w CBD and that the CBD can be synthetic (claim 5 of the patent), a person having ordinary skill in the art would have at least been motivated to test pure CBD. Regarding instant claims 10, 13, 18, 21 and 25, the instantly claimed result is not required to be statistically significant such that any trivial or temporary reduction would be embraced by the instant claims.
(2 of 3) Claims 1-8, 10, 13, 15, 16, 18, 21, 23, 25, 27 and 28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,765,643. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent recite a method of treating infantile spasms (claim 5 of the patent), where the epilepsy is treatment resistant (claim 6 of the patent), where the CBD has a purity at least 98% w/w CBD (claim 8 of the patent) and across dosages overlapping with the instant claims 1, 15, 16 and 23 (claim 2 of the patent). The instant claims reciting weight percentages are rejected as indefinite; however, at least since the claims of the patent recite a lower limit of 98% w/w CBD, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have at least been motivated to test pure CBD. Regarding instant claims 10, 13, 18, 21 and 25, the instantly claimed result is not required to be statistically significant such that any trivial or temporary reduction would be embraced by the instant claims.
(3 of 3) Claims 1-8, 10, 13, 15, 16, 18, 21, 23, 25, 27 and 28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-6, 8-11, 18-22, 27 and 30-32 of copending Application No. 16/935,005 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the copending case recite a method of treating infantile spasms (claim 5 of the copending case), where the epilepsy is treatment resistant (claim 6 of the copending case), where the CBD has a purity at least 98% w/w CBD (claim 2 of the copending case) and across dosages overlapping with the instant claims 1, 15, 16 and 23 (claim 2 of the copending case). The instant claims reciting weight percentages are rejected as indefinite; however, at least since the claims of the copending case recite a lower limit of 98% w/w CBD, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have at least been motivated to test pure CBD. Regarding instant claims 10, 13, 18, 21 and 25, the instantly claimed result is not required to be statistically significant such that any trivial or temporary reduction would be embraced by the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW P COUGHLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626