DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 12/1/23 has been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,9,10,11,12,13,19,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pirch (WO 2021058479) in view of Choi et al. (US 20220173790, hereinafter Choi)
Regarding claim 1, Pirch discloses a UWB localization device comprising:
a UWB receiver having a plurality of antenna devices for receiving UWB signals from a UWB transmitter (Par. 11: Lines 3-4; A UWB signal from a credential device (i.e. UWB transmitter) is sent to a first and second UWB antenna);
and a processing unit configured to determine for UWB signals from the UWN transmitter times of arrival at the plurality of antenna devices, using signal properties of the UWB signals (Par. 11: Lines 4-6; Localization of the UWB credential device is determined by time of receipt of the UWB signal at each of the first and second UWB antennas; A device capable of performing the recited functions necessarily includes a processing unit);
wherein the UWB localization device further comprises a UWB shield arranged between a first antenna device and a different second antenna device, and the UWB shield being configured to delay or block UWB signals traveling from the UWB transmitter to the antenna arranged behind the UWB shield with respect to the UWB transmitter (Par. 10: Lines 2-8; A material is placed between the first and second antennas configured to slow down (i.e. delay) electromagnetic waves passing therethrough);
and the processing unit is further configured to determine a location of the UWB transmitter, using times of arrival at the antenna devices of the first antenna device and the second antenna device (Par. 11: Lines 3-8; Localization of the UWB device such as determining whether is inside or outside a secure area (relative location) is performed using the time of receipt of the UWB signals to the first and second antenna).
Pirch discloses a first and second antenna but does not disclose a first set of antenna devices and a second set of antenna devices with at least one of the first set of antenna devices and second set of antenna devices comprising two or more different antennas.
Choi, however, discloses a set of antenna devices used for localization that includes two or more different antennas (Par. 43: Lines 7-8; The antenna module can include an antenna array; Par. 70: Lines 1-4; Localization can be performed using a first, second, and third antenna),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pirch to include two or more antennas in at least one of the antenna groupings, as taught by Choi, in order to perform localization using multiple antennas as is known in the art. Choi expressly discloses performing localization using three antennas and an antenna array. Incorporating such a known multi-antenna localization configuration into Pirch’s UWB localization device would have predictably provided additional spatial measurement information and improved robustness of localization determinations.
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 1, Pirch discloses wherein the processing unit is configured to determine the location of the UWB transmitter (Par. 26: Lines 4-6; Localization of the of the credential or key device is performed with respect to the reader), whereby the location includes a distance (Par. 26: Lines 4-6; The range (distance) of the credential or key device with respect to the reader is determined) and a relative position of the UWB transmitter with respect to the UWB localization device (Par. 48: Lines 9-10; It can be determined if the credential device is inside or outside the secure area (relative position)).
Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 1, Pirch discloses wherein the processing unit is configured to determine the location of the UWB transmitter (Par. 26: Lines 4-6; Localization of the of the credential or key device is performed with respect to the reader), whereby the location includes a distance (Par. 26: Lines 4-6; The range (distance) of the credential or key device with respect to the reader is determined) and a relative angular arrangement of the UWB transmitter with respect to the UWB localization device (Par. 51: Lines 1-5; In addition to distance, the angle of incidence of arrival (AoA) of the credential device with respect to the reader can be determined).
Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 1, Pirch discloses wherein the processing unit is configured to control an access control barrier based on the location of the UWB transmitter (Par. 11: Lines 1-9; Intent to access a secured area involves determining if the credential device is inside or outside the secure area; Par. 11: Lines 9-13; If the credential information is valid and the intent has been determined, access to the secure area may be permitted).
Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 1, Pirch discloses the UWB localization device further comprising a human interaction device, and ca communication device for data communication (Par. 31: Lines 1-4; The reader can include a communication module and a user interface).
Regarding claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 and claim 11 as applied to claim 1 addresses the limitations presented in claim 13. Therefore, the limitations of claim 13 have been addressed.
Regarding claim 19 as applied to claim 13, the rejection of claim 9 addresses the limitations presented in claim 19. Therefore, the limitations of claim 19 have been addressed.
Regarding claim 20 as applied to claim 13, the rejection of claim 10 addresses the limitations presented in claim 20. Therefore, the limitations of claim 20 have been addressed.
Claims 2,3,4,5,6,7,8,14,15,16,17,18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pirch (WO 2021058479) in view of Choi et al. (US 20220173790, hereinafter Choi) in further view of Chen et al. (CN 111865354, hereinafter Chen)
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, Pirch in view of Choi discloses a UWB shield but does not disclose wherein the antenna devices have an antenna sensitivity pattern characterized by an outward sensitivity, directed away from the UWB shield along a pattern axis, and an inward sensitivity, directed towards the UWB shield along the axis pattern, the inward sensitivity being less sensitive to UWB signals than the outward sensitivity.
Chen, however, discloses antenna devices that have an antenna sensitivity pattern characterized by an outward sensitivity, directed away from the center of the two antennas along a patter axis (Fig. 4; Two antennas have outward directional antenna lobes directed away from the center of the antennas; Directional lobes represent are representative of the sensitivity), and an inward sensitivity, directed towards the center of the two antennas along a pattern axis (Fig. 4; Two antennas have inward directional antenna lobes directed towards the center of the antennas; Directional lobes represent are representative of the sensitivity), the inward sensitivity being less sensitive to UWB signals than the outward sensitivity (Fig. 4; The outwards sensitivity is more sensitive than the inward sensitivity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the antennas of Pirch in view of Choi to have the outward-high / inward-low sensitivity pattern as taught by Chen, because in a shield-separated antenna arrangement it is desirable to preferentially receive signals arriving from the open, unobstructed side of each antenna and to attenuate signals arriving from the shield-facing side, thereby enhancing directional discrimination, reinforcing the delay effect introduced by the shield, and improving the accuracy and reliability of time-of-arrival based localization in a predictable manner.
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 2, Pirch in view of Choi discloses a UWB shield but does not disclose wherein at least one antenna device from the first set of the antenna devices and at least one antenna device from the second set of the antenna devices are arranged with their respective outward sensitivity directed in opposite directions along the pattern axis.
Chen, however, discloses a first antenna and a second antenna arranged with their respective outward sensitivity directed in opposite directions along the pattern axis (Fig. 4; Two antennas have outward directional antenna lobes directed away from the center of the antennas; Directional lobes represent are representative of the sensitivity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the antennas of Pirch in view of Choi to have the outward directed sensitivity pattern as taught by Chen, because in a shield-separated antenna arrangement it is desirable to preferentially receive signals arriving from the open, unobstructed side of each antenna and to attenuate signals arriving from the shield-facing side, thereby enhancing directional discrimination, reinforcing the delay effect introduced by the shield, and improving the accuracy and reliability of time-of-arrival based localization in a predictable manner.
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 2, Pirch in view of Choi discloses a UWB shield but does not disclose wherein one antenna device from the first set of the antenna devices and one antenna from the second set of antenna devices are arranged with their respective outward sensitivity directed in opposite directions along a first axis pattern, and another one antenna device from the first set of antenna devices and another one antenna device from the second set of the antenna devices are arranged with their respective outward sensitivity directed in opposite directions along a second pattern axis.
Chen, however, discloses a first and second antenna device arranged with their respective outward sensitivity directed in opposite directions along a first axis pattern, and another pair of antennas arranged with their respective outward sensitivity directed in opposite directions along a second pattern axis (Fig. 20; Two pairs of antennas are shown. The horizontal pair of antennas have their outward sensitivity directed in opposite directions along a first axis pattern. The vertical pair of antennas have their outward sensitivities along a second pattern axis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the shield-separated antenna sets of Pirch in view of Choi to include multiple antenna pairs arranged with their outward sensitivities directed in opposite directions along respective pattern axes as taught by Chen, in order to enhance directional discrimination and improve the reliability and resolution of time-of-arrival based localization in a predictable manner.
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 4, Pirch in view of Choi does not disclose wherein the first pattern axis and the second pattern axis are crossing each other.
Chen, however, discloses wherein the first pattern axis and the second pattern axis are crossing each other (Fig. 20; The two pattern axis are perpendicular to each other).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the shield-separated antenna sets of Pirch in view of Choi to include two pairs of antennas oriented with their outward sensitivities directed in opposite directions along respective crossing first and second pattern axes as taught by Chen, in order to provide bidirectional directional coverage along multiple axes, improve angular resolution of the UWB transmitter location, and enhance localization accuracy in a predictable manner using known multi-axis antenna orientation techniques.
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 4, Pirch in view of Choi teach a UWB shield with the possibility of multiple antennas on either side of the shield. Pirch in view of Choi does not teach wherein the first pattern axis and the second pattern axis are running parallel to each other.
Chen, however, discloses a pair of antennas with their respective outward sensitivity directed in opposite directions along the pattern axis (Fig. 4; Two antennas have outward directional antenna lobes directed away from the center of the antennas; Directional lobes represent are representative of the sensitivity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure an additional antenna pair of Pirch in view of Choi with opposing outward sensitivities as taught by Chen, since Chen demonstrates that arranging a pair of antennas with outward-directed opposing sensitivity along a pattern axis is a known and functional antenna configuration. Applying this known orientation to additional antenna pairs in the same shield-separated multi-antenna system would have been a predictable design choice to extend directional discrimination capabilities without altering the underlying operation of the device.
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1, Pirch in view of Choi discloses a UWB shield arranged between a first set of the antenna devices and a different second set of the antenna devices, and the UWB shield being configured to delay or block UWB signals traveling from the UWB transmitter to the antenna devices arranged behind the UWB shield with respect to the UWB transmitter (as detailed in the rejection of claim 1).
Pirch in view of Choi does not disclose wherein the UWB localization device comprises one or more further UWB shields arranged between antenna devices of the first set of the antenna devices and/or between antenna devices of the second set of the antenna devices, the one or more further UWB shields being configured to delay or block UWB signals traveling from the UWB transmitter to antenna devices arranged behind the one or more further UWB shields with respect to the UWB transmitter.
Chen, however, discloses four antennas with each pair of opposite antennas having pattern axis crossing each other (as detailed in the rejection of claim 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide additional UWB shields between additional antenna pairs in the multi-antenna arrangement of Chen, in view of Pirch and Choi’s teaching that positioning a shield between antennas delays or attenuates signals reaching antennas located behind the shield, thereby improving signal discrimination and localization performance. A skilled artisan would have recognized that applying the same shielding technique to additional antenna pairs in a four-antenna configuration would predictably extend the same signal-conditioning and isolation benefits to those pairs, improving directional resolution and reducing undesired signal interference across multiple axes.
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 7, Pirch in view of Choi discloses a UWB shield, arranged between the first set of antennas devices and the second set of antenna devices, defining a first plane shield (as detailed in the rejection of claim 1).
Pirch in view of Choi does not disclose one or more further UWB shields defining a further shield plane which crosses the first plane shield.
Chen, however, discloses four antennas with each pair of opposite antennas having pattern axis crossing each other (as detailed in the rejection of claim 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange one or more further UWB shields defining a shield plane that crosses the first shield plane, in order to correspond to the multi-axis antenna arrangement taught by Chen, since a skilled artisan would have recognized that when antennas are arranged along crossing axes to improve angular localization capability, applying shielding structures along each axis would predictably provide signal isolation and controlled propagation effects in both directions, thereby improving localization accuracy and reducing interference; moreover, because Pirch in view of Choi already demonstrates that placing a shield between antennas is an effective technique for delaying or controlling UWB signal propagation, it would have been a straightforward and predictable design choice to position an additional shield between the other pair of antennas so as to apply the same known signal-control principle to that pair and achieve consistent performance across both axes.
Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 13, the rejection of claim 2 addresses the limitations presented in claim 14. Therefore, the limitations of claim 14 have been addressed.
Regarding claim 15 as applied to claim 14, the rejection of claim 3 addresses the limitations presented in claim 15. Therefore, the limitations of claim 15 have been addressed.
Regarding claim 16 as applied to claim 15, the rejection of claim 4 addresses the limitations presented in claim 16. Therefore, the limitations of claim 16 have been addressed.
Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 13, the rejection of claim 7 addresses the limitations presented in claim 17. Therefore, the limitations of claim 17 have been addressed.
Regarding claim 18 as applied to claim 17, the rejection of claim 8 addresses the limitations presented in claim 18. Therefore, the limitations of claim 18 have been addressed.
Conclusion
/FABIAN BOTELLO/Examiner, Art Unit 2648
/WESLEY L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2648