This is a Final office action for serial number 18/527149.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the pair of claims is pivotable about a respective pair vertical pivot axes must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mittanck et al. (mittanck) 12,000211.
Mittanck discloses claims:
12. A ladder, comprising: a first assembly (102) including a first pair of rails and a plurality of rungs extending between and coupled to the first pair of rails; a second assembly (108) including a second pair of rails, the second pair of rails being pivotally displaceable relative to the first pair of rails between a collapsed configuration and an expanded configuration; a top cap (116) coupled to the first pair of rails; a tray coupled to and extending rearward from the top cap; and a pair of clamps (left and right 134) coupled to the top cap or to the tray, wherein: each clamp of the pair of clamps includes an elongated body (see figure below) having a first end directly coupled to the top cap or the tray and a second end opposite the first end; each elongated body is movable between a locked position (figure 2) and an unlocked position (figure 4, see Column 5, lines 31-36, locking device) by pivoting the second end (since second end is locked in place on the tray therefore in broadest sense locked to tray) of the elongated body relative to the tray between the locked position and the unlocked position; the second end is locked to the top cap or the tray, and resists movement of the second end away from the top cap or the tray, when the elongated body is in the locked position.
13. The ladder of claim 12, wherein each clamp of the pair of clamps pivotally coupled with the tray.
14. The ladder of claim 12, wherein each clamp of the pair of clamps is pivotally coupled with the top cap.
15. The ladder of claim 12, wherein the pair of clamps is pivotable about a respective pair of horizontal pivot axes.
[AltContent: textbox (1st Clamp
Directly pivotally coupled 1st end
Tray
Top cap)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Directly pivotally coupled 1st end
Elongate body
2nd clamp)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Unlocked position)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Locked position
Second end locked to tray)]
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Weiss 7424933.
Weiss discloses claim:
17. A tray for a ladder, comprising: a body (505) attachable to a top cap (500) of a ladder; a convertible compartment (multiple compartments formed in body) formed in the body and having a set of lateral sides (see figure below including front, back, right and left sides of body) and a bottom side (Panel 520 when it forms bottom of convertible compartment since 520 will be on the bottom of compartments forming a bottom panel. When the bottom side of compartments when in this position), wherein a bottom aperture is defined in the bottom side; a panel (520) positioned at the bottom of the convertible compartment and movable between a first position (closed on bottom side of compartment as shown in figure 33) covering the bottom aperture and an upward-rotated second position (when shown in figure 32) exposing the bottom aperture; wherein the panel is lockable in the first position relative to the body.
18. The tray of claim 17, wherein the body comprises at least one hinge portion (hinged lid 510) configured to be rotatably coupled with the top cap.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Bottom side with bottom aperture when in position of Figure 32)][AltContent: textbox (Panel 520
Front, back, right, left lateral sides
Body
Tray 505
Top cap 500)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Hinge portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Body 510)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Elongate member (snap fit, toggle typelatch which is a conventional pivotable latch))][AltContent: textbox (Panel 520 when it forms bottom of convertible compartment since 520 will be on the bottom of compartments forming a bottom panel, when in this position and the panel 520 is on the underside of the 510 panel. )][AltContent: arrow]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected, as best understood, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mittanck et al. (mittanck) 12,000211 in view of Gibson et al. (Gibson) 2003/0029676.
Mittanck discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for the pair of clamps is pivotable about a respective pair of vertical pivot axes.
Gibson teaches it is known to (Claim 16) have pair of clamps/members (124) is pivotable about a respective pair of vertical pivot axes (126). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to have the pair of clamps is pivotable about a respective pair of vertical pivot axes for the purpose of providing a mechanical equivalent for pivoting the clamps to the tray allowing the clamps to pivot inward and outward from the tray reducing the chance of injury to the user, the device, and allowing the device to be closed and open with minimal force and work space area.
Claim(s) 12-16 is/are rejected, as best understood claim 16, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gugel et al. (Gugel) WO99/09289 in view of Fisher 2008/0141495.
Gugel discloses claims:
12. A ladder, comprising: a first assembly (left rails and rungs) including a first pair of rails and a plurality of rungs extending between and coupled to the first pair of rails; a second assembly (right rails and rungs) including a second pair of rails, the second pair of rails being pivotally displaceable relative to the first pair of rails between a collapsed configuration and an expanded configuration; a top cap (500) coupled to the first pair of rails; a tray coupled to and extending rearward from the top cap; and a pair of clamps wherein: each clamp of the pair of clamps (254/252 beneath top cap 500 in figure 24) includes an elongated body having a first end directly coupled to the top cap or the tray and a second end opposite the first end; each elongated body is movable between a locked/1st position (See figure 11, folded 252) and an unlocked/2nd position (open 252) by pivoting the second end (outer end) of the elongated body relative to the tray between the locked position and the unlocked position; the second end is attached/contacting the top cap or the tray.
13. The ladder of claim 12, wherein each clamp of the pair of clamps pivotally coupled with the tray.
14. The ladder of claim 12, wherein each clamp of the pair of clamps is pivotally coupled with the top cap.
15. The ladder of claim 12, wherein the pair of clamps is pivotable about a respective pair of horizontal pivot axes.
16. The ladder of claim 12, wherein the pair of clamps (254/256) is pivotable about a respective pair of vertical pivot axes (see figure 10-11).
[AltContent: textbox (Pair of clamps (254/252) as discussed in specification for figures 10, 11)][AltContent: arrow]
Gugel discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for the 1st position is a locked position.
Fisher teaches that it is known to have a device having an unlocked position and a locked position (lockable hinge providing a locking position). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to have modified Gugel to have a clamp having an unlocked position (when position away from tray) and a locked position (when positioned in contact with tray) as taught by Fisher for the purpose of providing a means to lock the clamp to the tray/cap for the purpose of preventing accidental movement of the clamp to prevent accidental removal of the roll member and also allow for the clamp to a closed position for transport or storage by reducing the size of the device. Gugel in view of Fisher inherently teaches wherein the second end of the clamp resists movement of the second end away from the top cap or the tray, when the elongated body is in the locked position.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss 7424933 in view of Rosko 20020017430.
Weiss discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for further comprising a retention recess coupled to the sidewall; and wherein the panel in the first position relative to the body is insertable into the retention recess.
Rosko teaches it is known to have
19. The tray of claim 17, further comprising a retention recess (96) coupled to the sidewall; and wherein the panel (84) in the first position relative to the body is insertable into the retention recess (via 94, 100). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to have modified Weiss to have further comprising a retention recess coupled to the sidewall; and wherein the panel in the first position relative to the body is insertable into the retention recess as taught by Rosko for the purpose of providing a means to prevent the panel from accidental opening.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss 7424933 in view of Cooke 5,462,318.
Weiss discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for comprising at least one elongated member pivotally coupled with the body and movable relative to the body between an open position and a closed position.
Cooke teaches it is known to have claim:
20. The tray of claim 17, further comprising at least one elongated member (22) pivotally coupled with the body and movable relative to the body between an open position (when unlocked) and a closed position (when locked).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to have modified Weiss to have included at least one elongated member pivotally coupled with the body and movable relative to the body between an open position and a closed position for the purpose of providing a locking means for securing the body within the top cap.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-11 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 12-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to applicant’s remarks regarding the drawings:
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the pair of claims is pivotable about a respective pair vertical pivot axes must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings do not provide enough detail to satisfy or overcome the drawings objections therefore the applicant is required to provide a figure that shows 3034 with a vertical pivot axis. The figures appear to only show a horizontal pivot axis therefore the drawing rejection stands.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIMBERLY T WOOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631