DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nipke in US Patent 7017598 in view of Eeles in US Patent 2143978.
Regarding Claims 1, 4, and 8, Nipke teaches a patio umbrella assembly comprising: a base (125) being configured to be positioned on a surface; a pole (190/195) being coupled to and extending upwardly from the base; a plurality of ribs (510) being pivotably coupled (at 505) to the pole distal to the base, the plurality of ribs being movable between a storage position (Figs. 16-17) and a usage position (Fig. 1); a handle (165) being mechanically coupled to the plurality of ribs for moving the plurality of ribs between the storage position and the usage position, the handle being positioned on the pole; a canopy (150) being coupled to the plurality of ribs, the canopy extending between each of the plurality of ribs. Nipke is silent on the use of a fastener in the canopy. Eeles teaches an umbrella with a canopy (15) and a fastener comprising a zipper (22) being coupled to the canopy, the fastener being openable to form an access cavity through the canopy wherein the access cavity is configured to facilitate a user in accessing a handle (26) when the plurality of ribs is in the storage position, the fastener being positioned adjacent to a single rib (14 at the bottom) of the plurality of ribs wherein the single rib of the plurality of ribs is configured to structurally reinforce the fastener and inhibit deformation of the fastener while the user is manipulating the fastener (the inherent tension in the canopy fabric between the end of the rib and the fastener will hold the tensioner in place when in use). Eeles teaches (see Fig. 2) that the fastener extends past a free edge of the canopy wherein the fastener forms a tab (at the lowermost end of 22), the tab being configured to be gripped by a user wherein the fastener is configured to facilitate a user in manipulating the fastener. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nipke by adding a fastener as taught by Eeles in order to allow the user to more easily access the pole of the umbrella when it is collapsed.
Regarding Claim 3, Nipke, as modified, teaches that the handle is rotatably coupled to the pole and wherein rotation of the handle pivots the plurality of ribs between the storage position and the usage position (see Column 8, lines 64-67) .
Regarding Claims 5 and 6, Nipke, as modified is silent on the size of the fastener. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a fastener with a width between 0.5 inch and 2.5 inches and a length between 1.5 feet and 3.5 feet in order to meet the size needs of the umbrella on which it is installed, since such a change would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized a being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 9, Nipke, as modified is silent on the material used for the zipper. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a plastic zipper in order to provide a lightweight and durable fastener, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 10, Nipke teaches a patio umbrella assembly comprising: a base (125) being configured to be positioned on a surface; a pole (190/195) being coupled to and extending upwardly from the base; a plurality of ribs (510) being pivotably coupled (at 505) to the pole distal to the base, the plurality of ribs being movable between a storage position (Figs. 16-17) and a usage position (Fig. 1), wherein plurality of ribs is folded downwardly proximate to the pole when the plurality of ribs is in the storage position, and wherein the plurality of ribs extends outwardly from the pole when the plurality of ribs is in the usage position; a handle (165) being mechanically coupled to the plurality of ribs for moving the plurality of ribs between the storage position and the usage position, the handle being rotatably coupled to the pole and wherein rotation of the handle pivots the plurality of ribs between the storage position and the usage position (see Column 8, lines 64-67); a canopy (150) being coupled to the plurality of ribs, the canopy extending between each of the plurality of ribs.
Nipke is silent on the use of a fastener in the canopy. Eeles teaches an umbrella with a canopy (15) and a fastener comprising a zipper (22) being coupled to the canopy, the fastener being openable to form an access cavity through the canopy wherein the access cavity is configured to facilitate a user in accessing a handle (26) when the plurality of ribs is in the storage position, the fastener being positioned adjacent to a single rib (14 at the bottom) of the plurality of ribs wherein the single rib of the plurality of ribs is configured to structurally reinforce the fastener and inhibit deformation of the fastener while the user is manipulating the fastener (the inherent tension in the canopy fabric between the end of the rib and the fastener will hold the tensioner in place when in use. Eeles teaches (see Fig. 2) that the fastener extends past a free edge of the canopy wherein the fastener forms a tab (the lowermost end of 22), the tab being configured to be gripped by a user wherein the fastener is configured to facilitate a user in manipulating the fastener. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nipke by adding a fastener as taught by Eeles in order to allow the user to more easily access the pole of the umbrella when it is collapsed.
Nipke, as modified is silent on the size of the fastener. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a fastener with a width between 0.5 inch and 2.5 inches and a length between 1.5 feet and 3.5 feet in order to meet the size needs of the umbrella on which it is installed, since such a change would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized a being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Nipke, as modified is silent on the material used for the zipper. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a plastic zipper in order to provide a lightweight and durable fastener, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) s 1 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NOAH C. HAWK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/Noah Chandler Hawk/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636