DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 12-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen CN 206421098 U (citation is from attached machine translation) in view of Miyazaki US 2014/0185152.
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches an imaging lens assembly (see at least figures 1 and 2), comprising:
a first lens group (second objective lens 6) configured to shoot at a short focal length (see para 0126: second lens 6 is for a wide-angle, i.e., wide-angle has shorter focal length comparing to telephoto);
a second lens group (first objective lens 1) configured to shoot at a long focal length (first lens 1 is for a telephoto, i.e., telephoto has longer focal length comparing to wide angle);
a third lens group (lenses 9 and 10) configured to shoot at the short focal length and the long focal length (as shown in figures 1 and 2: lenses 9 and 10 are used to focus light coming from wide-angle and telephoto angle);
a first mirror (mirror 8) positioned between the first lens group (lens 6) and the third lens group (lenses 9 and 10); and
a second minor (mirror 3) positioned between the second lens group (lens 1) and the third lens group (lenses 9 and 10),
the first mirror (8) or the second mirror (6) is configured to form an optical path optically connecting a corresponding lens group (either lens 1 with lenses 9 and 10; or lens 6 with lenses 9 and 10), which is among the first lens group (lens 6) and the second lens group (lens 1), and the third lens group (lenses 9 and 10), by tilting with respect to both of an optical axis direction of the corresponding lens group and an optical axis direction of the third lens group in the shooting state (as shown in figures 1 and 2: during wide-angle shooting, mirror 8 tilted to 45 degree, and light that passes through lens 6 reflect off mirror 8 and directed to lenses 9 and 10, similarly during telephoto shooting, mirror 3 tilted to 45 degree, and mirror 8 collapse, and light reflected off mirror 8 directed to lenses 9 and 10), the first mirror and the second mirror are configured to secure a space by being substantially perpendicular to the optical axis direction of the corresponding lens group in the lens storage state (as shown below, space is secure by collapsing mirror 8 from tilted position perpendicular to optical axis ).
[AltContent: textbox (Secured space by collapsing mirror 8)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Telephoto (long focal length: lens 1 (first group) and mirror 3 used to direct light to lenses 9 and 10 (third group))][AltContent: textbox (Wide-angle (short focal length: lens 6 (second group) and mirror 8 used to direct light to lenses 9 and 10 (third group))]
Chen fails to teach: wherein at least one of the first lens group and the second lens group is configured to change its position in an optical axis direction between a shooting state and a lens storage state, and
the first mirror and the second mirror are configured to secure a storage space for the corresponding lens group by being substantially perpendicular to the optical axis direction of the corresponding lens group in the lens storage state.
Chen and Miyazaki are related with respect to imaging lens assembly.
Miyazaki teaches at least one of the first lens group and the second lens group is configured to change its position in an optical axis direction (Figs. 2A-2B: discloses lens barrel/imaging device in which lens group L1 and L2 is movable along the optical axis) between a shooting state and a lens storage state (Figs. 2A-2B: further discloses the optical system is configure to operate in a shooting (imaging) state and a distinct non-shooting contraction/storage state), and
the first mirror and the second mirror are configured to secure a storage space for the corresponding lens group by being substantially perpendicular to the optical axis direction of the corresponding lens group in the lens storage state (Figs. 2A-2B: further teaches that the purpose of transitioning to the storage state is to reduce size of the optical module and secure internal space by repositioning optical component away from their imaging location, and also moving L1 and L2 in space provided near to the mirror frame 31). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the imaging lens assembly of Chen by utilizing the claimed changing position of the lens group in an optical axis and also configured to secure a storage space for corresponding lens group by substantially perpendicular to the optical axis to facilitate lens retractions and compactness.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Chen teaches the imaging lens assembly
according to claim 1, Chen further teaches wherein the first mirror (mirror 8) is configured to form an optical path optically connecting the first lens group (lens 6) and the third lens group (lenses 9 and 10), by tilting with respect to both of an optical axis direction of the first lens group and an optical axis direction of the third lens group when the shooting state is a state of shooting at the short focal length,
[AltContent: textbox (Optical axis of the third lens group (9 and 10))][AltContent: textbox (Optical axis of the first lens group 6)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
and the first mirror (8) is configured not to interfere in an optical path optically connecting the second lens group (lens 1) and the third lens group (lenses 9 and 10), by maintaining a state of being substantially perpendicular to the optical axis direction of the first lens group when the shooting state is a state of shooting at the long focal length.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Mirror 8 and optical axis of lens group 6 are perpendicular.)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (During the telephoto shooting, mirror 8 collapsed and configured not to interfere, by being perpendicular to the optical axis and )][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Chen teaches the imaging lens assembly according to claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein each of the first lens group (see para 0096: second objective lens 6 is having a positive diopter) and the second lens group comprises at least one lens having a positive refractive power (see para 0093: first lens 1 having a positive diopter), and the third lens group comprises at least one lens having a negative refractive power (see para 0101: lens 9 which is part of the third group having a negative refractive power).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Chen teaches the imaging lens assembly according to claim 1, Chen further teaches further configured so that: (WLG1+TLG1)/(WLG1−TLG1)>−15, where WLG1 is a focal length of the first lens group and TLG1 is a focal length of the second lens group (para 0139: teaches TLG1 ~ 70-140 mm, and WLG1 ~ 30-60 mm, thus (W+T)/(W-T) = (60+70)/(60-70) = 130/(-10) = -13 > -15.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Chen teaches the imaging lens assembly according to claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein the first lens group and the second lens group are positioned parallel to the optical axis of the third lens group in the lens storage state (as shown in Figs. 1 and 2: lens 1 and lens 6 are parallel to the optical axis of lenses 9 and 10).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Chen teaches the imaging lens assembly according to claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein optical axis directions of the first lens group and the second lens group are substantially perpendicular to the optical axis direction of the third lens group.
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Optical axis of lens 6, i.e., perpendicular to optical axis of lenses 9 and 10)][AltContent: textbox (Optical axis of lens 1, i.e., perpendicular to optical axis of lenses 9 and 10)][AltContent: textbox (Optical axis of lenses 9 and 10)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector]
Regarding claim 14, Chen teaches the imaging lens assembly according to claim 1, Chen further teaches wherein the first mirror (mirror 8) is rotatable about one end on the third lens group side of the first mirror (Fig. 1-2: depicts that mirror 8 is rotatable in order to be in folded and tilted positions). Chen does not explicitly state the second mirror is rotatable about one end on the third lens group side of the second mirror. However, providing rotational support for folding mirror in a compact folded optical system is a well-known and predictable mechanical design option. Chen already demonstrates the desirability and feasibility of supporting a folding mirror (mirror 8) in a rotatable manner to enable selective optical-path control and to avoid interference when not needed. A person of ordinary skill in the art, recognizing that compact folded optical camera modules benefit from positional adjustability of fold mirrors to clear space, redirect optical paths, and improve packaging flexibility, would have found it obvious to apply the same mechanical mounting principle to the second folding mirror as well.
Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches the imaging lens assembly according to claim 1, Chen further teaches wherein the second lens group (lens 1) is disposed farther from an imaging surface than the first lens group (lens 6) (see Fig. 1: lens 1 is placed away from lens 6).
Regarding claim 16, Chen teaches the imaging lens assembly according to claim 1, Chen further teaches wherein the shooting at the short focal length is a wide-angle shooting, and the shooting at the long focal length is a telephoto shooting (see para 0048 and 0126: “the first lens 1 is a medium telephoto lens; the second lens 6 is a wide-angle lens”).
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches a camera module (see para 0008: ultra-thin camera for mobile phones), comprising:
an imaging lens assembly (see at least figures 1 and 2), having a first shooting state (see para 0126: second lens 6 is for a wide-angle),
a second shooting state (para 0126: the first lens 1 is a medium telephoto lens), and
the second shooting state having a focus length longer than that of the first shooting state (first lens 1 is for a telephoto, i.e., telephoto has longer focal length comparing to wide angle), and
the imaging lens assembly (see at least figures 1 and 2) comprising:
a first lens group (second objective lens 6), having a first optical axis;
a second lens group (first objective lens 1), having a second optical axis;
a third lens group (lenses 9 and 10), having a third optical axis,
wherein the third optical axis intersects with both the first optical axis and the second optical axis;
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Optical axis of lens 6, i.e., perpendicular to optical axis of lenses 9 and 10)][AltContent: textbox (Optical axis of lens 1, i.e., perpendicular to optical axis of lenses 9 and 10)][AltContent: textbox (Optical axis of lenses 9 and 10)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector]
a first mirror (mirror 8) positioned between the first lens group (lens 6) and the third lens group (lenses 9 and 10); and
a second minor (mirror 3) positioned between the second lens group (lens 1) and the third lens group (lenses 9 and 10),
wherein when the imaging lens assembly is in the first shooting state, the first mirror configured to form an optical path optically connecting the first lens group and the third lens group by tilting with respect to both the first optical axis and the third optical axis (as shown in figures 1 and 2: during wide-angle shooting, mirror 8 tilted to 45 degree, and light that passes through lens 6 reflect off mirror 8 and directed to lenses 9 and 10);
when the imaging lens assembly is in the second shooting state, the second minor configured to form an optical path optically connecting the second lens group and the third lens group by tilting with respect to both the second optical axis and the third optical axis (similarly as shown in figures 1 and 2: during telephoto shooting, mirror 3 tilted to 45 degree, and mirror 8 collapse, and light reflected off mirror 8 directed to lenses 9 and 10); and the first mirror and the second mirror are configured to secure a space by being substantially perpendicular to the optical axis direction of the corresponding lens group in the lens storage state (as shown below, space is secure by collapsing mirror 8 from tilted position perpendicular to optical axis ), an image sensor comprising an imaging surface
Chen fails to teach: a lens storage state, and
when the imaging lens assembly is in the lens storage state, the first mirror is substantially perpendicular to the first optical axis, and the second minor is substantially perpendicular to the second optical axis; and an image sensor comprising an imaging surface (see Fig. 1: image sensor 12).
Chen and Miyazaki are related with respect to imaging lens assembly.
Miyazaki teaches a lens storage (Figs. 2A-2B: discloses the optical system is configure to operate in a shooting (imaging) state and a distinct non-shooting contraction/storage state in which lens group L1 and L2 is movable along the optical axis to be in lens storage state between a shooting state and a lens storage state), and
when the imaging lens assembly is in the lens storage state, the first mirror is substantially perpendicular to the first optical axis, and the second minor is substantially perpendicular to the second optical axis (Figs. 2A-2B: further teaches that the purpose of transitioning to the storage state is to reduce size of the optical module and secure internal space by repositioning optical component away from their imaging location, and also moving L1 and L2 in space provided near to the mirror frame 31). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the imaging lens assembly of Chen by utilizing the claimed changing position of the lens group in an optical axis and also configured to secure a storage space for corresponding lens group by substantially perpendicular to the optical axis to facilitate lens retractions and compactness.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Chen teaches the camera module according to claim 17, Chen further teaches wherein each of the first lens group (see para 0096: second objective lens 6 is having a positive diopter) and the second lens group comprises at least one lens having a positive refractive power (see para 0093: first lens 1 having a positive diopter), and the third lens group comprises at least one lens having a negative refractive power (see para 0101: lens 9 which is part of the third group having a negative refractive power).
Regarding claim 20, Chen teaches an imaging device, comprising: a camera module (see para 0008: ultra-thin camera for mobile phones), comprising:
an imaging lens assembly (see at least figures 1 and 2), comprising:
a first lens group (second objective lens 6) configured to shoot at a short focal length (see para 0126: second lens 6 is for a wide-angle, i.e., wide-angle has shorter focal length comparing to telephoto);
a second lens group (first objective lens 1) configured to shoot at a long focal length (first lens 1 is for a telephoto, i.e., telephoto has longer focal length comparing to wide angle);
a third lens group (lenses 9 and 10) configured to shoot at the short focal length and the long focal length (as shown in figures 1 and 2: lenses 9 and 10 are used to focus light coming from wide-angle and telephoto angle);
a first mirror (mirror 8) positioned between the first lens group (lens 6) and the third lens group (lenses 9 and 10); and
a second minor (mirror 3) positioned between the second lens group (lens 1) and the third lens group (lenses 9 and 10),
the first mirror (8) or the second mirror (6) is configured to form an optical path optically connecting a corresponding lens group (either lens 1 with lenses 9 and 10; or lens 6 with lenses 9 and 10), which is among the first lens group (lens 6) and the second lens group (lens 1), and the third lens group (lenses 9 and 10), by tilting with respect to both of an optical axis direction of the corresponding lens group and an optical axis direction of the third lens group in the shooting state (as shown in figures 1 and 2: during wide-angle shooting, mirror 8 tilted to 45 degree, and light that passes through lens 6 reflect off mirror 8 and directed to lenses 9 and 10, similarly during telephoto shooting, mirror 3 tilted to 45 degree, and mirror 8 collapse, and light reflected off mirror 8 directed to lenses 9 and 10), and the first mirror and the second mirror are configured to secure a space by being substantially perpendicular to the optical axis direction of the corresponding lens group in the lens storage state (as shown below, space is secure by collapsing mirror 8 from tilted position perpendicular to optical axis ), an image sensor comprising an imaging surface (see Fig. 1: image sensor 12)
[AltContent: textbox (Secured space by collapsing mirror 8)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Telephoto (long focal length: lens 1 (first group) and mirror 3 used to direct light to lenses 9 and 10 (third group))][AltContent: textbox (Wide-angle (short focal length: lens 6 (second group) and mirror 8 used to direct light to lenses 9 and 10 (third group))]
Chen fails to teach: wherein at least one of the first lens group and the second lens group is configured to change its position in an optical axis direction between a shooting state and a lens storage state, and
the first mirror and the second mirror are configured to secure a storage space for the corresponding lens group by being substantially perpendicular to the optical axis direction of the corresponding lens group in the lens storage state; and a housing for storing the imaging lens assembly.
Chen and Miyazaki are related with respect to imaging lens assembly.
Miyazaki teaches at least one of the first lens group and the second lens group is configured to change its position in an optical axis direction (Figs. 2A-2B: discloses lens barrel/imaging device in which lens group L1 and L2 is movable along the optical axis) between a shooting state and a lens storage state (Figs. 2A-2B: further discloses the optical system is configure to operate in a shooting (imaging) state and a distinct non-shooting contraction/storage state), and
the first mirror and the second mirror are configured to secure a storage space for the corresponding lens group by being substantially perpendicular to the optical axis direction of the corresponding lens group in the lens storage state (Figs. 2A-2B: further teaches that the purpose of transitioning to the storage state is to reduce size of the optical module and secure internal space by repositioning optical component away from their imaging location, and also moving L1 and L2 in space provided near to the mirror frame 31), and a housing for storing the imaging lens assembly (Figs. 2A-2B: fixed cylinder 9). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the imaging lens assembly of Chen by utilizing the claimed changing position of the lens group in an optical axis and also configured to secure a storage space for corresponding lens group by substantially perpendicular to the optical axis to facilitate lens retractions and compactness.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Miyazaki as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Shigemitsu et al. US 2021/0041765.
Regarding claim 19, Chen teaches the camera module according to claim 17, but fails to teaches further comprising an IR filter disposed between the imaging lens assembly and the image sensor.
In the same field of endeavor, Shigemitsu teaches camera module comprising an IR filter disposed between the imaging lens assembly and the image sensor (see Fig. 6 and para 0064: he camera 600 may include an optical filter 622 (e.g., an infrared filter)). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the camera of Chen combined with Miyazaki by utilizing the claimed IR filter as taught by Shigemitsu in order to maintain sharp image quality by ensuring consistent performance under varied light.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, the imaging lens assembly according to claim 1, further configured so that: 3<(ΣWd+ΣTd)/(Yh_w+Yh_t)<20, where ΣWd is a distance on a first optical axis of the imaging lens assembly from a vertex of an object side surface of a most object side disposed lens of the first lens group to an imaging surface, the first optical axis comprising an optical axis of the first lens group and an optical axis of the third lens group that are continuous with each other at an intersection with the first mirror, ΣTd is a distance on a second optical axis of the imaging lens assembly from a vertex of an object side surface of a most object side disposed lens of the second lens group to an imaging surface, the second optical axis comprising an optical axis of the second lens group and the optical axis of the third lens group that are continuous with each other at an intersection with the second mirror, Yh_w is an image height of the short focal length side and Yh_t is an image height of the long focal length side.
Regarding claim 6, the imaging lens assembly according to claim 1, further configured so that: ΣWd/fw<2.0, where ΣWd is a distance on a first optical axis of the imaging lens assembly from a vertex of an object side surface of a most object side disposed lens of the first lens group to an imaging surface, the first optical axis comprising an optical axis of the first lens group and an optical axis of the third lens group that are continuous with each other at an intersection with the first mirror, and fw is a focal length of the imaging lens assembly of the short focal length side.
Regarding claim 7, the imaging lens assembly according to claim 1, further configured so that: ΣTd/ft<2.0, where ΣTd is a distance on a second optical axis of the imaging lens assembly from a vertex of an object side surface of a most object side disposed lens of the second lens group to an imaging surface, the second optical axis comprising an optical axis of the second lens group and the optical axis of the third lens group that are continuous with each other at an intersection with the second mirror, and ft is a focal length of the imaging lens assembly of the long focal length side.
Regarding claim 8, the imaging lens assembly according to claim 1, further configured so that: WLG1/fw<2.0, where WLG1 is a focal length of the first lens group and fw is a focal length of the imaging lens assembly of the short focal length side.
Regarding claim 9, the imaging lens assembly according to claim 1, further configured so that: WLG1/LG2<0, where WLG1 is a focal length of the first lens group and LG2 is a focal length of the third lens group.
Regarding claim 10, the imaging lens assembly according to claim 1, further configured so that: TLG1/LG2<0, where TLG1 is a focal length of the second lens group and LG2 is a focal length of the third lens group.
Regarding claim 11, the imaging lens assembly according to claim 1, further configured so that: ΣTLd1/ΣWLd1<2.0, where ΣTLd1 is a distance on an optical axis of the second lens group from a vertex of an object side surface of a most object side disposed lens of the second lens group to the second mirror and ΣWLd1 is a distance on an optical axis of the first lens group from a vertex of an object side surface of a most object side disposed lens of the first lens group to the first minor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 112887563: teaches imaging lens assembly, having a first and second mirror for telephoto and wide-angle shooting state.
/EPHREM Z MEBRAHTU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872