DETAILED ACTION
Rejections Repeated
The 35 U.S.C. 102(a) rejection of claims 1-5,7,9 anticipated by Taniguchi et al. has been repeated as previously made in office action 6/11/26.
As to the new limitation, “wherein the plurality of negative electrode active material particles are bonded to each other via the perfluoropolyether,” Taniguchi et al. discloses wherein the plurality of negative electrode active material particles are bonded to each other via the perfluoropolyether (paragraph 0020, the silicon based active material particles are coated with a film of organosilicon compound containing PFPE therefore the film bonds the particles together).
The 35 U.S.C. 103(a) rejection of claims 6,8 unpatentable over Taniguchi et al. in view of Honda has been repeated as previously made in office action 6/11/26.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi et al.
Taniguchi et al. fail to disclose wherein the number of negative electrode active material particles included in one active material secondary particle is from 2 or more to 1000 or less. Taniguchi et al. discloses 50g of silicon oxide powder having an average size of 5um (paragraph 0087). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide wherein the number of negative electrode active material particles included in one active material secondary particle is from 2 or more to 1000 or less for the purpose of providing optimal value in absence of unexpected results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/9/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Taniguchi fail to disclose a plurality of negative electrode active material particles are bonded to each other via PFPE; and
a plurality of bonded particles constitute an active material secondary particle, Taniguchi discloses the silicon based active material particles are coated with a film of organosilicon compound containing PFPE therefore the film bonds the particles together (paragraph 0020).
In response to applicant’s argument that Taniguchi fails to disclose a "volume ratio" of the perfluoropolyether to the "total of the negative electrode active material particles and the perfluoropolyether" is 2% by volume or more and 30% by volume or less, Taniguchi discloses in paragraph [0022] that the mass of the organosilicon compound "film" is 0.1 to 5 mass% relative to the silicon-based active material particles. Examiner agrees that volume % and mass% are different since one measures in liters and the other measures in grams, however when mass% is converted to volume% by multiplying the density of perfluoropolyether which is 1.92g/mL, then the volume% would be about 10%.
In response to applicant’s argument that Taniguchi fail to disclose "the active material secondary particles" have a mean particle diameter of 0.5 um or more and 20.0 µm or less, Taniguchi discloses in paragraph [0041] a range of 0.1 to 50um for the mean particle diameter of "the silicon-based active material particles” which are the active material particles.
In response to applicant’s argument that Taniguchi fail to disclose mixing a plurality of negative electrode active material particles and perfluoropolyether to bond the plurality of negative electrode active material particles to each other via the perfluoropolyether, Taniguchi discloses mixing a plurality of negative electrode active material particles and perfluoropolyether to bond the plurality of negative electrode active material particles to each other via the perfluoropolyether (paragraph 0053).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JANE J RHEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724