DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-10, 14, , and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0272532) in view of Agiwall et al. (US 2021/0099954).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a method of operation of a first user equipment (UE), comprising: determining a security based on a communication environment (i.e., In using relay UE 504, remote UE 502 may establish some type of message security when trying to access the network. This involves establishing some security for messages between remote UE 502 and relay UE 504 [0070]. The remote UE may use the 5G-GUTI as an identity of the UE to identify the security context, which may include locating the network entity in the network that holds the security context of the remote UE and the identity of the security context [0072], [0074]); transmitting sidelink control information (SCI) including information on the security and scheduling information of data to a second UE (i.e., In some aspects, one or more sidelink channels 310 may use resource pools. For example, a scheduling assignment (e.g., included in SCI 330) may be transmitted in sub-channels using specific resource blocks (RBs) across time. In some aspects, data transmissions (e.g., on PSSCH 320) associated with a scheduling assignment may occupy adjacent RBs in the same subframe as the scheduling assignment (e.g., using frequency division multiplexing). In some aspects, a scheduling assignment and associated data transmissions are not transmitted on adjacent RBs [0059]-[0060]); generating the data based on a security function according to the security (i.e., UE 305 may generate sidelink grants, and may transmit the grants in SCI 330 [0062]); and transmitting the data to the second UE in a resource indicated by the scheduling information (i.e., Remote UE 502 may determine that a relay UE is necessary. As shown by reference number 524, remote UE 502 may perform a discovery procedure to find relay UE 504. As shown by reference number 526, remote UE 502 may transmit a direct communication request. The request may include an identity of remote UE 502, indicated by a 5G global unique temporary identifier (5G-GUTI), and a next generation key set indicator (ngKSI) that is associated with keys that may be used for message protection. The request may also include NAS security capabilities, and the request may be protected with a NAS key Key.sub.NASint ([0071]-[0074]).
Kim does not specifically teach determining the security level. However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Agiwal teaches different layers of security keys during connection setup ([0025]-[0028]). Unicast Link ID is included in PDCP header by the transmitter. Based on this receiver the UE can map the received message to appropriate Unicast link; apply security context accordingly. In an alternate embodiment, Unicast Link ID can be included in MAC PDU or SCI. Security protection type is included in PDCP header by the transmitter. Security protection type can be set to No protection; Integrity protected only; both integrity and confidentiality protected. Based on this receiver, the UE can determine the security level and accordingly process the packet ([0465]-[0466]). Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine Agiwal's technique with Kim's system for performing integrity protection and/or confidentiality protection using different layers of security keys.
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches identifying the communication environment, wherein a mapping relationship between the communication environment and the security level is configured in advance, and the security level is determined based on the mapping relationship with the communication environment ([0454], [0464]-[0465], [0476]-[0480]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches wherein the communication environment includes at least one of a speed of the first UE, a degree of traffic congestion around the first UE, available resources for application of the security function according to the security level, a security level of the first UE, a security level of a service, a security level of a message, or importance of a message ([0018], [0394], [0465]-[0466], [0475]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Kim further teaches the security function includes at least one of an encryption function, an integrity function, or an electronic signature function (i.e., second message (set of keys parameters) is encrypted, integrity protected, or both [0101], [0142]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Kim further teaches wherein the SCI is classified into first-stage SCI and second-stage SCI, the scheduling information is included in the first-stage SCI, and the information on the security level is included in the second-stage SCI associated with the first-stage SCI (i.e., UE 305 may perform resource selection and/or scheduling using SCI 330 received in PSCCH 315, which may indicate occupied resources, and/or channel parameters … n the transmission mode where resource selection and/or scheduling is performed by a UE 305, UE 305 may generate sidelink grants, and may transmit the grants in SCI 330 [0058]-[0062]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches a method of operation of a first user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving information on a security from a second UE (i.e., In using relay UE 504, remote UE 502 may establish some type of message security when trying to access the network. This involves establishing some security for messages between remote UE 502 and relay UE 504 [0070]. The remote UE may use the 5G-GUTI as an identity of the UE to identify the security context, which may include locating the network entity in the network that holds the security context of the remote UE and the identity of the security context [0072], [0074]); transmitting sidelink control information (SCI) including information on the security and scheduling information of data to a second UE (i.e., In some aspects, one or more sidelink channels 310 may use resource pools. For example, a scheduling assignment (e.g., included in SCI 330) may be transmitted in sub-channels using specific resource blocks (RBs) across time. In some aspects, data transmissions (e.g., on PSSCH 320) associated with a scheduling assignment may occupy adjacent RBs in the same subframe as the scheduling assignment (e.g., using frequency division multiplexing). In some aspects, a scheduling assignment and associated data transmissions are not transmitted on adjacent RBs [0059]-[0060]); generating the data based on a security function according to the security (i.e., UE 305 may generate sidelink grants, and may transmit the grants in SCI 330 [0062]); and transmitting the data to the second UE in a resource indicated by the scheduling information (i.e., Remote UE 502 may determine that a relay UE is necessary. As shown by reference number 524, remote UE 502 may perform a discovery procedure to find relay UE 504. As shown by reference number 526, remote UE 502 may transmit a direct communication request. The request may include an identity of remote UE 502, indicated by a 5G global unique temporary identifier (5G-GUTI), and a next generation key set indicator (ngKSI) that is associated with keys that may be used for message protection. The request may also include NAS security capabilities, and the request may be protected with a NAS key Key.sub.NASint ([0071]-[0074]).
Kim does not specifically teach determining the security level. However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Agiwal teaches different layers of security keys during connection setup ([0025]-[0028]). Unicast Link ID is included in PDCP header by the transmitter. Based on this receiver the UE can map the received message to appropriate Unicast link; apply security context accordingly. In an alternate embodiment, Unicast Link ID can be included in MAC PDU or SCI. Security protection type is included in PDCP header by the transmitter. Security protection type can be set to No protection; Integrity protected only; both integrity and confidentiality protected. Based on this receiver, the UE can determine the security level and accordingly process the packet ([0465]-[0466]). Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine Agiwal's technique with Kim's system for performing integrity protection and/or confidentiality protection using different layers of security keys.
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches a method of operation of a second user equipment (UE), comprising: determining a security considering communication environment (i.e., In using relay UE 504, remote UE 502 may establish some type of message security when trying to access the network. This involves establishing some security for messages between remote UE 502 and relay UE 504 [0070]. The remote UE may use the 5G-GUTI as an identity of the UE to identify the security context, which may include locating the network entity in the network that holds the security context of the remote UE and the identity of the security context [0072], [0074]); transmitting information on the security to a first UE ([0019], [0022], [0070]-[0072]); receiving sidelink control information (SCI) including information indicating application of the security and scheduling information of data from the first UE (i.e., In some aspects, one or more sidelink channels 310 may use resource pools. For example, a scheduling assignment (e.g., included in SCI 330) may be transmitted in sub-channels using specific resource blocks (RBs) across time. In some aspects, data transmissions (e.g., on PSSCH 320) associated with a scheduling assignment may occupy adjacent RBs in the same subframe as the scheduling assignment (e.g., using frequency division multiplexing). In some aspects, a scheduling assignment and associated data transmissions are not transmitted on adjacent RBs [0059]-[0060]); generating the data based on a security function according to the security (i.e., UE 305 may generate sidelink grants, and may transmit the grants in SCI 330 [0062]); receiving the data from the first UE in a resource indicated by the scheduling information (i.e., a receive processor 258 may process (e.g., demodulate and decode) the detected symbols, provide decoded data for UE 120 to a data sink 260, and provide decoded control information and system information to a controller/processor 280 ([0045]), UE 305 may perform resource selection and/or scheduling using SCI 330 received in PSCCH 315, which may indicate occupied resources, and/or channel parameters [0060]-[0061]); and performing a processing operation on the data based on a security function according to the security (i.e., remote UE 502 may perform a discovery procedure to find relay UE 504. As shown by reference number 526, remote UE 502 may transmit a direct communication request. The request may include an identity of remote UE 502, indicated by a 5G global unique temporary identifier (5G-GUTI), and a next generation key set indicator (ngKSI) that is associated with keys that may be used for message protection. The request may also include NAS security capabilities, and the request may be protected with a NAS key Key.sub.NASint ([0071]-[0074]).
Kim does not specifically teach determining the security level. However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Agiwal teaches different layers of security keys during connection setup ([0025]-[0028]). Unicast Link ID is included in PDCP header by the transmitter. Based on this receiver the UE can map the received message to appropriate Unicast link; apply security context accordingly. In an alternate embodiment, Unicast Link ID can be included in MAC PDU or SCI. Security protection type is included in PDCP header by the transmitter. Security protection type can be set to No protection; Integrity protected only; both integrity and confidentiality protected. Based on this receiver, the UE can determine the security level and accordingly process the packet ([0465]-[0466]). Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine Agiwal's technique with Kim's system for performing integrity protection and/or confidentiality protection using different layers of security keys.
Regarding claim 18, Kim in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches identifying the communication environment, wherein a mapping relationship between the communication environment and the security level is configured in advance, and the security level is determined based on the mapping relationship with the communication environment ([0454], [0464]-[0465], [0476]-[0480]).
Regarding claim 19, Kim in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches wherein the communication environment includes at least one of a speed of the first UE, a degree of traffic congestion around the first UE, available resources for application of the security function according to the security level, a security level of the first UE, a security level of a service, a security level of a message, or importance of a message ([0018], [0394], [0465]-[0466], [0475]).
Regarding claim 20, Kim in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Kim further teaches the security function includes at least one of a decryption function, an integrity function, or an electronic signature function (i.e., second message (set of keys parameters) is encrypted, integrity protected, or both [0101], [0142]).
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0272532) in view of Agiwall et al. (US 2021/0099954). Further in view of Dawson et al. (US 2014/0164582).
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view Agiwal determining level of security. But they fail to teach transmitting, to the second UE, information indicating use of a flexible security level, wherein the information indicating use of the flexible security level is transmitted in a link establishment procedure between the first UE and the second UE.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Dawson teaches a shipping/receiving company has multiple vehicles in a fleet that utilize the onboard equipment 200. If one of the vehicles in the fleet has a satellite module 150 that does not work and the business logic 305 of the offboard server 300 has determined that a satellite connection is the fastest and/or cheapest communication method for which to send data, the vehicle can use a V2V connection with another vehicle in the fleet to access the other vehicle's satellite connection. V2V is a meant to be a fast, dynamic and cost-free connection, which lessens the need to set up security measures for the data being sent. V2V contains inherent security and is dynamic, cheap, and flexible. In another exemplary embodiment, where there are multiple vehicles in a fleet having V2V capability, the newer vehicles can offer their newer, upgraded, higher bandwidth/lower cost communication methods to the older vehicles in the fleet ([0117]-[0119]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention to combine Dawson the system of Kim and Agiwal in order to reduce the cost of transferring data via V2V connection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 11-13, 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643