DETAILED ACTION
Style
In this action unitalicized bold is used for claim language, while italicized bold is used for emphasis.
Applicant Reply
“The claims may be amended by canceling particular claims, by presenting new claims, or by rewriting particular claims as indicated in 37 CFR 1.121(c). The requirements of 37 CFR 1.111(b) must be complied with by pointing out the specific distinctions believed to render the claims patentable over the references in presenting arguments in support of new claims and amendments. . . . The prompt development of a clear issue requires that the replies of the applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims. Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP § 2163.06. . . . An amendment which does not comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.121(b), (c), (d), and (h) may be held not fully responsive. See MPEP § 714.” MPEP § 714.02. Generic statements or listing of numerous paragraphs do not “specifically point out the support for” claim amendments. “With respect to newly added or amended claims, applicant should show support in the original disclosure for the new or amended claims. See, e.g., Hyatt v. Dudas, 492 F.3d 1365, 1370, n.4, 83 USPQ2d 1373, 1376, n.4 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (citing MPEP § 2163.04 which provides that a ‘simple statement such as ‘applicant has not pointed out where the new (or amended) claim is supported, nor does there appear to be a written description of the claim limitation ‘___’ in the application as filed’ may be sufficient where the claim is a new or amended claim, the support for the limitation is not apparent, and applicant has not pointed out where the limitation is supported.’)” MPEP § 2163(II)(A).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, each claimed state machine must be shown or the state machine must be canceled from the claim. Claim 21 recites “wherein the state machine is configured to transition from any user-defined state to the interrupt state responsive to an interruption by the audience and to revert to a prior state following the interrupt state[.]” But Figure 10, filed 08/18/2026, only shows a transition to the interrupt state from the “Agenda” user defined state. See Fig. 10. A drawing showing all claimed states is required. No new matter should be entered.
Please note that any amendments to the claims which include specific states or transitions in a state machine, such as inclusion of states for various types of bots implemented using state machines, will require corresponding states or transitions to be included in the drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-21 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Generally: separately listed claim elements are construed as distinct components, all claim terms must be given weight, and there is presumed to be a difference in meaning and scope when different words or phrases are used in separate claims. Since different term or phrases are presumed to differ in scope and each term or phrase in the claims must find clear support in the description, a description of a single element in the Specification may fail to support multiple claim terms. “[C]laims must ‘conform to the invention as set forth in the remainder of the specification and the terms and phrases used in the claims must find clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description.’ 37 C.F.R. § 1.75(d)(1).” Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (as cited in MPEP § 2111). Further, a lack of lack of detail in the Specification describing how a claimed result is achieved can support a finding that the Applicant was not in possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing, notwithstanding verbatim support. “It is not enough that one skilled in the art could write a program to achieve the claimed function because the specification must explain how the inventor intends to achieve the claimed function to satisfy the written description requirement. See, e.g., Vasudevan Software, Inc. v. MicroStrategy, Inc., 782 F.3d 671, 681-683, 114 USPQ2d 1349, 1356, 1357 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (reversing and remanding the district court’s grant of summary judgment of invalidity for lack of adequate written description where there were genuine issues of material fact regarding "whether the specification show[ed] possession by the inventor of how accessing disparate databases is achieved"). If the specification does not provide a disclosure of the computer and algorithm in sufficient detail to demonstrate to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor possessed the invention a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, for lack of written description must be made.” MPEP § 2161.01(I). “An original claim may lack written description support when (1) the claim defines the invention in functional language specifying a desired result but the disclosure fails to sufficiently identify how the function is performed or the result is achieved[.] See Ariad Pharms., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc). The written description requirement is not necessarily met when the claim language appears in ipsis verbis in the specification. ‘Even if a claim is supported by the specification, the language of the specification, to the extent possible, must describe the claimed invention so that one skilled in the art can recognize what is claimed. The appearance of mere indistinct words in a specification or a claim, even an original claim, does not necessarily satisfy that requirement.’” MPEP § 2163.03.
Claim 15 recites “each state of the state machine is associated with corresponding visual content[.]” The Specification explains “Each state associates with corresponding visual content on the meeting platform, which pauses when the state transitions and resumes when back in that state again.” Spec. ¶24. Figure 10 shows a state machine in which visual content (602) “pauses when state machine 600 transitions away from the current state; resumes when the state machine returns to the current state[.]” This does not support a visual content corresponding with “each state of the state machine.”
All dependent claims are rejected as containing the limitations of the claims from which they depend.
Claim 15-21 and 23-25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Generally: separately listed claim elements are construed as distinct components, that all claim terms must be given weight, there is presumed to be a difference in meaning and scope when different words or phrases are used in separate claims, and repeated and consistent descriptions in the specification indicate the proper scope of a claimed term. “[C]laims must ‘conform to the invention as set forth in the remainder of the specification and the terms and phrases used in the claims must find clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description.’ 37 C.F.R. § 1.75(d)(1).” Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (as cited in MPEP § 2111). Therefore, use of two different terms in the claims that both rely on the description of a single structure in the Specification may render at least one term indefinite because there is no way to determine which term should be construed in view of the description of the single structure.
Claim 15 recites “each state of the state machine is associated with corresponding visual content . . . the displayed visual content pauses when the state machine transitions away from the current state and resumes when the state machine returns to the current state.” This language appears to require “each state” to correspond to visual content, while also reciting “visual content pauses” during some states. This language seems contradictory. While this may be aimed at some states corresponding to visual content with other states that correspond to a pause in the visual content, the language referring to “each state” having a visual context simply cannot be reconciled with states not being associated with any visual content. See also Fig. 10 and Spec. ¶24.
Claim 21 recites “an audio connection state, a first state, a hold state, an interrupt state, and a tangent state, and wherein the state machine is configured to transition from any user-defined state to the interrupt state responsive to an interruption by the audience and to revert to a prior state following the interrupt state, to transition to the tangent state responsive to a query deviating from the directed conversation and to revert to the prior state, and to transition to the hold state responsive to a pause request by the audience.” It is not clear whether the tangent state and the hold states can be the next state after any user-defined state or if these states are limited to steps directly after a sub-set of the user-defined states. The claim language explicitly recites transitioning from “any user-defined state” to the interrupt state, but omits corresponding language when reciting transitions to the tangent and hold states, implying that the tangent and hold states cannot be directly after any user-defined state. Further, Figure 10 implies that the finite state machine only allows direct transitions to the tangent state and the hold state following a product state and a final state, respectively. Adding to the confusion, the product state and the final state are not explicitly claimed. Since there is no way to determine whether or not the tangent state or hold state can directly follow “any user-defined state” claim 21 is indefinite.
Claim 21 recites “wherein the state machine is configured to transition from any user-defined state to the interrupt state[.]” First, there is no antecedent basis for “any user-defined state” making it unclear whether this refers back to a specific set of other states, used to provide antecedent basis. Second, it is not clear which states this would refer back to. The Specification explains system-defined states as the audio connection, first, hold, interrupt, and tangent states. Spec. ¶24. The Specification explains the “user-defined states” as “any other states defined by the user[.]” Spec. ¶24. “The user-defined states for this specific example are Agenda, Product, and Final. User-defined states provided in Table 1 can be more than the ones presented here to refine the conversation and to provide more instruction to the AI sales agent.” Spec. ¶26. There are two issues here. First, the description indicates that the agenda product, and final states are optionally user-defined (“user-defined states for this specific example[.]” Spec ¶26.) This makes it unclear whether or not the claimed user-defined states necessary include these states. Second, it is not clear whether “user-defined” refers to states that are configured in the system by a user (i.e. where the user actually sets the parameters of the states) or if these states are merely entered or exited based on how the user interacts with the system (i.e. the “product” state results from the user asking about a specific product, thereby defining the particular instance of that state.) Without any clear guidance indicating when a state is user-defined or indicating what distinguishes a user-defined state from a non-user-defined state, claim language including this term is indefinite.
All dependent claims are rejected as containing the limitations of the claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15-21 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) and the claims as a whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more.
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
All claims are found to be directed to one of the four statutory categories, unless otherwise indicated in this action.
Step 2A Prongs One and Two (Alice Step 1): According to Office guidance, claims that read on math do not recite an abstract idea at step 2A1, when the claims fail to refer to the math by name.1 The MPEP also equates “recit[ing] a judicial exception” with “state[ing]” or “describ[ing]” an abstract idea in the claims.2 Consistent with this guidance, an abstract idea may be first recited in a dependent claim even though the independent claims read on that abstract idea. Claim limitations which recite any of the abstract idea groupings set forth in the manual are found to be directed, as a whole, to an abstract idea unless otherwise indicated.3 The claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.4 To confer patent eligibility to an otherwise abstract idea, claims may recite a specific means or method of solving a specific problem in a technological field.5
Independent Claims
15. A computer program product for facilitating a directed conversation according to a criteria between an artificially-intelligent (AI) agent and an audience (The invention is directed to “facilitating a directed conversation.” Facilitating a directed conversation is a way of “managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people[.]” MPEP § 2106.04. This abstract concept is not patent eligible, even when implemented using a computer. The claims include generic computer components in the form of a “computer program product” and a generic “artificially-intelligent (AI) agent,” but these are mere instructions to apply the claimed abstract concept using conventional computer components. The language “according to criteria” can be read as non-limiting because no actual criteria are named and some criterion for facilitating and directing is inherent. Alternatively, the “criteria” merely limit the facilitating to a particular field of use.) having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions executable on a processing circuit to cause the processing circuit to perform the steps comprising: (This is a mere instruction to implement the abstract idea using generic computer components.) receiving by an AI system including the AI agent, (Receiving data is mere extra-solution activity.) a state machine controlling the directed conversation wherein each state of the state machine is associated with corresponding visual content; (This is a mere instruction to implement the abstract idea using generic computer components, in the form of a generically described “state machine.”) ingesting a knowledge base for the directed conversation by the AI system; (Receiving or generically inputting data is mere extra-solution activity.) and providing, by the AI agent, an interactive presentation for the directed conversation as indicated by the state machine, (Providing an interactive presentation for the “directed conversation” reads on the abstract idea of “managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people[.]”) The language invoking a generic “AI agent” and “state machine” merely one of ordinary skill to implement the abstract idea using generic computer components.) wherein providing the interactive presentation comprises, for each conversation cycle of the directed conversation: determining a current state of the state machine; (This reads on a mental process, implemented using conventional computer components.) and synchronizing displayed visual content with the current state, the displayed visual content comprising the corresponding visual content associated with the current state, wherein the displayed visual content pauses when the state machine transitions away from the current state and resumes when the state machine returns to the current state. (This reads on merely displaying the results associated the determined state of the state machine. Displaying results in extra-solution activity.)
Step 2B (Alice Step 2): The rejected claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
All additional limitations that do not integrate the claimed judicial exception into a practical application also fail to amount to significantly more, for the reasons given at step 2A2. All limitations found to be extra-solution activity at step 2A2 are found to be WURC, including limitations that read on mere data gathering, data storage, and data input/output/transfer. The claims recite “receiving by an AI system including the AI agent,” and “ingesting a knowledge base for the directed conversation by the AI system[.]” Both of these read on generic I/O and/or storage operations, which have been found to be WURC. The claims further recite “synchronizing displayed visual content with the current state, the displayed visual content comprising the corresponding visual content associated with the current state wherein the displayed visual content pauses when the state machine transitions away from the current state and resumes when the state machine returns to the current state.” This reads on displaying certain content/results associated with the determined state of the state machine. Displaying results is WURC. Should any other claim limitations be rejected at step 2A1 as extra-solution activity but omitted in the section directly above, such limitations are also found to be WURC at this step. Generic data input/output, storage, repetitive processing operations, and generic display of information and have been found to be generic WURC operations that do not transform the abstract idea into patent eligible subject matter, at the Alice step two analysis.6 Other aspects of generic computing have also been found to be WURC.7 Further, the description itself may provide support for a finding that claim elements are WURC. The analysis under § 112(a) as to whether a claim element is “so well-known that it need not be described in detail in the patent specification” is the same as the analysis as to whether the claim element is widely prevalent or in common use.8 Similarly, generic descriptions in the Specification of claimed components and features has been found to support a conclusion that the claimed components were conventional.9 Improvements to the relevant technology may support a finding that the claims include a patent eligible inventive concept. But some mechanism that results in any asserted improvements must be recited in the claim, and the Specification must provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing the improvement.10 This applies to the dependent claims below.
Dependent Claims:
16. The computer program product of claim 15, wherein each entry in the received state machine further comprises: a name, an instruction to perform by the AI agent, a transition condition, a next state, and an action for the AI agent to take after performing the instruction. (Inclusion of aspects of the conversation in the state machine merely limits to a data environment associated with a particular field of use.)
17. The computer program product of claim 15, wherein the criteria is defined by the received state machine. (This is merely an instruction to facilitate the conversation using a generic state machine.)
18. The computer program product of claim 15, wherein the directed conversation is emulating a virtual sales agent. (This merely limits to a particular field of use.)
19. The computer program product of claim 15, wherein the directed conversation is emulating a virtual customer service representative. (This merely limits to a particular field of use.)
20. The computer program product of claim 15, wherein the directed conversation is emulating a virtual healthcare provider. (This merely limits to a particular field of use.)
21. The computer program product of claim 15, further comprising: incorporating a set of predefined built-in system states in the state machine and wherein the set of predefined built-in system states includes an audio connection state, a first state, a hold state, an interrupt state, and a tangent state and wherein the state machine is configured to transition from any user-defined state to the interrupt state responsive to an interruption by the audience and to revert to a prior state following the interrupt state, to transition to the tangent state responsive to a query deviating from the directed conversation and to revert to the prior state, and to transition to the hold state responsive to a pause request by the audience. (Each of these states read on aspects of facilitating a directed conversation, and are therefore part of the abstract idea itself (i.e. assuring the other participant is within hearing range, initializing the conversation, waiting if asked, responding to interruptions, and responding to tangential comments, respectively. Implementation of these “states” using a “state machine” is, at best, an instruction to implement the abstract idea using generic computer components, though the state machine including the above states also reads on a mental process.)
23. The computer program product of claim 15, wherein the directed conversation is emulating a virtual instructor. (This merely limits to a particular field of use.)
24. The computer program product of claim 15, wherein the directed conversation is emulating a virtual advisory service provider. (This merely limits to a particular field of use.)
25. The computer program product of claim 15, wherein the directed conversation is emulating a virtual recruiter. (This merely limits to a particular field of use.)
All dependent claims are rejected as containing the material of the claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Yi (A Chatbot by Combining Finite State Machine, Information Retrieval, and Bot-Initiative Strategy, 2017).
15. A computer program product for facilitating a directed conversation according to a criteria between an artificially-intelligent (AI) agent and an audience having program instructions embodied therewith, (“In this work, we developed a computationally efficient conversational system by combining a finite state machine, an information retrieval model and a machine-initiative dialogue.” Yi p. 1.) the program instructions executable on a processing circuit to cause the processing circuit to perform the steps comprising: (“To build a conversational model, we used data from various sources. First, to handle everyday conversations, we used Evi1 and dialogue data scrapped [sic] from Twitter2.” Yi p. 2. “To classify the input sentence to one of the classes and to retrieve an appropriate response from dataset, we vectorized all the documents in the data using TF-IDF(term frequency-inverse document frequency). We used TF-IDF because it is a computationally efficient algorithm to match documents relevant to queries[13] and enables state-of-art accuracies in sentence classification[10, 11].. . . We considered the 40,000 most frequent n-grams (up to bigrams) from the data. Therefore, each input documents are converted to vectors with 40,000 dimension which each elements represent one of the 40,000 most frequent n-grams.” Yi p. 6. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand an algorithm built conversational model, built using online conversations based on 40,000 n-grams (i.e. 40,000 probabilities a token will appear) to be implemented using instructions running on a “processing circuit” (i.e. a processor). “[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968)[.]” MPEP § 2144.01.11) receiving by an AI system including the AI agent, a state machine controlling the directed conversation, (“In this work, we developed a computationally efficient conversational system by combining a finite state machine, an information retrieval model and a machine-initiative dialogue.” Yi p. 1. The claimed “receiving” of the state machine by an AI system reads on combining of the parts of the system including the finite state machine.) wherein each state of the state machine is associated with corresponding visual content (“The retrieval model consists of four steps. First, it detects keywords or named-entities(NE) from the input sentence. Second, it handles context based on the detected NE’s. Third, with the keywords information and context, the topic of the input is classified into one of the grouped classes of Washington Post data or ‘Casual’ class which uses Twitter corpus and represents everyday conversations. Finally, from the Twitter or Washington Post data, an appropriate answer is retrieved and sent to the user.” Yi P. 5. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand an answer that “retrieved and sent to the user” from online digital written formats such as the Washington Post or Twitter as being displayed on the screen of the user. With respect to “each state” corresponding to visual context, note that this claim also recites “the displayed visual content pauses when the state machine transitions away from the current state and resumes when the state machine returns to the current state.” See infra. This indicates that only some states are associated with corresponding visual content.) ingesting a knowledge base for the directed conversation by the AI system; (“To build a conversational model, we used data from various sources. First, to handle everyday conversations, we used Evi1 and dialogue data scrapped from Twitter2. Also to answer the user queries that request informations, our system used external knowledge sources including Wikipedia, Wolfram alpha, Urban Dictionary, BBC Good Food3, Rotten Tomatoes, Official Charts4, DBpedia Spotlight[12], The NewYork Times and Washington Post” Yi p. 2.) and providing, by the AI agent, an interactive presentation for the directed conversation as indicated by the state machine (See Yi p. 4 showing dialog between the user and the system.) wherein providing the interactive presentation comprises, for each conversation cycle of the directed conversation: determining a current state of the state machine; (See Yi, Fig. 2.) and synchronizing displayed visual content with the current state, the displayed visual content comprising the corresponding visual content associated with the current state, wherein the displayed visual content pauses when the state machine transitions away from the current state and resumes when the state machine returns to the current state. (Yi teaches retrieving an appropriate answer and sending it to a user from a source that provides displayed content. See Yi P. 5, cited below. Note that the retrieval is synchronized with the “current state” in Yi based on the multi-round dialoge “current affair.” “When the ‘Greeting’ dialogue is finished or by the request of a user, the dialogue about specific topic starts. The newly grouped classes described in section 2.1 handled. The system will introduce a relevant article from Washington Post to the user and say its opinion about the article by returning one of the comments on the article.” Yi P. 3. Note that “white-colored states are related to ‘Current affair’ dialogue” as explained in the description of Figure 2, in Yi. “The retrieval model consists of four steps. First, it detects keywords or named-entities(NE) from the input sentence. Second, it handles context based on the detected NE’s. Third, with the keywords information and context, the topic of the input is classified into one of the grouped classes of Washington Post data or ‘Casual’ class which uses Twitter corpus and represents everyday conversations. Finally, from the Twitter or Washington Post data, an appropriate answer is retrieved and sent to the user.” Yi P. 5.
16. The computer program product of claim 15, wherein each entry in the received state machine further comprises: a name, (See Yi Fig. 2 showing “UserName” and “UserInfo” as states and “user of interest” as an edge.) an instruction to perform by the AI agent, a transition condition, a next state, and an action for the AI agent to take after performing the instruction. (“Dialogue management based on finite state machine means that a user’s query will transit the current state of the system and the system will respond based on its state and the transition. The state stores the context of conversation and the transition is done by ‘Intent’ where a user’s query is classified by ASK(Alexa Skills Kit) intent model.” Yi p. 3. See also Yi showing multiple hops between various states in the graph.)
17. The computer program product of claim 15, wherein the criteria is defined by the received state machine. (See Yi fig. 2 showing the transitions defined by the state machine.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi and LeadDesk (Chatbot use cases: 25 real-life examples; July 2023, on Wayback Machine)
18. The computer program product of claim 15, wherein the directed conversation is emulating a virtual sales agent. (The previously cited art does not expressly teach that the facilitated conversation between an AI agent and a user audience is limited to emulating a sales agent.
LeadDesk teaches “In this article, we will share with you 25 real-life chatbot use cases in the fields of Customer Service, Marketing and Sales.” LeadDesk p. 2. “A better solution would be to deploy a chatbot on your website and design it to answer basic questions your salespeople get regularly.” LeadDesk p. 5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of LeadDesk because using a chatbot avoids the expense of paying a person.)
19. The computer program product of claim 15, wherein the directed conversation is emulating a virtual customer service representative. (The previously cited art does not expressly teach that the facilitated conversation between an AI agent and a user audience is limited to emulating a virtual customer service representative.
“Here are 25 real-life chatbot use cases in the fields of customer service, marketing and sales.” LeadDesk p. 1. “Chatbot use cases in customer service
1. Chatbots answer questions and inquiries Say a company holds an event. Prior to the event, they hype it up by marketing, in hopes of attracting as big an audience as possible. Now, it’s up to the customer support team to guide the audience and answer any questions that come up. If the audience is small—say 20 to 50 people— this is not a difficult task. But what if 1000 people are coming to the company’s event? Or 5000? Or even 10,000? What then? In this case, providing high-quality support and guidance is not an easy job. Here, a chatbot, thanks to its 24/7 presence and ability to reply instantly, can be of immense help.” LeadDesk p. 4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of LeadDesk because using a chatbot avoids the expense of paying a person. Further, Chatbots are always available, and can cater to a large audience, economically.)
Claims 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi and Chakraborty (Overview of Chatbots with special emphasis on artificial intelligence-enabled ChatGPT in medical science, Oct., 2023.)
20. The computer program product of claim 15, wherein the directed conversation is emulating a virtual healthcare provider. (The previously cited art does not expressly teach that the facilitated conversation between an AI agent and a user audience is limited to emulating a healthcare provider. Chakraborty teaches: “Several scientists provide a simple definition of the Chatbot. They explained that it is a computer program developed to successfully perform conversations between human users and computer programs using the internet. Although it is an artificial conversation entity, it uses AI to respond like an intelligent entity.” Chakraborty p. 2. “Medical diagnosis and treatment are among the most significant application areas for ChatGPT.” Chakraborty p. 9.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Chakaborty because using a chatbot to replace a healthcare provider avoids the expense of paying a person. Further, Chatbots are always available.)
22. The computer program product of claim 15, wherein the directed conversation is emulating a virtual healthcare provider. (See rejection of claim 20.)
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi and Raux (A Finite-State Turn-Taking Model for Spoken Dialog Systems, 2009).
21. The computer program product of claim 15, further comprising: incorporating a set of predefined built-in system states in the state machine and wherein the set of predefined built-in system states includes an audio connection state, a first state, (“Dialogue management based on finite state machine means that a user’s query will transit the current state of the system and the system will respond based on its state and the transition. The state stores the context of conversation and the transition is done by ‘Intent’ where a user’s query is classified by ASK(Alexa Skills Kit) intent model.” Yi p. 3. “The system greets the user and asks some questions about the user. The states named ‘Start’, ‘Yes’ and ‘UserName’ are related to the ‘Greeting’ dialogue.” Yi p. 3. See also Yi fig. 2. Note that the “audio connection” reads in the “start” state (in the context of Alexa) and the “first state” reads on both the user info and user name states.) a hold state, (“Intent named ‘no’ changes a state to default regardless of the current state, so edges from it are omitted.” Yi p. 3, description of fig. 2.) an interrupt state, (The interrupt state reads on states associated with the user changing the subject in Yi, because “interrupt” is not limited to require actually cutting off the machine. That is, an “interrupt” reads on merely interrupting the flow of conversation, but does not require the user talking over the bot. In the interest of compact prosecution, a secondary reference is combined to teach a state associated cutting off.
Raux teaches “Turn-taking, the process by which participants in a conversation alternate speech and silence, is an essential component of spoken interaction. In order to lead productive conversations, people need not only know what to say but also when to say it.” Raux p. 629. “We illustrate our approach by applying the model to a specific turn-taking task: end-of-turn detection.” Raux p. 629. “While Jaffe, Feldstein and Brady were primarily concerned with the analysis of human-human conversations, more recently, several researchers have proposed finite-state machines to control conversational agents.” Raux p. 630. “Our model, the Finite-State Turn-Taking Machine (FSTTM), uses the same six states . . . USER and SYSTEM represent states where one and only one of the participants claims the floor . . . and BOTHS and BOTHU states where both participants claim the floor (following, resp. a SYSTEM and USER state). . . . we apply this model to the control of a conversational agent[.]” Raux p. 630. “Turn transitions with overlap happen when a participant grabs the floor while it still belongs to the other. For example, when a user barges in on a system prompt, both participants hold the floor. Then, the system recognizes the barge in attempt and relinquishes the floor, which becomes user’s. . . . SYSTEM (K,G) → BOTHS (R,K → USER” Raux p. 631. Note that both “BOTHs” and “BOTHu” states teach an interrupt state.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Raux because is part of a scheme that allows better modeling of end of turn detection in conversation, which improves communication.) and a tangent state (“User’s queries such as “Let’s talk about science" or “I want to talk about sports" are classified to this intent. The system will change the state to ‘ArticleAboutTopic’ and give a response like S7 of Figure 3.” Yi p. 4. “Let’s-talk intent This intent is triggered when the input utterance is like “Let’s talk" or “Can we talk about something else". Then the system will suggest to talk about a specific topic and change its state to ‘TopicProposal’.” Yi p. 5. The “tangent state” reads on both states in the citations above.) , and wherein the state machine is configured to transition from any user-defined state to the interrupt state responsive to an interruption by the audience and to revert to a prior state following the interrupt state, (See Raux Fig. 1. Both the user and system state read on “user-defined” states and the combined both (bothu and boths) states can be arrived at either the user and system state.) to transition to the tangent state responsive to a query deviating from the directed conversation and to revert to the prior state, (“Intent named ‘no’ changes a state to default regardless of the current state, so edges from it are omitted. Regardless of the current state, intents other than ‘yes’ intent can go to the states indicated by the transition edges. For example, when the state is in ‘UserInfo’ and the user query is classified as ‘movie’ intent, then the system will give a response about movies and go to ‘Movie’ state.” Yi p. 3. Note that all states can jump to the default state, leading to questions, leading to potentially tangential topics, and ultimately returning to the default state in response to a “no” answer. Note here that “tangent state” refers to the state after the tangential comment has been made, while the default state itself refers to a hold state.) and to transition to the hold state responsive to a pause request by the audience. (“Intent named ‘no’ changes a state to default regardless of the current state, so edges from it are omitted.” Yi p. 3, description of fig. 2.)
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi and Stanford (Chatbot as a teaching tool, July 2023, wayback)
23. The computer program product of claim 15, wherein the directed conversation is emulating a virtual instructor. (The previously cited art does not expressly teach that the facilitated conversation between an AI agent and a user audience is limited to a virtual instructor.
Stanford teaches “A chatbot is a text-based conversational AI agent. Through turns of conversation, a chatbot can guide, advise, and remedy questions and concerns on any topic. These guided conversations can help users search for resources in more abstract ways than via a search bar and also provide a more personable and customized experience based on each user’s background and needs.” Stanford p. 1. “A chatbot can simulate conversation and idea exchange for low-stakes skills practice. Users can practice language-based soft skills like leading a class discussion, guiding a parent-teacher conference, or even diagnosing English proficiency levels. With a chatbot, users can try out new competencies and hone skills while minimizing the downsides of practicing with a person (eg, judgment, time, repetition).” Stanford p. 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Stanford because using a chatbot avoids the expense of paying a person (i.e. the cost of employing a person for 24-hour online availability.) Further, Chatbots are always available.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi and Valchev (How Can a Chatbot Take Financial Services to the NextLevel? 2019)
24. The computer program product of claim 15, wherein the directed conversation is emulating a virtual advisory service provider. (The previously cited art does not expressly teach that the facilitated conversation between an AI agent and a user audience is limited to emulating virtual advisory service provider. The Specification explains an “advisory service provider” as a financial service advisor. Spec. ¶30.
Valchev teaches “It is not a surprise that leading banks and financial services companies worldwide are racing to maximize the benefits of AI-powered chatbot features. According to The Financial Brand, AI can save the banking industry more than USD 1 trillion by2030. And the rise of bots is playing a key role here. But a chatbot is not only about saving money. It is an effective technology solution that financial service providers use to offer exceptional customer journeys with the help of fast responses, 24/7 availability, personalized service, meeting customers’ goals and improving their financial well-being.” Valchev p. 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Valchev because using a chatbot avoids the expense of paying a person.)
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi and RecruitingHeadlines (List of Recruiting Chatbots, 2018)
25. The computer program product of claim 15, wherein the directed conversation is emulating a virtual recruiter. (The previously cited art does not expressly teach that the facilitated conversation between an AI agent and a user audience is limited to emulating a virtual recruiter.
“Recruiting Chatbots are the hot new technology that employers are curious about. Adding a chatbot to your hiring process to engage job seekers is a quick and easy way to increase conversion rates. Another way to think of them is as ‘virtual recruiting assistants’. Candidates are more willing to apply by interacting with a chatbot than having to fill in a long form. Chatbots can also pre-screen candidates thus saving your recruiters time while increasing the qualified funnel.” RecruitingHeadlines p. 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of RecruitingHeadlines because using a chatbot is cheaper than paying a person.)
Election by Original Presentation
Newly submitted claim 26 is directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed. The originally claimed invention was a combination (Invention I) directed to a state machine used to control a conversation, while newly submitted claim 26 is a subcombination (Invention II) directed to transcribing messages using speech-to-text. Compare claims filed 10/30/2024 with claim 26 filed 05/18/2026. The inventions I and II are independent or distinct, each from the other.12 The Inventions are related as combination and subcombination, where invention I is directed to the combination and invention II is directed to the subcombination.13 Inventions in this relationship are distinct if it can be shown that (1) the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed for patentability, and (2) that the subcombination has utility by itself or in other combinations (MPEP § 806.05(c)). In the instant case, the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed, as evidenced by the omission of the details of the subcombination in claims directed to the combination. See MPEP § 806.05(c)(II)(A).14 The subcombination has utility because transcription produces text from voice, which allows storage of voice notes in a more usable, searchable format. See MPEP § 806.05(c).
“The claims originally presented and acted upon by the Office on their merits determine the invention elected by an applicant in the application, and in any request for continued examination (RCE) filed for the application. Subsequently presented claims to an invention other than that acted upon should be treated as provided in MPEP § 821.03.” MPEP § 818.02(a). “The general policy of the Office is that applicants are not permitted to shift to claim another invention after an election is made and an Office action on the merits is made on the elected invention.” MPEP § 819. “Claims added by amendment following action by the examiner, as explained in MPEP § 818.02(a), and drawn to an invention other than the one previously claimed, should be treated as indicated in 37 CFR 1.145.” MPEP § 821.03. “If, after an office action on an application, the applicant presents claims directed to an invention distinct from and independent of the invention previously claimed, the applicant will be required to restrict the claims to the invention previously claimed if the amendment is entered[.]” 37 C.F.R. § 1.145 (emphasis added). Applicant may not, as a matter of right, shift from claiming one invention to claiming another invention in the same application. MPEP § 819. Shift may be permitted where it would not lead to additional search burden or where issues would be simplified, at Examiner’s discretion.15 The shift reflected in the most recent filing would require separate searches as well as different considerations for support, enablement, definiteness, and subject matter eligibility. This would result in significant additional examination burden. Therefore, permitting shift in the present case is inconsistent with MPEP § 819. Form Paragraph 8.21, used to establish examination burden in pre-election restriction requirements, is omitted because it is inconsistent with claims that have been elected by original presentation.16 Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claim 26 is withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejections under § 112b
The amendments are noted. The rejections to language argued in the Remarks have been withdrawn.
Rejections under § 101
Applicant suggests that maintaining a seamless transition between conversations in a dialog flow, and the need to respond quickly are technical problems. Rem. 10. Given that even Applicant’s characterization of the problem could be applied to everyday conversation, this is not convincing. No technical solution is described in the remarks. Applicant’s citations of Enfish and Koninklijke seem misplaced, given the technological solutions in both cases. The facts in McRO are admittedly closer to the present claimed invention, with the improvement being based on a specific set of rules that resulted in more realistic transitions between video facial expressions. But no specific arguments are provided based on the holding in McRO. In contrast, the present claims merely give a set of rules for carrying on ordinary conversations, implemented by machine. Applicant’s suggestion of a “mechanism by which synchronization is achieved,” without providing any specific mechanism or explaining why synchronization of a conversation should be technical in nature, is likewise unconvincing. Applicant’s attempt to distinguish the present claims from Electric Power is inapposite.
Rejections under §§ 102 and 103
Applicant states that Yi does not teach various aspects of the claimed invention. See rejection above.
Applicant states that neither Yi nor Raux teach the claimed invention, and asserts that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have combined the references without actually addressing the motivation to combine provided in the office action.
No other specific arguments are found in the remarks.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PAUL M. KNIGHT
/PAUL M KNIGHT/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2148
1 This distinction between claims which read on math and claims which recite an abstract idea is based on official USPTO Guidance. The 2019 Subject Matter Eligibility (SME) Examples instructs examiners that a claim reciting “training the neural network” where the background describes training as “using stochastic learning with backpropagation which is a type of machine learning algorithm that uses the gradient of a mathematical loss function to adjust the weights of the network” “does not recite any mathematical relationships, formulas, or calculations.” See 2019 SME Example 39, PP. 8-9 (emphasis added). In this example, the plain meaning of “training the neural network” read in light of the disclosure reads on backpropagation using the gradient of a mathematical loss function. See MPEP § 2111.01. In contrast, the 2024 SME Examples instructs examiners that a claim reciting “training, by the computer, the ANN . . . wherein the selected training algorithm includes a backpropagation algorithm and a gradient descent algorithm” does recite an abstract idea because “[t]he plain meaning of [backpropagation algorithm and gradient descent algorithm] are optimization algorithms, which compute neural network parameters using a series of mathematical calculations.” 2024 PEG Example 47, PP. 4-6. The Memorandum of August 4, 2025; Reminders on evaluating subject matter eligibility of claims under 35 U.S.C. 101, P. 3 also directs examiners that “training the neural network” recited in Example 39 merely “involve[s] . . . mathematical concepts” and contrasts claim 2 of example 47 as “referring to [specific] mathematical calculations by name[.]” (Emphasis added.)
2 “For instance, the claims in Diehr . . . clearly stated a mathematical equation . . . and the claims in Mayo . . . clearly stated laws of nature . . . such that the claims ‘set forth’ an identifiable judicial exception. Alternatively, the claims in Alice Corp. . . . described the concept of intermediated settlement without ever explicitly using the words ‘intermediated’ or ‘settlement.’” MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A).
3 “By grouping the abstract ideas, the examiners’ focus has been shifted from relying on individual cases to generally applying the wide body of case law spanning all technologies and claim types. . . . If the identified limitation(s) falls within at least one of the groupings of abstract ideas, it is reasonable to conclude that the claim recites an abstract idea in Step 2A Prong One.” MPEP § 2106.04(a). See also MPEP 2104(a)(2).
4 Step 2A prongs one and two are evaluated individually, consistent with the framework in the MPEP. Evaluation of relationships between abstract ideas and additional elements in one location promotes clarity of the record.
5 “In short, first the specification should be evaluated to determine if the disclosure provides sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. The specification need not explicitly set forth the improvement, but it must describe the invention such that the improvement would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. Conversely, if the specification explicitly sets forth an improvement but in a conclusory manner (i.e., a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art), the examiner should not determine the claim improves technology. Second, if the specification sets forth an improvement in technology, the claim must be evaluated to ensure that the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement. That is, the claim includes the components or steps of the invention that provide the improvement described in the specification. . . . It should be noted that while this consideration is often referred to in an abbreviated manner as the ‘improvements consideration,’ the word ‘improvements’ in the context of this consideration is limited to improvements to the functioning of a computer or any other technology/technical field, whether in Step 2A Prong Two or in Step 2B.” MPEP 2106.04(d)(1). See also Koninklijke KPN N.V. v. Gemalto M2M GmbH, 942 F.3d 1143, 1150-1152 (Fed. Cir. 2019).
6 See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II) listing operations including “receiving or transmitting data,” “storing and retrieving data in memory,” and “performing repetitive calculations” as WURC. “The claims at issue do not require any nonconventional computer, network, or display components, or even a non-conventional and non-generic arrangement of known, conventional pieces, but merely call for performance of the claimed information collection, analysis, and display functions on a set of generic computer components and display devices.” Elec. Power Grp., LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1355 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (emphasis added, internal quotes omitted).
7 “But ‘[f]or the role of a computer in a computer-implemented invention to be deemed meaningful in the context of this analysis, it must involve more than performance of 'well-understood, routine, [and] conventional activities previously known to the industry.’ Content Extraction, 776 F.3d at 1347-48 (quoting Alice, 134 S. Ct at 2359). Here, the server simply receives data, ‘extract[s] classification information . . . from the received data,’ and ‘stor[es] the digital images . . . taking into consideration the classification information.’ See ‘295 patent, col. 10 ll. 1-17 (Claim 17). . . . These steps fall squarely within our precedent finding generic computer components insufficient to add an inventive concept to an otherwise abstract idea. Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2360 (‘Nearly every computer will include a 'communications controller' and a 'data storage unit' capable of performing the basic calculation, storage, and transmission functions required by the method claims.’); Content Extraction, 776 F.3d at 1345, 1348 (‘storing information’ into memory, and using a computer to ‘translate the shapes on a physical page into typeface characters,’ insufficient confer patent eligibility); Mortg. Grader, 811 F.3d at 1324-25 (generic computer components such as an ‘interface,’ ‘network,’ and ‘database,’ fail to satisfy the inventive concept requirement); Intellectual Ventures I, 792 F.3d at 1368 (a ‘database’ and ‘a communication medium’ ‘are all generic computer elements’); BuySAFE v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (‘That a computer receives and sends the information over a network—with no further specification—is not even arguably inventive.’).” TLI Commc'ns LLC v. AV Auto., LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 614 (Fed. Cir. 2016), Emphasis Added.
8 “The analysis as to whether an element (or combination of elements) is widely prevalent or in common use is the same as the analysis under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as to whether an element is so well-known that it need not be described in detail in the patent specification. See Genetic Techs. Ltd. v. Merial LLC, 818 F.3d 1369, 1377, 118 USPQ2d 1541, 1546 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (supporting the position that amplification was well-understood, routine, conventional for purposes of subject matter eligibility by observing that the patentee expressly argued during prosecution of the application that amplification was a technique readily practiced by those skilled in the art to overcome the rejection of the claim under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph)[.]” MPEP § 2106.05(d)(I).
9 “Similarly, claim elements or combinations of claim elements that are routine, conventional or well-understood cannot transform the claims. (Citing BSG Tech LLC v. BuySeasons, Inc., 899 F.3d 1281, 1290-1291 (Fed. Cir. 2018)). When the patent's specification ‘describes the components and features listed in the claims generically,’ it ‘support[s] the conclusion that these components and features are conventional.’ Weisner v. Google LLC, 51 F.4th 1073, 1083-84 (Fed. Cir. 2022); see also Beteiro, LLC v. DraftKings Inc., 104 F.4th 1350, 1357-58 (Fed. Cir. 2024).” Broadband iTV, Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 113 F.4th 1359 (Fed. Cir. 2024)
10 “If it is asserted that the invention improves upon conventional functioning of a computer, or upon conventional technology or technological processes, a technical explanation as to how to implement the invention should be present in the specification. That is, the disclosure must provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. The specification need not explicitly set forth the improvement, but it must describe the invention such that the improvement would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. Conversely, if the specification explicitly sets forth an improvement but in a conclusory manner (i.e., a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art), the examiner should not determine the claim improves technology.” MPEP § 2106.05(a).
11 “The sole issue is whether claims 7 and 8 are anticipated[.] . . . We agree with appellant that Figure 1 of Thacker, by itself, does not disclose every limitation in the appealed claims. However, in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. In re Shepard, 319 F.2d 194, 50 CCPA 1439 (1963).” In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826 (C.C.P.A. 1968) (emphasis added.)
12 “Where inventions are related as disclosed but are distinct as claimed, restriction may be proper.” MPEP § 806(B). “In passing upon questions of double patenting and restriction, it is the claimed subject matter that is considered and such claimed subject matter must be compared in order to determine the question of distinctness or independence.” MPEP § 806.01.
13 “Where a combination as claimed does not require the details of the subcombination as separately claimed and the subcombination has separate utility, the inventions are distinct and restriction is proper if reasons exist for insisting upon the restriction, i.e., there would be a serious search burden as evidenced by separate classification, status, or field of search and/or a serious examination burden as evidenced by, for example, non-prior art issues relevant to one invention that are not relevant to the other invention” MPEP § 806.05(c)(II)(A).
14 “Since claims to both the subcombination and combination are presented, the omission of details of the claimed subcombination Bsp in the combination claim ABbr is evidence that the combination does not rely upon the specific limitations of the subcombination for its patentability. If subcombination Bsp has separate utility, the inventions are distinct and restriction is proper if reasons exist for insisting upon the restriction.”
15 “While applicant, as a matter of right, may not shift from claiming one invention to claiming another, the examiner is not precluded from permitting a shift. The examiner is most likely to do so where the shift results in no additional burden, and particularly where the shift reduces work by simplifying the issues.” MPEP § 819.
16 See Form Paragraph 8.21, Examiner Note 1 (“[T]his form paragraph must be added to all restriction requirements other than . . . those containing only an election by original presentation requirement.” (emphasis omitted.))