DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20250374363 A1) in view of Shah et al. (US 20250317901 A1).
Considering claim 1, Kim teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories, individually or in combination, having instructions; and one or more processors, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to:
receive (wireless device), from a first network entity (cell 1) ([0294] UE in an RRC connected state may send and receive data to/from a first base station (for example, a source base station) via a cell 1 wherein the cell 1 is a primary cell of the first base station), assist information resources via which a network entity (Cell 1 or cell 2) transmits a downlink reference signal (DL-RS) (Fig.17, [0122], [0139] In the downlink, a base station may transmit one or more Reference Signals (RSs) to a UE [0297] assistance information may include the registration area, [0327] Based on the assistance information…the anchor base station may send an RRC release message to the wireless device via the new base station, [0342] resources); and
receive, from the second network entity (cell 2), the DL-RS via the indicated resources ([0122] BS may configure a UE with one or more resource sets for one or more PUCCH transmissions. A UE may receive downlink receptions (e.g., PDCCH or PDSCH) in a downlink ,[0139] In the downlink, a base station may transmit (e.g., unicast, multicast, and/or broadcast) one or more Reference Signals (RSs) to a UE (e.g., PSS, SSS, CSI-RS, DMRS, and/or PT-RS, as shown in FIG. 5A)).
Kim do not clearly teach information indicating resources via which a second network entity transmits a downlink signal.
Shah teaches information indicating resources via which a second network entity transmits a downlink signal (Fig.7, [0334] equipment (UE) is receiving the indication of SDT, which will be scheduled with predefined cells/beams)
Therefore, It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide above teaching of Shah to Kim, in order to reduce signalling overhead and latency.
Considering claim 13, Kim teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories, individually or in combination, having instructions; and one or more processors, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to:
transmit (cell 1), to a user equipment (UE) (Fig.17), assist information resources via which a network entity transmits a downlink reference signal (DL-RS) (Fig.17, [0122], [0139] In the downlink, a base station may transmit one or more Reference Signals (RSs) to a UE [0297] assistance information may include the registration area, [0327] Based on the assistance information, [0342] resources); and
receive (cell 2), from the UE (Fig,17), a report comprising information associated with the DL-RS collected by the UE (Fig. 17, [0162] UE may perform downlink beam measurement based on downlink reference signals (e.g., a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)) and generate a beam measurement report, [0294] Based on receiving the measurement report, the second base station may determine to configure SCells and/or secondary cell groups (e.g., SCG or PSCells)).
Kim do not clearly teach information indicating resources via which a network entity transmits a downlink signal.
Shah teaches information indicating resources via which a network entity transmits a downlink signal (Fig.7, [0334] equipment (UE) is receiving the indication of SDT, which will be scheduled with predefined cells/beams)
Therefore, It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide above teaching of Shah to Kim, in order to reduce signalling overhead and latency.
Considering claim 23, Kim teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories, individually or in combination, having instructions; and one or more processors, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a first network entity (cell 1) ([0294] UE in an RRC connected state may send and receive data to/from a first base station (for example, a source base station) via a cell 1 wherein the cell 1 is a primary cell of the first base station), a paging message that a network entity has downlink information to transmit to the apparatus (Fig.17, [0122], [0139] In the downlink, a base station may transmit one or more Reference Signals (RSs) to a UE [0297] assistance information… RAN paging, [0327] Based on the assistance information…the anchor base station may send an RRC release message to the wireless device via the new base station, [0302] based on having data or signaling to transmit, or receiving RAN paging message);
receive, from one or more of the first network entity (cell 1) or the second network entity (cell 2), assist information for establishing a connection to the second network entity (Fig.17, [0139] In the downlink, a base station may transmit one or more Reference Signals (RSs) to a UE [0297] assistance information may include the registration area, [0327] Based on the assistance information, [0291] based on receiving the retrieve UE context response message, the target base station may send an RRC reestablishment message to the UE, [0254]); and
transmit, to the second network entity (cell 2), a random access channel (RACH) message ([0091]) after receiving the paging message and the assist information (Fig.17, ([0254] receive paging and notification messages, [0327] assistance information).
Kim do not clearly teach information indicating resources via which a second network entity transmits a downlink signal.
Shah teaches information indicating resources via which a second network entity transmits a downlink signal (Fig.7, [0334] equipment (UE) is receiving the indication of SDT, which will be scheduled with predefined cells/beams)
Therefore, It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide above teaching of Shah to Kim, in order to reduce signalling overhead and latency.
Considering claim 28, Kim teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories, individually or in combination, having instructions; and one or more processors, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to:
transmit (cell 1), to a user equipment (UE) (wireless device) ([0294] UE in an RRC connected state may send and receive data to/from a first base station (for example, a source base station) via a cell 1 wherein the cell 1 is a primary cell of the first base station), a paging message that a network entity has downlink information to transmit to the UE) (Fig.17, [0122], [0139] In the downlink, a base station may transmit one or more Reference Signals (RSs) to a UE [0297] assistance information… RAN paging, [0327] Based on the assistance information…the anchor base station may send an RRC release message to the wireless device via the new base station, [0302] based on having data or signaling to transmit, or receiving RAN paging message); and
transmit (cell1), to the UE (Fig.17), assist information to enable the UE to establish a connection to the network entity (Fig.17, [0139], [0297] assistance information [0327] Based on the assistance information…the anchor base station may send an RRC release message to the wireless device via the new base station, [0342] resources).
Kim do not clearly teach information indicating resources via which a network entity transmits a downlink signal.
Shah teaches information indicating resources via which a network entity transmits a downlink signal (Fig.7, [0334] equipment (UE) is receiving the indication of SDT, which will be scheduled with predefined cells/beams)
Therefore, It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide above teaching of Shah to Kim, in order to reduce signalling overhead and latency.
Considering claim 2, Kim and Shah further teach wherein the DL-RS comprises at least one of a primary synchronization signal (PSS) (Kim: [0099]), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or a tracking reference signal (TRS).
Considering claims 3, 14, Kim and Shah further teach wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to the first network entity (cell 1) (Kim: [0104] report these measurements to the base station), a request for the assist information prior to receiving the assist information (Kim: [0255], [0294] RRC reestablishment complete message may comprise measurement report. Based on receiving the measurement report, the second base station may determine to configure SCells and/or secondary cell groups (e.g., SCG or PSCells), [0303]).
Considering claims 4, 15, Kim and Shah further teach wherein the apparatus is in an idle state or an inactive state with respect to the first network entity, and wherein the request comprises a RACH transmission, a scheduling request (SR) transmission, a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, or an uplink wake-up signal (UL-WUS) transmission (Kim: [0096], [0173].
Considering claims 5, 16, Kim and Shah further teach wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to: receive, from the first network entity (cell 1) (RRC connected, Fig.17), an indication of resources for transmitting the request for the assist information prior to receiving the assist information (Kim: [0255], [0294], [0297] assistance information).
Considering claims 6, 17, Kim and Shah further teach wherein the indicated resources comprise an indication of one or more of a time resource, a frequency resource (Kim: [0092] time-frequency resources), or spatial resource used by the second network entity to transmit the DL-RS.
Considering claims 7, 18, Kim and Shah further teach wherein the apparatus is in a connected state with respect to the first network entity, and wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to the first network entity (Shah: Fig.5, [0316] trigger RA-SDT or CG-SDT. The purpose of RA-SDT or CG-SDT is to inform the base station (gNB)), a report comprising information based on the received DL-RS (Shah: Fig.5, [0316]-[0317] preconfigured cells/beams and reschedule DL data transmission based on the updated location).
Considering claim 8, Kim and Shah further teach wherein the assist information (Kim: [0297]) comprises a report configuration indicating information to be included in the report or a measurement to be included in the report (Kim: [0104] report these measurements to the base station), wherein the measurement is based on the received DL-RS (Kim: Fig.17-18, [0103], [0162]).
Considering claim 9, Kim and Shah further teach wherein the report configuration further indicates one or more of: whether the apparatus is to include a full or partial identifier of the second network entity in the report, whether the apparatus is to include a full or partial beam index of the second network entity in the report, or whether the apparatus is to include full or partial timing information of the DL-RS received from the second network entity (Shah: [0334] equipment (UE) is receiving the indication of SDT, which will be scheduled with predefined cells/beams).
Considering claim 10, Kim and Shah further teach wherein, if the apparatus is to include partial timing information of the DL-RS received from the second network entity, the report configuration further indicates that the apparatus is to include the partial timing information in terms of a reference timing (Shah: [0334] equipment (UE) is receiving the indication of SDT, which will be scheduled with predefined cells/beams), or a delta offset value.
Considering claim 11, Kim and Shah further teach wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to: receive, from the first network entity (Kim: Fig,17, [0327]), a page signal indicating that the second network entity has a downlink transmission for the apparatus (Kim: [0081], [0339] UE may receive the paging message via a cell of a new base station (e.g., a new base station, a target base station, a second base station)), wherein transmitting the report is in response to the page signal (Kim: [0339], Shah: [0038]. [0112]).
Considering claim 12, Kim and Shah further teach wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to: receive, from the second network entity (Kim: [0339] UE may receive the paging message via a cell of a new base station (e.g., a new base station, a target base station, a second base station), additional information omitted from the DL-RS, wherein the additional information is received via the indicated resources after transmitting the report (Shah: [0334] equipment (UE) is receiving the indication of SDT, which will be scheduled with predefined cells/beams).
Considering claim 19, Kim and Shah further teach wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to the network entity, information from the report received from the UE (Shah: Fig.5, [0316]-[0317] trigger RA-SDT or CG-SDT. The purpose of RA-SDT or CG-SDT is to inform the base station (gNB)).
Considering claim 20, Kim and Shah further teach wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to: receive, from the network entity after transmitting the information from the report (Shah: Fig.5, ([0316]-[0317]), an indication of one or more of: (i) whether the network entity will accept a connection with the UE, (ii) timing information network entity signaling, or (iii) resources to be shared with the UE for UE measurements (Kim: [0170]).
Considering claim 21, Kim and Shah further teach wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to the UE, resources to be shared with the UE for UE measurements (Kim: [0170], Shah: [0334]).
Considering claim 22, Kim and Shah further teach wherein the assist information comprises a beam-specific report configuration identifying one or more beams associated with at least one of the apparatus or the network entity (Kim: [0159] indicates beam management, [0162], Shah: [0301]), and wherein the assist information (Paging message) further comprises an indication of a maximum number of beams for which the UE can include information in the beam-specific report (Kim: Fig.12B, [0162] Beam management may comprise beam measurement, beam selection, and beam indication, [0168], Shah: Fig.6-7, [0322], [0334]).
Considering claims 25, 29, Kim and Shah further teach wherein the assist information comprises system information (SI) (Kim: [0194] indicate paging information and/or a system information), and wherein the SI comprises a list of anchor cell identifiers (IDs) that the UE may use for camping (Kim: [0109] cell identities, a list of RAIs, or a list of TAIs).
Considering claims 25, 30, Kim and Shah further teach wherein the SI (Kim: [0194] indicate paging information and/or a system information) further comprises an indication of whether one or more of the anchor cells associated with the list of anchor cell IDs supports paging redirection to the network entity (Kim: [0109] cell identities, a list of RAIs, or a list of TAIs, [0256]. base station may provide redirection information).
Considering claim 26, Kim and Shah further teach wherein the SI (Kim: [0194] indicate paging information and/or a system information) further comprises an indication of an association between one or more of the anchor cells associated with the list of anchor cell IDs and a beam direction used by the second network entity beam (Kim: [0109] cell identities, a list of RAIs, or a list of TAIs, [0146] spatial directions (e.g., using different beams that span a coverage area of the cell).
Considering claim 27, Kim and Shah further teach wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to: transmit, to the first network entity prior to receiving the assist information, one or more of: (i) an indication of at least one of a class of the apparatus or a capability of the apparatus, (ii) an indication of a signal quality the apparatus expects from an anchor node, (iii) an indication of a signal strength the apparatus expects from an anchor node, (iv) an indication of a quality of service (QoS) supported by the apparatus, or (v) an indication of a type of traffic communicated by the apparatus (Kim: [0038]).
Conclusion
/KHAI M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641