DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-16 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 recites “frame having including a plurality” in which only one of “having” or “including” is needed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the term “substantially flat” is a term of degree with an unclear scope. Essentially, it is unclear what shapes are or are not substantially flat. The examiner will interpret this limitation as requiring a width greater than a height and/or at least one planar surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4-6, 9-10 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pre-Grant Publication 2009/0192467 to Hansen et al. (Hansen hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Hansen teaches a catheter retention device (see Fig. 5e) comprising: an expandable support frame (1, 2, 4, 6) having including a plurality of members, the plurality of members including a base member (1), an upper member (4) and a plurality of middle members (6) disposed between the base member and the upper member, the expandable support frame configured to linearly extend (as illustrated in Figs. 3a-3d) to an expanded state (as shown in Figs. 1 and 5e) from a collapsed state (as in Fig. 3a) with respect to the base member so that the plurality of middle members and the upper member are disposed above the base member when in the expanded state; a retention member (3 or inner circumference of 4) disposed on the upper member, the retention member configured to securely hold and surround a medical article (5); and an anchor member disposed on the base member, the anchor member including an adhesive layer (see paragraph 78) disposed on a bottom face of the anchor member.
Regarding claim 3, Hansen teaches a circular cross section when viewed from above, which is equivalent to two opposed U-shapes. The examiner notes that this limitation is not tied to any insertion functionality.
Regarding claim 4, Hansen teaches concentric rings (6) with differing diameters.
Regarding claim 5, Hansen teaches that the base member is larger in diameter than the upper member and middle members.
Regarding claim 6. Hansen teaches that the upper member has a smaller diameter than the middle and lower members.
Regarding claim 9, as best understood by the examiner, Hansen teaches a substantially flat collapsed state.
Regarding claim 10, Hansen teaches a circular cross section viewed from above, which is equivalent to two opposed U-shapes. The examiner notes that this limitation is not tied to any insertion functionality.
Regarding claim 15, Hansen teaches that the device may be a catheter. Paracentesis constitutes an intended use which does not confer any particular structure on the claimed invention and as such the examiner holds that Hansen anticipates claim 11.
Regarding claim 16, Hansen teaches removably applied adhesive (paragraph 78).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen in view of US Pre-Grant Publication 2023/0218864 to Walter-Engelsma (Walter-Engelsma).
Regarding claim 7, Hansen teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, but does not teach a separate opening of the frame corresponding to the opening of the retention member. Walter-Engelsma teaches another catheter securement device generally, and particularly teaches a separate retention member (83) within a corresponding aperture (87) of a support frame (80). Walter-Engelsma teaches that this provides a height adjustment capability (paragraph 86). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to provide a retention member as taught by Walter-Engelsma to the securement of Hansen in order to provide further support and height adjustment therein.
Regarding claim 11, Walter-Engelsma teaches a body (83) having an aperture (92) forming a U-shape to receive the medical article therein (see Fig. 2). Walter-Engelsma further teaches a spring hinge (activated by 24) and a fastener member (87) surrounding an outer surface and the opening of the body.
Regarding claim 12, Walter-Engelsma teaches a locking member (86).
Regarding claim 13, Walter-Engelsma teaches that the locking member secures the position of the fastener member (see e.g. Fig. 5a).
Regarding claim 14, Walter-Engelsma teaches a friction member (89).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the limitations of a wireframe configured as in claim 2 are not shown in or fairly suggested by the prior art of record in combination with the remaining limitations of claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent 3,166,819 teaches a wireframe (16) securing a catheter.
/PHILIP E STIMPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 22 September 2026