DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed on 01/28/2026 has been fully considered. Claims 1-4 and 16-29 are pending. Claim 1 is amended. Claims 5-15 are canceled. Claim 29 is new.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 16, 17, 20, 21, 23, 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nauka et al. (WO 2017/014784 A1) in view of Kramer et al. (US 2005/0014005 A1, cited in IDS) and Zhang et al. (CN 106147376 A, machine translation in English used for citation).
Regarding claims 1 and 28, Nauka teaches a three-dimensional object printing kit including a build material composition and a fusing agent [0049], wherein the build material composition includes a polymer particle and a radiation absorbing additive particle [0020], wherein the polymer particle may be chosen from any polymer particle suitable for 3D printing [0038], wherein suitable polymers include polyamides [0039], wherein the fusing agent includes an active material [0059], wherein the active material is a radiation absorbing binding agent [0064], wherein the fusing agent is selectively applied on at least a portion of the build material composition [0059], wherein the build material composition in an example is formed from nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles [0113]. The specification of the instant application recites that the polyamide may be any polyamide, which has an amino functional group [0021], that in examples of the kit disclosed herein, the polyamide is selected from polyamide 12 (PA 12 / nylon 12) [0021]. Nauka’s teachings therefore read on a three-dimensional (3D) printing kit, comprising a build material composition optionally including a polyamide having an amino functional group, and a fusing agent to be applied to the at least the portion of the build material composition during 3D printing, the fusing agent including an energy absorber.
Nauka does not teach a specific embodiment of the build material composition including a polyamide having an amino functional group, does not teach that the three-dimensional (3D) printing kit further comprises an epoxy agent to be applied to at least a portion of the build material composition during 3D printing, the epoxy agent including an epoxy having an epoxide functional group to react with the amino functional group of the polyamide in the at least the portion, and does not teach that the epoxy agent is contained separately from the build material composition. However, Kramer teaches a reactive build material that is an epoxy [0037], wherein the reactive build material is present in a first composition [0005], wherein the first composition and a second composition containing a curing agent are used in a method for free-form fabrication of a solid three-dimensional object [0005], which is three-dimensional printing [0004], comprising ink-jetting the first composition and the second composition separately onto a substrate such that the reactive build material and the curing agent contact and react to form a solidifying composition [0005], wherein the curing agent is a substance which reacts with the epoxy group to open its epoxide ring structure [0037], wherein examples of functional groups that can be capable of reacting with an epoxide ring in this manner are amino groups [0037], wherein classes of curing agents include polyamides [0037]. Nauka and Kramer are analogous art because both references are in the same field of endeavor of a three-dimensional (3D) printing kit or composition comprising a build material composition optionally including a polyamide having an amino functional group. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have fond it obvious to select Nauka’s nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles as Nauka’s polymer particle in Nauka’s build material composition in Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit, and to use Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy to modify Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit. The proposed modification would read on the build material composition including a polyamide having an amino functional group as claimed, and the three-dimensional (3D) printing kit further comprising an epoxy agent to be applied to at least a portion of the build material composition during 3D printing, the epoxy agent including an epoxy having an epoxide functional group to react with the amino functional group of the polyamide in the at least the portion as claimed, and wherein the epoxy agent is contained separately from the build material composition as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Kramer teaches that the reactive build material that is an epoxy [0037] is beneficial for being useful in a first composition that is useful in a method for free-form fabrication of a solid three-dimensional object [0005], which is three-dimensional printing [0004], comprising ink-jetting the first composition and a second composition containing a curing agent separately onto a substrate such that the reactive build material and the curing agent contact and react to form a solidifying composition [0005], that the curing agent is a substance which reacts with the epoxy group to open its epoxide ring structure [0037], that examples of functional groups that can be capable of reacting with an epoxide ring in this manner are amino groups [0037], and that classes of curing agents include polyamides [0037], and because Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy and selecting Nauka’s nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles as Nauka’s polymer particle would have been desirable for Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit because Nauka teaches that the three-dimensional object printing kit includes a build material composition [0049], that the build material composition includes a polymer particle [0020], that the polymer particle may be chosen from any polymer particle suitable for 3D printing [0038], that suitable polymers include polyamides [0039], that the build material composition in an example is formed from nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles that have a particle size of 10 to 60 µm [0113], and that the fusing agent sufficiently elevates the temperature of the build material composition in the area(s)/portion(s) above the melting point(s), allowing curing (e.g., sintering, binding, fusing, etc.) of at least the particles to take place [0059], which means that Nauka’s nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles would have been beneficial for reacting with an epoxy group of Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy to form a solidifying composition, which would have been beneficial for modifying effectiveness of Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit for providing three-dimensional object printing.
Nauka does not teach that the three-dimensional (3D) printing kit further comprises an amine agent to be applied to the at least the portion of the build material composition during 3D printing, the amine agent including an amine selected from the group consisting of aniline sulfonamide, dipropylenediamine, diethyleneaminopropylamine, N-aminoethylpiperazine, bis(2-ethylhexyl)amine, methanediamine, methylphenylenediamine, diaminodiphenylsulfone, and a combination thereof. However, Zhang teaches a curing agent that is 3-diethylaminopropylamine [0013] and that is present in a base ink further comprising modifier [0012], wherein the modifier is optionally epoxy resin [0013], wherein the base ink is present in a 3D printing ink for building exterior walls [0011]. Nauka and Zhang are analogous art because both references are in the same field of endeavor of a three-dimensional (3D) printing composition or kit. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Zhang’s curing agent that is 3-diethylaminopropylamine to modify Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit. The proposed modification would read on the three-dimensional (3D) printing kit further comprising an amine agent, the amine agent including an amine selected from diethyleneaminopropylamine as claimed. The proposed modification would read on the limitation to be applied to the at least the portion of the build material composition during 3D printing as claimed because this limitation is an intended use, the composition of Zhang’s curing agent would have been identical to the composition of the claimed amine agent, and Zhang’s curing agent therefore would have been capable of being applied to the at least the portion of the build material composition during 3D printing. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Zhang teaches that the curing agent that is 3-diethylaminopropylamine is a curing agent [0013] that is beneficial for being useful in a base ink [0012] in a 3D printing ink for building exterior walls [0011], wherein the modifier is optionally epoxy resin [0013], which would have been beneficial for modifying curing properties of a three-dimensional object printing that would result from using the three-dimensional object printing kit, which would have been desirable for Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit because Nauka teaches that the three-dimensional object printing kit includes a fusing agent [0049], that the fusing agent sufficiently elevates the temperature of the build material composition in the area(s)/portion(s) above the melting point(s, allowing curing of at least the particles to take place [0059], and that the fusing agent is capable of enhancing curing of the portion of the build material composition [0060].
Nauka in view of Kramer and Zhang renders obvious the epoxy agent including an epoxy having an epoxide functional group to react with the amine in the amine agent as claimed because this limitation is an intended use. Also, Nauka in view of Kramer renders it obvious that the three-dimensional (3D) printing kit further comprises an epoxy agent to be applied to at least a portion of the build material composition during 3D printing, and that the epoxy agent includes an epoxy having an epoxide functional group to react with the amino functional group of the polyamide in the at least the portion. Furthermore, Nauka in view of Zhang renders it obvious that the three-dimensional (3D) printing kit further comprises an amine agent to be applied to the at least the portion of the build material composition during 3D printing, the amine agent including an amine selected from diethyleneaminopropylamine, Since an epoxide functional group is capable of reacting with an amine group of an amine agent including an amine selected from diethyleneaminopropylamine, Nauka in view of Kramer and Zhang therefore renders obvious the epoxy agent including an epoxy having an epoxide functional group to react with the amine in the amine agent as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Nauka does not teach that the epoxy has a viscosity at 25°C ranging from about 5 mPa·s to about 140 mPa·s. However, Kramer teaches a reactive build material that is an epoxy [0037], wherein the reactive build material is present in a first composition [0005], wherein the first composition and a second composition has a viscosity which is less than 70 cP at a temperature less than 200°C [0043], wherein the first composition and a second composition containing a curing agent are used in a method for free-form fabrication of a solid three-dimensional object [0005], which is three-dimensional printing [0004], comprising ink-jetting the first composition and the second composition separately onto a substrate such that the reactive build material and the curing agent contact and react to form a solidifying composition [0005], wherein the curing agent is a substance which reacts with the epoxy group to open its epoxide ring structure [0037], wherein examples of functional groups that can be capable of reacting with an epoxide ring in this manner are amino groups [0037], wherein classes of curing agents include polyamides [0037]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have fond it obvious to select Nauka’s nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles as Nauka’s polymer particle in Nauka’s build material composition in Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit, to use Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy to modify Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit, and to optimize the viscosity of Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy at 25°C to be from about 5 cP to about 140 cP. The proposed modification would read on the epoxy has a viscosity at 25°C ranging from about 5 mPa·s to about 140 mPa·s as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Kramer teaches that the reactive build material that is an epoxy [0037] is beneficial for being useful in a first composition that is useful in a method for free-form fabrication of a solid three-dimensional object [0005], which is three-dimensional printing [0004], comprising ink-jetting the first composition and a second composition containing a curing agent separately onto a substrate such that the reactive build material and the curing agent contact and react to form a solidifying composition [0005], that the curing agent is a substance which reacts with the epoxy group to open its epoxide ring structure [0037], that examples of functional groups that can be capable of reacting with an epoxide ring in this manner are amino groups [0037], and that classes of curing agents include polyamides [0037], that the first composition and a second composition has a viscosity which is less than 70 cP at a temperature less than 200°C [0043], and that ink-jet pens typically require that the material to be jetted have a low viscosity such that the material can be accurately jetted while retaining good pen reliability [0003], and because Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy, selecting Nauka’s nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles as Nauka’s polymer particle, and optimizing the viscosity of Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy at 25°C to be from about 5 cP to about 140 cP would have been desirable for Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit because Nauka teaches that the three-dimensional object printing kit includes a build material composition [0049], that the build material composition includes a polymer particle [0020], that the polymer particle may be chosen from any polymer particle suitable for 3D printing [0038], that suitable polymers include polyamides [0039], that the build material composition in an example is formed from nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles that have a particle size of 10 to 60 µm [0113], that the fusing agent sufficiently elevates the temperature of the build material composition in the area(s)/portion(s) above the melting point(s), allowing curing (e.g., sintering, binding, fusing, etc.) of at least the particles to take place [0059], and that the fusing agent may be dispensed from an inkjet applicator [0061], which means that Nauka’s nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles would have been beneficial for reacting with an epoxy group of Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy to form a solidifying composition, which would have been beneficial for modifying effectiveness of Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit for providing three-dimensional object printing. Based on Kramer’s and Nauka’s teachings, the viscosity of Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy at 25°C in cP would have affected an ability for Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy to be accurately dispensed by Nauka’s inkjet applicator, which means that optimizing the viscosity of Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy at 25°C to be from about 5 cP to about 140 cP would have been beneficial for optimizing an ability for Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy to be accurately dispensed by Nauka’s inkjet applicator.
Regarding claim 3, Nauka does not teach that the epoxy is a glycidyl ether. However, Kramer teaches a reactive build material that is an epoxy [0037], wherein the reactive build material is present in a first composition [0005], wherein the first composition and a second composition containing a curing agent are used in a method for free-form fabrication of a solid three-dimensional object [0005], which is three-dimensional printing [0004], comprising ink-jetting the first composition and the second composition separately onto a substrate such that the reactive build material and the curing agent contact and react to form a solidifying composition [0005], wherein n-butyl glycidyl ether, 1,4 butanediol diglycidyl ether, or alkyl glycidyl ether can also be included in with an epoxy resin [0037], wherein the curing agent is a substance which reacts with the epoxy group to open its epoxide ring structure [0037], wherein examples of functional groups that can be capable of reacting with an epoxide ring in this manner are amino groups [0037], wherein classes of curing agents include polyamides [0037]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have fond it obvious to select Nauka’s nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles as Nauka’s polymer particle in Nauka’s build material composition in Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit, and to use Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy that includes n-butyl glycidyl ether, 1,4 butanediol diglycidyl ether, or alkyl glycidyl ether to modify Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit. The proposed modification would read on wherein the epoxy is a glycidyl ether as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Kramer teaches that the reactive build material that is an epoxy [0037], wherein n-butyl glycidyl ether, 1,4 butanediol diglycidyl ether, or alkyl glycidyl ether can also be included in with an epoxy resin [0037], is beneficial for being useful in a first composition that is useful in a method for free-form fabrication of a solid three-dimensional object [0005], which is three-dimensional printing [0004], comprising ink-jetting the first composition and a second composition containing a curing agent separately onto a substrate such that the reactive build material and the curing agent contact and react to form a solidifying composition [0005], that the curing agent is a substance which reacts with the epoxy group to open its epoxide ring structure [0037], that examples of functional groups that can be capable of reacting with an epoxide ring in this manner are amino groups [0037], and that classes of curing agents include polyamides [0037], and because Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy and selecting Nauka’s nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles as Nauka’s polymer particle would have been desirable for Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit because Nauka teaches that the three-dimensional object printing kit includes a build material composition [0049], that the build material composition includes a polymer particle [0020], that the polymer particle may be chosen from any polymer particle suitable for 3D printing [0038], that suitable polymers include polyamides [0039], that the build material composition in an example is formed from nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles that have a particle size of 10 to 60 µm [0113], and that the fusing agent sufficiently elevates the temperature of the build material composition in the area(s)/portion(s) above the melting point(s), allowing curing (e.g., sintering, binding, fusing, etc.) of at least the particles to take place [0059], which means that Nauka’s nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles would have been beneficial for reacting with an epoxy group of Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy to form a solidifying composition, which would have been beneficial for modifying effectiveness of Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit for providing three-dimensional object printing.
Regarding claim 16, Nauka does not teach that the epoxy is present in an amount ranging from about 5 wt% to about 50 wt%, based on a total weight of the epoxy agent. However, Kramer teaches a reactive build material that is an epoxy [0037], wherein the reactive build material is present in a first composition [0005], wherein the first composition can include a liquid vehicle to modify the viscosity or surface tension, and can be configured to be ink-jettable [0026, 0028], which means that the amount of Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy in Kramer’s first composition is greater than 0 wt% and less than 100 wt%, based on a total weight of Kramer’s first composition. Kramer teaches that the first composition and a second composition containing a curing agent are used in a method for free-form fabrication of a solid three-dimensional object [0005], which is three-dimensional printing [0004], comprising ink-jetting the first composition and the second composition separately onto a substrate such that the reactive build material and the curing agent contact and react to form a solidifying composition [0005], wherein the curing agent is a substance which reacts with the epoxy group to open its epoxide ring structure [0037], wherein examples of functional groups that can be capable of reacting with an epoxide ring in this manner are amino groups [0037], wherein classes of curing agents include polyamides [0037]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have fond it obvious to select Nauka’s nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles as Nauka’s polymer particle in Nauka’s build material composition in Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit, to use Kramer’s composition comprising Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy and Kramer’s liquid vehicle to modify Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit, and to optimize the amount of Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy in Kramer’s composition to be from about 5 wt% to about 50 wt%, based on a total weight of Kramer’s composition. The proposed modification would read on wherein the epoxy is present in an amount ranging from about 5 wt% to about 50 wt%, based on a total weight of the epoxy agent as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Kramer teaches that the reactive build material that is an epoxy [0037] is beneficial for being useful in a first composition that is useful in a method for free-form fabrication of a solid three-dimensional object [0005], which is three-dimensional printing [0004], comprising ink-jetting the first composition and a second composition containing a curing agent separately onto a substrate such that the reactive build material and the curing agent contact and react to form a solidifying composition [0005], that the first composition can include a liquid vehicle to modify the viscosity or surface tension, and can be configured to be ink-jettable [0026, 0028], which means that the amount of Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy in Kramer’s first composition is greater than 0 wt% and less than 100 wt%, based on a total weight of Kramer’s first composition, that the curing agent is a substance which reacts with the epoxy group to open its epoxide ring structure [0037], that examples of functional groups that can be capable of reacting with an epoxide ring in this manner are amino groups [0037], that classes of curing agents include polyamides [0037], and that ink-jet pens typically require that the material to be jetted have a low viscosity such that the material can be accurately jetted while retaining good pen reliability [0003], and because Kramer’s composition comprising Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy and Kramer’s liquid vehicle and selecting Nauka’s nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles as Nauka’s polymer particle would have been desirable for Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit because Nauka teaches that the three-dimensional object printing kit includes a build material composition [0049], that the build material composition includes a polymer particle [0020], that the polymer particle may be chosen from any polymer particle suitable for 3D printing [0038], that suitable polymers include polyamides [0039], that the build material composition in an example is formed from nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles that have a particle size of 10 to 60 µm [0113], that the fusing agent sufficiently elevates the temperature of the build material composition in the area(s)/portion(s) above the melting point(s), allowing curing (e.g., sintering, binding, fusing, etc.) of at least the particles to take place [0059], that the fusing agent sufficiently elevates the temperature of the build material composition in the area(s)/portion(s) above the melting point(s), allowing curing (e.g., sintering, binding, fusing, etc.) of at least the particles to take place [0059], and that the fusing agent may be dispensed from an inkjet applicator [0061], which means that Nauka’s nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles would have been beneficial for reacting with an epoxy group of Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy to form a solidifying composition, and Kramer’s liquid vehicle would have been beneficial for modifying viscosity or surface tension of Kramer’s composition comprising Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy and Kramer’s liquid vehicle, which would have been beneficial for modifying effectiveness of Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit for providing three-dimensional object printing. Based on Kramer’s and Nauka’s teachings, the amount of Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy in Kramer’s composition in wt%, based on a total weight of Kramer’s composition, would have affected an ability for Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy to be accurately dispensed by Nauka’s inkjet applicator, which means that optimizing the amount of Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy in Kramer’s composition in wt%, based on a total weight of Kramer’s composition, would have been beneficial for optimizing an ability for Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy to be accurately dispensed by Nauka’s inkjet applicator.
Regarding claim 17, Nauka does not teach that the epoxy agent further includes an aqueous vehicle. However, Kramer teaches a reactive build material that is an epoxy [0037], wherein the reactive build material is present in a first composition [0005], wherein the first composition can include a liquid vehicle to modify the viscosity or surface tension, and can be configured to be ink-jettable [0026, 0028], wherein liquid vehicles can include water [0013], wherein the first composition and a second composition containing a curing agent are used in a method for free-form fabrication of a solid three-dimensional object [0005], which is three-dimensional printing [0004], comprising ink-jetting the first composition and the second composition separately onto a substrate such that the reactive build material and the curing agent contact and react to form a solidifying composition [0005], wherein the curing agent is a substance which reacts with the epoxy group to open its epoxide ring structure [0037], wherein examples of functional groups that can be capable of reacting with an epoxide ring in this manner are amino groups [0037], wherein classes of curing agents include polyamides [0037]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have fond it obvious to select Nauka’s nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles as Nauka’s polymer particle in Nauka’s build material composition in Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit, to use Kramer’s composition comprising Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy and Kramer’s liquid vehicle that is water to modify Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit, and to optimize the amount of Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy in Kramer’s composition to be from about 5 wt% to about 50 wt%, based on a total weight of Kramer’s composition. The proposed modification would read on wherein the epoxy agent further includes an aqueous vehicle as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Kramer teaches that the reactive build material that is an epoxy [0037] is beneficial for being useful in a first composition that is useful in a method for free-form fabrication of a solid three-dimensional object [0005], which is three-dimensional printing [0004], comprising ink-jetting the first composition and a second composition containing a curing agent separately onto a substrate such that the reactive build material and the curing agent contact and react to form a solidifying composition [0005], that the first composition can include a liquid vehicle to modify the viscosity or surface tension, and can be configured to be ink-jettable [0026, 0028], that liquid vehicles can include water [0013], that the curing agent is a substance which reacts with the epoxy group to open its epoxide ring structure [0037], that examples of functional groups that can be capable of reacting with an epoxide ring in this manner are amino groups [0037], that classes of curing agents include polyamides [0037], and that ink-jet pens typically require that the material to be jetted have a low viscosity such that the material can be accurately jetted while retaining good pen reliability [0003], and because Kramer’s composition comprising Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy and Kramer’s liquid vehicle that is water and selecting Nauka’s nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles as Nauka’s polymer particle would have been desirable for Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit because Nauka teaches that the three-dimensional object printing kit includes a build material composition [0049], that the build material composition includes a polymer particle [0020], that the polymer particle may be chosen from any polymer particle suitable for 3D printing [0038], that suitable polymers include polyamides [0039], that the build material composition in an example is formed from nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles that have a particle size of 10 to 60 µm [0113], that the fusing agent sufficiently elevates the temperature of the build material composition in the area(s)/portion(s) above the melting point(s), allowing curing (e.g., sintering, binding, fusing, etc.) of at least the particles to take place [0059], that the fusing agent sufficiently elevates the temperature of the build material composition in the area(s)/portion(s) above the melting point(s), allowing curing (e.g., sintering, binding, fusing, etc.) of at least the particles to take place [0059], and that the fusing agent may be dispensed from an inkjet applicator [0061], which means that Nauka’s nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles would have been beneficial for reacting with an epoxy group of Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy to form a solidifying composition, and Kramer’s liquid vehicle that is water would have been beneficial for modifying viscosity or surface tension of Kramer’s composition comprising Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy and Kramer’s liquid vehicle that is water, which would have been beneficial for modifying effectiveness of Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit for providing three-dimensional object printing.
Regarding claim 20, Nauka teaches that the fusing agent includes an active material [0059] that is a radiation absorbing binding agent [0064], and that the amount of the active material in the fusing agent may range from about 2.0 wt% to about 6.0 wt% based on the total wt% of the fusing agent [0065], which reads on wherein the energy absorber is present in an amount ranging from about 2.0 wt% active to about 6.0 wt% active, based on a total weight of the fusing agent as claimed.
Regarding claim 21, Nauka teaches that the fusing agent includes an aqueous vehicle [0093], which reads on wherein the fusing agent further includes a vehicle comprising a solvent as claimed.
Regarding claim 23, Nauka teaches that the build material composition includes a polymer particle [0020], wherein the polymer particle may be chosen from any polymer particle suitable for 3D printing [0038], wherein suitable polymers include polyamides [0039], wherein the build material composition in an example is formed from nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles that have a particle size of 10 to 60 µm [0113], which optionally reads on wherein the polyamide powder includes polyamide particles having an average particle size ranging from 10 µm to 60 µm.
Nauka does not teach that the polyamide powder includes polyamide particles having an average particle size ranging from about 2 µm to about 200 µm. However, Kramer teaches a reactive build material that is an epoxy [0037], wherein the reactive build material is present in a first composition [0005], wherein the first composition and a second composition containing a curing agent are used in a method for free-form fabrication of a solid three-dimensional object [0005], which is three-dimensional printing [0004], comprising ink-jetting the first composition and the second composition separately onto a substrate such that the reactive build material and the curing agent contact and react to form a solidifying composition [0005], wherein the curing agent is a substance which reacts with the epoxy group to open its epoxide ring structure [0037], wherein examples of functional groups that can be capable of reacting with an epoxide ring in this manner are amino groups [0037], wherein classes of curing agents include polyamides [0037]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have fond it obvious to select Nauka’s nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles that have a particle size of 10 to 60 µm as Nauka’s polymer particle in Nauka’s build material composition in Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit, and to use Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy to modify Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit. The proposed modification would read on the polyamide powder includes polyamide particles having an average particle size ranging from 10 µm to 60 µm as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Kramer teaches that the reactive build material that is an epoxy [0037] is beneficial for being useful in a first composition that is useful in a method for free-form fabrication of a solid three-dimensional object [0005], which is three-dimensional printing [0004], comprising ink-jetting the first composition and a second composition containing a curing agent separately onto a substrate such that the reactive build material and the curing agent contact and react to form a solidifying composition [0005], that the curing agent is a substance which reacts with the epoxy group to open its epoxide ring structure [0037], that examples of functional groups that can be capable of reacting with an epoxide ring in this manner are amino groups [0037], and that classes of curing agents include polyamides [0037], and because Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy and selecting Nauka’s nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles as Nauka’s polymer particle would have been desirable for Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit because Nauka teaches that the three-dimensional object printing kit includes a build material composition [0049], that the build material composition includes a polymer particle [0020], that the polymer particle may be chosen from any polymer particle suitable for 3D printing [0038], that suitable polymers include polyamides [0039], that the build material composition in an example is formed from nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles that have a particle size of 10 to 60 µm [0113], and that the fusing agent sufficiently elevates the temperature of the build material composition in the area(s)/portion(s) above the melting point(s), allowing curing (e.g., sintering, binding, fusing, etc.) of at least the particles to take place [0059], which means that Nauka’s nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles that have a particle size of 10 to 60 µm would have been beneficial for reacting with an epoxy group of Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy to form a solidifying composition, which would have been beneficial for modifying effectiveness of Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit for providing three-dimensional object printing.
Regarding claim 26, Nauka teaches that the build material composition includes a polymer particle and a radiation absorbing additive particle [0020], which are the only required ingredients of the build material composition, which reads on a specific embodiment in which they are the only ingredients of the build material composition, which reads on wherein the build material composition is dry as claimed.
Regarding claim 27, Nauka teaches that the fusing agent may be dispensed from an inkjet applicator [0061], which reads on wherein the fusing agent is jettable from an inkjet printhead as claimed.
Nauka does not teach that the epoxy agent is jettable from an inkjet printhead. However, Kramer teaches a reactive build material that is an epoxy [0037], wherein the reactive build material is present in a first composition [0005], wherein the first composition can include a liquid vehicle to modify the viscosity or surface tension, and can be configured to be ink-jettable [0026, 0028], wherein the first composition and a second composition containing a curing agent are used in a method for free-form fabrication of a solid three-dimensional object [0005], which is three-dimensional printing [0004], comprising ink-jetting the first composition and the second composition separately onto a substrate such that the reactive build material and the curing agent contact and react to form a solidifying composition [0005], wherein the curing agent is a substance which reacts with the epoxy group to open its epoxide ring structure [0037], wherein examples of functional groups that can be capable of reacting with an epoxide ring in this manner are amino groups [0037], wherein classes of curing agents include polyamides [0037]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have fond it obvious to select Nauka’s nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles as Nauka’s polymer particle in Nauka’s build material composition in Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit, and to use Kramer’s composition comprising Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy and Kramer’s liquid vehicle to modify Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit. The proposed modification would read on the epoxy agent is jettable form an inkjet printhead. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Kramer teaches that the reactive build material that is an epoxy [0037] is beneficial for being useful in a first composition that is useful in a method for free-form fabrication of a solid three-dimensional object [0005], which is three-dimensional printing [0004], comprising ink-jetting the first composition and a second composition containing a curing agent separately onto a substrate such that the reactive build material and the curing agent contact and react to form a solidifying composition [0005], that the first composition can include a liquid vehicle to modify the viscosity or surface tension, and can be configured to be ink-jettable [0026, 0028], that the curing agent is a substance which reacts with the epoxy group to open its epoxide ring structure [0037], that examples of functional groups that can be capable of reacting with an epoxide ring in this manner are amino groups [0037], that classes of curing agents include polyamides [0037], and that ink-jet pens typically require that the material to be jetted have a low viscosity such that the material can be accurately jetted while retaining good pen reliability [0003], and because Kramer’s composition comprising Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy and Kramer’s liquid vehicle and selecting Nauka’s nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles as Nauka’s polymer particle would have been desirable for Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit because Nauka teaches that the three-dimensional object printing kit includes a build material composition [0049], that the build material composition includes a polymer particle [0020], that the polymer particle may be chosen from any polymer particle suitable for 3D printing [0038], that suitable polymers include polyamides [0039], that the build material composition in an example is formed from nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles that have a particle size of 10 to 60 µm [0113], that the fusing agent sufficiently elevates the temperature of the build material composition in the area(s)/portion(s) above the melting point(s), allowing curing (e.g., sintering, binding, fusing, etc.) of at least the particles to take place [0059], that the fusing agent sufficiently elevates the temperature of the build material composition in the area(s)/portion(s) above the melting point(s), allowing curing (e.g., sintering, binding, fusing, etc.) of at least the particles to take place [0059], and that the fusing agent may be dispensed from an inkjet applicator [0061], which means that Nauka’s nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles would have been beneficial for reacting with an epoxy group of Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy to form a solidifying composition, and Kramer’s liquid vehicle would have been beneficial for modifying viscosity or surface tension of Kramer’s composition comprising Kramer’s reactive build material that is an epoxy and Kramer’s liquid vehicle and for making it ink-jettable, which would have been beneficial for modifying effectiveness of Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit for providing three-dimensional object printing.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nauka et al. (WO 2017/014784 A1) in view of Kramer et al. (US 2005/0014005 A1, cited in IDS) and Zhang et al. (CN 106147376 A, machine translation in English used for citation) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Naito et al. (US 2016/0177078 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Nauka in view of Kramer and Zhang renders obvious the 3D printing kit as defined in claim 1 as explained above.
Nauka does not teach that the epoxy is selected from the claimed group. However, Naito teaches a glycidyl ether compound that is glycerol triglycidyl ether, trimethylolpropane triglycidyl ether, or pentaerythritol polyglycidyl ether [0103], wherein the glycidyl ether is a compound having at least one or more epoxy group [0102] that is present in a material for fused deposition modeling type three-dimensional modeling [0015] that is for a 3D printing device [0001]. Nauka and Naito are analogous art because both references are in the same field of endeavor of a three-dimensional (3D) printing kit or composition. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Naito’s glycidyl ether compound that is glycerol triglycidyl ether, trimethylolpropane triglycidyl ether, or pentaerythritol polyglycidyl ether to modify Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit. The proposed modification would read on the epoxy is selected from glycerol polyglycidyl ether, trimethylolpropane polyglycidyl ether, and pentaerythritol polyglycidyl ether as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Naito teaches that the glycidyl ether compound that is glycerol triglycidyl ether, trimethylolpropane triglycidyl ether, or pentaerythritol polyglycidyl ether [0103] is a compound having at least one or more epoxy group [0102] that is beneficial for being useful in a material for fused deposition modeling type three-dimensional modeling [0015] that is for a 3D printing device [0001], and for improving compatibility of a particle for a fused deposition modeling type 3D printing device [0101], which would have been desirable for Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit because Nauka teaches that the three-dimensional object printing kit includes a build material composition and a fusing agent [0049], that the build material composition includes a polymer particle and a radiation absorbing additive particle [0020], and that the fusing agent includes an active material [0059] that is a radiation absorbing binding agent [0064] that is carbon black pigment [0065], which are particles and are used for 3D printing.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nauka et al. (WO 2017/014784 A1) in view of Kramer et al. (US 2005/0014005 A1, cited in IDS) and Zhang et al. (CN 106147376 A, machine translation in English used for citation) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Fujihashi et al. (WO 2018/012643 A1, cited in IDS, machine translation in English is used for citation).
Regarding claim 18, Nauka in view of Kramer and Zhang renders obvious the 3D printing kit as defined in claim 1 as explained above.
Nauka does not teach that the epoxy is water-soluble. However, Fujihashi teaches a water-soluble epoxy resin that is a photocrosslinkable resin [0130], that an application of the photocrosslinkable resin is rapid prototyping for 3D printers and the like [0102], that a raw material resin for a 3D printer include epoxy resin [0200], and that among this resin, there are water-soluble ones [0200]. Nauka and Fujihashi are analogous art because both references are in the same field of endeavor of a three-dimensional (3D) printing kit or composition. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Fujihashi’s water-soluble epoxy resin to modify Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit. The proposed modification would read on the epoxy is water-soluble as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Fujihashi teaches that the water-soluble epoxy resin is beneficial for being a photocrosslinkable resin [0130] that is useful in an application that is rapid prototyping for 3D printers and the like [0102], and that an epoxy resin that is a water-soluble one is beneficial for being useful as a raw material resin for a 3D printer [0200], which would have been beneficial for modifying effectiveness of Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit for three-dimensional printing, which would have been desirable because Nauka teaches that the three-dimensional object printing kit includes a build material composition and a fusing agent [0049], that the build material composition includes a polymer particle and a radiation absorbing additive particle [0020], that the radiation absorbing additive may be dissolved or dispersed in a liquid that is water [0021], that suitable fusing agents are water-based dispersions including a radiation absorbing binding agent [0064], that in an example, the fusing agent includes an aqueous vehicle [0093], and that the fusing agent is aqueous based [0063].
Claims 19, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nauka et al. (WO 2017/014784 A1) in view of Kramer et al. (US 2005/0014005 A1, cited in IDS) and Zhang et al. (CN 106147376 A, machine translation in English used for citation) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Giller et al. (US 2007/0241482 A1, cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 19, Nauka in view of Kramer and Zhang renders obvious the 3D printing kit as defined in claim 1 as explained above. Nauka teaches that the radiation absorbing binding agent is an active material [0064] is carbon black pigment [0064, 0065].
Nauka does not teach that the energy absorber has an average particle size ranging from greater than 0 nm to less than 220 nm. However, Giller teaches carbon black that has a primary particle size that is from 10 to 100 nm [0145], wherein the carbon black is present in an absorber [0143] that absorbs radiation [0017], wherein the absorber is present in a kit for three dimensional printing further comprising a fluid and a first particulate adhesive material [0045]. Nauka and Giller are analogous art because both references are in the same field of endeavor of a three-dimensional (3D) printing kit comprising an energy absorber. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Giller’s carbon black that has a primary particle size that is from 10 to 100 nm to substitute for Nauka’s radiation absorbing binding agent in Nauka’s fusing agent in Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit. The proposed modification would read on the energy absorber has an average particle size ranging from 10 nm to 100 nm as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for providing a species of radiation absorbing binding agent that is suitable for Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit because Giller teaches that the carbon black that has a primary particle size that is from 10 to 100 nm [0145] is beneficial for being useful in an absorber [0143] that absorbs radiation [0017], and is beneficial for being useful in a kit for three dimensional printing further comprising a fluid and a first particulate adhesive material [0045], and because Nauka teaches that the three-dimensional object printing kit includes a fusing agent [0049], that the fusing agent includes an active material [0059] that is a radiation absorbing binding agent [0064], and that the active material is carbon black pigment [0064, 0065].
Regarding claim 24, Nauka in view of Kramer and Zhang renders obvious the 3D printing kit as defined in claim 1.
Nauka does not teach that the build material composition further includes glass dry blended with or encapsulated by the polyamide powder. However, Giller teaches glass powder that is a filler that is present in a granular material [0027] that further includes a first particulate adhesive including a thermoplastic material [0022], wherein the granular material is present in a material system that further includes an absorber capable of being heated upon exposure to electromagnetic energy sufficiently to bond the granular material [0022], wherein the material system is for three dimensional printing [0022]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Giller’s glass powder that is a filler to modify Nauka’s build material composition in Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit. The proposed modification would read on the build material composition further includes glass dry blended with the polyamide powder as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Giller teaches that the glass powder is beneficial for being an inert filler and for being useful in a granular material [0027] that further includes a first particulate adhesive including a thermoplastic material [0022], that the granular material is beneficial for being useful in a material system that further includes an absorber capable of being heated upon exposure to electromagnetic energy sufficiently to bond the granular material [0022], and that the material system is beneficial for being useful for three dimensional printing [0022], which is similar in composition to Nauka’s build material composition in Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit, which means that Giller’s glass powder that is a filler would have been useful in Nauka’s build material composition and would have been beneficial for reinforcing Nauka’s build material composition, which would have been beneficial for modifying mechanical properties of Nauka’s build material composition.
Regarding claim 25, Nauka does not teach that the glass has an average particle size ranging from about 5 µm to about 100 µm. However, Giller teaches fillers having a mean particle diameter of about 5 micrometers to about 100 micrometers [0174] that are soda-lime glass or borosilicate glass [0175], wherein the fillers are present in particulate build materials [0174], wherein the particulate build material is used for 3D printing [0018] and for layer-by-layer producing of three-dimensional objects [0076]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Giller’s fillers having a mean particle diameter of about 5 micrometers to about 100 micrometers that are soda-lime glass or borosilicate glass to modify Nauka’s build material composition in Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit. The proposed modification would read on that the glass has an average particle size ranging from about 5 µm to about 100 µm as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Giller teaches that the fillers having a mean particle diameter of about 5 micrometers to about 100 micrometers [0174] that are soda-lime glass or borosilicate glass [0175] are beneficial for being inert fillers [0174] that are beneficial for being useful in particulate build materials [0174], that the particulate build material is beneficial for being useful for 3D printing [0018] and for layer-by-layer producing of three-dimensional objects [0076], which is similar in composition to Nauka’s build material composition in Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit, which means that Giller’s fillers having a mean particle diameter of about 5 micrometers to about 100 micrometers that are soda-lime glass or borosilicate glass would have been useful in Nauka’s build material composition and would have been beneficial for reinforcing Nauka’s build material composition, which would have been beneficial for modifying mechanical properties of Nauka’s build material composition.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nauka et al. (WO 2017/014784 A1) in view of Kramer et al. (US 2005/0014005 A1, cited in IDS) and Zhang et al. (CN 106147376 A, machine translation in English used for citation) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Busbee et al. (US 2017/0253751 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Nauka in view of Kramer and Zhang renders obvious the 3D printing kit as defined in claim 1 as explained above.
Nauka does not teach that the fusing agent further includes a silane coupling agent. However, Busbee teaches a silane coupling agent that is an adhesion modifier that is present in a composition [0014] that optionally further comprises a coalescent [0011], wherein the composition is present in a composite waterborne dispersion for 3D printing [0005]. Nauka and Busbee are analogous art because both references are in the same field of endeavor of a three-dimensional (3D) printing kit comprising a fusing agent. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Busbee’s silane coupling agent to modify Nauka’s fusing agent in Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit. The proposed modification would read on wherein the fusing agent further includes a silane coupling agent as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Busbee teaches that the silane coupling agent is beneficial for being an adhesion modifier, for being useful in a composition [0014] that optionally further comprises a coalescent [0011], and that the composition is beneficial for being useful in composite waterborne dispersion for 3D printing [0005], which would have been desirable in Nauka’s fusing agent in Nauka’s three-dimensional object printing kit because Nauka teaches that the fusing agent sufficiently elevates the temperature of the build material composition in the area(s)/portion(s) above the melting point(s), allowing curing, for example sintering, binding, fusing, etc., of at least the particles to take place [0059], and because Busbee’s silane coupling agent that is an adhesion modifier would have been beneficial for modifying an ability of Nauka’s fusing agent to allow curing, sintering, binding, and/or fusing of at least Nauka’s particles to take place.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 29 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 29, Nauka et al. (WO 2017/014784 A1) a three-dimensional object printing kit including a build material composition and a fusing agent [0049], wherein the build material composition includes a polymer particle and a radiation absorbing additive particle [0020], wherein the polymer particle may be chosen from any polymer particle suitable for 3D printing [0038], wherein suitable polymers include polyamides [0039], wherein the fusing agent includes an active material [0059], wherein the active material is a radiation absorbing binding agent [0064], wherein the fusing agent is selectively applied on at least a portion of the build material composition [0059], wherein the build material composition in an example is formed from nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles [0113], which reads on a three-dimensional (3D) printing kit, consisting of: a build material consisting of optionally a polyamide having an amino functional group, and a radiation absorbing additive particle, and a fusing agent to be applied to the at least the portion of the build material during 3D printing, the fusing agent including an energy absorber.
Nauka does not teach that the build material consists of a polyamide having an amino functional group, and does not teach that the three-dimensional (3D) printing kit further consists of an epoxy agent to be applied to at least a portion of the build material composition during 3D printing, the epoxy agent including an epoxy having an epoxide functional group to react with the amino functional group of the polyamide in the at least the portion. Although Kramer et al. (US 2005/0014005 A1, cited in IDS) teaches a reactive build material that is an epoxy [0037], wherein the reactive build material is present in a first composition [0005], wherein the first composition and a second composition containing a curing agent are used in a method for free-form fabrication of a solid three-dimensional object [0005], which is three-dimensional printing [0004], which suggests the three-dimensional (3D) printing kit further consisting of an epoxy agent to be applied to at least a portion of the build material composition during 3D printing, the epoxy agent including an epoxy having an epoxide functional group to react with the amino functional group of the polyamide in the at least the portion, there would not have been a teaching, suggestion, or motivation to modify Nauka’s teachings to read on the build material consisting of a polyamide heaving an amino functional group. This is because although Nauka teaches that the build material composition includes a polymer particle and a radiation absorbing additive particle [0020], that the polymer particle may be chosen from any polymer particle suitable for 3D printing [0038], that suitable polymers include polyamides [0039], and that the build material composition in an example is formed from nylon 12 (polyamide 12) polymer particles [0113], Nauka’s radiation absorbing additive particle is excluded from being present in the claimed build material consisting of a polyamide having an amino functional group because the transitional phrase "consisting of" excludes any element, step, or ingredient not specified in the claim (MPEP 2111.03(II)), and Nauka’s radiation absorbing additive particle is not specified in the claim. There would not have been a teaching, suggestion, or motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to have found it obvious to remove Nauka’s radiation absorbing additive particle from Nauka’s build material composition because Nauka teaches that the radiation absorbing additive particles may increase radiation absorbance and accelerate the pre-heating of the build material composition [0056], and that the additive is capable of increasing radiation absorbance and accelerating the pre-heating of the build material composition [0022], which means that Nauka’s radiation absorbing additive particle is critical to Nauka’s build material composition. Furthermore, the prior art of record do not teach or suggest a build material consisting of a polyamide having an amino functional group in combination with the three-dimensional (3D) printing kit consisting of the build material, the epoxy agent, and the fusing agent as claimed in claim 29.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 5-7, filed 01/28/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-3, 16, 17, 20, 21, 23, and 26-28 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nauka et al. (WO 2017/014784 A1) in view of Kramer et al. (US 2005/0014005 A1, cited in IDS) have been considered and are responded to by the new grounds of rejection set forth in this Office action.
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 7-8, filed 01/28/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nauka et al. (WO 2017/014784 A1) in view of Kramer et al. (US 2005/0014005 A1, cited in IDS) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Naito et al. (US 2016/0177078 A1) have been considered and are responded to by the new grounds of rejection set forth in this Office action.
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 7-8, filed 01/28/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nauka et al. (WO 2017/014784 A1) in view of Kramer et al. (US 2005/0014005 A1, cited in IDS) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Fujihashi et al. (WO 2018/012643 A1, cited in IDS, machine translation in English is used for citation) have been considered and are responded to by the new grounds of rejection set forth in this Office action.
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 7-8, filed 01/28/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 19, 24 and 25 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nauka et al. (WO 2017/014784 A1) in view of Kramer et al. (US 2005/0014005 A1, cited in IDS) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Giller et al. (US 2007/0241482 A1, cited in IDS) have been considered and are responded to by the new grounds of rejection set forth in this Office action.
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 7-8, filed 01/28/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nauka et al. (WO 2017/014784 A1) in view of Kramer et al. (US 2005/0014005 A1, cited in IDS) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Busbee et al. (US 2017/0253751 A1) have been considered and are responded to by the new grounds of rejection set forth in this Office action.
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 8-9, filed 01/28/2026, with respect to new claim 29 have been considered and are responded to by the indication that claim 29 is allowable that is set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/DAVID T KARST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767