DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 120.
Drawings
The originally filed drawings were received on 12/4/2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujimoto et al. (CN 1551039 A).
Fujimoto et al. discloses a security article reader system (See for example Abstract; Figures 1-8), comprising a first light emission device (See for example 8 in Figure 1(b)) configured to emit a first set of light beams toward a first surface (See for example 6a in Figure 1(b)) of an optical component (See for example detection location at each placement position of element 2/2’ in Figure 1(a), 1(b)) of a security article (See for example 4 in Figure 1(b)) when the security article is placed within an interrogation area (See Figure 1(b)) of the security article reader system; a second light emission device (See for example 8’ in Figure 1(b)) configured to emit a second set of light beams toward a second surface (See for example 6b in Figure 1(b)) of the optical component of the security article when the security article is placed within the interrogation area of the security article reader system; and a plurality of sensor elements (See for example 10, 10’ in Figure 1(b)) configured to generate sensor data associated with a plurality of optical channels (See for example various locations of 2 in Figure 1(a) corresponding to various separate detection areas on bank note 4) included within the optical component of the security article when at least some of the first set of light beams or at least some of the second set of light beams are received by the plurality of sensor elements after being transmitted or being reflected by the plurality of optical channels (See for example Figures 2-3, generation of reflection/transmission data that may be used to identify bank note 4). Fujimoto et al. further discloses wherein the first light emission device is configured to emit the first set of light beams toward the first surface of the optical component of the security article during a first time period (See for example timing diagram of 8 (middle graph) which shows when light source 8 is toggled on and off in Figure 2(a)), wherein the second light emission device is configured to emit the second set of light beams toward the second surface of the optical component of the security article during a second time period (See for example timing diagram of 8’ (bottom graph) which shows when light source 8’ is toggled on and off in Figure 2(a)), and wherein the first time period and the second time period are not coextensive (See for example timing diagram of 8 (middle graph) and 8’ (bottom graph) which shows when light sources 8 and 8’ are toggled on and off in Figure 2(a)); further comprising one or more processors (See for example 12, 12’ in Figure 1(a)) configured to obtain the sensor data from the plurality of sensor elements; determine, based on the sensor data, one or more respective optical characteristics of the plurality of optical channels included within the optical component of the security article; determine, based on the one or more respective optical characteristics of the plurality of optical channels, identification information associated with the optical component; and cause one or more actions to be performed based on the identification information associated with the optical component (See for example Page 14, line 26-Page 15, line 27; wherein processors 12, 12’ receive transmitted and reflected light data from elements 10, 10’, construct a transmitted and reflected light graph from the data, determine authenticity of the bank note 4, and identify the bank note for as either counterfeit or genuine by outputting identification signals T1, T1’, T2’); wherein, to determine the one or more respective optical characteristics of the plurality of optical channels, the one or more processors are configured to determine, based on the sensor data, a reflection characteristic associated with a first side of an optical channel of the plurality of optical channels (See for example light generated by 8, reflected by 6a, and detected by 10 in Figures 1(b), 1(c)); determine, based on the sensor data, a transmission characteristic associated with the optical channel (See for example light generated by 8, transmitted by 6a, 6b, and detected by 10’ in Figures 1(b), 1(c)); and determine, based on the sensor data, a reflection characteristic associated with a second side of the optical channel (See for example light generated by 8’, reflected by 6b, and detected by 10’ in Figures 1(b), 1(c)); wherein, to determine the identification information associated with the optical component, the one or more processors are configured to identify, based on the one or more respective optical characteristics of the plurality of optical channels, a first set of optical characteristics associated with a first optical channel, of the plurality of optical channels, and a second set of optical characteristics associated with a second optical channel, of the plurality of optical channels (See for example Figures 2(a), 2(b), which shows the generated data due to light reflected from 6a, transmitted through 4, and reflected from 6b for one position of element 2 in Figure 1(a), 1(b) as bank note 4 moves in either the S1 or S2 direction; other positions of additional element 2 will generate additional data for those positions as bank note 4 moves in either the S1 or S2 direction); determine, based on the first set of optical characteristics and a location of the first optical channel within the optical component, a first value associated with the first optical channel (See for example generation of reflected and transmitted light graph for a first element 2 in Figure 3); determine, based on the second set of optical characteristics and a location of the second optical channel within the optical component, a second value associated with the second optical channel (See for example generation of reflected and transmitted light graph for a second element 2, wherein similar graphs as shown in Figure 3 would be generated for the different position of the second element 2); and determine, based on the first value and the second value, the identification information associated with the optical component (See for example Page 14, line 26-Page 15, line 27; wherein processors 12, 12’ receive transmitted and reflected light data from elements 10, 10’, construct a transmitted and reflected light graph from the data, determine authenticity of the bank note 4, and identify the bank note for as either counterfeit or genuine by outputting identification signals T1, T1’, T2’); and the one or more processors are configured to, to cause the one or more actions to be performed: determine, based on the identification information associated with the optical component, whether the security article is valid (See for example Page 14, line 26-Page 15, line 27; wherein processors 12, 12’ receive transmitted and reflected light data from elements 10, 10’, construct a transmitted and reflected light graph from the data, determine authenticity of the bank note 4, and identify the bank note for as either counterfeit or genuine by outputting identification signals T1, T1’, T2’).
Fujimoto et al. additionally discloses a method (See for example Abstract; Figures 1-8), comprising identifying, by a security article reader system, sensor data (See for example Figures 2-3) associated with a plurality of optical channels (See for example various locations of 2 in Figure 1(a) corresponding to various separate detection areas on bank note 4) included within an optical component (See for example detection location at each placement position of element 2/2’ in Figure 1(a), 1(b)) of a security article (See for example 4 in Figure 1(b)); determining, by the security article reader system and based on the sensor data, one or more respective optical characteristics of the plurality of optical channels; determining, by the security article reader system and based on the one or more respective optical characteristics of the plurality of optical channels, identification information associated with the optical component; and causing, by the security article reader system, one or more actions to be performed based on the identification information associated with the optical component (See for example Page 14, line 26-Page 15, line 27; wherein processors 12, 12’ receive transmitted and reflected light data from elements 10, 10’, construct a transmitted and reflected light graph from the data, determine authenticity of the bank note 4, and identify the bank note for as either counterfeit or genuine by outputting identification signals T1, T1’, T2’). Fujimoto et al. further discloses further comprising causing a first light emission device of the security article reader system to emit a first set of light beams toward a first surface of the optical component during a first time period (See for example timing diagram of 8 (middle graph) which shows when light source 8 is toggled on and off in Figure 2(a)); causing a second light emission device of the security article reader system to emit a second set of light beams toward a second surface of the optical component during a second time period (See for example timing diagram of 8’ (bottom graph) which shows when light source 8’ is toggled on and off in Figure 2(a)), wherein the first time period and the second time period are not coextensive (See for example timing diagram of 8 (middle graph) and 8’ (bottom graph) which shows when light sources 8 and 8’ are toggled on and off in Figure 2(a)); and causing a plurality of sensor elements of the security article reader system to generate the sensor data during the first time period and the second time period (See for example Figures 2-3); wherein determining the one or more respective optical characteristics of the plurality of optical channels comprises identifying, for an optical channel, of the plurality of optical channels, at least one of a first portion of the sensor data that is associated with a first subset of light beams of a first set of light beams that is reflected by a first side of the optical channel (See for example light generated by 8, reflected by 6a, and detected by 10 in Figures 1(b), 1(c)), a second portion of the sensor data that is associated with a second subset of light beams of the first set of light beams that is passed by the optical channel (See for example light generated by 8, transmitted by 6a, 6b, and detected by 10’ in Figures 1(b), 1(c)), a third portion of the sensor data that is associated with a first subset of light beams of a second set of light beams that is passed by the optical channel (See for example light generated by 8’, reflected by 6b, and detected by 10’ in Figures 1(b), 1(c)), or a fourth portion of the sensor data that is associated with a second subset of light beams of the second set of light beams that is reflected by a second side of the optical channel; and determining, based on at least one of the first portion of the sensor data, the second portion of the sensor data, the third portion of the sensor data, or the fourth portion of the sensor data, one or more optical characteristics of the optical channel reflected from 6a, transmitted through 4, and reflected from 6b for one position of element 2 in Figure 1(a), 1(b) as bank note 4 moves in either the S1 or S2 direction; other positions of additional element 2 will generate additional data for those positions as bank note 4 moves in either the S1 or S2 direction); wherein the one or more respective optical characteristics of the plurality of optical channels includes, for an optical channel, of the plurality of optical channels, at least one of a reflection characteristic associated with a first side of the optical channel (See for example light generated by 8, reflected by 6a, and detected by 10 in Figures 1(b), 1(c)); a transmission characteristic associated with the optical channel (See for example light generated by 8, transmitted by 6a, 6b, and detected by 10’ in Figures 1(b), 1(c)); or a reflection characteristic associated with a second side of the optical channel (See for example light generated by 8’, reflected by 6b, and detected by 10’ in Figures 1(b), 1(c)); determining the identification information associated with the optical component comprises identifying, based on the one or more respective optical characteristics of the plurality of optical channels, a first set of optical characteristics associated with a first optical channel, of the plurality of optical channels (See for example generation of reflected and transmitted light graph for a first element 2 in Figure 3), and a second set of optical characteristics associated with a second optical channel, of the plurality of optical channels (See for example generation of reflected and transmitted light graph for a second element 2, wherein similar graphs as shown in Figure 3 would be generated for the different position of the second element 2); determining, based on the first set of optical characteristics, a first value associated with the first optical channel (See for example generation of reflected and transmitted light graph for a first element 2 in Figure 3); determining, based on the second set of optical characteristics, a second value associated with the second optical channel (See for example generation of reflected and transmitted light graph for a second element 2, wherein similar graphs as shown in Figure 3 would be generated for the different position of the second element 2); and determining, based on the first value and the second value, the identification information associated with the optical component (See for example Page 14, line 26-Page 15, line 27; wherein processors 12, 12’ receive transmitted and reflected light data from elements 10, 10’, construct a transmitted and reflected light graph from the data, determine authenticity of the bank note 4, and identify the bank note for as either counterfeit or genuine by outputting identification signals T1, T1’, T2’); and causing the one or more actions to be performed comprises determining, based on the identification information associated with the optical component, whether the security article is valid; and granting or denying access to a resource based on determining whether the security article is valid (See for example Page 14, line 26-Page 15, line 27; wherein processors 12, 12’ receive transmitted and reflected light data from elements 10, 10’, construct a transmitted and reflected light graph from the data, determine authenticity of the bank note 4, and identify the bank note for as either counterfeit or genuine by outputting identification signals T1, T1’, T2’).
Finally, Fujimoto et al. discloses a system (See for example Abstract; Figures 1-8), comprising a first light emission device (See for example 8 in Figure 1(b)) configured to emit one or more first light beams toward a first surface (See for example 6a in Figure 1(b)) of an optical component (See for example detection location at each placement position of element 2/2’ in Figure 1(a), 1(b)) of a security article (See for example 4 in Figure 1(b)); a second light emission device (See for example 8’ in Figure 1(b)) configured to emit one or more second light beams toward a second surface (See for example 6b in Figure 1(b)) of the optical component of the security article; and one or more components (See for example 10, 10’ in Figure 1(b)) configured to generate sensor data associated with a plurality of optical channels included within the optical component of the security article (See for example Figures 2-3, generation of reflection/transmission data that may be used to identify bank note 4). Fujimoto et al. further discloses wherein the first light emission device is configured to emit the one or more first light beams toward the first surface of the optical component of the security article during a first time period (See for example timing diagram of 8 (middle graph) which shows when light source 8 is toggled on and off in Figure 2(a)), wherein the second light emission device is configured to emit the one or more second light beams toward the second surface of the optical component of the security article during a second time period (See for example timing diagram of 8’ (bottom graph) which shows when light source 8’ is toggled on and off in Figure 2(a)), and wherein the first time period and the second time period are not coextensive (See for example timing diagram of 8 (middle graph) and 8’ (bottom graph) which shows when light sources 8 and 8’ are toggled on and off in Figure 2(a)); one or more processors (See for example 12, 12’ in Figure 1(a)) configured to cause one or more actions to be performed based on the sensor data; one or more processors configured to determine, based on the sensor data, one or more optical characteristics; and cause one or more actions to be performed based on the one or more optical characteristics (See for example Page 14, line 26-Page 15, line 27; wherein processors 12, 12’ receive transmitted and reflected light data from elements 10, 10’, construct a transmitted and reflected light graph from the data, determine authenticity of the bank note 4, and identify the bank note for as either counterfeit or genuine by outputting identification signals T1, T1’, T2’); the one or more optical characteristics include one or more of a reflection characteristic associated with a first side of an optical channel of the plurality of optical channels (See for example light generated by 8, reflected by 6a, and detected by 10 in Figures 1(b), 1(c)), a transmission characteristic associated with the optical channel (See for example light generated by 8, transmitted by 6a, 6b, and detected by 10’ in Figures 1(b), 1(c)), or a reflection characteristic associated with a second side of the optical channel (See for example light generated by 8’, reflected by 6b, and detected by 10’ in Figures 1(b), 1(c)); one or more processors configured to identify, based on the sensor data, a first set of optical characteristics associated with a first optical channel, of the plurality of optical channels, and a second set of optical characteristics associated with a second optical channel, of the plurality of optical channels (See for example Figures 2(a), 2(b), which shows the generated data due to light reflected from 6a, transmitted through 4, and reflected from 6b for one position of element 2 in Figure 1(a), 1(b) as bank note 4 moves in either the S1 or S2 direction; other positions of additional element 2 will generate additional data for those positions as bank note 4 moves in either the S1 or S2 direction); determine, based on the first set of optical characteristics and a location of the first optical channel within the optical component, a first value associated with the first optical channel (See for example generation of reflected and transmitted light graph for a first element 2 in Figure 3); determine, based on the second set of optical characteristics and a location of the second optical channel within the optical component, a second value associated with the second optical channel (See for example generation of reflected and transmitted light graph for a second element 2, wherein similar graphs as shown in Figure 3 would be generated for the different position of the second element 2); determine, based on the first value and the second value, identification information associated with the optical component (See for example Page 14, line 26-Page 15, line 27; wherein processors 12, 12’ receive transmitted and reflected light data from elements 10, 10’, construct a transmitted and reflected light graph from the data, determine authenticity of the bank note 4, and identify the bank note for as either counterfeit or genuine by outputting identification signals T1, T1’, T2’); and cause one or more actions to be performed based on the identification information associated with the optical component (See for example Page 14, line 26-Page 15, line 27; wherein processors 12, 12’ receive transmitted and reflected light data from elements 10, 10’, construct a transmitted and reflected light graph from the data, determine authenticity of the bank note 4, and identify the bank note for as either counterfeit or genuine by outputting identification signals T1, T1’, T2’); the one or more first light beams include a first set of light beams (See for example La1 and La2 in Figures 1(b) and 1(c)), and wherein the one or more components include a first set of sensor elements (See for example 10’ in Figures 1(b) and 1(c)) configured to receive a first portion of the first set of light beams that passes through an optical channel of the plurality of optical channels, and a second set of sensor elements (See for example 10 in Figures 1(b) and 1(c)) configured to receive a second portion of the first set of light beams that is reflected by the optical channel; and the one or more first light beams include a first set of light beams (See for example La1 and La2 in Figures 1(b) and 1(c)), and wherein the sensor data indicates one or more of information related to a first portion of the first set of light beams that passes through an optical channel of the plurality of optical channels, and information related to a second portion of the first set of light beams that is reflected by the optical channel (See for example Figures 2-3, which shows data generated by both reflected and transmitted light that is detected by detection elements 10/10’).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto et al.
Fujimoto et al. discloses the invention as set forth above, except for causing information indicating whether the security article is valid to be displayed on a display associated with the security article reader system. However, utilizing a display to show the results of an analysis or calculation is well known and conventional in the art. Official Notice is taken. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the security article reader system of Fujimoto et al., cause information indicating whether the security article is valid to be displayed on a display associated with the security article reader system, to conveniently convey to a user the results of the security article reader system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. 7986860 to Haran.
JP 2004-355263A to Tsuji et al.
ARNEL C. LAVARIAS
Primary Examiner
Group Art Unit 2872
11/10/2025
/ARNEL C LAVARIAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872