DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 12/01/2023 and 09/24/2025 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamaura (US 7,881,273 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Yamaura teaches a method carried out by a wireless communication device comprising a wireless communication interface (read as wireless communication apparatus 100 can operate as a communication station 1300 within the network; wireless communication apparatus 100 comprises an interface 101) (Yamaura – column 12 lines 4-22),
said interface being configured to selectively operate according to several operating modes (read as wireless communication apparatus 100 defines two operating mode) (Yamaura – column 14 lines 10-23) comprising
- a first active operating mode (read as interference avoidance operation mode) (Yamaura – column 14 lines 10-23); and
- a second operating mode with reduced consumption relative to the first mode (read as normal operation mode) (Yamaura – column 14 lines 10-23) and enabling the reception of at least one type of transmission packet (read as generated packets are data packets, RTS packets, CTS packets, ACK packets, and frequency change request packets) (Yamaura - column 12 lines 31-40);
the device being subjected to a constraint of implementing an action that must be carried out continuously when the interface operates at an emission power greater than a threshold over a communication channel of a given type (read as antenna 109 wireless transmits a signal to a remote wireless communication apparatus on a predetermined channel) (Yamaura – column 13 lines 3-8), the action being incompatible with the second mode (read as radar wave detection section 114 keeps on checking for an incoming radar wave at almost all times during its operation, if the detected radar wave strength exceeds a predetermined threshold value while the wireless communication apparatus 100 operates in the interference avoidance operation mode, the radar wave detection section 114 notifies the central control section 103 of such an event) (Yamaura – column 13 lines 30-44);
the method comprising, to change from the first mode to the second mode,
a) in a first step, lowering the transmission power below the threshold (read as if the radar wave detection level exceeds a predetermined threshold level (step S30), the radar wave detection control section 103-b notifies the DFS control section 103-c of such an event (step S31); wireless transmission/reception control section 103-a inhibits the transmission of an item other than a DFS control command (step S32); the DFS control section 103-c creates command data for a frequency change (step S33); changed frequency channel number data is written within the command data then transmits the created command to all the surrounding stations (step S34) (Yamaura – column 27 lines 39-50);
b) in a second step, deactivating the action (read as the surrounding stations can no longer receive a periodic beacon signal from the wireless communication apparatus 100) (Yamaura - column 27 lines 60-67);
c) in a third step, activating the second mode (read as the local station turns off the radar wave detection section 104 (step S40) to switch to the normal operation mode) (Yamaura - column 28 lines 3-11).
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, Yamaura further teaches wherein the second mode alternately comprises standby phases and active phases, the interface being adapted to be able to receive at least one wake-up packet during the active phases of the second operating mode (read as performs transmission standby period (NAV) setup for receiving packets addressed to a remote station) (Yamaura – column 13 lines 8-19).
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1, Yamaura further teaches comprising storing the power level before it is lowered (read as data buffer 102 is used temporarily store data transmitted from a device via the interface 101 and data received via a wireless transmission path before their transmission via the interface 101; information storage section 113 stores an executable procedure instruction program for a series of access control operations performed by central control section 103) (Yamaura – column 12 lines 26-30, column 13 lines 25-29).
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1, Yamaura further teaches wherein the action is a detection of the presence of radars on the channel of given type (read as radar wave detection section 114 keeps on checking for an incoming radar wave at almost all times during its reception) (Yamaura – column 13 lines 30-44).
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1, Yamaura further teaches comprising, before steps (a) to (c), a verification that the action is indeed carried out, steps (a) and (b) being carried out only if this verification is positive (read as if the detected radar wave strength exceeds a predetermined threshold value while the wireless communication apparatus 100 operates in the interference avoidance operation mode, the radar wave detection section 114 notifies the central control section 103 of such an event) (Yamaura – column 13 lines 30-44).
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 5, Yamaura further teaches comprising, in the event of positive verification, storing information indicative of the fact that the action was indeed performed (read as data buffer 102 is used temporarily store data transmitted from a device via the interface 101 and data received via a wireless transmission path before their transmission via the interface 101; information storage section 113 stores an executable procedure instruction program for a series of access control operations performed by central control section 103) (Yamaura – column 12 lines 26-30, column 13 lines 25-29).
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1, Yamaura further teaches wherein the channel of the given type is a channel with dynamic frequency selection (read as multi-channel transmission medium is used to handle a plurality of frequency channels) (Yamaura – column 9 lines 51-59).
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 1, Yamaura further teaches comprising, before lowering the power, transmitting a message to an access point with which the wireless communication device is associated, said message indicating the targeted power level after lowering (read as the access point 1100 changes the setting for the wireless LAN transmission/reception section 1120 to transmit/receive a frequency corresponding to the previously reported frequency channel number, and begins to perform a transmission/reception operation on a new frequency channel) (Yamaura – column 3 lines 47-53).
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 8, Yamaura further teaches the message further comprising a datum indicative of the reason for lowering the power (read as power supply management section 115 monitors the power supply that is used to drive the wireless communication apparatus 100 and reports the monitoring results to the central control section 103; the report generated by the power supply management section 115 indicates whether the AC power supply 116a or battery 116b is currently used as the main power supply and the report also indicates the remaining power of the battery or states that the remaining power of the battery 116b is low) (Yamaura – column 13 lines 54-63).
Regarding claim 10, Yamaura teaches a method carried out by a wireless communication device comprising a wireless communication interface (read as wireless communication apparatus 100 can operate as a communication station 1300 within the network; wireless communication apparatus 100 comprises an interface 101) (Yamaura – column 12 lines 4-22),
said interface being configured to selectively operate according to several operating modes (read as wireless communication apparatus 100 defines two operating mode) (Yamaura – column 14 lines 10-23) comprising
- a first active operating mode (read as interference avoidance operation mode) (Yamaura – column 14 lines 10-23); and
- a second operating mode with reduced consumption relative to the first mode (read as normal operation mode) (Yamaura – column 14 lines 10-23) and enabling the reception of at least one type of transmission packet (read as generated packets are data packets, RTS packets, CTS packets, ACK packets, and frequency change request packets) (Yamaura - column 12 lines 31-40);
the device being subjected to a constraint of implementing an action that must be carried out continuously when the interface operates at an emission power greater than a threshold over a communication channel of a given type (read as antenna 109 wireless transmits a signal to a remote wireless communication apparatus on a predetermined channel) (Yamaura – column 13 lines 3-8), the action being incompatible with the second mode (read as radar wave detection section 114 keeps on checking for an incoming radar wave at almost all times during its operation, if the detected radar wave strength exceeds a predetermined threshold value while the wireless communication apparatus 100 operates in the interference avoidance operation mode, the radar wave detection section 114 notifies the central control section 103 of such an event) (Yamaura – column 13 lines 30-44);
the method comprising, to change from the second mode to the first mode,
(a) in a first step, activating the first mode (read as when the wireless communication apparatus 100 turns on and participates in the wireless network, it first runs in a normal operation mode, which is used to perform a primary wireless data transmission operation (step S61)) (Yamaura – Figure 20, and column 29 lines 46-50);
(b) in a second step, activating the action (read as upon receipt of an obligation transfer request from a communication station that is currently obliged to issue instructions for radar wave detection and DFS, the wireless communication apparatus 100 starts the local radar wave detection section 114 to switch to the interference avoidance operation mode (step S64); then transmits an acknowledgement to the requesting communication station to indicate that it has begun to fulfill the obligation (step S65); radar wave detection control section 103-b operates till the lapse of the time during which the local station has to fulfill the obligation (step S66)) (Yamaura – Figure 20, column 29 lines 59-67, and column 30 lines 1-3);
(c) in a third step, increasing the transmission power above the threshold (read as if the radar wave detection level exceeds a predetermined threshold level (step S70), the radar wave detection control section 103-b notifies the DFS control section 103-c of such an event (step S71); DFS control section 103-c creates command data for a frequency change (step S73); changed frequency channel number data is written with the command data) (Yamaura – Figure 20, and column 30 lines 4-23).
Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 10, Yamaura further teaches comprising, before increasing the power, transmitting a message to an access point with which the wireless communication device is associated, said message indicating the targeted power level after increasing (read as the access point 1100 changes the setting for the wireless LAN transmission/reception section 1120 to transmit/receive a frequency corresponding to the previously reported frequency channel number, and begins to perform a transmission/reception operation on a new frequency channel) (Yamaura – column 3 lines 47-53).
Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 11, Yamaura further teaches the message further comprising a datum indicative of the reason for increasing the power (read as power supply management section 115 monitors the power supply that is used to drive the wireless communication apparatus 100 and reports the monitoring results to the central control section 103; the report generated by the power supply management section 115 indicates whether the AC power supply 116a or battery 116b is currently used as the main power supply and the report also indicates the remaining power of the battery or states that the remaining power of the battery 116b is low) (Yamaura – column 13 lines 54-63).
Regarding claim 13, Yamaura teaches a wireless communication device comprising a wireless communication interface (read as wireless communication apparatus 100 can operate as a communication station 1300 within the network; wireless communication apparatus 100 comprises an interface 101) (Yamaura – column 12 lines 4-22), said interface being configured to selectively operate according to several operating modes (read as wireless communication apparatus 100 defines two operating mode) (Yamaura – column 14 lines 10-23) comprising
- a first active operating mode (read as interference avoidance operation mode) (Yamaura – column 14 lines 10-23); and
- a second operating mode with reduced consumption relative to the first mode (read as normal operation mode) (Yamaura – column 14 lines 10-23) and enabling the reception of at least one type of transmission packet (read as generated packets are data packets, RTS packets, CTS packets, ACK packets, and frequency change request packets) (Yamaura - column 12 lines 31-40);
the device being subjected to a constraint of implementing an action that must be carried out continuously when the interface operates at an emission power greater than a threshold over a communication channel of a given type (read as antenna 109 wireless transmits a signal to a remote wireless communication apparatus on a predetermined channel) (Yamaura – column 13 lines 3-8), the action being incompatible with the second mode (read as radar wave detection section 114 keeps on checking for an incoming radar wave at almost all times during its operation, if the detected radar wave strength exceeds a predetermined threshold value while the wireless communication apparatus 100 operates in the interference avoidance operation mode, the radar wave detection section 114 notifies the central control section 103 of such an event) (Yamaura – column 13 lines 30-44);
the device being configured to:
a) in a first step, lower the transmission power below the threshold (read as if the radar wave detection level exceeds a predetermined threshold level (step S30), the radar wave detection control section 103-b notifies the DFS control section 103-c of such an event (step S31); wireless transmission/reception control section 103-a inhibits the transmission of an item other than a DFS control command (step S32); the DFS control section 103-c creates command data for a frequency change (step S33); changed frequency channel number data is written within the command data then transmits the created command to all the surrounding stations (step S34) (Yamaura – column 27 lines 39-50);
b) in a second step, deactivate the action (read as the surrounding stations can no longer receive a periodic beacon signal from the wireless communication apparatus 100) (Yamaura - column 27 lines 60-67);
c) in a third step, activate the second mode (read as the local station turns off the radar wave detection section 104 (step S40) to switch to the normal operation mode) (Yamaura - column 28 lines 3-11).
Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 13, Yamaura further teaches configured to carry out a method according to claim 2 (read as performs transmission standby period (NAV) setup for receiving packets addressed to a remote station) (Yamaura – column 13 lines 8-19).
Regarding claim 15, Yamaura teaches a wireless communication device comprising a wireless communication interface (read as wireless communication apparatus 100 can operate as a communication station 1300 within the network; wireless communication apparatus 100 comprises an interface 101) (Yamaura – column 12 lines 4-22), said interface being configured to selectively operate according to several operating modes (read as wireless communication apparatus 100 defines two operating mode) (Yamaura – column 14 lines 10-23) comprising
a first active operating mode (read as interference avoidance operation mode) (Yamaura – column 14 lines 10-23); and
a second operating mode with reduced consumption relative to the first mode (read as normal operation mode) (Yamaura – column 14 lines 10-23) and enabling the reception of at least one type of transmission packet (read as generated packets are data packets, RTS packets, CTS packets, ACK packets, and frequency change request packets) (Yamaura - column 12 lines 31-40);
the device being subjected to a constraint of implementing an action that must be carried out continuously when the interface operates at an emission power greater than a threshold over a communication channel of a given type (read as antenna 109 wireless transmits a signal to a remote wireless communication apparatus on a predetermined channel) (Yamaura – column 13 lines 3-8), the action being incompatible with the second mode (read as radar wave detection section 114 keeps on checking for an incoming radar wave at almost all times during its operation, if the detected radar wave strength exceeds a predetermined threshold value while the wireless communication apparatus 100 operates in the interference avoidance operation mode, the radar wave detection section 114 notifies the central control section 103 of such an event) (Yamaura – column 13 lines 30-44);
the device being configured to
(a) in a first step, activate first mode (read as when the wireless communication apparatus 100 turns on and participates in the wireless network, it first runs in a normal operation mode, which is used to perform a primary wireless data transmission operation (step S61)) (Yamaura – Figure 20, and column 29 lines 46-50);
(b) in a second step, activate the action (read as upon receipt of an obligation transfer request from a communication station that is currently obliged to issue instructions for radar wave detection and DFS, the wireless communication apparatus 100 starts the local radar wave detection section 114 to switch to the interference avoidance operation mode (step S64); then transmits an acknowledgement to the requesting communication station to indicate that it has begun to fulfill the obligation (step S65); radar wave detection control section 103-b operates till the lapse of the time during which the local station has to fulfill the obligation (step S66)) (Yamaura – Figure 20, column 29 lines 59-67, and column 30 lines 1-3);
(c) in a third step, increase the transmission power above the threshold (read as if the radar wave detection level exceeds a predetermined threshold level (step S70), the radar wave detection control section 103-b notifies the DFS control section 103-c of such an event (step S71); DFS control section 103-c creates command data for a frequency change (step S73); changed frequency channel number data is written with the command data) (Yamaura – Figure 20, and column 30 lines 4-23).
Regarding claim 16 as applied to claim 15, Yamaura further teaches said device being configured to, before increasing the power, transmit a message to an access point with which the wireless communication device is associated, said message indicating the targeted power level after increasing (read as the access point 1100 changes the setting for the wireless LAN transmission/reception section 1120 to transmit/receive a frequency corresponding to the previously reported frequency channel number, and begins to perform a transmission/reception operation on a new frequency channel) (Yamaura – column 3 lines 47-53).
Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 15, Yamaura further teaches wherein the message further comprises a datum indicative of the reason for increasing the power (read as power supply management section 115 monitors the power supply that is used to drive the wireless communication apparatus 100 and reports the monitoring results to the central control section 103; the report generated by the power supply management section 115 indicates whether the AC power supply 116a or battery 116b is currently used as the main power supply and the report also indicates the remaining power of the battery or states that the remaining power of the battery 116b is low) (Yamaura – column 13 lines 54-63).
Conclusion
/APRIL G GONZALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648