Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (6517141) in view of Lopez (5419945) or Cordani (5834104).
(3) The water-proof car covering 1 includes: an integral water-proof plastic sheet 11 having a base portion 111 that is adapted to confine a bottom side of the car 2 (see FIG. 2) and that has a periphery, and a plurality of side portions (112, 113) that extend from the periphery of the base portion 111, that are adapted to confine the remaining sides of the car 2, and that respectively have peripheral side edges which are connected to form a continuous loop; and a closure unit 12 secured to and extending along the entire length of the loop, and including male and female interlocking members (121, 122) that are engageable with each other so as to permit watertight enclosing of the car 2 by the plastic sheet 11. The closure unit 12 is a zipper in this embodiment.
(4) The base portion 111 is rectangular in shape and has left and right sides 1111 and front and rear sides 1112 that cooperatively define the periphery of the base portion 111. The side portions (112, 113) have left and right side portions 112 and front and rear side portions 113 that respectively extend from the left and right sides 1111 and front and rear sides 1112 of the base portion 111. The left and right side portions 112 are adapted to confine left and right sides of the car 2. The front and rear side portions 113 are adapted to confine front and rear sides and a top side of the car 2.
Su teaches an enclosure apparatus for a vehicle, the enclosure apparatus comprising: a cover comprising: a base panel (111) having a first and a second ends (1112 or 1111), said base panel having a first and second lateral edges (1111 or 1112) the base panel /14/ having a size configured for supporting the vehicle thereon; a first and second end panels (113 or 112) pivotally coupled to the first end of the base panel; a first and second side panels (112 or 113) pivotally coupled to the first lateral edge of the base panel; wherein the cover is positionable in a planar configuration wherein the base panel lies on a shared plane with the first end panel, the second end panel, the first side panel, and the second side panel, the cover being positionable in a use configuration (fig. 3) wherein the cover defines an interior volume, the cover forming a tubular shape with the base panel and the first and second side panels when positioned in the use configuration, the first and second end panels being positioned to close open ends of the tubular shape when the cover is positioned in the use configuration (fig. 2).
Regarding the new limitations, note Su teaches a first end, second end, first lateral edge, and the second lateral edge defining a border of the base panel 111 at 1112, 1111.
Regarding a protective layer coupled to and lying atop the base panel, the protective layer comprising a durable material configured to resist damage in response to the vehicle moving across the protective layer, said protective layer having a peripheral edge, said peripheral edge being inset from said border of said base panel, said peripheral edge being equidistant from said border of said base panel. Cordani or Lopez, each teaches that it is known in the art to provide a protective panel with peripheral edge configured to resist damage in response to the vehicle moving across the protective layer (note fig. 3 of Lopez can hold a vehicle and Cordani teaches high strength in abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the protective layer of either Cordani or Lopez to provide added protection (from hazardous material like oil and gas). With respect to the said peripheral edge being equidistant from said border of said base panel, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the layer of either Cordani or Lopez such that the peripheral edge being equidistant from said border of said base panel to provide the desired size for the protective pads and/or for aesthetic reasons and/or allow most comprehensive protection for the floor while allowing one to fit the pad onto the floor.
Regarding claims 2-4 note the first and second side panels are removably couplable to each other when the cover is positioned in the use configuration, the first and second end panels being removably couplable to each of the first and second side panels when the cover is positioned in the use configuration using zippers.
Regarding claim 5, note the first side panel extends (113) upwardly from the base panel when the cover is positioned in the use configuration, the second side panel (other 113) having a proximal portion and a distal portion with respect to the base panel, the proximal portion being coupled to and extending upwardly from the base panel when the cover is positioned in the use configuration, the distal portion being coupled to the proximal portion and being spaced above the base panel when the cover is in the use configuration. Note that there is a corner of about 90 degree on portion 112 on both the front and back and the zipper side panels 113 when making this turn would be the distal portion similar to that of applicant’s
Regarding claim 6, note the cover is flexible.
Regarding claim 7, note the cover is unitary (integral).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su in view of Cordani or Lopez rejections, as set forth above, and further in view of in view of Liu (CN107244231) or Rodgers (4773456).
Su does not teach the panels 112 to be rectangular shapes. Liu or Rodgers, each teaches that it is known in the art to provide a rectangular shape vehicle cover. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide panels 112 to be rectangular shapes as taught by Liu or Rodgers to provide the desired shape for the cover.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su in view of Cordani or Lopez rejections, as set forth above, and further in view of Allain (6405862) or Lombardo (20070176462). Su meets all claimed limitations except for a protective layer coupled to and lying atop the base panel, the protective layer comprising a durable material configured to resist damage in response to the vehicle moving across the protective layer. Allain teaches that it is known in the art to provide a protective layer.
Bottom panel 11 in this embodiment is provided with reinforced layers or strips 16 and 17. These reinforced strips 16 and 17 are from 1/8th" to 1/4th" thick and are made of plastic or rubber or similar material and are designed to resist puncture for the wheels of the vehicle.
Lombardo also teaches protective layers
This suitable construction may include, but is not limited to, strong, durable, puncture-resistant upper and lower outer layers comprised of plastic, vinyl, flexible fiberglass or similar materials, with inner reinforcing layers comprised of fiberglass, flexible metal mesh, Kevlar.TM., nylon, rayon or similar materials.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a protective layer as taught by Allain or Lombardo to provide added protection.
Claims 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haywood (GB2238029) in view of Allain (6595359).
One or more of the defined regions of the bag, especially the base region, may be constructed of a multi-ply format.
Haywood teaches an enclosure apparatus for a vehicle, the enclosure apparatus comprising: a cover comprising: a base panel (11) having a first and a second ends, said base panel having a first and second lateral edges the base panel having a size configured for supporting the vehicle thereon; a first and second end panels (14/15) pivotally coupled to the first end of the base panel; a first and second side panels (12/13) pivotally coupled to the first lateral edge of the base panel; wherein the cover is positionable in a planar configuration wherein the base panel lies on a shared plane with the first end panel, the second end panel, the first side panel, and the second side panel, the cover being positionable in a use configuration (fig. 1) wherein the cover defines an interior volume, the cover forming a tubular shape with the base panel and the first and second side panels when positioned in the use configuration, the first and second end panels being positioned to close open ends of the tubular shape when the cover is positioned in the use configuration (fig. 1). Regarding the new limitations, note Su teaches a first end, second end, first lateral edge, and the second lateral edge defining a border of the base panel 111 at 1112, 1111.
Regarding a protective layer coupled to and lying atop the base panel, the protective layer comprising a durable material configured to resist damage in response to the vehicle moving across the protective layer, said protective layer having a peripheral edge, said peripheral edge being inset from said border of said base panel, said peripheral edge being equidistant from said border of said base panel.
T
The top member 11 has a rubber or plastic top RT so that when it engages the underside of the vehicle V (FIG. 5) it is not damaged or ruptured by any sharp undercarriage protrusions and the like.
Allain teaches that it is known in the art to provide a protective panel with peripheral edge configured to resist damage in response to the vehicle moving across the protective layer as cited above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the protective layer of Allain to provide added protection (from the wheels). With respect to the said peripheral edge being equidistant from said border of said base panel, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the layer of such that the peripheral edge being equidistant from said border of said base panel to provide the desired size for the protective pads and/or for aesthetic reasons and/or allow most comprehensive protection for the floor while allowing one to fit the pad onto the floor.
Regarding claims 2-4 note the first and second side panels are removably couplable to each other when the cover is positioned in the use configuration, the first and second end panels being removably couplable to each of the first and second side panels when the cover is positioned in the use configuration using zippers.
Regarding claim 5, note the first side panel extends 13 upwardly from the base panel when the cover is positioned in the use configuration, the second side panel having a proximal portion and a distal portion with respect to the base panel, the proximal portion being coupled to and extending upwardly from the base panel when the cover is positioned in the use configuration, the distal portion being coupled to the proximal portion and being spaced above the base panel when the cover is in the use configuration. Note that there is a corner of about at 15 and 14 when making this turn panels 12/13 would have the distal portion similar to that of applicant’s.
Regarding claim 6, note the flexible material.
Regarding claim 7, note the cover is unitary.
Regarding claim 9, note the reinforcement on the base (multi-ply).
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haywood in Allain rejection, as set forth above, and further view of Liu (CN107244231) or Rodgers (4773456). Liu or Rodgers, each teaches that it is known in the art to provide a rectangular shape vehicle cover. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide panels 12-15 to be rectangular shapes as taught by Liu or Rodgers to provide the desired shape for the cover.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN107244231) in view of Troncoso (7377692), and further in view of either Allain’359 or Cordani ‘104.
Liu teaches a cover for a car with a base panel two end panels and two side panels in fig. 1. Liu meets all claimed limitations except for the two side panels are attached to the base panel.
Troncoso teaches that it is known in the art to provide a cover with a base panel and two side panels are attached to the base panels with one side panel having a distal portion 16 on a sidewall connected to a proximal panel 40. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a construction of a panel with a distal portion 16 on a sidewall connected to a proximal panel 40 as taught by Troncoso to provide desired arrangement for collapsible panels of the cover and/or to allow one to flatten the cover structure easily.
Regarding the new limitations, Cordani or Allain, each teaches that it is known in the art to provide a protective panel with peripheral edge configured to resist damage in response to the vehicle moving across the protective layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the protective layer of either Cordani or Allain to provide added protection (from oil and gas or from puncture). With respect to the said peripheral edge being equidistant from said border of said base panel, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the layer of either Cordani or Allain such that the peripheral edge being equidistant from said border of said base panel to provide the desired size for the protective pads and/or for aesthetic reasons and/or allow most comprehensive protection for the floor while allowing one to fit the pad onto the floor.
Regarding claim 9, note the teaching “protective clothing made of polyamide or nylon material, the material in the layer composite with a rubber lining.”
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejections.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TRI M. MAI
Examiner
Art Unit 3733
/TRI M MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733