DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the receipt of the Applicant’s amendment filed on 05/04/2026. Claims 1-2, 10, 13, and 15 have been amended. Claims 1-17 are currently pending in the present application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks, filed 05/04/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Reial et al. (US 2019/0191392 A1 herein Reial) and further in view of Sun et al. (US 2018/0255514 A1 herein Sun).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reial et al. (US 2019/0191392 A1 herein Reial), and further in view of Sun et al. (US 2018/0255514 A1 herein Sun).
Regarding claim 1, Reial teaches a method carried out by a wireless communication device comprising a wireless communication interface (read as communication system QQ500, host computer QQ510 comprises hardware QQ515 including communication interface QQ516 configured to set up and maintain a wired or wireless connection with an interface of a different communication device of communication system QQ500) (Reial – [0123]), said interface being configured to selectively operate according to several operating modes (read as wireless communication device may operate in one of a number of different modes, e.g., an idle mode and one or more connected modes) (Reial – [0007]-[0008]) comprising
- a first active operating mode (read as active mode) (Reial – [0009]); and
- a second operating mode with reduced consumption relative to the first mode (read as in idle mode, the wireless communication device typically attempts to minimize its energy consumption by spending as much time as possible in a low power state) (Reial – [0008]);
the device being subjected to a constraint of implementing an action that must be carried out continuously (read as maximum transmission power constraint) (Reial – Abstract, [0072]) when the interface operates at an emission power greater than a threshold over a communication channel of a given type (read as emission regulations) (Reial – [0072]), the action being incompatible with the second mode, the second mode alternately comprising standby phases and active phases (read as idle mode or inactive and connected or active mode) (Reial – [0008]-[0009]).
However, Reial fails to teach enabling the reception of at least one type of transmission packet; and the method comprising, to change from the first mode to the second mode, a) in a first step, lowering the transmission power below the threshold; b) in a second step, deactivating the action; c) in a third step, activating the second mode.
In the related art, Sun teaches enabling the reception of at least one type of transmission packet (read as packet processing unit 243 may process received packets differently, based on the packet type) (Sun – [0048]); and the method comprising, to change from the first mode to the second mode, a) in a first step, lowering the transmission power below the threshold; b) in a second step, deactivating the action; c) in a third step, activating the second mode (read as a receive power consumption of less than one milliwatt; the AP may have to stop operation; send an indication to the AP that the UT will enter a sleep mode) (Sun – [0051], [0057], [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Sun into the teachings of Reial for the purpose of reducing power consumption but attempting to stay in the sleep or standby mode while periodically waking up to transmit/receive data.
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, Reial as modified by Sun further teaches wherein the interface being adapted to be able to receive at least one wake-up packet during the active phases of the second operating mode (Reial – [0008]).
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1, Reial as modified by Sun further teaches comprising storing the power level before it is lowered (read as information regarding HW limitations may be stored in memory) (Reial – [0072]).
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1, Reial as modified by Sun further teaches wherein the action is a detection of the presence of radars on the channel of given type (read as detecting a WUR signal as a radar signal in a DFS channel) (Sun – [0027], [0056]).
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1, Reial as modified by Sun further teaches comprising, before steps (a) to (c), a verification that the action is indeed carried out, steps (a) and (b) being carried out only if this verification is positive (read as monitoring for a WUR transmission from the wireless device on the second channel after receiving the indication; after sending the indication, the UE may switch its frequency to the second non-DFS channel) (Sun – [0011], [0071]).
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 5, Reial as modified by Sun further teaches comprising, in the event of positive verification, storing information indicative of the fact that the action was indeed performed (Sun – [0088], [0092]).
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1, Reial as modified by Sun further teaches wherein the channel of the given type is a channel with dynamic frequency selection (read as dynamic frequency selection (DFS) channel) (Sun – [0026]).
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 1, Reial as modified by Sun further teaches comprising, before lowering the power, transmitting a message to an access point with which the wireless communication device is associated, said message indicating the targeted power level after lowering (read as at access point 110 receives traffic data from a data source for user terminals scheduled for downlink transmission) (Sun – [0043], [0048]).
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 8, Reial as modified by Sun further teaches the message further comprising a datum indicative of the reason for lowering the power (read as based on at least one of a transmit power difference) (Sun – [0064]).
Regarding claim 10, Reial teaches a method carried out by a wireless communication device comprising a wireless communication interface (read as communication system QQ500, host computer QQ510 comprises hardware QQ515 including communication interface QQ516 configured to set up and maintain a wired or wireless connection with an interface of a different communication device of communication system QQ500) (Reial – [0123]),
said interface being configured to selectively operate according to several operating modes (read as wireless communication device may operate in one of a number of different modes, e.g., an idle mode and one or more connected modes) (Reial – [0007]-[0008]) comprising
- a first active operating mode (read as active mode) (Reial – [0009]); and
- a second operating mode with reduced consumption relative to the first mode (read as in idle mode, the wireless communication device typically attempts to minimize its energy consumption by spending as much time as possible in a low power state) (Reial – [0008]);
the device being subjected to a constraint of implementing an action that must be carried out continuously (read as maximum transmission power constraint) (Reial – Abstract, [0072]) when the interface operates at an emission power greater than a threshold over a communication channel of a given type (read as emission regulations) (Reial – [0072]), the action being incompatible with the second mode, the second mode alternately comprising standby phases and active phases (read as idle mode or inactive and connected or active mode) (Reial – [0008]-[0009]).
However, Reial fails to teach enabling the reception of at least one type of transmission packet; and the method comprising, to change from the second mode to the first mode, (a) in a first step, activating the first mode; (b) in a second step, activating the action; (c) in a third step, increasing the transmission power above the threshold.
In the related art, Sun teaches enabling the reception of at least one type of transmission packet (read as packet processing unit 243 may process received packets differently, based on the packet type) (Sun – [0048]); and the method comprising, to change from the second mode to the first mode, (a) in a first step, activating the first mode; (b) in a second step, activating the action; (c) in a third step, increasing the transmission power above the threshold (read as a receive power consumption of less than one milliwatt; the AP may have to stop operation; send an indication to the AP that the UT will enter a sleep mode) (Sun – [0051], [0057], [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Sun into the teachings of Reial for the purpose of reducing power consumption but attempting to stay in the sleep or standby mode while periodically waking up to transmit/receive data.
Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 10, Reial as modified by Sun further teaches comprising, before increasing the power, transmitting a message to an access point with which the wireless communication device is associated, said message indicating the targeted power level after increasing (read as at access point 110 receives traffic data from a data source for user terminals scheduled for downlink transmission) (Sun – [0043], [0048]).
Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 11, Reial as modified by Sun further teaches the message further comprising a datum indicative of the reason for increasing the power (read as based on at least one of a transmit power difference) (Sun – [0064]).
Regarding claim 13, Reial teaches a wireless communication device comprising a wireless communication interface (read as communication system QQ500, host computer QQ510 comprises hardware QQ515 including communication interface QQ516 configured to set up and maintain a wired or wireless connection with an interface of a different communication device of communication system QQ500) (Reial – [0123]), said interface being configured to selectively operate according to several operating modes (read as wireless communication device may operate in one of a number of different modes, e.g., an idle mode and one or more connected modes) (Reial – [0007]-[0008]) comprising
- a first active operating mode (read as active mode) (Reial – [0009]); and
- a second operating mode with reduced consumption relative to the first mode (read as in idle mode, the wireless communication device typically attempts to minimize its energy consumption by spending as much time as possible in a low power state) (Reial – [0008]);
the device being subjected to a constraint of implementing an action that must be carried out continuously (read as maximum transmission power constraint) (Reial – Abstract, [0072]) when the interface operates at an emission power greater than a threshold over a communication channel of a given type (read as emission regulations) (Reial – [0072]), the action being incompatible with the second mode, the second mode alternately comprising standby phases and active phases (read as idle mode or inactive and connected or active mode) (Reial – [0008]-[0009]).
However, Reial fails to teach enabling the reception of at least one type of transmission packet; and the device being configured, to change from the first mode to the second mode, to: a) in a first step, lower the transmission power below the threshold; b) in a second step, deactivate the action; c) in a third step, activate the second mode.
In the related art, Sun teaches enabling the reception of at least one type of transmission packet (read as packet processing unit 243 may process received packets differently, based on the packet type) (Sun – [0048]); and the device being configured, to change from the first mode to the second mode, to: a) in a first step, lower the transmission power below the threshold; b) in a second step, deactivate the action; c) in a third step, activate the second mode (read as a receive power consumption of less than one milliwatt; the AP may have to stop operation; send an indication to the AP that the UT will enter a sleep mode) (Sun – [0051], [0057], [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Sun into the teachings of Reial for the purpose of reducing power consumption but attempting to stay in the sleep or standby mode while periodically waking up to transmit/receive data.
Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 13, Reial as modified by Sun further teaches configured to carry out a method according to claim 2 (Reial – [0067], Sun – [0028]).
Regarding claim 15, Reial teaches a wireless communication device comprising a wireless communication interface (read as communication system QQ500, host computer QQ510 comprises hardware QQ515 including communication interface QQ516 configured to set up and maintain a wired or wireless connection with an interface of a different communication device of communication system QQ500) (Reial – [0123]), said interface being configured to selectively operate according to several operating modes (read as wireless communication device may operate in one of a number of different modes, e.g., an idle mode and one or more connected modes) (Reial – [0007]-[0008]) comprising
a first active operating mode (read as active mode) (Reial – [0009]); and
a second operating mode with reduced consumption relative to the first mode (read as in idle mode, the wireless communication device typically attempts to minimize its energy consumption by spending as much time as possible in a low power state) (Reial – [0008]);
the device being subjected to a constraint of implementing an action that must be carried out continuously (read as maximum transmission power constraint) (Reial – Abstract, [0072]) when the interface operates at an emission power greater than a threshold over a communication channel of a given type (read as emission regulations) (Reial – [0072]), the action being incompatible with the second mode, the second mode alternately comprising standby phases and active phases (read as idle mode or inactive and connected or active mode) (Reial – [0008]-[0009]).
However, Reial fails to teach enabling the reception of at least one type of transmission packet; and the device being configured, to change from the second mode to the first mode, to (a) in a first step, activate first mode; (b) in a second step, activate the action; (c) in a third step, increase the transmission power above the threshold.
In the related art, Sun teaches enabling the reception of at least one type of transmission packet (read as packet processing unit 243 may process received packets differently, based on the packet type) (Sun – [0048]); and the device being configured, to change from the second mode to the first mode, to (a) in a first step, activate first mode; (b) in a second step, activate the action; (c) in a third step, increase the transmission power above the threshold (read as a receive power consumption of less than one milliwatt; the AP may have to stop operation; send an indication to the AP that the UT will enter a sleep mode) (Sun – [0051], [0057], [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Sun into the teachings of Reial for the purpose of reducing power consumption but attempting to stay in the sleep or standby mode while periodically waking up to transmit/receive data.
Regarding claim 16 as applied to claim 15, Reial as modified by Sun further teaches said device being configured to, before increasing the power, transmit a message to an access point with which the wireless communication device is associated, said message indicating the targeted power level after increasing (read as at access point 110 receives traffic data from a data source for user terminals scheduled for downlink transmission) (Sun – [0043], [0048]).
Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 15, Reial as modified by Sun further teaches wherein the message further comprises a datum indicative of the reason for increasing the power (read as based on at least one of a transmit power difference) (Sun – [0064]).
Conclusion
/APRIL G GONZALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648