DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 3/27/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 USC § 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 20250253934 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 20250056597 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao et al. teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to: receive, via a second subset of broadcast channel resources and according to the synchronization message, a broadcast message from the network entity, the second subset of broadcast channel resources associated with a second cellular technology that is different from the first cellular technology (Paragraph 149, 179–180, 198, These passages disclose that different broadcast system information blocks (SIB1 and SIB19) are received by the UE in association with synchronization procedures, where SIB1 and SIB19 correspond to different operational contexts (terrestrial and NTN/satellite) and may both be associated with synchronization signaling), wherein the first subset of broadcast channel resources and the second subset of broadcast channel resources are included within a same synchronization signal block (Paragraph 149–150, 179–180, 231, These passages disclose that the UE first receives a synchronization signal block (SSB) for downlink synchronization, obtains SIB1 based on that SSB, and further decodes SIB19 in conjunction with the synchronization procedure); and communicate with the network entity using the first cellular technology, the second cellular technology, or both, in accordance with the synchronization message and the broadcast message (Paragraph 92, 94, 290, These passages disclose that the UE communicates with a network entity via terrestrial 5G air interfaces and/or satellite NTN air interfaces, and performs communication procedures based on received synchronization and broadcast information).
Zhao et al. does not explicitly teach receive, via a set of synchronization channel resources, a synchronization message from a network entity, wherein the set of synchronization channel resources and a first subset of broadcast channel resources are both associated with a first cellular technology.
However, Li et al. teaches receive, via a set of synchronization channel resources, a synchronization message from a network entity, wherein the set of synchronization channel resources and a first subset of broadcast channel resources are both associated with a first cellular technology (Paragraph 136, 143, 146, The SSB combines synchronization signals (PSS/SSS) and broadcast channel (PBCH) resources transmitted by the network and received by the UE, thus teaching receiving a synchronization message via synchronization resources jointly associated with broadcast resources of a cellular system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receive, via a set of synchronization channel resources, a synchronization message from a network entity, wherein the set of synchronization channel resources and a first subset of broadcast channel resources are both associated with a first cellular technology as taught by Li et al. in the system of Zhao et al., so that it would enable the UE to consistently acquire synchronization and system broadcast information within a unified synchronization signal block framework across different cellular technologies, thereby improving interoperability between terrestrial and NTN communication modes while reducing signaling ambiguity and increasing efficiency of initial access and communication establishment procedures.
Regarding claim 2, Zhao et al. teaches receive, via the first subset of broadcast channel resources, a demodulation reference signal associated with the first cellular technology, wherein receiving the broadcast message using the second cellular technology is in accordance with the demodulation reference signal (Paragraph 253-254, 278, The UE receives PBCH DMRS within broadcast SSB/PBCH resources and receives the PBCH broadcast information in accordance with that demodulation reference signal).
Regarding claim 3, Zhao et al. teaches to receive the synchronization message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the UE to: receive a first portion of a synchronization signal block (SSB) index in accordance with the demodulation reference signal; and receive a second portion of the SSB index in accordance with the broadcast message (Paragraph 272, 274, 278, 279, 399, The UE receives an indexed SSB during synchronization, where PBCH DMRS enables demodulation of SSB index information and the PBCH broadcast message conveys additional SSB index information).
Regarding claim 4, Zhao et al. teaches transmit a capability message indicating UE support for using a demodulation reference signal associated with the first cellular technology to receive the broadcast message, wherein receiving the broadcast message is in accordance with the capability message (Paragraph 253-254, The passage teaches that UE DMRS usage characteristics are defined by higher-layer or assumed parameters reflecting UE support, and the UE receives broadcast PBCH/SSB using the corresponding DMRS in accordance with those parameters).
Regarding claim 5, Zhao et al. teaches a location of the first subset of broadcast channel resources, the second subset of broadcast channel resources, or both, is within a carrier bandwidth associated with the UE (Paragraph 262, 278, 291, The passage teaches that the base station transmits SSBs carrying PBCH to cover the cell and that the UE receives those broadcast channel resources for synchronization and access, which places the locations of the broadcast channel resource subsets within the serving cell’s carrier bandwidth associated with the UE)
Regarding claim 6, Zhao et al. teaches a relative position in a frequency domain for the first subset of broadcast channel resources and the second subset of broadcast channel resources is defined with respect to the location (Paragraph 115, 128, 195-197, The passage defines two subsets of broadcast channel resources as first-hop and second-hop PRBs whose relative frequency-domain positions are specified by index ordering and determined with respect to a known location such as a BWP or CCE location).
Regarding claim 7, Zhao et al. teaches perform one or more blind decoding attempts of the broadcast message using a set of relative position hypotheses in a frequency domain for the first subset of broadcast channel resources and the second subset of broadcast channel resources (Paragraph 253-254, 278, 248-249, 264, The UE blindly attempts to decode broadcast PBCH/SSB information by assuming possible reception positions and performing synchronization across multiple list and non-list SSB groups).
Regarding claim 8, Zhao et al. teaches a synchronization signal block (SSB) index associated with the first subset of broadcast channel resources and the second subset of broadcast channel resources is identified based on a successful blind decoding attempt (Paragraph 149, 231, UE blindly decodes the SSB to obtain SIB1, from which it derives the SSB index used to access broadcast resources).
Regarding claim 9, Zhao et al. teaches receive information identifying a relative position hypothesis in a frequency domain for the first subset of broadcast channel resources and the second subset of broadcast channel resources; and decode the broadcast message in accordance with the relative position hypothesis (Paragraph 115, 128, 149, 151, 172, The UE receives a broadcast message (e.g., SIB1/SIB19) that includes repetition and PRB-related parameters (first-hop and second-hop), enabling derivation of relative PRB positions across frequency resources and decoding behavior based on that).
Regarding claim 10, Zhao et al. teaches the information comprises a first mapping between an identifier associated with the synchronization message and the relative position hypothesis, a second mapping between a synchronization raster associated with the set of synchronization channel resources and the relative position hypothesis, a third mapping between a frequency band associated with the set of synchronization channel resources and the relative position hypothesis, or a combination thereof (Paragraph 150-151, 156, 160, 175, 127, 197, 200, 220, 232-233, The SIB1 includes synchronization-related identifiers (e.g., SSB index), and parameters such as frequency hopping PRBs, time domain and frequency domain resources, and PUCCH repetition configurations, which are interpreted by the UE to determine a relative position hypothesis, forming mappings between the identifier (SSB), synchronization raster, or frequency band and the hypothesis used for HARQ-ACK repetition strategy).
Regarding claim 11, Zhao et al. teaches a network entity, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to: output, via a second subset of broadcast channel resources and according to the synchronization message, a broadcast message from the network entity, the second subset of broadcast channel resources associated with a second cellular technology that is different from the first cellular technology (Paragraph 105–106, 150, 198, These passages disclose the network device transmitting different broadcast messages (e.g., SIB1 and SIB19) that are obtained based on the same SSB), wherein the first subset of broadcast channel resources and the second subset of broadcast channel resources are included within a same synchronization signal block (Paragraph 149–150, 179–180, 231, These passages disclose that the UE first receives a synchronization signal block (SSB) for downlink synchronization, obtains SIB1 based on that SSB, and further decodes SIB19 in conjunction with the synchronization procedure); and communicate with the UE using the first cellular technology, the second cellular technology, or both, in accordance with the synchronization message and the broadcast message (Paragraph 92, 236, 290, These passages disclose bidirectional communication between the network device and UE over air interfaces (including 5G and NTN scenarios) in accordance with synchronization and broadcast signaling).
Zhao et al. does not explicitly teach output, via a set of synchronization channel resources, a synchronization message to a user equipment (UE), wherein the set of synchronization channel resources and a first subset of broadcast channel resources are both associated with a first cellular technology.
However, Li et al. teaches output, via a set of synchronization channel resources, a synchronization message to a user equipment (UE), wherein the set of synchronization channel resources and a first subset of broadcast channel resources are both associated with a first cellular technology (Paragraph 136, 143, 146, The network device outputs an SSB containing synchronization signals (PSS/SSS) and broadcast channel (PBCH) resources together, showing synchronization channel resources and broadcast channel resources jointly associated with the same system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide output, via a set of synchronization channel resources, a synchronization message to a user equipment (UE), wherein the set of synchronization channel resources and a first subset of broadcast channel resources are both associated with a first cellular technology as taught by Li et al. in the system of Zhao et al., so that it would enable the network entity to efficiently coordinate synchronization signaling and broadcast channel delivery within a common synchronization signal structure, thereby improving interoperability and reducing signaling overhead when supporting communications across multiple cellular technologies and associated broadcast procedures.
Regarding claim 12, Zhao et al. teaches output, via the first subset of broadcast channel resources, a demodulation reference signal associated with the first cellular technology, wherein outputting the broadcast message using the second cellular technology is in accordance with the demodulation reference signal (Paragraph 125, 172, 174, 178, 184, 208, 223, SIB1 and/or SIB19 configure a PUCCH resource with DMRS characteristics (e.g., repetition, hopping, bundling), enabling the UE to transmit a Msg4 HARQ-ACK aligned to that DMRS over a first cellular technology, while Msg4 broadcast reception in the NTN (second technology) is based on that DMRS configuration).
Regarding claim 13, Zhao et al. teaches a first portion of a synchronization signal block (SSB) index is identified in accordance with the demodulation reference signal and a second portion of the SSB index is identified in accordance with the broadcast message (Paragraph 107-108, 150, 231-232, The UE derives a first part of the SSB index from synchronization signal-based beam association during initial access and determines a second part using parameters (e.g., repetition info x/z1) extracted from decoded broadcast messages such as SIB1 or SIB19).
Regarding claim 14, Zhao et al. teaches obtain a capability message indicating UE support for using a demodulation reference signal associated with the first cellular technology to receive the broadcast message, wherein outputting the broadcast message is in accordance with the capability message (Paragraph 151, 152, 174, 178, The UE obtains a capability message (e.g., SIB1) that includes parameters indicating its support for repeated PUCCH-based HARQ-ACK (which uses DMRS of the first cellular technology), and the broadcast message output is aligned with this capability (e.g., enabling or disabling repetition accordingly)).
Regarding claim 15, Zhao et al. teaches a location of the first subset of broadcast channel resources, the second subset of broadcast channel resources, or both, is within a carrier bandwidth associated with the UE (Paragraph 114, 115, 116, 127, 128, 176, The UE determines locations of specific PUCCH PRBs (frequency domain broadcast resources) based on parameters like BWP and PRB indices, and simulation confirms a 20 MHz bandwidth is used by the UE, thereby teaching that the broadcast channel resources reside within the UE's carrier bandwidth).
Regarding claim 16, Zhao et al. teaches a relative position in a frequency domain for the first subset of broadcast channel resources and the second subset of broadcast channel resources is defined with respect to the location (Paragraph 115, 128, 195-197, The passage defines two subsets of broadcast channel resources as first-hop and second-hop PRBs whose relative frequency-domain positions are specified by index ordering and determined with respect to a known location such as a BWP or CCE location).
Regarding claim 17, Zhao et al. teaches output information to the UE identifying a relative position hypothesis in a frequency domain for the first subset of broadcast channel resources and the second subset of broadcast channel resources, wherein the UE decodes the broadcast message in accordance with the relative position hypothesis (Paragraph 114-116, 128, The PRB locations are configured or derived such that their frequency domain positions are defined relative to each other or to a hopping interval).
Regarding claim 18, Zhao et al. teaches the information comprises a first mapping between an identifier associated with the synchronization message and the relative position hypothesis, a second mapping between a synchronization raster associated with the set of synchronization channel resources and the relative position hypothesis, a third mapping between a frequency band associated with the set of synchronization channel resources and the relative position hypothesis, or a combination thereof (Paragraph 134, 150, 231–233, The SSB index serves as an identifier associated with the synchronization message, which is mapped to a beam position (i.e., relative position hypothesis); the synchronization raster is implied by SSB configuration and the beam position pattern; and the frequency band used for access is explicitly included, all forming mappings to determine the relative positioning).
Regarding claim 19, Zhao et al. teaches a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, via a second subset of broadcast channel resources and according to the synchronization message, a broadcast message from the network entity, the second subset of broadcast channel resources associated with a second cellular technology that is different from the first cellular technology (Paragraph 149, 179–180, 198, These passages disclose that different broadcast system information blocks (SIB1 and SIB19) are received by the UE in association with synchronization procedures, where SIB1 and SIB19 correspond to different operational contexts (terrestrial and NTN/satellite) and may both be associated with synchronization signaling), wherein the first subset of broadcast channel resources and the second subset of broadcast channel resources are included within a same synchronization signal block (Paragraph 149–150, 179–180, 231, These passages disclose that the UE first receives a synchronization signal block (SSB) for downlink synchronization, obtains SIB1 based on that SSB, and further decodes SIB19 in conjunction with the synchronization procedure); and communicating with the network entity using the first cellular technology, the second cellular technology, or both, in accordance with the synchronization message and the broadcast message (Paragraph 92, 94, 290, These passages disclose that the UE communicates with a network entity via terrestrial 5G air interfaces and/or satellite NTN air interfaces, and performs communication procedures based on received synchronization and broadcast information).
Zhao et al. does not explicitly teach receiving, via a set of synchronization channel resources, a synchronization message from a network entity, wherein the set of synchronization channel resources and a first subset of broadcast channel resources are both associated with a first cellular technology.
However, Li et al. teaches receiving, via a set of synchronization channel resources, a synchronization message from a network entity, wherein the set of synchronization channel resources and a first subset of broadcast channel resources are both associated with a first cellular technology (Paragraph 136, 143, 146, The SSB combines synchronization signals (PSS/SSS) and broadcast channel (PBCH) resources transmitted by the network and received by the UE, thus teaching receiving a synchronization message via synchronization resources jointly associated with broadcast resources of a cellular system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving, via a set of synchronization channel resources, a synchronization message from a network entity, wherein the set of synchronization channel resources and a first subset of broadcast channel resources are both associated with a first cellular technology as taught by Li et al. in the system of Zhao et al., so that it would enable the UE to consistently acquire synchronization and system broadcast information within a unified synchronization signal block framework across different cellular technologies, thereby improving interoperability between terrestrial and NTN communication modes while reducing signaling ambiguity and increasing efficiency of initial access and communication establishment procedures.
Regarding claim 20, Zhao et al. teaches a method for wireless communications at a network entity, comprising: outputting, via a second subset of broadcast channel resources and according to the synchronization message, a broadcast message from the network entity, the second subset of broadcast channel resources associated with a second cellular technology that is different from the first cellular technology (Paragraph 105–106, 150, 198, These passages disclose the network device transmitting different broadcast messages (e.g., SIB1 and SIB19) that are obtained based on the same SSB), wherein the first subset of broadcast channel resources and the second subset of broadcast channel resources are included within a same synchronization signal block (Paragraph 149–150, 179–180, 231, These passages disclose that the UE first receives a synchronization signal block (SSB) for downlink synchronization, obtains SIB1 based on that SSB, and further decodes SIB19 in conjunction with the synchronization procedure); and communicating with the UE using the first cellular technology, the second cellular technology, or both, in accordance with the synchronization message and the broadcast message (Paragraph 92, 236, 290, These passages disclose bidirectional communication between the network device and UE over air interfaces (including 5G and NTN scenarios) in accordance with synchronization and broadcast signaling).
Zhao et al. does not explicitly teach outputting, via a set of synchronization channel resources, a synchronization message to a user equipment (UE), wherein the set of synchronization channel resources and a first subset of broadcast channel resources are both associated with a first cellular technology.
However, Li et al. teaches outputting, via a set of synchronization channel resources, a synchronization message to a user equipment (UE), wherein the set of synchronization channel resources and a first subset of broadcast channel resources are both associated with a first cellular technology (Paragraph 136, 143, 146, The network device outputs an SSB containing synchronization signals (PSS/SSS) and broadcast channel (PBCH) resources together, showing synchronization channel resources and broadcast channel resources jointly associated with the same system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide outputting, via a set of synchronization channel resources, a synchronization message to a user equipment (UE), wherein the set of synchronization channel resources and a first subset of broadcast channel resources are both associated with a first cellular technology as taught by Li et al. in the system of Zhao et al., so that it would enable the network entity to efficiently coordinate synchronization signaling and broadcast channel delivery within a common synchronization signal structure, thereby improving interoperability and reducing signaling overhead when supporting communications across multiple cellular technologies and associated broadcast procedures.
Allowable Subject Matter
To more fully capture the novel improvements described in the specification, the applicant could consider adding concepts such as: reusing synchronization signal block (SSB) resources between two different cellular technologies to support spectrum sharing or coexistence (e.g., 5G and 6G); receiving and/or using a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) associated with the first cellular technology to facilitate decoding of the broadcast message associated with the second cellular technology; splitting an SSB index into a first portion derived from the demodulation reference signal and a second portion derived from the broadcast message; transmitting a capability message indicating UE support for cross-technology use of a demodulation reference signal for broadcast message reception; defining locations of the first and second subsets of broadcast channel resources within a carrier bandwidth of the UE and specifying their relative frequency-domain positions with respect to that location; performing blind decoding attempts of the broadcast message using multiple relative position hypotheses in the frequency domain; identifying the SSB index based on a successful blind decoding attempt; receiving or utilizing information that maps synchronization identifiers, synchronization rasters, or frequency bands to corresponding relative position hypotheses; supporting configurations in which the first and second subsets of broadcast channel resources use overlapping or non-overlapping time resources within a same SSB; and including in the broadcast message explicit indications of time and frequency resources for subsequent communication using the first cellular technology, the second cellular technology, or both.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al. (US 20250071723 A1)
Teyeb et al. (US 20240323873 A1)
Du et al. (US 20240365264 A1)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW SHAJI KURIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/IQBAL ZAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464