DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-9, 14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0272532) in view of Murray et al. (US 2021/0129793) further in view of Sindia et al. (US 2017/0372059).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a method of operation of a first user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a network entity or base station, information (i.e., A relay station is an entity that can receive a transmission of data from an upstream station (e.g., a BS or a UE) [0018], [0034], [0037], UE 120 antennas 252a through 252r may receive the downlink signals from base station 110 and/or other base stations [0045]); transmitting sidelink control information (SCI) including information on the security and scheduling information of data to a second UE (i.e., In some aspects, one or more sidelink channels 310 may use resource pools. For example, a scheduling assignment (e.g., included in SCI 330) may be transmitted in sub-channels using specific resource blocks (RBs) across time. In some aspects, data transmissions (e.g., on PSSCH 320) associated with a scheduling assignment may occupy adjacent RBs in the same subframe as the scheduling assignment (e.g., using frequency division multiplexing). In some aspects, a scheduling assignment and associated data transmissions are not transmitted on adjacent RBs [0059]-[0060]); generating the data based on a security function according to the security (i.e., UE 305 may generate sidelink grants, and may transmit the grants in SCI 330 [0062]); and transmitting the data to the second UE in a resource indicated by the scheduling information (i.e., Remote UE 502 may determine that a relay UE is necessary. As shown by reference number 524, remote UE 502 may perform a discovery procedure to find relay UE 504. As shown by reference number 526, remote UE 502 may transmit a direct communication request. The request may include an identity of remote UE 502, indicated by a 5G global unique temporary identifier (5G-GUTI), and a next generation key set indicator (ngKSI) that is associated with keys that may be used for message protection. The request may also include NAS security capabilities, and the request may be protected with a NAS key Key.sub.NASint ([0071]-[0074]).
Kim does not specifically teach receiving information indicating activation of use of security-related information.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Murray teaches the method comprises, at block 202, determining whether a security system of a first vehicle is activated and, if it is activated, then the method comprises, at block 204, transmitting a V2V signal to a second vehicle, the signal being as described above with reference to FIG. 1. In other words, the signal comprising instructions that, when executed by a controller of the second vehicle, cause the controller of the second vehicle to activate a security system of the second vehicle. The first vehicle may be the vehicle 110 as shown in FIG. 1, the second vehicle may be the vehicle 160 shown in FIG. 1 etc ([abstr.], [0005]-[0007], [0036]). Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine Murray's technique with Kim's system in order to provide vehicle-to-vehicle security system that extends surveillance by allowing a triggered vehicle to alert nearby cars to activate their cameras, microphones, or alarms.
Kim in view of Murray does not specifically teach based on the use of flexible security being activated, determining a security level based on a communication environment.
However, the preceding limitation is very well known in the art of communications. Sindia teaches flexible security levels based on the context or setting in which the device is being used ([0030], [0043]). The device collects sensor data such as location, time, movement, temperature, biometric signals, Wi-Fi/IP information, and social or calendar data. A contextual sensing engine analyzes that data to decide whether the device is in a low-risk or high-risk setting ([0033], [0051], [0066]-[0072]). A method for a self-adaptive security framework for a device, comprising: setting a first security level for a device wherein the first security level comprises procedures that authenticate a user and allow the user to access the device; receiving input from sensors associated with the device at a contextual sensing engine, wherein the input at least includes location data, and wherein at least a portion of the input is related to a physical setting where the device is located; determining a threat level for the device in the physical setting via the contextual sensing engine based on analyzing the input; and either altering the first security level to a second security level to provide an altered threat response for the device based on the determined threat level wherein the second security level has different procedures to authenticate the user compared to the first security level, or maintaining the first security level to provide a same threat response for the device based on the determined threat level ([claims 1, 17]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Sindia within the system of Kim in view of Murray in order to change security level automatically as the device moves between environments, without the user manually updating settings.
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Murray further in view of Sindia teaches all the limitations above. In combination with the self-adaptive security frame work for a device taught by Sindia ([0030]), Kim further teaches transmitting information indicating initiation of a sidelink service to the base station (i.e., in some sidelink modes, a base station 110 may communicate with UE 405 via a first access link. Additionally, or alternatively, in some sidelink modes, base station 110 may communicate with UE 410 via a second access link [0065]-[0067); and receiving, from the base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message including the information indicating activation of use of the flexible security level ([0065]-[0067]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Murray further in view of Sindia teaches all the limitations above. Murray further teaches identifying the communication environment (i.e., vehicles may activate their security system upon hearing the alarm system of another vehicle to record images, or audio, of the environment surrounding the other vehicle [0043]). “wherein a mapping relationship between the communication environment and the security level is configured in advance, and the security level is determined based on the mapping relationship with the communication environment” could have been derived by one of ordinary skill in the art from Sindia’s reference, which discloses the self-adaptive security framework automatically adjusts or alters the security level of a device. The security level may be increased or decreased based on a threat level determined by a contextual sensing engine in the self-adaptive security framework. In one aspect, the invention determines that a threat level has not changed and maintains the previously set security level. The invention alters the security level without requiring the user manually change or adjust security protocols. Thus, the invention provides flexible security levels based on the context or setting in which the device is being used ([0030]-[0036], [claim 1]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, could have easily conceived the invention in claim 6 from a combination of Kim in view of Murray further in view of Sindia.
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of Murray further in view of Sindia teaches all the limitations above. Murray further teaches wherein the communication environment includes at least one of a speed of the first UE, a degree of traffic congestion around the first UE, available resources for application of the security function according to the security level, a security level of the first UE, a security level of a service, a security level of a message, or importance of a message (i.e., Activating the security system of the first vehicle may comprise automatically turning on the audio and/or video capturing device of the first vehicle. In this example, if a person (for example an unauthorized user of the first vehicle) is within a certain proximity (e.g. comes within a predetermined radius of the first vehicle) this may trigger the image capturing device to capture audio and/or video images of the first vehicle's surroundings. In this example the controller may be further configured to attach metadata to any audio and/or video captured by the capturing device of the first vehicle [0007]). (see also [0033]-[0037] of Sindia).
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Murray further in view of Sindia teaches all the limitations above. Kim further teaches the security function includes at least one of an encryption function, an integrity function, or an electronic signature function (i.e., second message (set of keys parameters) is encrypted, integrity protected, or both [0101], [0142]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of Murray further in view of Sindia teaches all the limitations above. Kim further teaches wherein the SCI is classified into first-stage SCI and second-stage SCI, the scheduling information is included in the first-stage SCI (i.e., UE 305 may perform resource selection and/or scheduling using SCI 330 received in PSCCH 315, which may indicate occupied resources, and/or channel parameters … n the transmission mode where resource selection and/or scheduling is performed by a UE 305, UE 305 may generate sidelink grants, and may transmit the grants in SCI 330 [0058]-[0062]).
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches a method of operation of a second user equipment (UE), comprising: information (i.e., A relay station is an entity that can receive a transmission of data from an upstream station (e.g., a BS or a UE) [0018], [0034], [0037], UE 120 antennas 252a through 252r may receive the downlink signals from base station 110 and/or other base stations [0045]); receiving sidelink control information (SCI) including scheduling information of data from the first UE (i.e., In some aspects, one or more sidelink channels 310 may use resource pools. For example, a scheduling assignment (e.g., included in SCI 330) may be transmitted in sub-channels using specific resource blocks (RBs) across time. In some aspects, data transmissions (e.g., on PSSCH 320) associated with a scheduling assignment may occupy adjacent RBs in the same subframe as the scheduling assignment (e.g., using frequency division multiplexing). In some aspects, a scheduling assignment and associated data transmissions are not transmitted on adjacent RBs [0059]-[0060]); generating the data based on a security function according to the security (i.e., UE 305 may generate sidelink grants, and may transmit the grants in SCI 330 [0062]); receiving the data from the first UE in a resource indicated by the scheduling information (i.e., a receive processor 258 may process (e.g., demodulate and decode) the detected symbols, provide decoded data for UE 120 to a data sink 260, and provide decoded control information and system information to a controller/processor 280 ([0045]), UE 305 may perform resource selection and/or scheduling using SCI 330 received in PSCCH 315, which may indicate occupied resources, and/or channel parameters [0060]-[0061]); and performing a processing operation on the data based on a security function according to the security (i.e., remote UE 502 may perform a discovery procedure to find relay UE 504. As shown by reference number 526, remote UE 502 may transmit a direct communication request. The request may include an identity of remote UE 502, indicated by a 5G global unique temporary identifier (5G-GUTI), and a next generation key set indicator (ngKSI) that is associated with keys that may be used for message protection. The request may also include NAS security capabilities, and the request may be protected with a NAS key Key.sub.NASint ([0071]-[0074]).
Kim does not specifically teach receiving information indicating activation of use of security-related information.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Murray teaches the method comprises, at block 202, determining whether a security system of a first vehicle is activated and, if it is activated, then the method comprises, at block 204, transmitting a V2V signal to a second vehicle, the signal being as described above with reference to FIG. 1. In other words, the signal comprising instructions that, when executed by a controller of the second vehicle, cause the controller of the second vehicle to activate a security system of the second vehicle. The first vehicle may be the vehicle 110 as shown in FIG. 1, the second vehicle may be the vehicle 160 shown in FIG. 1 etc ([abstr.], [0005]-[0007], [0036]). Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine Murray's technique with Kim's system in order to provide vehicle-to-vehicle security system that extends surveillance by allowing a triggered vehicle to alert nearby cars to activate their cameras, microphones, or alarms.
Kim in view of Murray does not specifically teach based on the use of flexible security being activated, determining a security level based on a communication environment; transmitting information on the security level to a first UE.
However, the preceding limitation is very well known in the art of communications. Sindia teaches flexible security levels based on the context or setting in which the device is being used ([0030], [0043]). The device collects sensor data such as location, time, movement, temperature, biometric signals, Wi-Fi/IP information, and social or calendar data. A contextual sensing engine analyzes that data to decide whether the device is in a low-risk or high-risk setting ([0033], [0051], [0066]-[0072]). A method for a self-adaptive security framework for a device, comprising: setting a first security level for a device wherein the first security level comprises procedures that authenticate a user and allow the user to access the device; receiving input from sensors associated with the device at a contextual sensing engine, wherein the input at least includes location data, and wherein at least a portion of the input is related to a physical setting where the device is located; determining a threat level for the device in the physical setting via the contextual sensing engine based on analyzing the input; and either altering the first security level to a second security level to provide an altered threat response for the device based on the determined threat level wherein the second security level has different procedures to authenticate the user compared to the first security level, or maintaining the first security level to provide a same threat response for the device based on the determined threat level ([claims 1, 17]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Sindia within the system of Kim in view of Murray in order to change security level automatically as the device moves between environments, without the user manually updating settings.
Regarding claim 17, Kim in view of Murray further in view of Sindia teaches all the limitations above. In combination with the self-adaptive security frame work for a device taught by Sindia ([0030]), Kim further teaches transmitting information indicating initiation of a sidelink service to the base station (i.e., in some sidelink modes, a base station 110 may communicate with UE 405 via a first access link. Additionally, or alternatively, in some sidelink modes, base station 110 may communicate with UE 410 via a second access link [0065]-[0067); and receiving, from the base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message including the information indicating activation of use of the flexible security level ([0065]-[0067]).
Regarding claim 18, Kim in view of Murray further in view of Sindia teaches all the limitations above. Murray further teaches identifying the communication environment (i.e., vehicles may activate their security system upon hearing the alarm system of another vehicle to record images, or audio, of the environment surrounding the other vehicle [0043]). “wherein a mapping relationship between the communication environment and the security level is configured in advance, and the security level is determined based on the mapping relationship with the communication environment” could have been derived by one of ordinary skill in the art from Sindia’s reference, which discloses the self-adaptive security framework automatically adjusts or alters the security level of a device. The security level may be increased or decreased based on a threat level determined by a contextual sensing engine in the self-adaptive security framework. In one aspect, the invention determines that a threat level has not changed and maintains the previously set security level. The invention alters the security level without requiring the user manually change or adjust security protocols. Thus, the invention provides flexible security levels based on the context or setting in which the device is being used ([0030]-[0036], [claim 1]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, could have easily conceived the invention in claim 6 from a combination of Kim in view of Murray further in view of Sindia.
Regarding claim 19, Kim in view of Murray further in view of Sindia teaches all the limitations above. Murray further teaches wherein the communication environment includes at least one of a speed of the first UE, a degree of traffic congestion around the first UE, available resources for application of the security function according to the security level, a security level of the first UE, a security level of a service, a security level of a message, or importance of a message (i.e., Activating the security system of the first vehicle may comprise automatically turning on the audio and/or video capturing device of the first vehicle. In this example, if a person (for example an unauthorized user of the first vehicle) is within a certain proximity (e.g. comes within a predetermined radius of the first vehicle) this may trigger the image capturing device to capture audio and/or video images of the first vehicle's surroundings. In this example the controller may be further configured to attach metadata to any audio and/or video captured by the capturing device of the first vehicle [0007]). (see also [0033]-[0037] of Sindia).
Regarding claim 20, Kim in view of Murray further in view of Sindia teaches all the limitations above. Kim further teaches the security function includes at least one of an encryption function, an integrity function, or an electronic signature function (i.e., second message (set of keys parameters) is encrypted, integrity protected, or both [0101], [0142]).
Conclusion
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643