DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “200” on Fig. 4 has been used to designate both first connector assembly” and “something else”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-10 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Herbrechtsmeier et al. (US 8,979,568) hereafter Herbrechtsmeier.
Regarding claim 1, Herbrechtsmeier, discloses a latch 8, comprising: a handle H (see annotated fig.); and two baffles 7 respectively disposed on two opposite ends of the handle H and opposite to each other, wherein each of the baffles comprises a main body (body of 7), wherein a front end portion of the main body is recessed (at 11) with a pivoting portion 22 and a locking portion 9, the main body has a first opening 11 and a second opening 22, the first opening 11 communicates with an inner side surface of the pivoting portion 22, the second opening communicates with an inner side surface of the locking portion 9, and a bottom surface BS of the main body and the handle are connected through a slope such that the handle H is suspended relative to the bottom surface BS.
Regarding claim 7, Herbrechtsmeier, discloses each of two turning points of connection portions between the handle and the baffles is provided with an oblique reinforcing rib RB.
Regarding claim 8, Herbrechtsmeier, discloses the slope S is (inherently, being it is sloped) an incline (see annotated fig.).
Regarding claim 9, Herbrechtsmeier, discloses connector 1 (fig. 5), comprising: a connector assembly 1 comprising a first housing 2, wherein two supporting columns 13 (fig. 2) are protruding from each of two opposite side surfaces of the first housing 2; and two latches 8, and each of the latches 8 comprising: a handle H; and two baffles 7 respectively disposed on two opposite ends of the handle H and opposite to each other, wherein each of the baffles 7 comprises a main body (body of 7), wherein a front end portion of the main body is recessed (at 11) with a pivoting portion 22 and a locking portion 9, the main body has a first opening 11 and a second opening 22, the first opening 11 communicates with an inner side surface of the pivoting portion 22, the second opening 22 communicates with an inner side surface of the locking portion 9 (being an integral piece), and a bottom surface BS (se annotated fig.) of the main body and the handle H are connected through a slope S such that the handle H is suspended relative to the bottom surface BS, and wherein the pivoting portions 22 of the latches are pivotally connected to the corresponding supporting columns 13 respectively.
Regarding claim 10, Herbrechtsmeier, discloses a cable (not shown, however a cable outlet 26 is used for entering into the connector assembly), wherein the connector assembly 1 is a wire end connector, the first housing 1 comprises an inner mold 3 and an outer mold 2, the inner mold is formed on a surface of the cable by using an injection molding process (it is to be noted that injection molding process is a product-by-process claim and even though such claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, as in the present situation, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 799, 218 USPQ 289 (Fed. Cir. 1983) and In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985),the outer mold is formed on a surface of the inner mold by using the injection molding process (it is to be noted that injection molding process is a product-by-process claim and even though such claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, as in the present situation, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 799, 218 USPQ 289 (Fed. Cir. 1983) and In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985) and the cable passes out of the first housing from a lateral surface of the first housing along a width direction of the latches (see fig. 5, in which, cable outlet 26 is extending in width direction of the latch 8).
Regarding claim 16, Herbrechtsmeier, discloses each of two turning points of connection portions between the handle and the baffles is provided with an oblique reinforcing rib.
Regarding claim 17, Herbrechtsmeier, discloses the slope S is (inherently, being it is sloped) an incline.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 and 11-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record does not discloses a latch comprising a metal sheet disposed in the main body, and wherein the metal sheet has an anti-wear portion, and the anti-wear portion is exposed through a second opening as required in combination with other limitations of this claim.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record does not discloses a connector comprising a metal sheet disposed in a main body of a latch, and wherein the metal sheet has an anti-wear portion, and the anti-wear portion is exposed through a second opening as required in combination with other limitations of this claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO 892.
/HARSHAD C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831