DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office action. In response to Examiner’s communication of 3/17/25, Applicant, on 6/17/2026, amended claims 1, 8, and 15. Claims 1-20 are pending in the present application and are under examination on the merit.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments are acknowledged.
The 35 USC 101 rejections of claims 1-20 are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments and explanations.
New 35 USC 103 rejections of claims 1-20 are applied in light of Applicant’s amendments and explanations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2013/0325763 to Cantor et al. (hereafter referred to as Cantor) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2016/0078361 to Brueckner et al. (hereafter referred to as Brueckner) in further view of U.S. Patent Number 11030574 to Grande et al. (hereafter referred to as Grande) and in even further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0213509 to Burleson et al. (hereafter referred to as Burleson).
As per claim 1, Cantor teaches:
A system for determining machine learning model retraining, comprising: a computer, comprising a processor and a memory, the computer configured to: (Paragraph Number [0209] teaches the components of computer system may include, but are not limited to, one or more processors or processing units 12, a system memory 16, and a bus 14 that couples various system components including system memory 16 to processor 12. The processor 12 may include a module 10 that performs the methods described herein. The module 10 may be programmed into the integrated circuits of the processor 12, or loaded from memory 16, storage device 18, or network 24 or combinations thereof).
merge predicted task time durations and task history data... wherein the predicted task time durations are based on a machine learning model (Paragraph Number [0107] teaches this analysis may be partially based on information about the estimates and the likelihood of certain tasks taking certain lengths of time as well as experience with how those estimates have gone in the past. Paragraph Number [0194] teaches a full set of capabilities were described above with an example scenario. The probability prediction described above, for example, may take as input, the plan items. A triangular distribution of the time it takes to complete the work on those plan items may be produced by an estimator. Plan item dependencies may be also provided as input. As the project is going along, how the actuals (actual times it took to complete work) compare to those estimates can be determined. A Monte Carlo simulation may be run to compute the expected range of the whole schedule, for example, subject to constraints such as the number of team members available for work, and e.g., task parallelism).
calculate a difference between a start time and an end time for each of one or more completed tasks to calculate a duration for each of the one or more completed tasks (Paragraph Number [0039] teaches the above methodology provides a logical chain from the effort of individual tasks to the completion time of the project. In one embodiment of the present disclosure, both tasks from the project to be estimated and tasks from other projects may be considered. In one embodiment of the present disclosure, attributes of tasks play a role in determining the estimates. The resulting estimates of task effort and project time are provided in the form of probability distributions. Paragraph Number [0041] teaches the task estimator 108 may also take as input the author, date and time of any work performed on the task. The task estimator 108 in considering the one or more completed tasks, if any, for the project to be estimated, may specifically consider the date and time of work performed on the completed tasks. The task estimator 108 in considering the one or more completed tasks, if any, not belonging to the project to be estimated, may specifically consider the date and time of work performed on that completed task. In addition to the date and time of worked performed, the effort estimator 108 may also take into consideration the "state" of the task at different points in time).
calculate one or more error metrics based, at least in part, on the duration of each of the one or more completed tasks and a corresponding predicted task time duration for each of the one or more completed tasks (Paragraph Number [0043] teaches the task estimator 108 functionality may be repeated one or more times during the course of the execution of a project, each repetition of the process may take different input data, and each repetition of the process may produce different results, including possibly different task estimation models, different estimates of the distribution of effort for each task, different categorizations of tasks, and different sets of attributes associated with categories of task. Paragraph Number [0046] teaches the learning algorithm may also comprise evaluating the accuracy of the various estimates of task effort produced for alternative subsets of tasks and alternative subsets of attributes. Based on the evaluation, the learning algorithm may determine the particular subsets of tasks and attributes that lead to the best overall prediction of the effort. Paragraph Number [0189] teaches if the expert assessment methodology discovers by the end of the next iteration that the team did not actually burn off 20 story points, it can then mark this expert assessment "invalid" and inactivate it, and it will no longer be used in computing the probability of on-time completion. If it turns out that the expert assessment correctly predicted what would happen, it will be marked "valid" and it will be expired at the end of the period to which the technical lead indicated that it applies, as it will no longer be needed--the data itself will cause the correct probability computations to occur. But the technical lead will be able to use his successful, validated expert assessment in the future, to help support future expert assessments he offers in other situations where he believes he knows something more than the data is showing. And it will help people to trust his judgment on that).
determine whether the averaged one or more error metrics exceed a threshold (Paragraph Number [0152] teaches parameters in general may have configurable parameters for factors like scope, threshold levels, and other factors. Different patterns may be associated with different kinds of detailed information, e.g., number of times rescheduled, or amount of time past due, or degree of increased risk, or amount of scope creep, etc. Paragraph Number [0076] teaches given the work required in a development project, specified as a set of tasks, a methodology in one embodiment of the present disclosure predicts when the project is likely to deliver. The methodology in one embodiment reasons about an uncertain future entity: the delivery date. The project delivery date is uncertain because it depends on a number of events whose occurrence cannot be known for sure, such as the completion of subtasks, the successful integration of components, etc. One can only take imprecise or incomplete measurements of such events. Thus, instead of modeling a single future delivery date, the methodology of the present disclosure in one embodiment treats the delivery date as a range of dates, together with a probability function that provides the likelihood of delivering on each day in the range. Modeling the delivery date in this fashion, as a probability distribution, enables the reasoning about the likelihood of delivery by a certain date. (Examiner asserts that meeting a delivery date for a deliverable constitutes meeting a threshold)).
in response to determining that the threshold has not been exceeded, continue use of the machine learning model to predict task time durations (Paragraph Number [0088] teaches as the project proceeds and progresses, the methodology of the present disclosure in one embodiment gains information about tasks and can begin to overcome the problems with user estimates using machine learning techniques. Machine learning can be deployed to predict task effort from the evidence that is obtained from already-completed similar tasks. An aspect of learning is determining what similar tasks are. The machine learner uses a training set of examples of completed tasks with their attributes including their actual completion times to build a prediction model. The prediction model discriminates the completed training tasks using a variety of task attributes (such as owner, type, or priority). Once the model is available, the machine learner can apply it to a new task to obtain a task effort prediction by matching the new task to the most similar training tasks. Paragraph Number [0105] teaches the probability distribution of an estimated effort needed to complete each of the unfinished tasks may be determined (e.g., at 806) using machine learning, which learns from available data associated with the completed tasks. The learning may be then applied to the unfinished tasks to estimate how long those unfinished tasks will task).
in response to determining that the threshold has been exceeded, retrain the machine learning model via a model training loop (Paragraph Number [0089] teaches assume a scenario where tasks are either enhancements or defects. Consider a training set having 10 completed tasks: 5 enhancement tasks that each took 2 days and 5 defect tasks that each took 1 day. From this training set of already-completed tasks, the machine learner might build a model that contextualizes its prediction depending on the type of task it is given. In this case, the model may simply encode that enhancements usually take 2 days and defects 1 day. This model can now be applied to new tasks: if the new task is an enhancement, the model predicts 2 days, if it is a defect the prediction is 1 day. Clearly, this is an over-simplification: a real training set will not be as simple and bipolar, where different types of tasks always take exactly the same amount of time. To handle a more diverse (and realistic) training set, the machine learner may need to use a variety of attributes of the task (such as owner, task type, description, priority) in order to discriminate the elements in the training set to determine which ones are most similar to a new piece of work. Paragraph Number [0090] teaches with many machine learning techniques, there is a tendency to overfit, which means that the technique will treat the training data as more representative of new data than it really is. To compensate for this tendency, the machine learner in one embodiment of the present disclosure builds a series of models on different training sets, as illustrated in FIG. 5. For example, the machine learner may use multiple training sets instead of one training set. Each training set gives rise to a different model. All models may be applied simultaneously to obtain a plurality of discrete (single-valued) estimates. Each model produces an estimate, the plurality of estimates forms the distribution of estimates).
using predicted task time durations generated by the continued use or retrained machine learning model (Paragraph Number [0107] teaches this analysis may be partially based on information about the estimates and the likelihood of certain tasks taking certain lengths of time as well as experience with how those estimates have gone in the past. Paragraph Number [0194] teaches a full set of capabilities were described above with an example scenario. The probability prediction described above, for example, may take as input, the plan items. A triangular distribution of the time it takes to complete the work on those plan items may be produced by an estimator. Plan item dependencies may be also provided as input. As the project is going along, how the actuals (actual times it took to complete work) compare to those estimates can be determined. A Monte Carlo simulation may be run to compute the expected range of the whole schedule, for example, subject to constraints such as the number of team members available for work, and e.g., task parallelism).
Cantor teaches determining if a machine learning algorithm is accurate enough to be useful or if it needs to be retrained, but does not explicitly teach determining error metrics based upon time measurements, filtering the data, and using decision trees which is taught by the following citations from Brueckner:
received in real time from a warehouse management system (Paragraph Number [0089] teaches other artifact types may also be supported in some embodiments—e.g., objects representing network endpoints that can be used for real-time model execution on streaming data (as opposed to batch-mode execution on a static set of data) may be stored as artifacts in some embodiments, and client session logs (e.g., recordings of all the interactions between a client and the MLS during a given session) may be stored as artifacts in other embodiments. Paragraph Number [0094] teaches model usage modes may be broadly classified into three categories: batch mode, online or real-time mode, and local mode. In batch mode, a given model may be run on a static set of data records. In real-time mode, a network endpoint (e.g., an IP address) may be assigned as a destination to which input data records for a specified model are to be submitted, and model predictions may be generated on groups of streaming data records as the records are received. In local mode, clients may receive executable representations of a specified model that has been trained and validated at the MLS, and the clients may run the models on computing devices of their choice (e.g., at devices located in client networks rather than in the provider network where the MLS is implemented)).
average the one or more error metrics over a period of time and store the averaged one or more error metrics as error metric data (Paragraph Number [0093] teaches a variety of different statistics may be obtained in either phase. For numeric variables, basic statistics 765 may include the mean, median, minimum, maximum, and standard deviation. Numeric variables may also be binned (categorized into a set of ranges such as quartiles or quintiles); such bins 767 may be used for the construction of histograms that may be displayed to the client. Depending on the nature of the distribution of the variable, either linear or logarithmic bin boundaries may be selected. In some embodiments, correlations 768 between different variables may be computed as well. In at least one embodiment, the MLS may utilize the automatically generated statistics (such as the correlation values) to identify candidate groups 769 of variables that may have greater predictive power than others. (See also Paragraph Number [0116])).
based at least in part on the task history data received in real time from the warehouse management system (Paragraph Number [0089] teaches other artifact types may also be supported in some embodiments—e.g., objects representing network endpoints that can be used for real-time model execution on streaming data (as opposed to batch-mode execution on a static set of data) may be stored as artifacts in some embodiments, and client session logs (e.g., recordings of all the interactions between a client and the MLS during a given session) may be stored as artifacts in other embodiments. Paragraph Number [0094] teaches model usage modes may be broadly classified into three categories: batch mode, online or real-time mode, and local mode. In batch mode, a given model may be run on a static set of data records. In real-time mode, a network endpoint (e.g., an IP address) may be assigned as a destination to which input data records for a specified model are to be submitted, and model predictions may be generated on groups of streaming data records as the records are received. In local mode, clients may receive executable representations of a specified model that has been trained and validated at the MLS, and the clients may run the models on computing devices of their choice (e.g., at devices located in client networks rather than in the provider network where the MLS is implemented)).
Both Cantor and Brueckner are directed to generating machine learning models. Cantor discloses determining if a machine learning algorithm is accurate enough to be useful or if it needs to be retrained. Brueckner improves upon Cantor by disclosing determining error metrics based upon time measurements, filtering the data, and using decision trees. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further include determining error metrics based upon time measurements, filtering the data, and using decision trees, to efficiently improve upon the data inputs used to train the machine learning data. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method of determining if a machine learning algorithm is accurate enough to be useful or if it needs to be retrained in Cantor to further utilize determining error metrics based upon time measurements, filtering the data, and using decision trees as disclosed in Brueckner, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Cantor teaches determining if a machine learning algorithm is accurate enough to be useful or if it needs to be retrained, but does not explicitly teach instruct automated machinery to obtain items from inventory and pack the items in a configuration for shipment which is taught by the following citations from Grande:
instruct automated machinery to obtain items from inventory and packing the items in a configuration for shipment (Col. 9 lines 16-44 teach one or more computers 160 associated with supply chain network 100 may instruct automated machinery (i.e., robotic warehouse systems, robotic inventory systems, automated guided vehicles, mobile racking units, automated robotic production machinery, robotic devices and the like) to adjust product mix ratios, inventory levels at various stocking points, production of products of manufacturing equipment, proportional or alternative sourcing of one or more supply chain entities 150, and the configuration and quantity of packaging and shipping of items based on one or more product assortments created in retail planner 110, current inventory or production levels, and/or one or more other factors described herein, and/or. Inventory data 228 may comprise current or projected inventory quantities or states, the current level of inventory for products at one or more stocking points across the supply chain network 100, order rules that describe one or more rules or limits on setting an inventory policy, including, but not limited to, a minimum order quantity, a maximum order quantity, a discount, a step-size order quantity, and batch quantity rules. According to some embodiments, retail planner 110 accesses and stores inventory data 228 in database 114, which may be used by retail planner 110 to place orders, set inventory levels at one or more stocking points, initiate manufacturing of one or more products, or the like. In addition, or as an alternative, inventory data 228 may be updated by receiving current item quantities, mappings, or locations from the one or more imaging devices 120, inventory system 130, and/or transportation network 140).
Both the combination of Cantor and Brueckner and Grande are directed to generating machine learning models. The combination of Cantor and Brueckner discloses determining if a machine learning algorithm is accurate enough to be useful or if it needs to be retrained. Grande improves upon the combination of Cantor and Brueckner by disclosing instruct automated machinery to obtain items from inventory and pack the items in a configuration for shipment. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further include instruct automated machinery to obtain items from inventory and pack the items in a configuration for shipment, to efficiently implement the machine learning algorithm into an applied form. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method of determining if a machine learning algorithm is accurate enough to be useful or if it needs to be retrained in the combination of Cantor and Brueckner to further utilize instruct automated machinery to obtain items from inventory and pack the items in a configuration for shipment as disclosed in Grande, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Cantor teaches determining if a machine learning algorithm is accurate enough to be useful or if it needs to be retrained, but does not explicitly teach data that are tailored to one or more individual tasks of one or more individual locations which is taught by the following citations from Burleson:
and are tailored to one or more individual tasks of one or more individual locations (Paragraph Number [0050] teaches the sensor data can include, without limitation, image data, audio data, scan data (barcode data), RFID tag data, pressure data, motion sensor data, IR data, temperature data, humidity data, weather data, location data associated with the location of items, location data describing/identifying the location of one or more users, location data describing the location of one or more user devices, or any other type of sensor data. The barcode (scan) data includes UPC coded data, matrix barcode data, QR code data, or any other type of barcode data. In some examples, the sensor data includes daily monitoring data associated with one or more areas and/or one or more items within a monitored area. Paragraph Number [0055] teaches the task-related impact data 116 in some examples includes data associated with one or more tasks, one or more users, and/or one or more areas associated with the one or more users. The task-related impact data in some examples includes user shift schedules, shift start times, shift end times, daily task assignments, list of users scheduled to work each day, user performance, trip details, shipping schedules, order data, item information, inventory data, item locations, current user locations, scheduled user locations, redundancy in assignments, tasks scheduled to be performed, when tasks are due to be completed, user roles, user qualifications, user duties, user task assignments, task dependency data, user assigned work areas, etc. Paragraph Number [0058] teaches if the task 120 is moving a pallet and the user moving an object utilizes an incorrect number of straps to secure the object to a dolly or other rolling platform for moving the object from one location to another location).
Both the combination of Cantor, Brueckner, and Grande and Burleson are directed to generating machine learning models. The combination of Cantor, Brueckner, and Grande discloses determining if a machine learning algorithm is accurate enough to be useful or if it needs to be retrained. Burleson improves upon the combination of Cantor, Brueckner, and Grande by disclosing data that are tailored to one or more individual tasks of one or more individual locations. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further include data that are tailored to one or more individual tasks of one or more individual locations, to efficiently implement the machine learning algorithm into an applied form. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method of determining if a machine learning algorithm is accurate enough to be useful or if it needs to be retrained in the combination of Cantor, Brueckner, and Grande to further utilize data that are tailored to one or more individual tasks of one or more individual locations as disclosed in Burleson, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 8, Cantor teaches:
A computer-implemented method for determining machine learning model retraining, comprising: (Paragraph Number [0209] teaches the components of computer system may include, but are not limited to, one or more processors or processing units 12, a system memory 16, and a bus 14 that couples various system components including system memory 16 to processor 12. The processor 12 may include a module 10 that performs the methods described herein. The module 10 may be programmed into the integrated circuits of the processor 12, or loaded from memory 16, storage device 18, or network 24 or combinations thereof).
The remainder of the claim limitation are substantially similar to those found in claim 1 and are rejected for the same reasons put forth in regard to claim 1.
As per claim 15, Cantor teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium embodied with software for determining machine learning model retraining, the software when executed is configured to: (Paragraph Number [0212] teaches system memory 16 can include computer system readable media in the form of volatile memory, such as random access memory (RAM) and/or cache memory or others. Computer system may further include other removable/non-removable, volatile/non-volatile computer system storage media. By way of example only, storage system 18 can be provided for reading from and writing to a non-removable, non-volatile magnetic media (e.g., a "hard drive"). Although not shown, a magnetic disk drive for reading from and writing to a removable, non-volatile magnetic disk (e.g., a "floppy disk"), and an optical disk drive for reading from or writing to a removable, non-volatile optical disk such as a CD-ROM, DVD-ROM or other optical media can be provided. In such instances, each can be connected to bus 14 by one or more data media interfaces).
The remainder of the claim limitation are substantially similar to those found in claim 1 and are rejected for the same reasons put forth in regard to claim 1.
As per claims 2, 9, and 16, the combination of Cantor, Brueckner, Grande and Burleson teaches each of the limitations of claims 1, 8, and 15 respectively.
In addition, Cantor teaches:
to enable a direct comparison between the task history data and goal time data (Paragraph Number [0088] teaches as the project proceeds and progresses, the methodology of the present disclosure in one embodiment gains information about tasks and can begin to overcome the problems with user estimates using machine learning techniques. Machine learning can be deployed to predict task effort from the evidence that is obtained from already-completed similar tasks. An aspect of learning is determining what similar tasks are. The machine learner uses a training set of examples of completed tasks with their attributes including their actual completion times to build a prediction model. The prediction model discriminates the completed training tasks using a variety of task attributes (such as owner, type, or priority). Once the model is available, the machine learner can apply it to a new task to obtain a task effort prediction by matching the new task to the most similar training tasks. Paragraph Number [0105] teaches the probability distribution of an estimated effort needed to complete each of the unfinished tasks may be determined (e.g., at 806) using machine learning, which learns from available data associated with the completed tasks. The learning may be then applied to the unfinished tasks to estimate how long those unfinished tasks will task).
Cantor teaches determining if a machine learning algorithm is accurate enough to be useful or if it needs to be retrained, but does not explicitly teach determining error metrics based upon time measurements, filtering the data, and using decision trees which is taught by the following citations from Brueckner:
filter and clean the task history data (Paragraph Number [0146] teaches an MLS request handler 180 may receive a record extraction request 2310 indicating a sequence of filtering operations that are to be performed on a specified data set located at one or more data sources, such as some combination of shuffling, splitting, sampling, partitioning (e.g., for parallel computations such as map-reduce computations, or for model training operations/sessions that overlap with each other in time and may overlap with each other in the training sets used), and the like. A filtering plan generator 2380 may generate a chunk mapping of the specified data set, and a plurality of jobs to accomplish the requested sequence of filtering operations (either at the chunk level, the record level, or both levels) in the depicted embodiment, and insert the jobs in one or more MLS job queues 142. Paragraph Number [0173] teaches it is noted that a similar approach towards consistency or repeatability may be taken for other types of input filtering operations, such as sampling or shuffling, in at least some embodiments. For example, in one embodiment, a client may wish to ensure shuffle repeatability (i.e., that the results of one shuffle request can be re-obtained if a second shuffle request with the same input data and same request parameters is made later) or sample repeatability (i.e., that the same observation records or chunks are retrievable from a data set as a result of repeated sample requests) (See also Paragraph Numbers [0130] and [0140])).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these references as described in regard to claim 1.
As per claims 3, 10, and 17, the combination of Cantor, Brueckner, Grande and Burleson teaches each of the limitations of claims 1, 8, and 15 respectively.
Cantor teaches determining if a machine learning algorithm is accurate enough to be useful or if it needs to be retrained, but does not explicitly teach determining error metrics based upon time measurements, filtering the data, and using decision trees which is taught by the following citations from Brueckner:
wherein the one or more error metrics comprise one or more of: one or more root mean square error calculations, one or more mean absolute percentage error calculations and one or more mean absolute error calculations (Paragraph Number [0155] teaches a variety of measures 2630 of the accuracy or quality may be obtained in different embodiments, depending on the type of model being used—e.g., the root mean square error (RMSE) or root mean square deviation (RMSD) may be computed for linear regression models, the ratio of the sum of true positives and true negatives to the size of the test set may be computed for binary classification problems, and so on).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these references as described in regard to claim 1.
As per claims 4, 11, and 18, the combination of Cantor, Brueckner, Grande and Burleson teaches each of the limitations of claims 1, 8, and 15 respectively.
Cantor teaches determining if a machine learning algorithm is accurate enough to be useful or if it needs to be retrained, but does not explicitly teach determining error metrics based upon time measurements, filtering the data, and using decision trees which is taught by the following citations from Brueckner:
wherein the model training loop is based, at least in part, on task history data received in real time from a warehouse management system (Paragraph Number [0089] teaches results of model executions, such as predictions 608 (values predicted by a model for a dependent variable in a scenario in which the actual values of the independent variable are not known) and model evaluations 610 (measures of the accuracy of a model, computed when the predictions of the model can be compared to known values of dependent variables) may also be stored as artifacts by the MLS in some embodiments. In addition to the artifact types illustrated in FIG. 6, other artifact types may also be supported in some embodiments—e.g., objects representing network endpoints that can be used for real-time model execution on streaming data (as opposed to batch-mode execution on a static set of data) may be stored as artifacts in some embodiments, and client session logs (e.g., recordings of all the interactions between a client and the MLS during a given session) may be stored as artifacts in other embodiments).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these references as described in regard to claim 1.
As per claims 5, 12, and 19, the combination of Cantor, Brueckner, Grande and Burleson teaches each of the limitations of claims 1, 8, and 15 respectively.
Cantor teaches determining if a machine learning algorithm is accurate enough to be useful or if it needs to be retrained, but does not explicitly teach determining error metrics based upon time measurements, filtering the data, and using decision trees which is taught by the following citations from Brueckner:
wherein the predicted task time durations are tailored to one or more individual tasks of one or more individual locations (Paragraph Number [0124] teaches an MLS client 164 may submit a recipe execution request 1601 that includes parameter auto-tune settings 1606. For example, the client 164 may indicate that the bin sizes/boundaries for quantile binning of one or more variables in the input data should be chosen by the service, or that the number of words in an n-gram should be chosen by the service. Parameter exploration and/or auto-tuning may be requested for various clustering-related parameters in some embodiments, such as the number of clusters into which a given data set should be classified, the cluster boundary thresholds (e.g., how far apart two geographical locations can be to be considered part of a set of “nearby” locations), and so on. Paragraph Number [0147] teaches examples constituent elements of a record extraction request that may be submitted by a client using a programmatic interface of an I/O (input-output) library implemented by a machine learning service, according to at least some embodiments. As shown, observation record (OR) extraction request 2401 may include a source data set indicator 2402 specifying the location(s) or address(es) from which the input data set is to be retrieved. Paragraph Number [0154] teaches after the first filtering operation of the sequence is performed in memory at the MLS servers, the remaining filtering operations (if any) may be performed in place in the depicted embodiment, e.g., without copying the chunks to persistent storage or re-reading the chunks for their original source locations (element 2519)).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these references as described in regard to claim 1.
As per claims 6, 13, and 20, the combination of Cantor, Brueckner, Grande and Burleson teaches each of the limitations of claims 1, 8, and 15 respectively.
Cantor teaches determining if a machine learning algorithm is accurate enough to be useful or if it needs to be retrained, but does not explicitly teach determining error metrics based upon time measurements, filtering the data, and using decision trees which is taught by the following citations from Brueckner:
wherein the machine learning model comprises a decision tree (Paragraph Number [0179] teaches a number of machine learning methodologies, for example techniques used for classification and regression problems, may involve the use of decision trees. FIG. 33 illustrates an example of a decision tree that may be generated for predictions at a machine learning service).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these references as described in regard to claim 1.
As per claims 7 and 14, the combination of Cantor, Brueckner, Grande and Burleson teaches each of the limitations of claims 1 and 8 respectively.
In addition, Cantor teaches:
wherein the computer is further configured to: store previous machine learning models in a machine learning model directory (Paragraph Number [0202] teaches referring to FIG. 12, the middle chart labeled "Delivery Date Risk Trend" 1212 shows how the predicted "Likelihood of Delivery" has changed over time. As the timeline of the project progresses, a methodology of the present disclosure calculates predictions of completion dates based on information available at the time and those predictions are stored)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 6/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claims are not taught by the combination of cited references. See Applicant’s Remarks, 6/17/2026, pgs. 12-17). Specifically, Applicant argues that the Cantor reference does not teach the limitation “calculate one or more error metrics based, at least in part, on the duration of each of the one or more completed tasks and a corresponding predicted task time duration for each of the one or more completed tasks,” Examiner respectfully disagrees. The following citation from Cantor is applicable:
Paragraph Number [0043] teaches the task estimator 108 functionality may be repeated one or more times during the course of the execution of a project, each repetition of the process may take different input data, and each repetition of the process may produce different results, including possibly different task estimation models, different estimates of the distribution of effort for each task, different categorizations of tasks, and different sets of attributes associated with categories of task. Paragraph Number [0046] teaches the learning algorithm may also comprise evaluating the accuracy of the various estimates of task effort produced for alternative subsets of tasks and alternative subsets of attributes. Based on the evaluation, the learning algorithm may determine the particular subsets of tasks and attributes that lead to the best overall prediction of the effort. Paragraph Number [0189] teaches if the expert assessment methodology discovers by the end of the next iteration that the team did not actually burn off 20 story points, it can then mark this expert assessment "invalid" and inactivate it, and it will no longer be used in computing the probability of on-time completion. If it turns out that the expert assessment correctly predicted what would happen, it will be marked "valid" and it will be expired at the end of the period to which the technical lead indicated that it applies, as it will no longer be needed--the data itself will cause the correct probability computations to occur. But the technical lead will be able to use his successful, validated expert assessment in the future, to help support future expert assessments he offers in other situations where he believes he knows something more than the data is showing. And it will help people to trust his judgment on that. Paragraph Number [0152] teaches parameters in general may have configurable parameters for factors like scope, threshold levels, and other factors. Different patterns may be associated with different kinds of detailed information, e.g., number of times rescheduled, or amount of time past due, or degree of increased risk, or amount of scope creep, etc. Paragraph Number [0076] teaches given the work required in a development project, specified as a set of tasks, a methodology in one embodiment of the present disclosure predicts when the project is likely to deliver. The methodology in one embodiment reasons about an uncertain future entity: the delivery date. The project delivery date is uncertain because it depends on a number of events whose occurrence cannot be known for sure, such as the completion of subtasks, the successful integration of components, etc. One can only take imprecise or incomplete measurements of such events. Thus, instead of modeling a single future delivery date, the methodology of the present disclosure in one embodiment treats the delivery date as a range of dates, together with a probability function that provides the likelihood of delivering on each day in the range. Modeling the delivery date in this fashion, as a probability distribution, enables the reasoning about the likelihood of delivery by a certain date. (Examiner asserts that meeting a delivery date for a deliverable constitutes meeting a threshold)
Examiner asserts that the above emphasized portions on the Cantor reference teach determining validity of a specific task (i.e. error metric) as well as teaching delivery dates and date ranges of specific tasks (i.e. duration of tasks and a predicted time duration). As such, Examiner asserts that the Cantor reference does read on the claim limitation cited above. Examiner is not persuaded by the distinctions Applicant is attempting to make.
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MATTHEW H DIVELBISS whose telephone number is (571)270-0166. The examiner can normally be reached on 7:30 am - 6:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jerry O'Connor can be reached on (571) 272-6787. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MATTHEW H DIVELBISS/Examiner, Art Unit 3624
/Jerry O'Connor/Supervisory Patent Examiner,Group Art Unit 3624