Art Rejection
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyapati, U.S. pat. No. 11,134,402.
Per claim 1, Boyapati discloses a system comprising at least one hardware processor, and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon program instructions, the program instructions executable by the at least one hardware processor to:
a) receive, at a network interface, telemetry data from a plurality of uniquely-identified end-devices in multiple communication networks (see col 2, ln 17-42), wherein the telemetry data is captured with respect to each of said end-devices over one or more measuring periods of a predefined duration (see col 2, ln 43-67);
b) process said telemetry data to calculate features, e.g., usage signatures, indicating usage patterns associated with each of said end-devices (see col 3, ln 6-20); and
c) at a training stage, train a machine learning model on a training dataset comprising:
i) the features indicating usage patterns associated with each of said end-devices (see col 4, ln 36-60); and
ii) information indicating one or more attributes associated with each of said end-devices (see col 8, ln 59-62);
d) to obtain a trained machine learning model configured to predict said one or more attributes with respect to an unknown target end-device, by applying said trained machine learning model to telemetry data obtained from said unknown target end-device (see col 4, ln 16-28).
Boyapati does not explicitly teach using a classifier to predict the attributes with respect to the target end-device. Boyapati however teaches using a trained machine learning model to classify usage associated with the target device (see col 5, ln 60-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize using Boyapati’s trained machine learning model as a classifier to predict the attributes with respect to the target end-device.
Boyapati also does not teach labeling the attributes of the end devices. Such use a labeling to train a model is known in the art as disclosed by Flynn (see Flynn, par 0064-0066).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize such labeling to train model in Boyapati because it would have enabled the model to learn pattern and make predictions from the labels.
Per claim 2, Boyapati teaches that attributes comprises type, make and model, or the like of the device (see col 8, ln 59-62).
Per claim 3, Boyapati teaches that usage comprises various usage times (see col 2, ln 33-42), wherein the usage time is measured separately with respect to each of the service categories (see col 3, ln 21-35).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to utilize any usage time in practicing Boyapati.
Per claim 4, Boyapati teaches that set of services comprises media streaming, web browsing, etc., (see col 2, ln 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to practicing invention with any known type of services including file downloading mail, etc.
Per claim 5, Boyapati teaches that wireless link metrics comprise network parameters including QoS metrics, e.g., throughput, latency, beam width, antenna power, etc., (see col 5, ln 24-44 and col 9, ln 49-59).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to utilize any network QoS metrics including WiFi bandwidth, bitrate, etc., to train Boyapati model.
Per claim 6, Flynn teaches that training dataset further comprises features indicating one or more event categories including failures and errors occurs during the measuring periods (see Flynn, par 0031).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to further modify Boyapati with Flynn teaching because it would have enabled training the model to predict problematic conditions which can then be used to manage the resource more effectively.
Per claim 7, Boyapati teaches that predefine duration could be of any time interval (see col 2, ln 43-49).
Claims 8-20 are similar in scope as that of claims 1-7.
Conclusion
/Viet D Vu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455
7/16/26