DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/18/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 9, the claim requires about 25 % by weight of zeolite; however, Claim 4, from which Claim 9 depends, requires between 5 and 20 wt% zeolite. It is therefore unclear what amount of zeolite is required by the claim. For purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret the limitation as requiring the range of permissible amounts of zeolite required by Claim 4, i.e., 5-20 wt% zeolite.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. In the instant case, the claim to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Particularly, the claim requires about 25 % by weight of zeolite; however, Claim 4, from which Claim 9 depends, requires between 5 and 20 wt% zeolite. It is therefore unclear what amount of zeolite is required by the claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US20130231398A1, hereinafter ‘Powers’.
Regarding Claim 1, Powers discloses an oxygen absorbing element comprising a sealed sachet containing an oxygen absorbing composition, wherein the oxygen absorbing composition comprises iron and carbon ([0007]: This invention relates generally to an oxygen absorber including iron and a high chloride zeolite; [0009]: the zeolites and activated iron particles are generally combined with activated carbon).
Regarding Claim 2, Powers discloses the oxygen absorbing composition further comprises glycerin and zeolite (as discussed above, the oxygen absorber includes a high chloride zeolite; [0009]: the composition generally contains a lubricant and mixing aid such as glycerin to aid in the mixing of the iron particles, zeolites and carbon).
Regarding Claims 3 and 5, Powers discloses the oxygen absorbing composition further comprises salt and water, wherein the salt is sodium chloride ([0020]: sodium chloride is utilized in amount of between 10 and 20% to the form sufficient electrolyte; water will form the remainder of the liquid mixture).
Regarding Claim 7, Powers discloses the iron comprises at least one selected from among sponge iron and 325 mesh iron ([0012]: hydrogen-reduced sponge iron is preferred).
Regarding Claim 8, Powers discloses the glycerin is a liquid glycerin ([0029]: glycerin is added as a liquid).
Claim(s) 1, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US20220226799A1, hereinafter ‘Sato’.
Regarding Claim 1, Sato discloses an oxygen absorbing element comprising a sealed sachet containing an oxygen absorbing composition, wherein the oxygen absorbing composition comprises iron and carbon ([0012]).
Regarding Claim 10, Sato discloses the oxygen absorbing composition further comprises diatomaceous earth ([0079]).
Regarding Claim 11, Sato discloses the oxygen absorbing composition further comprises salt and water ([0012]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 9, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20130231398A1, hereinafter ‘Powers’.
Regarding Claims 4 and 9, Powers makes obvious the oxygen absorbing composition comprises about 30-50% by weight of iron, about 5-20% by weight of zeolite, about 5-10% by weight of glycerin, about 5-25% by weight of carbon, about 3-7% by weight of salt, and about 4-20% by weight of water ([0019]-[002]: The solid mixture generally comprises between 5 and 50% by weight carbon, between 10 and 75% by weight of iron and between 5 to 60% by weight of zeolite. Usually the solid mixture also would contain a small amount of a lubricant or mixing aid such as glycerin in and amount of between 3 and 15% by weight. In the forming of the preferred liquid mixture, the sodium chloride is utilized in amount of between 10 and 20% to the form sufficient electrolyte, optionally potassium carbonate in an amount of between 1 and 4%, sodium or potassium thiosulfate in an amount 0.5% and 2%. Water will form the remainder of the liquid mixture. These composition ranges overlap with the instant claimed ranges - as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) – as such, the instant claimed range is obvious over the prior art range).
Regarding Claim 24, Powers discloses an oxygen absorbing composition comprising about 30-50% by weight of iron, about 5-20% by weight of Zeolite, about 5-10% by weight of glycerin, about 5-25% by weight of carbon, about 3-7% by weight of salt, and about 4-20% by weight of water ([0019]-[002]: The solid mixture generally comprises between 5 and 50% by weight carbon, between 10 and 75% by weight of iron and between 5 to 60% by weight of zeolite. Usually the solid mixture also would contain a small amount of a lubricant or mixing aid such as glycerin in and amount of between 3 and 15% by weight. In the forming of the preferred liquid mixture, the sodium chloride is utilized in amount of between 10 and 20% to the form sufficient electrolyte, optionally potassium carbonate in an amount of between 1 and 4%, sodium or potassium thiosulfate in an amount 0.5% and 2%. Water will form the remainder of the liquid mixture. These composition ranges overlap with and make obvious the instant claimed ranges).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20130231398A1, hereinafter ‘Powers’, in view of US20080082151A1, hereinafter ‘Quincy’.
Regarding Claim 6, while Powers permits the use of suitable activated carbon sources ([0017]), Powers does not disclose that the carbon in the absorbent is lignite carbon or 325 mesh carbon.
Quincy discloses a warming product configured to generate heat by the reaction of oxygen with an oxidizable metal such as iron ([0026]-[0027]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized Quincy as analogous the claimed invention, as both references are drawn to the same field of endeavor, the facilitation of oxygen-driven iron oxidation - a reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, In re Bigio, 381 F.3d at 1325, 72 USPQ2d at 1212.
Quincy discloses the inclusion of an activated carbon component in the composition that is believed to promote the oxidation reaction of the metal and act as a catalyst. Quincy names activated carbon as a suitable source of carbon, and discloses that lignite carbon is a suitable activated carbon source for such applications ([0028]).
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to utilize lignite carbon as taught by Quincy in the oxygen absorbent as disclosed by Powers. Such a source of activated carbon has been shown by the prior art to be a known source of carbon capable of catalyzing and facilitating the reactions of metals such as iron with oxygen, thereby improving the oxygen absorbency of the produced absorbent.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20220226799A1, hereinafter ‘Sato’.
Regarding Claim 12, Sato makes obvious the oxygen absorbing composition comprises about 30-50% by weight of iron, about 10-30% by weight of diatomaceous earth, about 5-20% by weight of carbon, about 3-7% by weight of salt, and about 4-20% by weight of water ([0079]-[0080]: converting parts of components to weight percent, the composition of Example 1 comprises approximately 53.91 % iron, 11.14 % diatomaceous earth, 10.01% carbon, 3.66% salt, 18.04% water, and 3.19% other ingredients; [0052]: A content of the iron in the oxygen scavenger composition is preferably 40 mass % or more and 90 mass % or less, which overlaps with and makes obvious the instant claimed range for iron).
Conclusion
LOGAN LACLAIR
Examiner
Art Unit 1736
/L.E.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736