DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments filed July 14 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Based on applicant’s amendments the rejection below has been updated to address the amendments.
Applicant argues that Dai’s first steel sheet 310 and second steel sheet 320 are separate components and therefore cannot correspond to the claimed integral second connection sheet. Applicant further argues that Dai fails to disclose a transition portion between the welded portion and the outwardly extending connection portion and does not disclose the claimed height relationship between the third and fourth connection portions.
The Examiner agrees that Dai alone does not expressly disclose the claimed integral conductive sheet as now recited. Nevertheless, obviousness is based on the teachings of the references collectively rather than bodily incorporation of one reference into another.
Nakanishi (US 7335442) teaches a button battery terminal structure in which a single conductive current collector plate is directly welded to the battery terminal assembly while extending outward to form an external electrical connection. Nakanishi’s current collector plate is a one-piece conductive member including:
A welded base portion secured directly to the battery shell/terminal assembly
An integral transition region
An outwardly projecting connection portion for external electrical engagement
Thus, Nakanishi expressly teaches the structural concept missing from Dai – namely, an integral conductive sheet having a welded portion, an outward connection portion, and an intermediate transition portion formed as a single conductive member.
Furthermore, Nakanishi teaches positioning the external connection portion above the welded attachment regio in order to accommodate assembly tolerances, improve connection reliability, and provide adequate clearance for external electrical engagement. Consequently, the claimed vertical offset between the third connection portion and fourth connection portion represents nothing more than a geometric arrangement of Nakanishi’s integral collector plate and would have been an obvious matter of routine design optimization.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute Nakanishi’s integral current collector plate for Dai’s multi-piece conductive arrangement because Nakanishi expressly teaches that directly welding an integral conductive plate to the terminal assembly:
Reduces the number of conductive components
Improves electrical conductivity
Simplifies manufacturing
Improves mechanical strength
Provides a more reliable electrical connection
Applying Nakanishi’s integral collector structure to the Peng/Dai button battery would merely substitute one known conductive connector configuration for another known equivalent conductive connector performing the identical function of electrically connecting the battery electrode to an external terminal while reducing component count and improving manufacturability. Such substitution represents the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.
Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive because the newly cited Nakanishi reference teaches the very structural features Applicant identifies as allegedly absent from Peng and Dai.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 has been amended to overcome the previous objection. Accordingly, the objection to claim 4 is withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings have been amended to overcome the previous objection. Accordingly, the objection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng (CN 112531242 A) in view of Dai et al. (CN 111477796 A), hereinafter Da, and in further view of Nakanishi et al. (US 7335442), hereinafter Nakanishi.
Regarding claim 1, Peng teaches a battery ([0078]. Fig. 1, housing 10, cover assembly 20, electrode assembly 30), comprising:
a shell ([0078], Fig. 1, housing 10):
the shell comprises a side wall surrounding the cavity ([0078]. Fig. 1 and 2, side wall 12, cavity 101);
a bottom shell arranged at a lower end of the side wall ([0011]. Fig. 2, steel shell 100, first tab 220);
a top cover ([0078], Fig. 1–3, top cover 21):
top cover seals an upper end of the shell and forms a cavity together with the shell ([0078]. Fig. 2, top cover 21, side wall 12, cavity 101);
a battery cell ([0078], Fig. 1, 2, electrode assembly 30):
the battery cell is located within the cavity ([0078], Fig. 2, cavity 101, electrode assembly 30);
the battery cell has a first tab and a second tab, and the first tab has a polarity opposite to the second tab ([0084-0085], Fig. 2, first tab 31, second tab 32.).
Peng further teaches the claimed relative height relationship. Peng further teaches the upper portion of two different electrical connection portions are at different heights ([0089], Fig. 4, second electrical connection portion 221 and first electrical connection portion 211). Additionally, Peng teaches the bottom portion of two different electrical connection portions are at different heights ([0018] [0089], Fig. 4, second electrical connection portion 221 relative to first electrical connection portion 211).
Peng fails to teach:
the bottom shell is electrically connected to the second tab
a second adapter part
a second connection sheet
a second pin
the second adapter part is connected to the bottom shell through the second connection sheet
one end of the second pin is connected to the second connection sheet
the other end of the second pin extends out of an outer edge of the bottom shell
Dai teaches:
the bottom shell is electrically connected to the second tab ([0011]. Fig. 2, steel shell 100, first tab 220);
a second adapter part ([0048], Fig. 2, second plug portion 323), comprising:
a second connection sheet ([0046], Fig. 1–3, second steel sheet 320);
an outward connection portion ([0048]. Fig. 2, second plug portion 323);
a transition/extension portion ([0035], [0048], Fig. 2, extension portion 322);
second steel sheet 320 includes circular welding portion 321, extension portion 322, and second plug-in portion 323 ([0035], [0048], Fig. 2);
extension portion 322 connects circular welding portion 321 and second plug-in portion 323 ([0035], Fig. 2);
second plug-in portion 323 extends outwardly relative to steel shell 100 ([0048], Fig. 2-3).
Thus, Dai teaches a conductive sheet having a first conductive region, an outward conductive region, and an intervening extension or transition region.
Dai fails to teach that the claimed third connection portion of the integral second connection sheet is welded directly to the bottom shell in the particular arrangement now recited by amended claim 1.
Nakanishi teaches a battery current collector arrangement in which current collector plate 61 is associated with terminal connector part 9 on the positive electrode side (Fig. 1, 9(b), and 10). Nakanishi teaches that terminal connector part 9 is secured on current collector plate 61 and connected directly to base lid 53 of battery can 5. Nakanishi further teaches inserting terminal connector part 9 into center hole 58 of base life 53 and welding the area of contact between terminal connector part 9 and lid 53 from outside the battery can (Fig. 1 and 10).
Nakanishi further teaches current collector plates 6 and 61 being laser welded to respective electrode edges, and teaches integral formation of conductive portions on the current collector plate, thereby establishing the use of an integral current-collector construction for conducting current between an electrode assembly and a terminal connection structure.
Peng, Dai, and Nakanishi are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of button cell batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the conductive connection structure of Dai, as incorporated into Peng, according to the integral current collector and directly welded terminal arrangement taught by Nakanishi, such that the conductive connection structure includes an integral shell-attached portion, transition portion, and outward connection portion.
The motivation to combine is that Nakanishi teaches a known direct current-collector-to-terminal construction in which the conductive collector structure is connected to the battery lid by welding. Nakanishi’s terminal connector part 9 is inserted into lid 53 and the contacting area is welded from outside battery can 5. The modification therefore would have represented the predictable use of a known battery current-collector connection technique to provide a direct and mechanically secure conductive connection while retaining Dai’s known conductive routing geometry.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to configure the outward fourth connection portion of the modified Dai/Nakanishi conductive connection sheet at a different height from the shell-attached third connection portion in view of Peng’s express teaching of battery conductive connection portions disposed at different heights.
The resulting configuration would have represented a predictable arrangement of conductive connector geometry to accommodate the position of the shell and the external mating connector.
The specific vertical displacement of the portions would have been a matter of routine optimization based on battery thickness, external-contact position, available packaging space, and mating-device geometry.
Regarding claim 3, Peng, Dai, and Nakanishi teach the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Peng fails to teach:
The bottom shell is further provided with a second insulation layer;
The fourth connection portion is connected to the bottom shell through the second insulation layer.
Dai teaches:
The bottom shell is further provided with an insulation layer ([0050], Fig. 2, adhesive layer 500 on steel shell 100);
An insulation clearance notch 110 associated with the conductive connection structure ([0044], Fig. 4).
Peng and Dai are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of button cell batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide insulating layers between conductive structures and the shell since it would prevent short circuits between conductive members and battery housing. The resulting configuration would have yielded predictable results of improved electrical isolation and battery safety.
Regarding claim 4, Peng, Dai, and Nakanishi teach the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Peng teaches a top cover ([0078], Fig. 1, top cover 21), comprises:
A first metal sheet ([0078], Fig. 1, top cover 21);
The first metal sheet is connected to the upper end of the shell to achieve the top cover sealing the upper end of the shell ([0078], Fig. 2, top cover 21 and side wall 12);
A first insulation sheet ([0090], Fig. 2, insulating member 40);
A second metal sheet ([0078], Fig. 1, conductive component 22);
The second metal sheet is connected in an insulated manner to the first metal sheet through the first insulation sheet (Fig. 2, conductive component 22, top cover 21, insulating member 40);
The second metal sheet ([0088], Fig. 4, conductive component body 222), comprises:
A first connection portion ([0088], Fig. 4, conductive component body 222);
The first connection portion is connected to the first insulation sheet ([0090], Fig. 2, conductive body 222 and insulating member 40);
A second connection portion ([0088], Fig. 4, second electrical connection portion 221);
The second connection portion connected to the first connection portion ([0088], Fig. 4, conductive element body 222, second electrical connection portion 221);
The second connection portion is provided at the through hole and seals the through hole ([0090], Fig. 2, conductive body 222, through hole 2101);
The second connection portion is electrically connected to the first tab ([0084], Fig. 2, second tab 32 and conductive component 22);
The top cover is provided with a through hole that runs through the first metal sheet and the first insulation sheet ([0078], Fig. 2, through hole 2101);
The through hole is communicated with the cavity ([0078], Fig. 2, cavity 101 and through hole 2101);
The battery further comprises a first adapter part ([0078], Fig. 1, first electrical connection portion 211);
The first adapter part comprises a first connection sheet and a first pin ([0078], Fig. 3, first electrical connection portion 211);
One end of the first pin is connected to the first connection sheet, and the other end of the first pin extends out of an outer edge of the top cover ([0078], [0080], Fig. 1, 3, first electrical connection portion 211 and top cover 21);
The first adapter part is connected to the second connection portion through the first connection sheet ([0088], Fig. 4, conductive component body 222 and second electrical connection portion 221).
Peng substantially discloses the claimed through hole conductive top cover, conductive member, insulating member, through hole, conductive sealing structure, and outwardly protruding electrical connection portions. Peng and Dai are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of button cell batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate Dai’s conductive insertion structures into Peng to as to facilitate device connection and automated assembly.
Regarding claim 5, Peng and Dai teach the limitations of claim 4, as stated above. Peng teaches an outer peripheral edge of the first metal sheet is welded to an upper end of the side wall to achieve the top cover sealing the upper end of the shell ([0104], Fig. 5, top cover 21 and side wall 12). Peng and Dai are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of button cell batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to weld the parts of the button battery as it is a well-known joining technique in the art. This would have yielded predictable results of improved structural stability and durability.
Regarding claim 6, Peng and Dai teach the limitations of claim 4, as stated above. Peng teaches the first connection sheet is welded to the second connection portion, and a first welded mark generated by welding runs through the first connection sheet and extends to 1/3 to 2/3 of a thickness of the second connection portion ([0118], Fig. 18, conductive sealing component body 232 and conductive component 22; Fig. 5, weld mark between top cover 21 and side wall 12). Peng and Dai are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of button cell batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to optimize weld penetration through the conductive sealing structures in view of Peng. It is well established that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie within the ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Accordingly, selecting a welding thickness and penetration depth within the claimed ranges is a matter of routine optimization of known result-effective variable.
Regarding claim 7, Peng and Dai teach the limitations of claim 4, as stated above. Peng teaches the first adapter part is located on a side of the second metal sheet away from the cavity ([0106], Fig. 6, 7, conductive element 22 and accommodating cavity 101). Peng and Dai are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of button cell batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to place the adapter/conductive element on the side of the top cover and away from the accommodating cavity as it would lead to facilitated device connection.
Regarding claim 8, Peng and Dai teach the limitations of claim 4, as stated above. Peng teaches:
The second connection portion is provided with a liquid injection hole communicated with the cavity and a sealing piece for sealing the liquid injection hole ([0087], Fig. 2, injection port 2221, conductive sealing component 23, cavity 101);
The sealing piece is located on a side of the second connection portion away from the cavity ([0026], Fig. 18, conductive sealing component body 232 and conductive component 22);
The sealing piece is electrically connected to the first tab through the second connection portion ([0084], Fig. 2, second tab 32, conductive component 22, conductive sealing component 23);
The first connection sheet is welded to the sealing piece ([0118], Fig. 18, conductive sealing component body 232 and conductive component 22).
Peng and Dai are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of button cell batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to utilize the liquid injection port taught by Peng in order to provide a reliable structure for introducing electrolyte while simultaneously maintaining electrical connectivity between the conductive structures and the battery electrodes. Such a configuration predictably enables efficient assembly, electrical conduction, and sealing of the battery structure.
Regarding claim 9, Peng and Dai teach the limitations of claim 8, as stated above. Peng teaches the first welded mark generated by welding runs through the first connection sheet and extends to 1/3 to 2/3 of a thickness of the sealing piece ([0104], Fig. 5, weld mark between top cover 21 and side wall 12). Peng and Dai are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of button cell batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to optimize weld penetration through the conductive sealing structures in view of Peng. It is well established that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie within the ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Accordingly, selecting a welding thickness and penetration depth within the claimed ranges is a matter of routine optimization of known result-effective variable.
Regarding claim 10, Peng and Dai teach the limitations of claim 8, as stated above. Peng teaches a surface of the sealing piece away from the cavity is no higher than a surface of the first connection portion away from the cavity ([0123], Fig. 18, conductive sealing component 23 and conductive component 22). Peng and Dai are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of button cell batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have the surface be flush in order to provide a compact structure, improve sealing reliability, and reduce protrusions. The degree of flushness or alignment would have represented a matter of routine design choice and optimization based on the desired structural and manufacturing considerations.
Regarding claim 11, Peng and Dai teach the limitations of claim 4, as stated above. Peng teaches a first insulation layer is provided on a side wall of the shell ([0098], Fig. 6 and Fig. 7, insulating member 40 adjacent side wall 12) and at least one of the following features is met:
OPTION 1:
a part where the other end of the first pin extends out of the outer edge of the top cover is the first adapter and the first pin further comprises a first extension portion extending to the side wall of the shell ([0078], [0083], Fig. 1, 3, first electrical connection portion 211, side wall 12);
one end of the first extension portion is connected to the first connection sheet and the other end of the first extension portion is connected to the first adapter ([0080], Fig. 3, first electrical connection portion 211 and top cover 21; [0078], Fig. 1, first electrical connection portion 211);
the first extension portion is insulated from the side wall through the first insulation layer ([0098], Fig. 6 and Fig. 7, insulating member 40 and side wall 12).
Peng fails to teach:
OPTION 2
a part where the other end of the second pin extends out of the outer edge of the bottom shell is the second adapter
the second pin further comprises a second extension portion extending to the side wall of the shell
one end of the second extension portion is connected to the second connection sheet, and the other end of the second extension portion is connected to the second adapter
the second extension portion is connected to the side wall of the shell through the first insulation layer.
Dai teaches:
OPTION 2
a part where the other end of the second pin extends out of the outer edge of the bottom shell is the second adapter ([0048], Fig. 2, second plug portion 323);
the second pin further comprises a second extension portion extending to the side wall of the shell ([0048], Fig. 2, extension portion 322 and second plug portion 323);
one end of the second extension portion is connected to the second connection sheet, and the other end of the second extension portion is connected to the second adapter ([0048], Fig. 2, extension portion 322, circular welded portion 321, second plug portion 323);
the second extension portion is connected to the side wall of the shell through the first insulation layer ([0044], Fig. 4, insulation clearance notch 110 and steel shell 100).
Peng and Dai are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of button cell batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to implement the claimed insulated extension portions extending along the shell by selecting and combining known alternative taught by Peng and Dai. Each teaches discloses a known, predictable approach for routing conductive structures within or along a battery assembly. The motivation to combine these teachings to incorporate the insulation feature of Peng with the routing configuration of Dai, would lead to insulated extension portions extending along the shell. This combination represents use of prior art elements according to the established functions to achieve a predictable result of externally routed, electrically isolated conductors along a housing.
Regarding claim 12, Peng and Dai teach the limitations of claim 11, as stated above. Peng fails to teach the second pin comprises:
a positioning pin and a conductive pin
in a direction from the bottom shell to the top cover
a distance from the second adapter of the positioning pin to the top cover is greater than or equal to a distance from the second adapter of the conductive pin to the top cover
and/or, a distance from the second adapter of the positioning pin to the top cover is greater than or equal to a distance from the first adapter of the first pin to the top cover.
Dai to teaches the second pin ([0047-0048], Fig. 2 and Fig. 3, first insertion part 312 and second plug portion 323), comprises:
a positioning pin and a conductive pin ([0047-0048], Fig. 2 and Fig. 3, first insertion part 312 and second plug portion 323)
in a direction from the bottom shell to the top cover ([0047-0048], Fig. 2 and Fig. 3, first insertion part 312 and second plug portion 323);
a distance from the second adapter of the positioning pin to the top cover is greater than or equal to a distance from the second adapter of the conductive pin to the top cover ([0047-0048], Fig. 2 and Fig. 3, first insertion part 312 and second plug portion 323);
and/or, a distance from the second adapter of the positioning pin to the top cover is greater than or equal to a distance from the first adapter of the first pin to the top cover ([0047-0048], Fig. 2 and Fig. 3, first insertion part 312 and second plug portion 323).
Peng and Dai are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of button cell batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the positioning pin and conductive pin as taught by Dai to the battery assembly of Peng to improve alignment and assembly reliability. With respect to the claimed limitation of the distances and positioning of the pin, the exact positioning of these pins along the extension direction would have been a matter of routine optimization and design choice within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 13, Peng and Dai teach the limitations of claim 4, as stated above. Peng teaches a second pin ([0105], Fig. 1 and Fig. 6, first electrical connection portion 211, second electrical connection portion 221, third electrical connection portion 231.), comprising:
a positioning pin located between the conductive pin and the first pin ([0105], Fig. 1 and Fig. 6, first electrical connection portion 211, second electrical connection portion 221, third electrical connection portion 231).
a conductive pin in a projection of the battery perpendicular to a direction from the bottom shell to the top cover ([0102], Fig. 1, first electrical connection portion 211 and second electrical connection portion 221 extending with angular positioning around the battery).
Dai further teaches a second pin comprises a positioning pin ([0047-0048], Fig. 2 and Fig. 3, first insertion part 312 and second plug portion 323).
Peng and Dai are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of button cell batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the positioning pin and conductive pin as taught by Dai to the battery assembly of Peng to improve insertion alignment and mechanical stability during coupling with an external electronic device.
Regarding claim 14, Peng and Dai teach the limitations of claim 4, as stated above. Peng teaches the upper portion of two different electrical connection portions are at different heights ([0089], Fig. 4, second electrical connection portion 221 and first electrical connection portion 211). Additionally, Peng teaches the bottom portion of two different electrical connection portions are at different heights ([0018] [0089], Fig. 4, second electrical connection portion 221 relative to first electrical connection portion 211. Additionally, Peng teaches:
a part where an end of the pin extends out of the outer edge of the top cover is an adapter ([0078], Fig. 1 and Fig. 3, first electrical connection portion 211);
a pin in a projection of the shell perpendicular to a direction from the bottom shell to the top cover ([0102], Fig. 1, first electrical connection portion 211 and second electrical connection portion 221);
an adapter of the positioning pin is located between the first adapter of the first pin and the second adapter of the conductive pin ([0105], Fig. 1 and Fig. 6, first electrical connection portion 211, second electrical connection portion 221, third electrical connection portion 231);
an included angle between a first connection line and a second connection line is α, with α > 30 ° ([0102], Fig. 1, first electrical connection portion 211 and second electrical connection portion 221):
a connection line is a straight line passing through the center point of the orthographic projection of the top cover and bisecting the second adapter of the positioning pin ([0102], Fig. 1, first electrical connection portion 211 and second electrical connection portion 221).
Peng fails to teach the second connection sheet ([0048], Fig. 2, circular welded portion 321), comprises:
A third connection portion is welded to the bottom shell;
A fourth connection portion
A transition portion connected between the third connection portion and the fourth connection portion;
A part where the other end of the second pin extends out of the outer edge of the bottom shell is the second adapter;
The second pin:
a conductive pin;
a positioning pin;
The first connection line is a straight line passing through a center point of an orthographic projection of the top cover and bisecting the transition portion.
Dai teaches the second connection sheet ([0048], Fig. 2, circular welded portion 321), comprises:
A third connection portion is welded to the bottom shell ([0046], [0048], Fig. 2, circular welded portion 321);
A fourth connection portion([0048], Fig. 2, second plug portion 323);
A transition portion connected between the third connection portion and the fourth connection portion ([0048], Fig. 2, extension portion 322);
A part where the other end of the second pin extends out of the outer edge of the bottom shell is the second adapter ([0048], Fig. 2, second plug portion 323);
The second pin ([0048], Fig. 2, second plug portion 323), comprises:
a conductive pin ([0048], Fig. 2, second plug portion 323);
a positioning pin ([0047]-[0048], Fig. 2 and Fig. 3, first insertion part 312 and second plug portion 323);
The first connection line is a straight line passing through a center point of an orthographic projection of the top cover and bisecting the transition portion ([0048], Fig. 2, extension portion 322).
Peng and Dai are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of button cell batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to combine Peng’s angularly arranged conductive connection portions with Dai’s extension and insertion structures to achieve predictable improvement in routing flexibility, assembly compatibility, and spatial optimization. The resulting configuration would merely represent the predictable combination of known geometric and routing features, yielding spaced conductive adapter geometries with defined angular relationships to facilitate insertion and external connection.
Regarding “α > 30 °”, Peng expressly teaches conductive connection portions arranged at angular relationships relative to one another within a battery assembly, thereby disclosing that such angular configuration are known design parameters used to control spatial routing, alignment, and electrical engagement. In view of Peng, the precise angle selected is not critical to the overall function of the device, but rather constitutes a variable design parameter. Moreover, adjusting the angular orientation of conductive connection portions to accommodate a specific electronic device interface or housing geometry represents a routine design choice involving a predictable change in shape to ensure proper fit and alignment within the constraints of the target device.
Regarding claim 15, Peng, Dai, and Nakanishi teach the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Peng fails to teach the second pin is arranged on the fourth connection portion. Dai teaches the second pin is arranged on the fourth connection portion ([0048], Fig. 2, extension portion 322 and second plug portion 323). Peng and Dai are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of button cell batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to achieve predictable external electrical interfacing. The positioning of the conductive pin on an outward-facing conductive structure would facilitate insertion, alignment, and electrical engagement with a corresponding electronic device.
Regarding claim 16, Peng, Dai, and Nakanishi teach the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Peng further teaches a welded mark generated by welding runs through the third connection portion and extends to 1/3 to 2/3 of a thickness of the bottom shell ([0104], Fig. 5, weld mark between top cover 21 and side wall 12). Peng and Dai are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of button cell batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to optimize weld penetration through the conductive sealing structures in view of Peng. It is well established that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie within the ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Accordingly, selecting a welding thickness and penetration depth within the claimed ranges is a matter of routine optimization of known result-effective variable.
Regarding claim 17, Peng and Dai teach the limitations of claim 14, as stated above. Peng further teaches the battery, wherein 60 °< α < 140 °, or 100 °< α < 125 ° ([0102], Fig. 1, first electrical connection portion 211 and second electrical connection portion 221). Peng and Dai are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of button cell batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to choose an angle within the claimed range.
Regarding “α”, Peng expressly teaches conductive connection portions arranged at angular relationships relative to one another within a battery assembly, thereby disclosing that such angular configuration are known design parameters used to control spatial routing, alignment, and electrical engagement. In view of Peng, the precise angle selected is not critical to the overall function of the device, but rather constitutes a variable design parameter. Moreover, adjusting the angular orientation of conductive connection portions to accommodate a specific electronic device interface or housing geometry represents a routine design choice involving a predictable change in shape to ensure proper fit and alignment within the constraints of the target device.
Regarding claim 18, Peng and Dai teach the limitations of claim 3, as stated above. Peng further teaches the insulation layer has a thickness of 0.05 mm-0. l mm ([0108], Fig. 7, countersunk hole 2222 and insulating component 40). Peng and Dai are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of button cell batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to select an insulation-layer thickness withing the claimed range. The specific thickness of the insulation layer would have been recognized as a result-effective variable that can be routinely adjusted depending on design requirements such as voltage isolation needs, space constraints, and manufacturing tolerances.
Regarding claim 19, Peng and Dai teach the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Peng further teaches:
A cavity ([0023], Fig. 6 and Fig. 7, insulating member 40, conductive element 22, top cover 21);
The battery further comprises a second insulation sheet arranged at a side of the top cover away from the cavity ([0023], Fig. 6 and Fig. 7, insulating member 40, conductive element 22, top cover 21);
An orthographic projection of the second insulation sheet perpendicular to a thickness direction of the top cover covers an orthographic projection of the top cover perpendicular to the thickness direction of the top cover ([0090], Fig. 2, insulating member 40 and top cover 21).
Peng fails to teach:
A cross section of the second connection sheet perpendicular to a thickness direction of the second connection sheet is in a shape of incomplete semi-circular ring with an opening
An outer edge of the second connection sheet is an arc, and the arc is concentric with the outer edge of the shell
The second adapter part is located on a side of the bottom shell away from the cavity
Dai fails to teach:
A cross section of the second connection sheet perpendicular to a thickness direction of the second connection sheet is in a shape of incomplete semi-circular ring with an opening ([0048], Fig. 2, circular welded portion 321, extension portion 322, second plug portion 323);
An outer edge of the second connection sheet is an arc, and the arc is concentric with the outer edge of the shell ([0048], Fig. 2, circular welded portion 321 and steel shell 100);
The second adapter part is located on a side of the bottom shell away from the cavity ([0048], Fig. 2, second plug portion 323 extending outward from steel shell 100).
Peng and Dai are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of button cell batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to include a semi-circular portion concentric with the shell. Adapting the conductive sheet of Peng to include a semi-circular portion would have represented a predictable change in shape intended to improve conformity to the circular battery housing, optimize use of limited internal space, and facilitate conductive routing and insertion into an electronic device. Forming the conductive sheet in a semi-circular geometry concentric with the shell would provide predictable benefits including improved mechanical fit, alignment with the curved shell structure, and efficient routing of conductive paths around the battery perimeter while maintaining the known electrical functionality of the conductive sheet. Accordingly, the modification merely involved the application of known geometric configurations to known conductive structures to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 20, Peng and Dai teach the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Peng further teaches:
The first tab is a positive electrode tab ([0085], Fig. 2, first tab 31)
The second tab is a negative electrode tab ([0085], Fig. 2, second tab 32)
The battery is a button battery ([0075], Fig. 1, housing 10 and cover assembly 20 of button cell battery).
Peng and Dai are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of button cell batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have a positive and negative electrode tab be a first and second tab in a button cell as that is using combination of known elements that would yield predictable results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAMARA ORDUNA/Examiner, Art Unit 1776
/Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776