DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
Response pages 9-10, Applicant contends:
The elements performed in claim 1 cannot be performed in the human mind.
Response:
The elements of claim 1, in regards to the abstract ideas, are seen as being performable in the human mind. Numerous elements, such as identifying a seat quality or selecting a target seat are both elements performable in the human mind. To emphasize the elements noted in the claim 1 rejections from previous office action, elements of identifying a quality from characteristics is performing a form of decision or evaluation (MPEP 2106.04 (section 3)), and selecting a seat would also be a decision performable in the human mind, for such a decision would be akin to a restaurant employee choosing where to seat a customer as the customer arrives using a seat chart (as such would allow determining if there are enough seats for the party and whether the table is already occupied). The machine learning elements are implementing the abstract idea in a generic computer, which is still directed towards an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(3)).
MPEP 2106.04(Section 3): "The courts consider a mental process (thinking) that "can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, "methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’" 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)). See also Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 (2012) ("‘[M]ental processes[] and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work’" (quoting Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 175 USPQ at 675)); Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 589, 198 USPQ 193, 197 (1978) (same)."
MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(3): “An example of a case identifying a mental process performed in a computer environment as an abstract idea is Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d at 1316-18, 120 USPQ2d at 1360. In this case, the Federal Circuit relied upon the specification when explaining that the claimed electronic post office, which recited limitations describing how the system would receive, screen and distribute email on a computer network, was analogous to how a person decides whether to read or dispose of a particular piece of mail and that ‘with the exception of generic computer-implemented steps, there is nothing in the claims themselves that foreclose them from being performed by a human, mentally or with pen and paper’.”
Remarks page 10-11, Applicant contends:
Moins and other recited art do not teach claim 1 as amended.
Response:
Moins and other noted references are seen as still teaching the claim limitations. The amended claim limitations are noted to roll up elements from claim 2 (real time seat data) and claim 8 (average seat quality).
As noted in the previous rejection for claim 2, Moins notes utilizing the availability of seats when deciding a selected seat, thus realtime seat data is shown as what seats are available would be information that is “real time” as such information indicates whether a seat is available or not currently ([Moins 3 Our Approach page 3]: “Our goal is to predict which seats would be preferred from a set of available seats. Our locational recommendation architecture (detailed in Figure 1) combines a choice model with a deep neural network.”). This is further supported by the quote indicating that the training was using seat data available at the time the choice was made ([Moins 3 Our Approach page 3]: “Consider a set of N customers who selected seats in a room. For any customer i = 1,.. .,N, we have access to Ki past seat choices, which corresponds to Ki seat positions in the room that were chosen at prior events, and the location of all available and unavailable seats when they made those past choices.”), thus indicating the model is making the choice on seating information at the time of the decision.
As noted in previous claim 8 rejection under 103, average seat quality is taught in the combination with Sundaresan. As indicated by Moins in claim 8 and claim 1, Moins uses historical seating information or data about a seat for a user, but Moins doesn’t specifically say the average seat quality. Sundaresan does however note average seat quality as a metric ([Sundaresan 0018]: “In an embodiment, a set of quality ratings for a seat at a venue is received. To ensure that the quality ratings for the seat are accurate, each of the quality ratings may be from a user who has been assigned to the seat. A grade for the seat may be calculated based on one or more quality ratings of the set of received quality ratings. The grade may be calculated in multiple ways (e.g., determining a weighted average).”). Since being able to average the quality of a seat is known (as indicated by Sundaresan) and the history of seats and quality for a user is known (as taught by Moins as indicated in claim 1 103 rejection), the combination of utilizing an average seat quality for a user is thus obvious as indicated by the motivation provided for the combination in claim 1 with Sundaresan and then claim 8 (as claim 8 indicates the use of many of the different characteristics or metrics).
The combination of recited references is seen as teaching the claimed limitations, thus the arguments regarding 103 are not convincing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-11, 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed towards an abstract idea without significantly more.
In regards to Claim 1:
Step 1: Is the claim directed towards a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed towards a method, so a process.
Step 2A Prong 1: Does the claim recite a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea?
Yes, the claim does recite a(n) abstract idea.
Claim 1 recites the following abstract ideas:
the machine-learned model configured to identify a seat quality based on characteristics and historical attendance data of a user
This limitation is directed towards the abstract idea of a mental process, or a concept performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, judgement or opinion (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection 3). Here the limitation is seen as evaluation and judgement.
to identify a target seat quality, determining a real-time seat status for each seat in the venue, and selecting the target seat based on the identified target seat quality and the real-time seat status for each seat in the venue
This limitation is directed towards the abstract idea of a mental process, or a concept performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, judgement or opinion (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection 3). Here the limitation is seen as evaluation, observation, and judgement. The limitation is seen as involving an abstract idea, as elements such as determining a seat status can involve a person looking at seats or a chart to indicate whether a seat is occupied.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
No, the application does not recite any additional elements that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 1 recites the following additional elements:
A computer-implemented method comprising: accessing, for a set of users, historical attendance data for each user for events at a venue during a season of events at the venue, each user associated with a subscription to the season of events such that a seat at the venue is not assigned for the user until the user arrives at the venue, the historical attendance data comprising at least a historical seat quality of each seat assigned to the user for events attended by the user and an average seat quality assigned to the user at prior events
This limitation is directed towards the insignificant extra solution activity of mere data gathering (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
generating a set of training data based on the accessed historical attendance data
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using an element as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
training a machine-learned model using the generated set of training data
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using an element as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
receiving a request from a target user for a seat at the venue for the event when the target user arrives at the venue
This limitation is directed towards the insignificant extra solution activity of mere data gathering (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
assigning a target seat at the venue to the target user by applying the machine-learned model to characteristics and historical attendance data associated with the target user
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using an element as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B: Does the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. All elements of the claim, viewed individually or wholistically, do not provide an inventive concept or otherwise significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 1 recites the following additional elements:
A computer-implemented method comprising: accessing, for a set of users, historical attendance data for each user for events at a venue during a season of events at the venue, each user associated with a subscription to the season of events such that a seat at the venue is not assigned for the user until the user arrives at the venue, the historical attendance data comprising at least a historical seat quality of each seat assigned to the user for events attended by the user and an average seat quality assigned to the user at prior events
This limitation is directed towards the insignificant extra solution activity of mere data gathering (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)). This is a well understood, routine, conventional activity of transmitting data (see MPEP 2106.05(d) example i in computer functions). The claim limitation is interpreted as noting the acquiring or accessing of data about a user and indications of what the data could mean, such as how the subscription can indicate a seat is not assigned until a user arrives at the venue.
generating a set of training data based on the accessed historical attendance data
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using an element as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). At said high level of generality, a generic recitation of “apply” or equivalent does not incorporate the abstract idea into a practical invention and is seen as a variation of the phrase “apply it”.
training a machine-learned model using the generated set of training data
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using an element as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). At said high level of generality, a generic recitation of “apply” or equivalent does not incorporate the abstract idea into a practical invention and is seen as a variation of the phrase “apply it”. In this case, this limitation is seen as generic training.
receiving a request from a target user for a seat at the venue for the event when the target user arrives at the venue
This limitation is directed towards the insignificant extra solution activity of mere data gathering (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)). This is a well understood, routine, conventional activity of transmitting data (see MPEP 2106.05(d) example i in computer functions).
assigning a target seat at the venue to the target user by applying the machine-learned model to characteristics and historical attendance data associated with the target user
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using an element as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). At said high level of generality, a generic recitation of “apply” or equivalent does not incorporate the abstract idea into a practical invention and is seen as a variation of the phrase “apply it”.
In regards to Claim 3:
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
No, the application does not recite any additional elements that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 3 recites the following additional elements:
modifying a user interface of a user device to include information identifying the target seat
This limitation is directed towards the insignificant extra solution activity of mere data outputting (see MPEP 2106.05(g)(Consideration 3)).
Step 2B: Does the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. All elements of the claim, viewed individually or wholistically, do not provide an inventive concept or otherwise significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 3 recites the following additional elements:
modifying a user interface of a user device to include information identifying the target seat
This limitation is directed towards the insignificant extra solution activity of mere data outputting (see MPEP 2106.05(g)(Consideration 3)). This is a well understood, routine conventional activity of presenting or transmitting data (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(2)(example iv. Presenting offers and gathering statistics and example i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network)).
In regards to Claim 4:
Step 2A Prong 1: Does the claim recite a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea?
Yes, the claim does recite a(n) abstract idea.
Claim 4 recites the following abstract ideas:
updating the assigned target seat based on
This limitation is directed towards the continuation of the abstract ideas of a mental process, or a concept performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, judgement or opinion (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection 3) from claim 1.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
No, the application does not recite any additional elements that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 4 recites the following additional elements:
a request of the target user
This limitation is directed towards the insignificant extra solution activity of mere data gathering (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Step 2B: Does the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. All elements of the claim, viewed individually or wholistically, do not provide an inventive concept or otherwise significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 4 recites the following additional elements:
a request of the target user
This limitation is directed towards the insignificant extra solution activity of mere data gathering (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)). This is a well understood, routine, conventional activity of transmitting data (see MPEP 2106.05(d) example i in computer functions).
In regards to Claim 5:
Step 2A Prong 1: Does the claim recite a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea?
Yes, the claim does recite a(n) abstract idea.
Claim 5 recites the following abstract ideas:
updating the assigned target seat based on a size of a group of individuals attending the event with the target user
This limitation is directed towards the continuation of the abstract ideas of a mental process, or a concept performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, judgement or opinion (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection 3) from claim 1.
In regards to Claim 6:
Step 2A Prong 1: Does the claim recite a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea?
Yes, the claim does recite a(n) abstract idea.
Claim 6 recites the following abstract ideas:
updating the assigned target seat mid-game based on real-time seat status information for the venue
This limitation is directed towards the continuation of the abstract ideas of a mental process, or a concept performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, judgement or opinion (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection 3) from claim 1.
In regards to Claim 7:
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
No, the application does not recite any additional elements that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 7 recites the following additional elements:
wherein the machine learning model comprises a regression model, a random forest classifier, a support vector machine, a neural network, or a model trained by an unsupervised approach
At a high level of generality, this is a continuation of an activity of using an element as an “apply it” use in claim 1 (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B: Does the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. All elements of the claim, viewed individually or wholistically, do not provide an inventive concept or otherwise significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 7 recites the following additional elements:
wherein the machine learning model comprises a regression model, a random forest classifier, a support vector machine, a neural network, or a model trained by an unsupervised approach
At a high level of generality, this is a continuation of an activity of using an element as an “apply it” use in claim 1 (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). At said high level of generality, a generic recitation of “apply” or equivalent does not incorporate the abstract idea into a practical invention and is seen as a variation of the phrase “apply it”.
In regards to Claim 8:
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
No, the application does not recite any additional elements that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 8 recites the following additional elements:
wherein the characteristics and historical attendance data of the user comprises: data indicating demographics of the user; data associated with an account for the user; data associated with groups and/or individuals who attended prior events with the user; number of games attended by the user; data indicating a user's past seat locations; data indicating a user's seating preferences; arrival times of the user; number of no-shows by the user; data indicating advance notice of event attendance by the user; data associated with historical purchases of the user at prior events; user data indicating user feedback for prior events; data associated with user social media engagement; and data indicating teams, match, rivalry, and game preferences of the user
This limitation is directed towards the continuation of an insignificant extra solution activity of mere data gathering in claim 1 (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Step 2B: Does the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. All elements of the claim, viewed individually or wholistically, do not provide an inventive concept or otherwise significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 8 recites the following additional elements:
wherein the characteristics and historical attendance data of the user comprises: data indicating demographics of the user; data associated with an account for the user; data associated with groups and/or individuals who attended prior events with the user; number of games attended by the user; data indicating a user's past seat locations; data indicating a user's seating preferences; arrival times of the user; number of no-shows by the user; data indicating advance notice of event attendance by the user; data associated with historical purchases of the user at prior events; user data indicating user feedback for prior events; data associated with user social media engagement; and data indicating teams, match, rivalry, and game preferences of the user
This limitation is directed towards the continuation of an insignificant extra solution activity of mere data gathering in claim 1 (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)). This is a well understood, routine, conventional activity of transmitting data (see MPEP 2106.05(d) example i in computer functions).
In regards to Claim 9:
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
No, the application does not recite any additional elements that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 9 recites the following additional elements:
wherein the event is one of a basketball game, a baseball game, a football game, a volleyball game, a soccer game, a tennis match, a hockey game, and a rugby game
This limitation is directed towards the continuation of insignificant extra solution activity of mere data gathering in claim 1 (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Step 2B: Does the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. All elements of the claim, viewed individually or wholistically, do not provide an inventive concept or otherwise significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 9 recites the following additional elements:
wherein the event is one of a basketball game, a baseball game, a football game, a volleyball game, a soccer game, a tennis match, a hockey game, and a rugby game
This limitation is directed towards the continuation of insignificant extra solution activity of mere data gathering in claim 1 (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)). This is a well understood, routine, conventional activity of transmitting data (see MPEP 2106.05(d) example i in computer functions).
In regards to Claim 10:
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
No, the application does not recite any additional elements that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 10 recites the following additional elements:
wherein the subscription to the season of events comprises a fixed number of events or a ticket package
This limitation is directed towards the continuation of insignificant extra solution activity of mere data gathering in claim 1 (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Step 2B: Does the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. All elements of the claim, viewed individually or wholistically, do not provide an inventive concept or otherwise significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 10 recites the following additional elements:
wherein the subscription to the season of events comprises a fixed number of events or a ticket package
This limitation is directed towards the continuation of insignificant extra solution activity of mere data gathering in claim 1 (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)). This is a well understood, routine, conventional activity of transmitting data (see MPEP 2106.05(d) example i in computer functions).
In regards to Claim 11:
This claim is analogous to claim 1 under 101
In regards to Claim 13:
This claim is analogous to claim 3 under 101
In regards to Claim 14:
This claim is analogous to claim 4 under 101
In regards to Claim 15:
This claim is analogous to claim 5 under 101
In regards to Claim 16:
This claim is analogous to claim 6 under 101
In regards to Claim 17:
This claim is analogous to claim 7 under 101
In regards to Claim 18:
This claim is analogous to claim 8 under 101
In regards to Claim 19:
This claim is analogous to claim 9 under 101
In regards to Claim 20:
This claim is analogous to claim 1 under 101
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9-11, 13, 15, 17, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moins et al (“RecSeats: A Hybrid Convolutional Neural Network Choice Model for Seat Recommendations at Reserved Seating Venues”), referred to as Moins in this document, and further in combination with Scarborough (US 20150120341 A1), referred to as Scarborough in this document, and further in combination with Sundaresan (US 20210174407 A1), referred to as Sundaresan in this document.
Regarding Claim 1:
Moins teaches:
accessing, for a set of users, historical attendance data for each user for events at a venue during a season of events at the venue,
[Moins 3.Our Approach page 3]: “Consider a set of N customers who selected seats in a room. For any customer i = 1,.. .,N, we have access to Ki past seat choices, which corresponds to Ki seat positions in the room that were chosen at prior events [accessing, for a set of users, historical attendance data for each user for events at a venue during a season of events at the venue], and the location of all available and unavailable seats when they made those past choices. Our goal is to predict which seats would be preferred from a set of available seats.”
An indication that the system is checking for a particular user or for each user (one customer) is further supported in [Moins 3.3 Combined Hybrid Model page 4]: ”Across these recent advances, the objective is to ensure both properties of generalization and memorization (or interpretability) for prediction. Similarly, our deep component focuses on high-order interactions between seats (subject to their availability) and the individual-level choice model only uses one customer history to consider personal preferences.”
each user associated with a subscription to the season of events
[Moins 4.3 Concert Hall page 6]: “Season pass: at this venue, season pass holders [each user associated with a subscription to the season of events] choose the same seats across performances, which make recommendations irrelevant between performances within the same seasons. We thus focused on making predictions for single event seat purchases.”
The above quote is there to show that seasonal subscriptions or season passes are known in the art as an option for a user to have. The above quote is not indicating one shouldn’t make predictions of seats to season pass holders, but it is noting that the data for the concert hall shows that season pass holders choose the same seat across performances in a season, thus providing a recommendation isn’t very useful as the season pass holders already know the seat the season pass holder would want. The section for the season pass is noted to be “Contrasting to locational choice experiments, some challenges are novel…” where the season pass quote is listed as one of the novelties. Meaning that the observation of choosing the same seat is seen as something particular to the data about the concert hall.
the historical attendance data comprising at least a historical seat quality of each seat assigned to the user for events attended by the user
[Moins 3.Our Approach page 3]: “Consider a set of N customers who selected seats in a room. For any customer i = 1,.. .,N, we have access to Ki past seat choices, which corresponds to Ki seat positions in the room that were chosen at prior events [the historical attendance data comprising at least a historical seat quality of each seat assigned to the user for events attended by the user where support for the indication of quality for the seat is given in [Moins 3.1 page 3] indicating things such as features of the seat and whether the seat was chosen by the customer, as quality of the seat can be seen as if an individual would want or choose the seat], and the location of all available and unavailable seats when they made those past choices. Our goal is to predict which seats would be preferred from a set of available seats.”
generating a set of training data based on the accessed historical attendance data;
training a machine-learned model using the generated set of training data,
the machine-learned model configured to identify a seat quality based on characteristics and historical attendance data of a user;
[Moins 3.1 page 3]: “For each seat j, in every room, we compute a set of features fi,j… With these features available for every seat in every room that the participant has previously selected, we can label those points with yi,j, a binary variable that indicates if the customer i chose the seat j [generating a set of training data based on the accessed historical attendance data]. Then, we can train [training a machine-learned model using the generated set of training data,] any binary classification model on our data to estimate P(yi,j|fi,j) = pi,j [the machine-learned model configured to identify a seat quality based on characteristics and historical attendance data of a user] across all rooms and all available seats.” Where i is noted to mean the customer and j is noted to be the seat earlier before the quote. [4.1 page 5]: “and pi,j the probability of customer i to choose j.”
and assigning a target seat at the venue to the target user by applying the machine-learned model to characteristics and historical attendance data associated with the target user to identify a target seat quality, determining a real-time seat status for each seat in the venue, and selecting the target seat based on the identified target seat quality and the real-time seat status for each seat in the venue
[Moins 3 Our Approach page 3]: “Consider a set of N customers who selected seats in a room. For any customer i = 1,.. .,N, we have access to Ki past seat choices, which corresponds to Ki seat positions in the room that were chosen at prior events, and the location of all available and unavailable seats when they made those past choices. Our goal is to predict which seats [and assigning a target seat at the venue to the target user by applying the machine-learned model to characteristics and historical attendance data associated with the target user to identify a target seat quality and selecting the target seat based on the identified target seat quality and the real-time seat status for each seat in the venue] would be preferred from a set of available seats [determining a real-time seat status for each seat in the venue as what seats are available would be real time seat status information]. Our locational recommendation architecture (detailed in Figure 1) combines a choice model with a deep neural network.”
Where aspects related to the characteristics and historical attendance data related to the user were shown earlier in teachings from Moins. Figure 1 of Moins indicates aspects of the recommendation architecture for the machine learning aspect.
The choosing of just one seat is noted in [Moins 3.4 Multiple choice case page 4]: “Our approach was described in the context of an individual choosing one seat for ease of exposition. However, we can expand our model to recommend more than one seat as likely necessary in the real world where customers often purchase more than one seat in the same order.”
Moins does not explicitly teach:
A computer-implemented method comprising
Moins notes machine learning and other such aspects but Scarborough is used to help indicate particular computer components.
and an average seat quality assigned to the user at prior events
such that a seat at the venue is not assigned for the user until the user arrives at the venue
receiving a request from a target user for a seat at the venue for an event when the target user arrives at the venue
Scarborough teaches:
A computer-implemented method comprising:
[Scarborough 0083]: “Each such computer-program product [computer implemented method] can comprise sets of instructions (codes) embodied on a computer-readable medium [computer readable medium] that directs the processor [processor] of a computer system to perform corresponding actions.”
[Scarborough 0084]: “such as random access memory [memory] (RAM) 1070”
such that a seat at the venue is not assigned for the user until the user arrives at the venue,
[Scarborough 0036]: “When a user with a pre-issued ticket arrives at a venue for an event, the user may be assigned a specific seat resource at the venue [such that a seat at the venue is not assigned for the user until the user arrives at the venue]. The seat resource may be a specific seat, general admission to a specific section of the venue, standing room at specific area of the venue, and/or the like.”
receiving a request from a target user for a seat at the venue for an event when the target user arrives at the venue
[Scarborough 0036]: “When a user with a pre-issued ticket arrives at a venue for an event, the user may be assigned a specific seat resource at the venue [receiving a request from a target user for a seat at the venue for an event when the target user arrives at the venue]. The seat resource may be a specific seat, general admission to a specific section of the venue, standing room at specific area of the venue, and/or the like.”
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, would have been motivated to combine Moins and Scarborough. Moins and Scarborough are in the same field of endeavor of user recommendations (related to tickets or seating). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Moins and Scarborough in order to be able to better take advantage of available seats by preventing unfilled seats from being accessible to users ([Scarborough 0002]: “Conventionally, distributing tickets for an event is based on sales or distribution of paper or electronic tickets before an event. Users who purchased or reserved tickets before an event are granted entry to an event. In some cases, many of the ticket holders may not attend an event leaving many seats unfilled. Seats may be unfilled despite there being other users who may desire to attend the event but were not able to obtain a ticket.”)
Sundaresan teaches:
and an average seat quality assigned to the user at prior events
[Sundaresan 0018]: “In an embodiment, a set of quality ratings for a seat at a venue is received. To ensure that the quality ratings for the seat are accurate, each of the quality ratings may be from a user who has been assigned to the seat. A grade for the seat may be calculated based on one or more quality ratings of the set of received quality ratings. The grade may be calculated in multiple ways (e.g., determining a weighted average [and an average seat quality assigned to the user at prior events]).”
Sundaresan is teaching that previous quality of seats is stored and that the quality ratings can be related to a user. The idea of averaging the seat quality is also shown to be a known operation in the above quote.
The motivation to combine with Sundaresan is noted along with other references for different statistics to be utilized as characteristics and attendance data for a user is noted in claim 8. As part of the motivation in claim 8, one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Sundaresan as Sundaresan notes the use of historic quality data can assist in understanding the quality of a seat and to help customers find a good seat ([Scarborough 0017]: “Unfortunately, before users purchase tickets they may be unsure about the quality of a particular seat. It may be desirable to provide potential ticket purchasers with information regarding the quality of a seat.”).
Regarding Claim 3:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1 is taught by Moins and Scarborough.
Scarborough teaches:
further comprising modifying a user interface of a user device to include information identifying the target seat
[Scarborough 0074]: “In block 608, size of the group may be determined and seat resources of the users of the group identified in the venue using the seat resource engine 210. The identified seat resources may be presented [further comprising modifying a user interface of a user device to include information identifying the target seat] to the user for approval via a terminal or other means. In block 610 the user may select the available seats for the users in the group. The user may select a preferred configuration of seats, for example, the user may choose all the seats to be located in one row. It will, however, be appreciated that blocks 608-610 may be modified to cause seats to be automatically identified for the user and group (e.g., by selecting a group of seats with a best overall score).”
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, would have been motivated to combine Moins and Scarborough. Moins and Scarborough are in the same field of endeavor of user recommendations (related to tickets or seating) and machine learning. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Moins and Scarborough in order to have user feedback or validation to improve user experience ([Scarborough 0074]: “In block 608, size of the group may be determined and seat resources of the users of the group identified in the venue using the seat resource engine 210. The identified seat resources may be presented to the user for approval via a terminal or other means. In block 610 the user may select the available seats for the users in the group.”).
Regarding Claim 5:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1 is taught by Moins and Scarborough.
Moins teaches:
further comprising updating the assigned target seat based on a size of a group of individuals attending the event with the target user
[Moins 3.4 Multiple choice case page 4]: “Our approach was described in the context of an individual choosing one seat for ease of exposition. However, we can expand our model to recommend more than one seat as likely necessary in the real world where customers often purchase more than one seat in the same order [further comprising updating the assigned target seat based on a size of a group of individuals attending the event with the target user]. Without loss of generality, we consider the case of a pair of tickets which are almost exclusively chosen to be located side-by-side in the same row. If we make the assumption that the recommender system must restrict itself to seats that are also located side-by-side, then we can adapt the model by predicting the leftmost seat of a side-by-side set with sufficient availability for a pair.”
Regarding Claim 7:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1 is taught by Moins and Scarborough.
Moins teaches:
wherein the machine learning model comprises a regression model, a random forest classifier, a support vector machine, a neural network, or a model trained by an unsupervised approach
[Moins 2.1.1 Machine Learning Adaptation]: “From that, many classification methods are possible. For example, SVM [27], random forest [5], neural networks [12, 24] [wherein the machine learning model comprises a regression model, a random forest classifier, a support vector machine, a neural network, or a model trained by an unsupervised approach] have been used for transport mode prediction (see [28] for an empirical comparison). For airline itinerary prediction, Mottini et al. [20] propose a recurrent architecture with an attention mechanism, and Lhéritier et al. [17] demonstrated the relevance of random forests for choice modeling, notably for its ability to allow for heterogeneity.”
Regarding Claim 9:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1 is taught by Moins and Scarborough.
Moins does not explicitly teach:
wherein the event is one of a basketball game, a baseball game, a football game, a volleyball game, a soccer game, a tennis match, a hockey game, and a rugby game
Moins does not specifically mention any particular sports games, but does mention that the system works for sports events [Moins Introduction page 1]: “Whether it is for flights, sports events or performances, numerous platforms like Stubhub or Ticketmaster offer reserved-seating. Such platforms are crucial to developing sales. Whereas airlines have turned to dynamic pricing, in concert halls the economic equilibrium is sometimes based on shrunk subsidies [2]. As such, increasing attendance has become crucial for many halls that wish to stay accessible to all while remaining cost effective.”
Scarborough teaches:
wherein the event is one of a basketball game, a baseball game, a football game, a volleyball game, a soccer game, a tennis match, a hockey game, and a rugby game
[Scarborough 0023]: “Efficient filling of a venue may be especially important for large sporting events such as college football games [wherein the event is one of a basketball game, a baseball game, a football game, a volleyball game, a soccer game, a tennis match, a hockey game, and a rugby game], for example, where many of the users tailgate before the game and only enter the venue a short time before the kickoff or start of the game. The rush of users to the venue with unordered seat allocation may lead to venue bottlenecks, safety concerns, chaos, as well as distraction and annoyance to users trying to enjoy the event.”
The motivation to combine with Scarborough is the same as the motivation to combine with Scarborough in claim 1. Here Scarborough is used to indicate that sports games (which the use for is already taught in Moins) includes games such as football games.
Regarding Claim 10:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1 is taught by Moins and Scarborough.
Moins teaches:
wherein the subscription to the season of events comprises a fixed number of events or a ticket package
[Moins 4.3 Concert Hall page 6]: “Season pass: at this venue, season pass [wherein the subscription to the season of events comprises a fixed number of events or a ticket package] holders choose the same seats across performances, which make recommendations irrelevant between performances within the same seasons. We thus focused on making predictions for single event seat purchases.”
A season pass is seen as a subscription to a season of events with a fixed number of events or a ticket package. The fixed number of events could be considered the number of events of the season the season pass is for. The season pass could also be considered a ticket package as the pass can act as tickets to events for that season.
Regarding Claim 11:
This claim is analogous to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 13:
This claim is analogous to claim 3.
Regarding Claim 15:
This claim is analogous to claim 5.
Regarding Claim 17:
This claim is analogous to claim 7.
Regarding Claim 19:
This claim is analogous to claim 9.
Regarding Claim 20:
This claim is analogous to claim 1.
Claims 4, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moins et al (“RecSeats: A Hybrid Convolutional Neural Network Choice Model for Seat Recommendations at Reserved Seating Venues”), referred to as Moins in this document, and further in combination with Scarborough (US 20150120341 A1), referred to as Scarborough in this document, and further in combination with Sundaresan (US 20210174407 A1), referred to as Sundaresan in this document, and further in combination with Gupta et al (US 20250139684 A1), referred to as Gupta in this document, further in combination with Zamer (US 20150154571 A1), referred to as Zamer in this document.
Regarding Claim 4:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1 is taught by Moins and Scarborough.
Moins does not explicitly teach:
further comprising updating the assigned target seat based on a request of the target user
Gupta teaches:
further comprising updating the assigned target seat based on a request of the target user
[Gupta 0122]: “The result modifier 610 uses the feedback to modify the set of results and generate a modified set of results based on the feedback received from the user. The modified set of results is presented to the user on the user device 106. The user may further provide updates or feedback which is updated in real-time in the feedback 608 and accordingly the results/events are modified [further comprising updating the assigned target seat based on a request of the target user]. The set of results and the modified set of results displayed to the user include recommendations in text or visual also indicating a reason for displaying the particular event to the user.”
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, would have been motivated to combine Moins and Gupta. Moins and Gupta are in the same field of endeavor of user recommendations (related to tickets or seating) and machine learning. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Moins and Gupta in order to have user feedback or validation to improve user experience ([Gupta 0122]: “The result modifier 610 uses the feedback to modify the set of results and generate a modified set of results based on the feedback received from the user. The modified set of results is presented to the user on the user device 106. The user may further provide updates or feedback which is updated in real-time in the feedback 608 and accordingly the results/events are modified”).
Alternative mapping from Zamer:
Zamer Figure 7 shows that the seat for a user can be updated [further comprising updating the assigned target seat based on a request of the target user], such as by the seat being upgraded to another seat (704 and 710 of Figure 7 in Zamer).
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, would have been motivated to combine Moins and Zamer. Moins and Zamer are in the same field of endeavor of user recommendations (related to tickets or seating). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Moins and Zamer in order to improve user experience and selling potential of tickets by updating the availability of tickets based on available seating options ([Zamer Abstract]: “A ticket seller system can offer an enhanced event experience for users of the system by tracking the locations of ticketholders before and during an event to offer ticket resale and seat upgrade opportunities to the users. The locations of users can be harnessed to offer enhanced value to event attendees and to allow event owners to maximize the use of their venue during an event by offering new upgrades and resale options to patrons.”).
Regarding Claim 14:
This claim is analogous to claim 4.
Claims 6, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moins et al (“RecSeats: A Hybrid Convolutional Neural Network Choice Model for Seat Recommendations at Reserved Seating Venues”), referred to as Moins in this document, and further in combination with Scarborough (US 20150120341 A1), referred to as Scarborough in this document, and further in combination with Sundaresan (US 20210174407 A1), referred to as Sundaresan in this document., further in combination with Zamer (US 20150154571 A1), referred to as Zamer in this document.
Regarding Claim 6:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1 is taught by Moins and Scarborough.
Zamer teaches:
further comprising updating the assigned target seat mid-game based on real-time seat status information for the venue
Zamer Figure 7 shows that the seat for a user can be updated [further comprising updating the assigned target seat mid-game based on real-time seat status information for the venue], such as by the seat being upgraded to another seat (704 and 710 of Figure 7 in Zamer). 702 in figure 7 of Zamer also indicates the seat can be considered unfilled as a result of someone leaving the event.
Motivation to combine with Zamer is the same motivation to combine with Zamer in claim 4.
Regarding Claim 16:
This claim is analogous to claim 6.
Claims 8, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moins et al (“RecSeats: A Hybrid Convolutional Neural Network Choice Model for Seat Recommendations at Reserved Seating Venues”), referred to as Moins in this document, and further in combination with Scarborough (US 20150120341 A1), referred to as Scarborough in this document, and further in combination with Gupta et al (US 20250139684 A1), referred to as Gupta in this document, further in combination with Zamer (US 20150154571 A1), referred to as Zamer in this document, and further in combination with Sundaresan (US 20210174407 A1), referred to as Sundaresan in this document.
Regarding Claim 8:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1 is taught by Moins and Scarborough.
Moins teaches:
data indicating the user's past seat locations;
[Moins 3.Our Approach page 3]: “Consider a set of N customers who selected seats in a room. For any customer i = 1,.. .,N, we have access to Ki past seat choices, which corresponds to Ki seat positions in the room that were chosen at prior events [data indicating the user's past seat locations;], and the location of all available and unavailable seats when they made those past choices. Our goal is to predict which seats would be preferred from a set of available seats.”
data indicating the user's seating preferences;
[Moins 3.3 Combined Hybrid Model page 4]: ”Across these recent advances, the objective is to ensure both properties of generalization and memorization (or interpretability) for prediction. Similarly, our deep component focuses on high-order interactions between seats (subject to their availability) and the individual-level choice model only uses one customer history to consider personal preferences [data indicating the user's seating preferences;].”
and data indicating teams, match, rivalry, and game preferences of the user
[Moins 2.2 page 2]: “Their approach is spatio-temporal: each seat purchased by a customer is associated with a date, a position, and event characteristics [and data indicating teams, match, rivalry, and game preferences of the user] such as the teams that played”
Moins does not explicitly teach:
arrival times of the user;
data indicating advance notice of event attendance by the user;
wherein the characteristics and historical attendance data of the user comprises: data indicating demographics of the user;
number of games attended by the user;
data associated with historical purchases of the user at prior events;
user data indicating user feedback for prior events;
data associated with user social media engagement;
data associated with groups and/or individuals who attended prior events with the user;
data associated with an account for the user;
Sundaresan teaches:
arrival times of the user;
[Scarborough 0067]: “In block 402, the historical data related to the venue and/or the event and/or other similar venues and events may be loaded from a venue/event database 214. The data may include attendance data, time of arrival for users [arrival times of the user;] to the event, competing events during the same time as the past events, and the like.”
Support for other user data is also stored in reference to users is given in Scarborough as support for the obviousness of the data being known and used ([Scarborough 0076]: “In block 708, a score may be assigned to each seat resource in the venue by the seat resource engine 210. The score may be computed based on an expected desirability of the users of the group. The score may be computed based on the purchase histories, preferences, user profiles, and the like of one or more users of the group.”)
Zamer teaches:
data indicating advance notice of event attendance by the user;
Zamer figure 5 indicates an alert (508) [data indicating advance notice of event attendance by the user] is used to give indication of user attendance.
Gupta teaches:
wherein the characteristics and historical attendance data of the user comprises: data indicating demographics of the user;
number of games attended by the user;
data associated with historical purchases of the user at prior events;
user data indicating user feedback for prior events;
data associated with user social media engagement;
data associated with groups and/or individuals who attended prior events with the user;
[Gupta 0015]: “Furthermore, the user demographics [wherein the characteristics and historical attendance data of the user comprises: data indicating demographics of the user;] include user location, user data, and venue locations of events; user preferences include user information on seat, price, artist, genres, sub-genres, social media graph of user [data associated with user social media engagement;], browsing history, web searches associated with entities of multiple resources, likes, clicks, favorites, purchase history [data associated with historical purchases of the user at prior events;], tickets purchased, tickets transferred, tickets sold, attendance history [number of games attended by the user;][number of no-shows by the user;], friends, friends list, items displayed, venue, price, venue location, median price in group [data associated with groups and/or individuals who attended prior events with the user;], history; and user feedback include feedback from users for one or more events before and after attending the one or more events [user data indicating user feedback for prior events;]. Other embodiments of this aspect include corresponding computer systems, apparatus, and computer programs recorded on one or more computer storage devices, each configured to perform the actions of the methods.”
Support for user data being stored, such as social media profile data and user activity data is further provided in Gupta 0120.
data associated with an account for the user;
[Gupta 0120]: “The user data includes username, account details [data associated with an account for the user;], social media profile, and the user preferences like food, parking, seating, or artist. The user patterns 604 acquire and store the user data and the user activities from the user database 106.”
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date, would have been motivated to combine Moins, Sundaresan, Scarborough, Zamer, and Gupta. Moins, Sundaresan, Scarborough, Zamer, and Gupta are all in the same field of endeavor of user recommendation (related to tickets or seating). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the combination to utilize user information to capture differences in individual preferences for predictions ([Moins Introduction page 1]: “Alternatively, one can model the data of each customer individually, through a recommendation system or a discrete choice model. Doing so allows the capture of differences in individual-level preferences.”). Numerous of the values also have individual motivations to have, such as the “data indicating advance notice of event attendance by the user” taught by Zamer helps keep customer satisfaction and optimize venue use ([Zamer Abstract]: “A ticket seller system can offer an enhanced event experience for users of the system by tracking the locations of ticketholders before and during an event to offer ticket resale and seat upgrade opportunities to the users. The locations of users can be harnessed to offer enhanced value to event attendees and to allow event owners to maximize the use of their venue during an event by offering new upgrades and resale options to patrons.”) Scarborough has the motivation noted in claim 1 for reason to utilize arrival data of users. Sundaresan notes the use of historic quality data can assist in understanding the quality of a seat and to help customers find a good seat ([Scarborough 0017]: “Unfortunately, before users purchase tickets they may be unsure about the quality of a particular seat. It may be desirable to provide potential ticket purchasers with information regarding the quality of a seat.”). Gupta notes that the use of user data can help with user satisfaction, especially when done in a more automated way ([Gupta 0005]: “In recent years, technological advancements have made it possible to simplify the ticket booking process and improve the overall user experience for the users. However, even with a simplified ticket booking process, attendees still go through the time-consuming process of filling in details manually in different fields of the form and applying filters manually to get the desired results. Confusion results in less sales while leading to user dissatisfaction.”) As indicated, the teaching of using user data as input to improve a recommendation or selection is taught in Moins and other prior art. The use of different user data to assist in predications related to the user is seen as obvious for using a combination of familiar elements (user data as shown by user data being used in prior art) to yield predictable results (predicting aspects related to a user using user data as shown in prior art) ([MPEP 2141 1]: “Importantly, the Supreme Court reaffirmed principles based on its precedent that ‘[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.’ Id. at 415-16, 82 USPQ2d at 1395.” and “When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one. If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, § 103 likely bars its patentability. For the same reason, if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill. Id. at 417, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.”).
Regarding Claim 18:
This claim is analogous to claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Khan (US 20150199618 A1) is relevant art that discusses being able to display a seat map and be able to collect input for selections of a seat, updating a seat, or exchanging a seat.
Lee et al (US 20140288980 A1) is relevant art that discusses using user information and user input to assist with selling tickets or seats by creating a system to upgrade or exchange seats.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.D.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2129
/MICHAEL J HUNTLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2129