DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application to Ramachandran 2019/0285804US in view of the US Patent Application Publication to Wang 2017/0254956US.
In terms of claim 1, Ramachandran teaches a multi-chip package (Figure 3: contain multiple chips 126, 122 and within 114 as shown in Figure 2) design module of a glass V-groove (Figure 5: v-groove 132 within area of 140 or Figure 5: 106 also contain v-groove at 152 [0024]) as shown design without conventional wire bonding (Figure 7: does not contain wire bonding but rather conductive traces within 160 and bumps 170), comprising: a first circuit board (Figure 7: 104); a multi-chip package (Figure 5: chips such 180 or 156 located in layer 110) installed on a top portion of the first circuit board (Figure 7: layer 110 is located on top of 104), wherein the multi-chip package comprises a second circuit board (Figure 5 and Figure 7: 160), and an optical chip is welded to a top portion of the second circuit board (See Figure 7: 120 on top of 160); and a transmission mechanism (Figure 5: see 115) installed on the top portion of the first circuit board (Figure 5: 115 is located in layer 110 which is on top of 104 as shown in Figure 3), wherein the transmission mechanism comprises (115) a glass block (Figure 5: 106) fixedly connected to the top portion of the first circuit board (Figure 5: 106 is attached to 115 which is within 110 and is located on top of 104), a top portion of the glass block (106 is made of glass [0024]) is provided with a plurality of V-grooves (Figure 5: 106 contains v-groove holes 152 which is at top portion of 106; [0024]), in which optical fibers are fixed ([0024]),
Ramachandran does not teach gratings are etched in outer portions of the optical fibers.
Wang teaches an optical fiber (Figure 1: 2; [0027]) having gratings etched to in outer portions of the optical fiber (Figure 5: 5 [0033]) in order to improve coupling efficiency ([0033]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a grating structure etched to an outer edge of the fiber in which is emitted in order to improve coupling efficiency of light onto another optical component.
As for Claim 2, Ramachandran / Wang teach the device of Claim 1, wherein Ramachandran teaches wherein the multi-chip package further comprises a drive chip (Figure 1: 124; [0021]) welded to the second circuit board (Figure 7: 160 and 124), and the drive chip and the optical chip (within 112 or 156) are externally and fixedly provided with an epoxy molding compound (110 maybe overmolded or encapsulated by an epoxy material; [0020]).
As for Claim 3, Ramachandran / Wang teach the device of Claim 1, wherein the multi-chip package (110) further comprises two power supply pins fixedly connected to a bottom portion of the second circuit board (Figure 7: wherein the interconnect lines which has a pin shape structure to their thin vertical form factor and functions to make contact with 170 to provide electricity to 110; [0038]). As for the limitation of “the two power supply pins are connected to the first circuit board via welding” wherein the act of “welding” is considered by the examiner as a “product by process step of making the device” that does not impart any additional structural differences to the interconnect pin shape conductive lines within 110 that is connected to 104.
As for Claim 4, Ramachandran / Wang teach the device of Claim 1, wherein Ramachandran teaches the multi-chip package further comprises a laser (156) fixedly connected to a top portion of the optical chip (Figure 2: 112 and 156), the optical chip is electrically connected to the laser (Figure 2: see electrical lines from 156).
Ramachandran does not teach wherein the laser is a VCSEL or (vertical cavity surface emitting laser).
Wang does teach wherein a waveguide (Figure 14: 2) is coupled to a VCSEL (Figure 14: 12; [0030]) that is mounted on photonic circuit board (Figure 14: 8a and 2 and 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laser chip of Ramachandran to be a VCSEL type laser. As shown in Figure 7 of Ramachandran photonic die 112 which contains laser chip 156 is located below the optical fiber coupling region of 130. Thus, in order to transmit light to fiber in region 130 from 112, a VCSEL would be ideal to emit light upwards towards the fiber for coupling. VCSEL are known to be inexpensive lasers with very good performance characteristics hence using VCSEL has the benefit of reducing the cost of the device.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramachandran 2019/0285804US / Wang 2017/0254956US as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication to Byrd 2020/0073050US.
In regards to Claim 5, Ramachandran / Wang teach the device of Claim 1, wherein Ramachandran ‘804 teaches the transmission mechanism (115) with a cover plate over the area of 110.
Ramachandran ‘804 / Wang ‘956 do not teach wherein the glass block further comprises a cover plate fixedly connected to the top portion of the glass block.
Byrd ‘050 teaches a photonic chip (Figure 3b: on 125), that accepts optical fiber via a transmission mechanism (Figure 3b: 145) that is made of glass having v-grooves to hold optical fibers (0078]). The block functions similar to block of 106 as taught by Ramachandran. The lid 315/155 is then coupled or makes contact to 145 via 116 (Figure 3b: 145 and 116) wherein the lid functions as a means to removed excess heat from the device via the surface 315 ([0081]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lid 102 to extend over the glass block 106 and to make contact with 106 similar to the way 145 is in contact with 315 via 116. The benefit from this modification result in a heat removal from the glass block since it contacts the heat dissipation device of 315 and 155. This prevents the glass block from overheating during operation. Further the act of extending the lid over the glass blocks also provide protection to the coupling joint where the glass block couples with the die. The fibers maybe accidentally swiped by the installer and cause damage to the glass block and fiber once connect to photonic die during manufacturing or installation.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramachandran (2019/0285804US) / Wang (2017/0254956US) / Byrd (2020/0073050US) as applied to claims 5 above, and further in view of Ramachandran 10,409,014US and further in view of the US Patent Application Publication to Stojanovic 2022/0166533US.
As for Claim 6, Ramachandran ‘804 / Wang ‘956 / Byrd ‘050 teach the device of Claim 5.
Ramachandran ‘804 / Wang ‘956 / Byrd ‘050 do not teach the optical fibers are connected to the glass block by means of adhesive dispensing, and a bottom portion of the glass block is connected to the second circuit board by means of adhesive dispensing.
Ramachandran ‘014 does teach the optical fibers (116) are connected to the glass block (106) by means of adhesive dispensing (Column 6, lines 30-40); and a bottom portion of the block (Figure 14 and 15: fiber holding block 104) is connected to the second circuit board (Figure 14: 104 is attach to surface 128 of circuit board 130 via the bottom side by an adhesive Column 4, lines 30-45). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to mount the glass block 106 inward wherein a portion of 106 bottom surface is held within the 110 to provide support for 106 and wherein the mounted bottom surface of 106 is attached to 110 similar to 104 is being attached to surface 128 of circuit board 130 wherein the fibers 116 are attached to v-groove via an adhesive. The adhesive will provide additional mechanical support at the bonding site to provide a secure connection and ensure proper alignment of the block and the circuit board.
Ramachandran ‘804 / Wang ‘956 / Byrd ‘050 / Ramachandran ‘014 do not teach wherein the cover plate is connected to the glass block by means of adhesive dispensing.
Stojanovic does teach a block (Figure 9) holding a plurality fiber (Figure 9: 503) wherein the cover plate (Figure 9: heat cover 909) is connected to the block (909 coupled to holder via epoxy 907) by means of adhesive dispensing (907). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ramachandran / Wang wherein the block is attached to cover that that extends over the connector (Wang 145) to use an adhesive to secure the attachment. This allows the connector to maintain a strong mechanical bond to the attachment site and ensure contact with the cover to remove unwanted heat from the connector block.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramachandran 2019/0285804US / Wang 2017/0254956US as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication to Badihi 2018/0306990US.
In regards to Claim 7, Ramachandran ‘804 / Wang ‘956 teach the device of claim 1.
Ramachandran ‘804 / Wang ‘956 do not teach wherein the multi-chip package is externally and fixedly provided with a housing, which is provided with a plurality of optical fiber openings at one side, and the optical fibers are inserted in the optical fiber openings.
Badihi teaches wherein the multi-chip package (Figure 4: within 80 contains multiple IC or chips [0048]) is externally and fixedly provided with a housing (Figure 3: 60), which is provided with a plurality of optical fiber openings (Figure 3: 61b) at one side, and the optical fibers are inserted in the optical fiber openings (Figure 2: 48). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ramachandran / Wang / Byrd to include an external housing to with a plurality of optical connection openings on one side to provide a means to route optical fiber to be coupled in to chip in a manner that separates out the different group connections. This modification will allow the installer to organize input/output connections into groups while prevent fibers from being easily crossed or tanged with each other.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent to Patel 11,391897 teaches an optical package having multiple chips and optical fiber connection portions to allow input and output of large connections.
/HOANG Q TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874