Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP document R1-2212129.
R1-2212129 teaches:
1. An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and configured to cause the UE to:
receive at least one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a reference signal in a compact burst set from a network node (Fig. 1, compact SSB burst by avoiding gaps between SSB transmissions);
receive a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission for remaining system information (RMSI) in a monitoring occasion that has a fixed location relative to an associated SSB or an associated reference signal in the compact burst set (RMSI signaled via SSB, p. 3, final paragraph); and
receive an RMSI physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission, wherein the RMSI PDSCH transmission includes information indicating a pattern for the compact burst set (UEs can be notified about new compact pattern via SI broadcasting, first paragraph under Fig. 1).
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
transmit or receive communication based on timing associated with the SSB in a compact SSB burst set using the pattern indicated in the RMSI (UEs can be notified about new compact pattern via SI broadcasting, first paragraph under Fig. 1).
3. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein to synchronize with the network node, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to:
determine based on the SSB or the reference signal and the pattern indicated in the RMSI, at least one of a slot index or a symbol index (UEs can be notified about new compact pattern via SI broadcasting, first paragraph under Fig. 1).
21. An apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising:
one or more memories; and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors configured to cause the network node to:
provide a signal including at least one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a reference signal in a compact burst set (Fig. 1, compact SSB burst by avoiding gaps between SSB transmissions);
provide a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission for remaining system information (RMSI) in a monitoring occasion that has a fixed location relative to an associated SSB or an associated reference signal in the compact burst set (RMSI signaled via SSB, p. 3, final paragraph); and
provide an RMSI physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission, wherein the RMSI PDSCH transmission includes information indicating a pattern for the compact burst set (UEs can be notified about new compact pattern via SI broadcasting, first paragraph under Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R1-2212129 as applied to claims 1 and 21 above, and further in view of Jeong, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2025/0024553.
R1-2212129 teaches a method of minimizing time lag in a wireless communications system. R1-212129 does not teach associating a PDCCH monitoring occasion with an SSB. Jeong teaches associating a PDCCH monitoring occasion with an SSB. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing to modify the teachings of R1-2212129 to incorporate the known technique of SSB association as taught by Jeong in order to obtain the predictable result of minimizing overhead signaling.
The combination teaches:
8. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
monitor for PDCCH transmission for the RMSI in multiple physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasions associated with the SSB or the reference signal (a set of S PDCCH monitoring occasions, where S denotes the number of SSBs, [0054], Jeong).
Claim(s) 9, 10, 22, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R1-2212129 as applied to claims 1 and 21 above, and further in view of Agiwal, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2025/0031184.
R1-2212129 teaches a method of minimizing transmission time in a wireless communications method. R1-2212129 does not teach setting monitoring occasions. However, Agiwal teaches setting monitoring occasions. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing to modify the teachings of R1-2212129 to incorporate the known technique of setting monitoring occasions as taught by Agiwal in order to obtain the predictable result of minimizing overhead signaling.
The combination teaches:
9. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence generation for the RMSI on at least one of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) is independent of a slot index or a symbol index (pattern 1 sets the PDCCH monitoring occasions at every 20ms, which is neither a slot nor symbol index, Agiwal, [0097]).
10. The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the DMRS sequence generation for the RMSI is initialized based on a fixed value (pattern 1 sets the PDCCH monitoring occasions at every 20ms, which is neither a slot nor symbol index, Agiwal, [0097]).
22. The apparatus of claim 21 wherein the signal includes a compact SSB burst set, a simplified SSB, or the SSB without a physical broadcast channel (PBCH), or a discovery reference signal (pattern 1 sets the PDCCH monitoring occasions at every 20ms, which is neither a slot nor symbol index, Agiwal, [0097]).
24. The apparatus of claim 21, wherein a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence generation for the RMSI on at least one of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) is independent of a slot index or a symbol index (pattern 1 sets the PDCCH monitoring occasions at every 20ms, which is neither a slot nor symbol index, Agiwal, [0097]).
Claim(s) 11 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of R1-2212129 in view of Agiwal as applied to claims 9 and 22 above, and further in view of Nam, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0349149.
R1-2212129 in view of Agiwal teaches minimizing a transmission time by utilizing set monitoring occasions. The combination does not teach utilizing DMRS initialization values. However, Nam teaches utilizing DMRS initialization values. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the arts at the time of filing to modify the combination of R1-2212129 in view of Agiwal to incorporate the known technique of utilizing DMRS initialization values as taught by Nam in order to obtain the predictable result of minimizing overhead signaling.
The combination teaches:
11. The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
receive an indication of an initialization value for the DMRS sequence generation for the RMSI prior to receiving the RMSI (different DMRS initialization values are utilized to distinguish RMSI from OSI, it would be inherent that these values would be received prior to receiving the RMSI, [0117], Nam).
25. The apparatus of claim 24, wherein the DMRS sequence generation for the RMSI is initialized based on a fixed value, or wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to provide an indication of an initialization value for the DMRS sequence generation for the RMSI prior to receiving the RMSI (different DMRS initialization values are utilized to distinguish RMSI from OSI, it would be inherent that these values would be received prior to receiving the RMSI, [0117], Nam).
Claim(s) 12 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R1-2212129 in view of Agiwal as applied to claims 9 and 24 above, and further in view of Lee, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0279590.
R1-2212129 in view of Agiwal teaches minimizing a transmission time by utilizing set monitoring occasions. The combination does not teach associating DMRS with an SSB index. However, Lee teaches associating DMRS with an SSB index. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the arts at the time of filing to modify the combination of R1-2212129 in view of Agiwal to incorporate the known technique of associating DMRS with an SSB index as taught by Lee in order to obtain the predictable result of minimizing overhead signaling.
The combination teaches:
12. The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the DMRS sequence generation for the RMSI is a function of an SSB index of the SSB (DMRS sequence utilized to signal SSB index, [0178], Lee).
26. The apparatus of claim 24, wherein the DMRS sequence generation for the RMSI is a function of an SSB index of the SSB (DMRS sequence utilized to signal SSB index, [0178], Lee).
Claim(s) 13 - 20 and 27 - 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R1-2212129 in view of Maaref, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2025/0081185.
R1-2212129 teaches a streamlined communications method for a wireless communications system. R1-2212129 does not teach utilizing a raster to send information. However, Maaref teaches utilizing a raster to send information. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of R1-2212129 to incorporate the known technique of raster transmission as taught by Maaref in order to obtain the predictable result of efficient information deployment.
The combination teaches:
13. An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more memories; and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and configured to cause the UE to:
monitor for a compact synchronization signal blocks (SSB) burst set from a first cell on a raster based on a compact SSB pattern associated with the raster (SSB raster is defined for a frequency band of the cell, [0203], Maaref, it would be obvious to use a known technique with the compact SSB taught by R1-2212129); and
synchronize with the first cell based on at least one received SSB in the compact SSB burst set (RMSI signaled via SSB, p. 3, final paragraph, R1-2212129).
14. The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the raster is one of a plurality of synchronization rasters, each synchronization raster having an associated compact SSB pattern (SSB raster is defined for a frequency band of the cell, [0203], Maaref).
15. The apparatus of claim l 3, wherein an association between the raster and the compact SSB pattern is defined (SSB raster is defined for a frequency band of the cell, [0203], Maaref, it would be obvious to use a known technique with the compact SSB taught by R1-2212129).
16. The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
receive an indication of the compact SSB pattern for the raster in a radio resource control (RRC) message from the first cell or a second cell (UEs can be notified about new compact pattern via SI broadcasting, first paragraph under Fig. 1, R1-2212129).
17. The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
receive an indication of the compact SSB pattern for the raster in system information from a second cell (UEs can be notified about new compact pattern via SI broadcasting, first paragraph under Fig. 1, R1-2212129).
18. The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
receive an indication of the compact SSB pattern for the raster in operations, administration, and management (OAM) signaling indicating a burst composition and at least one of a frequency or cell identifier (ID) for each of one or more) cells (UEs can be notified about new compact pattern via SI broadcasting, first paragraph under Fig. 1, R1-2212129).
19. The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
receive, for each of a plurality of frequencies, an indication of an associated compact SSB pattern, wherein the raster for the compact SSB pattern is associated with one of the plurality of frequencies (SSB raster is defined for a frequency band of the cell, [0203], Maaref, it would be obvious to use a known technique with the compact SSB taught by R1-2212129).
20. The apparatus of claim 19, wherein the associated compact SSB pattern is indicated for each cell operating on a respective frequency (SSB raster is defined for a frequency band of the cell, [0203], Maaref, 2025/0081185, it would be obvious to use a known technique with the compact SSB taught by R1-2212129).
27. An apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors are configured to cause the network node to:
provide multiple synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) in a compact SSB burst set on a raster based on a compact SSB pattern associated with the raster (SSB raster is defined for a frequency band of the cell, [0203], Maaref, it would be obvious to use a known technique with the compact SSB taught by R1-2212129); and
communicate with at least one user equipment (UE) after providing the compact SSB burst set (RMSI signaled via SSB, p. 3, final paragraph, R1-2212129).
28. The apparatus of claim 27, wherein the raster is one of a plurality of synchronization rasters, each synchronization raster having an associated compact SSB pattern (SSB raster is defined for a frequency band of the cell, [0203], Maaref, it would be obvious to use a known technique with the compact SSB taught by R1-2212129).
29. The apparatus of claim27,wherein an association between the raster and the compact SSB pattern is defined (SSB raster is defined for a frequency band of the cell, [0203], Maaref, it would be obvious to use a known technique with the compact SSB taught by R1-2212129).
30. The apparatus of claim 27, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to:
provide an indication of the compact SSB pattern for the raster in one or more of:
a radio resource control (RRC) message, system information, or operations, administration, and management (OAM) signaling indicating a frequency, cell identifier (ID), and burst composition for each of one or more cells (UEs can be notified about new compact pattern via SI broadcasting, first paragraph under Fig. 1, R1-2212129).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim4 - 7, and 23 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PETER G. SOLINSKY
Examiner
Art Unit 2463
/Peter G Solinsky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463