DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
heat exchange element.
The aforementioned limitation meets the three-prong test outlined herein since:
(A) the term “element” is a generic placeholder, (B) the generic placeholder is modified by functional language (e.g. “heat exchange element exchanging heat”), and (C) the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structures, material or acts for performing the claimed function.
A review of the specification shows that the following appear to be the corresponding structures for the aforementioned 112(f) limitation(s):
The disclosure defines heat exchange element as Air-to-Air heat exchanger, see Figure 6. Therefore, the heat exchange element will be construed as Air-to-Air heat exchanger, and/or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the internal space”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, it’s unclear as to what Applicant is referring to by the internal space, internal space of what structure? To expedite prosecution, Examiner interprets the above to read as if Applicant is claiming an internal space of the heat exchange unit.
Regarding Claim 1, the recitation of “a third damper for discharging outdoor air” is unclear since the claim already defines the outdoor air. To expedite prosecution, Examiner interprets the above to read as “a third damper for discharging the outdoor air”.
Regarding Claim 2, the recitation of “wherein the heat exchange unit comprises: an indoor air inflow space communicating with the inlet unit through a fourth damper and receiving the indoor air from the inlet unit; an indoor air discharge space disposed in a position opposite to the indoor air inflow space and communicating with the outlet unit through a fifth damper to discharge the indoor air to the outlet unit; an outdoor air inflow space receiving outdoor air into the indoors through the second damper; and an outdoor air discharge space disposed in a position opposite to the outdoor air inflow space and discharging outdoor air to the outdoors through the third damper” is unclear. It’s unclear as to what Applicant is referring to by “a fourth damper” and “a fifth damper” since claim 1 already recites “a fourth damper” and “a fifth damper”. Therefore, it’s unclear if the “a fourth damper” and “a fifth damper” of claim 2 are the same of claim 1 or different? To expedite prosecution, Examiner interprets the above to read as if the “a fourth damper” and “a fifth damper” of claim 2 are the same of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 2, the recitations of “receiving outdoor air” and “discharging outdoor air” are unclear since the claim already defines the outdoor air. To expedite prosecution, Examiner interprets the above to read as “receiving the outdoor air” and “discharging the outdoor air”
Regarding Claim 4, the recitation of “indoor and outdoor air moves in an 'X' shaped path.” is unclear since the claim already defines the indoor and outdoor air. Furthermore, the above the recitation is referring to the indoor air and the outdoor air as if both is a single airflow (i.e. moves) while each air is a separate and independent airflow. To expedite prosecution, Examiner interprets the above to read as “the indoor air and the outdoor air move in an 'X' shaped”.
Claim 5 recites the limitation " the refrigerant”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. To expedite prosecution, Examiner interprets the above to read as “a refrigerant”.
Regarding Claim 6, the recitation of “is cooled by outdoor air” is unclear since claims 1 and 2 already define the outdoor air. To expedite prosecution, Examiner interprets the above to read as “is cooled by the outdoor air”.
Regarding Claim 9, the recitation of “indoor air flows” is unclear since claim 1 already defines the indoor air. To expedite prosecution, Examiner interprets the above to read as “the indoor air flows”.
Claims 3, 7, and 8 are rejected at least insofar as they are dependent on rejected claim(s), and therefore include the same error(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI (KR-102388854-B1: Machine Translation is provided by Examiner) in view of OH (KR-102105012-B1: Machine Translation is provided by Examiner).
Regarding Claim 1, CHOI teaches an indoor and outdoor air exchange-typed thermo-hygrostat (see Figure 3) comprising:
an inlet unit (unit of 130a: see Figure 6) configured to have an indoor air inlet (130) through which indoor air flows (see Figure 6);
an outlet unit (unit of 110a) configured to be disposed on the inlet unit (see Figure 6), forming a space independent from the inlet unit (see Figure 6), communicates with the inlet unit by the opening and closing operation of a first damper (180a: see Figure 4 ), provided with an evaporator (110) that exchanges heat with indoor air therein (see ¶ [0047]), above the first damper (180a), and formed with an indoor air outlet (140) discharging a cooled indoor air (see ¶ [0050]);
a heat exchange unit (unit of 150a and 200: see Figures 6 and 7) configured to be disposed behind the inlet unit and the outlet unit (see Figure 6), form a space independent of the inlet unit and the outlet unit (see Figure 6 ), respectively, communicate with the inlet unit through the opening and closing operation of a fourth damper (220b), be provided with a second damper (240) for receiving outdoor air, and provided with a heat exchange element (210) exchanging heat between the indoor and outdoor air (see ¶ [0072]) and partitioning the internal space (see Figure 7).
CHOI does not teach that the fourth damper (220b) formed on an indoor side facing indoors, communicate with the outlet unit through a fifth damper and a third damper for discharging outdoor air provided on an outdoor side facing outdoors.
However, it’s old and well known for indoor and outdoor air exchange-typed units to have multiple dampers covering the vents between the compartments/sections of the indoor and outdoor air exchange-typed units, as evidenced by OH, see OH’s Figures 2 and 3 where the indoor and outdoor air exchange unit comprises seven dampers (D1-D7) including dampers that cover discharging outdoor air (D4).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the indoor and outdoor air exchange unit of CHOI with fourth damper formed on an indoor side facing indoors, communicate with the outlet unit through a fifth damper and a third damper for discharging outdoor air provided on an outdoor side facing outdoors, since as evidenced by OH, such provision was old and well-known in the art, and would provide the predictable benefit of controlling the path of air flow based on the desired resulted (i.e. heat recovery, cooling , introducing fresh air, etc.).
Regarding Claim 7, CHOI as modified further teaches wherein the outlet unit (unit of 110a) further includes a first blowing fan (170a) disposed above the evaporator (110: see Figure 6), and wherein only cooled air stays above the evaporator and is discharged indoors through the indoor air outlet by the first blowing fan (see Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 8, CHOI as modified further teaches wherein a vertical length of the outlet unit (unit of 110a) is formed to be longer than a vertical length of the inlet unit (unit of 130a: see Figure 6); and wherein a vertical length of the heat exchange unit (unit of 150a and 200: see Figures 6 and 7) is equal to the sum of the vertical length of the inlet unit and the vertical length of the outlet unit (see Figures 6 and 7).
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI (KR 102388854 B1: Machine Translation is provided by Examiner) in view of OH (KR 102105012 B1: Machine Translation is provided by Examiner) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of LAMPING (DE 102018213274 A1: Machine Translation is provided by Examiner).
Regarding Claim 4, CHOI as modified further teaches wherein an operating mode of the thermo-hygrostat includes a summer mode in which the indoor air is cooled by passing through the evaporator (110 : see Figure 11) and a winter mode in which the indoor air is cooled by heat exchange with the outdoor air in the heat exchange element without passing through the evaporator (110: see Figure 12) and inside the heat exchange element, indoor and outdoor air moves in an 'X' shaped path (see Figure 12 where inside the heat exchange element 210, indoor and outdoor air moves in an 'X' shaped path ).
CHOI does not teach wherein when operating in winter mode, the flow paths of the indoor air and outdoor air flowing into the heat exchange unit are parallel, but the directions are opposite.
However, such operating mode is well known in the art where no fresh air is being introduce into the room, as evidenced by LAMPING, see LAMPING’s Figures 1 and 4 where heat exchange unit with a housing (1) with an indoor air inlet (11), an indoor air outlet (12), an outdoor air outlet (13), an outside air inlet (14), and heat exchange element (31 and 32) where in one operating mode, the flow paths of the indoor air (AB-ZU) and outdoor air (AU-FO) flowing into the heat exchange unit are parallel, but the directions are opposite and inside the heat exchange element, indoor and outdoor air moves in an 'X' shaped path (see Figure 4 where the indoor air (AB-ZU) and outdoor air (AU-FO) are parallel, but the directions are opposite and inside (31 and 31), indoor and outdoor air moves in an 'X' shaped path.
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the indoor and outdoor air exchange unit of CHOI in view of OH with when operating in winter mode, the flow paths of the indoor air and outdoor air flowing into the heat exchange unit are parallel, but the directions are opposite, since as evidenced by OH, such provision was old and well-known in the art, and would provide the predictable benefit of providing the indoor air with the desired outdoor temperature without compromising the air quality.
Regarding Claim 9, CHOI as modified further teaches wherein regardless of the operating mode of the thermo-hygrostat, indoor air flows into the inlet unit only through the single indoor air inlet (see Figures 10 and 11 where the indoor air flows into the inlet unit only through 130).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 2 is allowable over prior art since the prior art taken individually or in combination fails to particularly disclose, fairly suggest, or render obvious “the heat exchange unit comprises: an indoor air inflow space communicating with the inlet unit through a fourth damper and receiving the indoor air from the inlet unit; an indoor air discharge space disposed in a position opposite to the indoor air inflow space and communicating with the outlet unit through a fifth damper to discharge the indoor air to the outlet unit; an outdoor air inflow space receiving outdoor air into the indoors through the second damper; and an outdoor air discharge space disposed in a position opposite to the outdoor air inflow space and discharging outdoor air to the outdoors through the third damper”, in combination with the other limitations recited as specified in the independent claim.
Conclusion
/KHALED AHMED ALI AL SAMIRI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763