DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06 September 2026 by the applicant has been considered and is included in the file.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations included in claims 11 and 12, specifically an embodiment where distances between adjacent channel waveguide faces are not uniform, and increase (or decrease) for channel waveguides further from the utility waveguide must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
“48”, used to describe a “free space region” in [0066] does not appear to be shown in any figures.
“124”, used to describe “the array waveguides” in [0069] in reference to Fig. 1A. However, the examiner does note that Fig. 1A includes “24” which is referenced as ‘a first waveguide array’.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
“47” as shown in Fig. 3A.
“128” and “122” as shown in Fig. 3B.
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
Descriptions of Fig. 2C includes reference to "182" in [0063] as a beam distributer, but "182" is not included in Fig. 2C; "180" is shown in the figure instead. It is assumed that Fig. 2C should include “182” instead of “180”.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
There appears to be a minor typographical error in P[0075], which references "Figure 32"; it is believed to mean to reference Fig. 3C.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 includes "the refence signal" in lines 6 and 7; this should read "the reference signal".
Claim 5 includes "closed" on line 4 which should read “closer", and "refences signals" on line 5 should read "reference signals".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the last limitation reads "each of the composite signal generators configured to combine the reference signal received by the composite signal generator with the reference signal received by the composite signal generator", where it appears the composite signal generator is attempting to combine the reference signal with itself. For examination purposes, the limitation will be given it's Broadest Reasonable Interpretation based on Claim 13 and the specification, where this is read "each of the composite signal generators configured to combine the comparative signal received by the composite signal generator with the reference signal received by the composite signal generator".
Claims 2-12, as they are dependent on claim 1, are similarly rejected.
Regarding Claim 5, the last limitation, which reads "…power level of the refences (reference) signals received by the composite signal generators decreasing as the channel index associated with the composite signal generators" is indefinite, as it is unclear as written if the associated power level of the reference signal is intended to decrease as index increases, or if the associated power level is intended to be lower for smaller index values. The limitation will be given the BRI based on the specification P[0057], which states that "the power of the reference signal carried by the reference waveguides 40 can decrease as the channel index of the reference waveguides 40 increases".
Regarding Claim 12, the last limitation, "the distance between the centers of the channel waveguide facets increase moving toward the facet that is closest to the utility waveguide or the distance between the centers of the channel waveguide facets decrease moving toward the facet that is closest to the utility waveguide" (emphasis added) is indefinite as written. "A facet" is introduced in this claim as being related to only the utility waveguide, however this limitation references "the facet that is closest to the utility waveguide", which reads as the utility waveguide's facet being close to itself. This will be given the BRI, based on the specification, where this reads as "the distance between the centers of the channel waveguide facets increase moving toward the channel waveguide facet that is closest to the utility waveguide or the distance between the centers of the channel waveguide facets decrease moving toward the channel waveguide facet that is closest to the utility waveguide".
Regarding Claim 13, the fifth limitation reads "a second selection of the composite signals each includes a reference signal and substantially excludes light from the system return signal" (emphasis added). It is unclear if this should read "the" reference light, indicating the same reference light which was introduced for the first selection, or if this should read "a second reference signal" such as to refer to a different reference signal than is utilized in the first selection. Based on the specification and claim 4, this will be interpreted to read "a second selection of the composite signals each includes a second reference signal and substantially excludes light from the system return signal".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-10, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hamidi et al. (hereinafter Hamidi, US 20220357438 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Hamidi anticipates a system, comprising:
a LIDAR system (Fig. 3) configured to output a system output signal and to receive a system return signal that includes light from the system output signal that was reflected by an object located outside of the LIDAR system ([0046]; where the system emits a beam from optical source (302) and collect returned/reflected signals);
the LIDAR system including multiple composite signal generators configured to receive comparative signals such that each of the composite signal generators receives a different one of the comparative signals, each of the comparative signals including light from the system return signal ([0046] - [0048]; Fig. 3 where receiving waveguide array includes waveguides (310, 312A…312N, 314A…314N) which carry a returned signal to respective combiners (318A...N, 320A...n)),
each of the composite signal generators configured to receive multiple reference signals such that each of the composite signal generators receives a different one of the reference signals, the reference signal received by different composite signal generators having different power levels ([0046] - [0048]; Fig. 3 where combiners (318A...N, 320A...n) receive local oscillator (LO) beams from splitter (304), where individual LO beams are given varied power levels related to the respective receiving waveguide) ,
and each of the composite signal generators configured to combine the reference signal received by the composite signal generator with the reference signal received by the composite signal generator so as to generate a composite signal,
wherein the composite signal is beating at a beat frequency ([0003], [0046]; where combiners (318A...N, 320A...n) combine respective LO signals and a returned signal to generate a beat signal).
Regarding claim 3, Hamidi anticipates the system of claim 1, wherein
the LIDAR system is configured such that one or more of the composite signal generators included in a selection of the composite signal generators each receives one of the comparative signals and the one or more of the composite signal generators in the selection is a function of a distance between the LIDAR system and the object ([0059], where the LO associated with waveguides near the center of the receiver array receive less power, as they receive return signals from targets that are nearest the receiver).
Regarding claim 4, Hamidi anticipates the system of claim 3, wherein
a first selection of the composite signal generators each receives one of the comparative signals when the object is at a first distance from the LIDAR system and a second selection of the composite signal generators each receives one of the comparative signals when the object is at a second distance from the LIDAR system, the first distance being shorter than the second distance,
and the refence signal received by each composite signal generator in the first selection of composite signal generators having a lower power level than the refence signal received by each composite signal generator in the second selection of composite signal generators ([0048], [0055], [0059], where the LO associated with waveguides near the center of the receiver array receive less power, as they receive return signals from targets that are nearest the receiver, and respective composite generators are associated with individual receiving waveguides).
Regarding claim 6, Hamidi anticipates the system of claim 3, wherein
each of the composite signal generators excluded from the selection of composite signal generators does not substantially receive one of the comparative signals ([0048], [0055], [0059]; where as the scanning optics scan, one or more receiving waveguide (312A...N, 310, 314A...N) is illuminated by return light, and the waveguides not associated with that scanner optic location do not receive returned light).
Regarding claim 8, Hamidi anticipates the system of claim 1, wherein
the system output signal and the reference signals include light from an outgoing LIDAR signal ([0046] - [0048]; Fig. 3 where local oscillator (LO) beams are created by splitter (304) situated in emitted beam path from optical source (302)).
Regarding claim 9, Hamidi anticipates the system of claim 8, wherein
the LIDAR system includes a utility waveguide that ends at a facet and channel waveguides that each terminate at a channel waveguide facet,
the utility waveguide carrying the outgoing LIDAR signal and the channel waveguides carrying a different one of the comparative signals ([0046], [0051]; Fig. 3, 5 where receiving waveguide array includes waveguides (310, 312A…312N, 314A…314N) which terminate at end faces and each carry separate returned signals, and a transmitting waveguide carries the outgoing/emitted signal),
each of the comparative signals entering a different one of the channel waveguides through the channel waveguide facet of the channel waveguide (Fig. 3, where receiving waveguides (310, 312A…312N, 314A…314N) collect different and respective return signals),
and a power level of the reference signals received by the composite signal generators decreasing as a distance between the facet and the channel waveguide facet through which the channel signal generator receives the comparative signal decreases ([0046] - [0048]; Fig. 3 where combiners (318A...N, 320A...n) receive both local oscillator (LO) beams from splitter (304), where individual LO beams are given varied power levels related to the respective receiving waveguide, and respective receiving waveguides have differing total distances between emission facets, the object, and the receiving facets).
Regarding claim 10, Hamidi anticipates the system of claim 1, wherein
each of the reference signals excludes light from the system return signal ([0046], where the LO signals which act as references are split from the emitted light and are not formed by reflected/returned signals).
Regarding claim 13, Hamidi anticipates a method of operating a system, comprising:
transmitting a system output signal from a LIDAR system;
receiving at the LIDAR system a system return signal that includes light from the system output signal and that was reflected by an object located outside of the LIDAR system ([0046]; where the system emits a beam from optical source (302) and collect returned/reflected signals);
generating composite signals such that a first selection of the composite signals each includes a comparative signal combined with a reference signal,
each of the comparative signals including light from the system return signal ([0006], [0046] - [0048]; Fig. 3 where receiving waveguide array includes waveguides (312A…312N, 314A…314N) which carry a first returned signal to a respective first combiners (318A...N, 320A...n) which also receive a local oscillator (LO) beam from splitter (304)),
a second selection of the composite signals each includes a reference signal and substantially excludes light from the system return signal,
the composite signals included in the first selection and in the second selection changing as a distance between the LIDAR system and the object changes ([0048], [0055], [0059]; where as the scanning optics scan, one or more receiving waveguide (312A...N, 310, 314A...N) is illuminated by return light, and the waveguides not associated with that scanner optic location do not receive returned light and the different receiving waveguides at different locations on the receiver are associated with different object distances),
and a power level of the reference signals included in the first selection of composite signals decreasing as the distance between the LIDAR system and the object decreases ([0059], where the LO associated with waveguides near the center of the receiver array receive less power, as they receive return signals from targets that are nearest the receiver).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamidi et al. (hereinafter Hamidi, US 20220357438 A1), as applied to claim 3, alone.
Regarding claim 5, Hamidi teaches the system of claim 3, wherein
the composite signal generators are associated with a channel index,
and a power level of the refences signals received by the composite signal generators decreasing as the channel index associated with the composite signal generators ([0048], [0055], [0059]; where power levels of associated LO signals are lower for combiners/receiving waveguides associated with objects closer to the system).
Hamidi does not explicitly teach a system where the channel index associated with the composite signal generators increases as the object becomes closed to the LIDAR system, as the channel indices for the system increase as they move away from the central waveguide (101). However, channel numbering within an array such as a return signal waveguide array is arbitrary, and therefore to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date it would be obvious to choose a channel index where the index number increases for channels associated with closer objects, which is a feature which can readily be changed without any affect to the operation of the system (See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) for supporting rationale under Reversal, Duplication, or Rearrangement of Parts).
Regarding claim 7, Hamidi teaches the system of claim 3, but does not explicitly teach a method which only chooses a singular composite signal generator to output a combined/composite signal.
Hamidi does note that the selection of composite signal generators is dependent on the receiving waveguide/channel ([0048], [0055], [0059]), where as the scanning optics scan, one or more receiving waveguides (310, 312A...N, 310, 314A...N) are illuminated by return light, and the waveguides not associated with that scanner optic location do not receive returned light, as the return light is directed to specific waveguides/channels at different locations on the receiver which are associated with different object distances.
Hamidi also teaches that the method to combine return signals at the combiners is completed for “at least one” channel (Fig. 11), With the information that only a single, or a small amount of channels would register a return signal at a given time, for one of ordinary skill in the art it would be obvious prima facie to operate the system such that only a single channel is utilized at a given time, such as the channel which outputs the highest amplitude return signal or is associated with the known scanner location.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamidi et al. (hereinafter Hamidi, US 20220357438 A1), as applied to claim 1, and in view of Koonath et al. (hereinafter Koonath, US 20220018963 A1).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Hamidi teaches the system of claim 1, wherein
the LIDAR system includes channel waveguides that each terminate at a channel waveguide facet ([0046], [0051]; Fig. 3, 5 where receiving waveguide array includes waveguides (312A…312N, 314A…314N) which terminate at an end face),
the channel waveguides carrying a different one of the comparative signals ([0046] - [0048]; Fig. 3 where receiving waveguide array includes waveguides (312A…312N, 314A…314N) which carry individual returned signals),
and each of the comparative signals entering a different one of the channel waveguides through the channel waveguide facet of the channel waveguide,
and wherein the system output signal and the reference signals include light from an outgoing LIDAR signal;
LIDAR system includes a utility waveguide that ends at a facet ([0046] - [0048]; Fig. 3 where a separate transmitting waveguide carries emitted signal).
Hamidi does not explicitly teach – but Koonath does teach – a system which includes an array of waveguides in a receiver, wherein a distance between the centers of the channel waveguide facets being lower for the channel waveguide facet that receive the comparative signals when the object is closer to the LIDAR system than the distance between the centers of the channel waveguide facets that receive the comparative signals when the object is further from the LIDAR system,
and the distance between the centers of the channel waveguide facets increase moving toward the facet that is closest to the utility waveguide or the distance between the centers of the channel waveguide facets decrease moving toward the facet that is closest to the utility waveguide ([0112], [0119] - [0122]; Figs. 10, 12, where in embodiments the distance between the output waveguide (16) and the input waveguide 1 (19) is D1, and the distance between input waveguides (19, 601) is D2, and D1 may equal D2 or D1 <D2, where the distances between input waveguides increases as they move away from the output waveguide (16), where for example D1 is
1.5
μ
m
and D2 is
2
μ
m
).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Hamidi to incorporate the teachings of Koonath to include a variable distance between adjacent waveguides in a receiving array with a reasonable expectation of success. As Koonath notes, choosing where receiver waveguides are located acts as a walk-off mitigation parameter, and therefore allows the system to minimize lost signals as it scans ([0005] – [0006]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zediker et al. (US 5847816 A) teaches a method of operation and system which includes lag angle compensation optics for use in a micro-Doppler ladar system.
Davydenko (US 20210316756 A1) teaches a device for FMCW scanning an environment for object detection which utilizes an array of waveguides for emission/detection and an array of detectors which collect respective local signals and return signals for beat frequency creation.
/K.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645