DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 32, 39, and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 32, 39, and 45 recite concatenating "the first feature vector and the second feature map" (emphasis added). The prior limitations generate "a second feature vector from the second feature map." The concatenation step should reference "the second feature vector," not "the second feature map." This appears to be a drafting inconsistency. The claim generates a second feature vector for this purpose but then concatenates a feature map.
The claim recites generating "a second feature vector from the second feature map" and then "concatenating the first feature vector and the second feature map." It is unclear whether the concatenation step is intended to operate on the second feature vector or the second feature map, as these are distinct claim elements. The claim is therefore not reasonably certain in its scope.
Double Patenting
Claims 26-45 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,880,770. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the independent claims of the instant application are broader versions o the patented claims. The omitted limitations required by the patented claims – 3D filters, applied to a 3D image segment, that the filters comprise 3D cells of the same spatial size with the first filter comprising more cells than the second, and that the second feature map bypasses the second convolutional layer – are such that the embodiment encompassed by the patented claims would fall within the scope of the instant application’s claims, and the broader claims of the instant application would have been obvious of the narrower patenting claims in view of the common disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 26-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) mathematical operations of
applying convolutional filter matrices of different sizes to an input array, generating feature
map arrays, routing feature maps through or bypassing additional layers, and
concatenating feature vectors to generate an output prediction. These operations
constitute mathematical concepts under Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank lnt'l, 573 U.S. 208 (2014),
and Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66 (2012). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because under the framework of Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp., No. 2022-2027 (Fed. Cir. 2024), defining a novel neural network architecture or training approach that improves ML performance, without more, does not constitute a practical application or technical improvement sufficient to confer eligibility. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements (processor, CRM, convolutional layers, pooling) are well-understood, routine, and conventional components that do not add an inventive concept beyond the abstract idea.
Step 1 -Statutory Category
Claims 26-32: Process
Claims 33-39: Machine (CRM)
Claims 40-45: Machine
All claims satisfy Step 1.
Step 2A, Prong 1 – Judicial Exception
Independent claims 26, 33, 40 all recite:
Providing a 3D input to parallel convolutional layers with filters of different spatial sizes
Generating feature maps from each filter
Routing larger-filter feature maps through additional convolutional layers; smaller filter feature maps bypass those layers
Concatenating resulting feature vectors at a fully connected layer
Generating an object recognition output (prediction)
The core operations are mathematical in nature – applying weighted filter matrices to input arrays, generating feature map arrays, and concatenating vectors. These are mathematical concepts (mathematical operations/relationships). Under Alice/Mayo Step 2A Prong 1, the claims recite an abstract idea. Under Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp. (Fed. Cir. 2024), training or applying a neural network, even with specific architectural choices, can constitute an abstract mathematical concept when the claims do not recite a specific technological improvement beyond the ML operations themselves.
Step 2A Prong 1: YES, the claims recite abstract idea (mathematical operations/mathematical relationships comprising CNN filter application and feature map generation).
Step 2A, Prong 2 - Practical Application
This is where the claims have the most substance. The key question becomes: does the specific multiscale, depth-aware filter architecture with bypass routing constitute a technical improvement to computer/CNN technology, or merely an application of mathematical operations?
The independent claims (26, 33, 40) do not recite the fixed physical cell size - that
appears only in the specification and in the dependent claim 31, 38, and 44 context (cells
of "the same spatial size," but not a fixed physical dimension). The independent claims are written at a high level of architectural generality. The "different spatial size" for filters is a mathematical relationship, not a physical constraint in the independent claims. Under Recentive Analytics, defining a novel CNN architecture to improve ML performance, without more, may still be abstract.
The claims recite a specific technical implementation - parallel multi-scale filter paths with bypass routing that the specification characterizes as a technical improvement to CNN performance. This is closer to the eligible claims in PTO Example 47 (specific technical implementation improving computer functioning) than to the ineligible "train generic ML on domain data" pattern. However, because the independent claims do not recite the fixed physical spatial cell size that most strongly anchors the invention in physical 3D space, the independent claims present a meaningful § 101 rejection risk under Step 2A Prong 2.
Step 2A Prong 2: NO for claims 26, 33, 40.
The claims may be more defensible than a generic Recentive-style rejection, but the absence of the physical cell-size constraint in the independent claims weakens the Prong 2 argument.
Step 2B- Inventive Concept
The bypass routing architecture (small-filter feature maps skipping final convolutional layers) is not disclosed in the specification as well-understood, routine, or conventional. The spec presents it as a novel architectural contribution. Standard convolutional layers, pooling, and FC layers are individually conventional (WURC), but the specific combination, parallel filters of different spatial sizes with differential bypass paths and concatenation, may not be. Step 2B: NO, given that multi-scale CNN architectures (e.g., inception modules) were known. Evidence
of WURC supports a Step 2B rejection.
Claims
Result
Analysis
26, 33, 40 (independent)
Ineligible
See above
27, 34, 41
Ineligible
Adds "different spatial size/ same spatial size" relationship – mathematical
28, 35, 42
Ineligible
Adds "one or more other convolutional layers" –
conventional layer type
29, 36, 42
Ineligible
Adds third filter of different spatial size – mathematical
30, 37, 43
Ineligible
Adds fourth feature map pathway
31, 38, 44
Ineligible
Adds "plurality of cells having the same spatial size"
– begins to recite physical spatial constraint; eligible if physical cell size (¶ [0028]) is added
32, 39, 45
Ineligible
Concatenation step
Note: Applicant may overcome this rejection by amending the independent claims to recite the fixed physical spatial cell size (e.g., cells of a fixed physical resolution such as (0. 1 m)3, per [0028]), which would more strongly anchor the mathematical operations to a specific physical 3D measurement framework and distinguish the claims from generic ML architectural claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26, 29-33, 36-40, 42-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Szegedy et al. (Going Deeper with Convolutions – hereinafter “Szegedy” or “Inception” or “GoogLeNet”) in view of Carreira et al. (US 2020/0125852 A1 – hereinafter “Carreira” or “DeepMind”).
Claims 26, 33, and 40.
An apparatus, comprising:
a computer processor for executing computer program instructions; and
one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer program instructions executable by the computer processor to perform operations (Szegedy p. 6 “Although we
used a CPU based implementation only, a rough estimate suggests that the GoogLeNet network could be trained to convergence using few high-end GPUs”) comprising:
providing an input to a first convolutional layer in a neural network, the first convolutional layer having a first filter (Szegedy p. 3 “current incarnations of the Inception architecture are restricted to filter sizes, and 1x1, 3x3, 5x5”; p. 4, Fig. 2(a) shows parallel 1x1, 3x3, and 5x5 convolutions),
generating, in the first convolutional layer, a first feature map from the input and the first filter (Szegedy p. 3 “the suggested architecture is a combination of all those layers with their output filter banks concatenated into a single output vector”; p. 4, Fig. 2(a) shows each parallel convolution branch produces its own output feeding into “Filter concatenation” Szegedy does not use the term “feature map.” The paper uses the terms “output filter banks” and “output vector.” The term “feature map” is standard art-recognized terminology for the output of a convolution layer. The specification ¶21 defines feature maps as outputs of convolution filtering and pooling, which is what Szegedy’s inception module produce.),
providing the input to a second convolutional layer in the neural network, the second convolutional layer having a second filter, wherein the second filter has a different spatial size from the first filter (Szegedy p. 3 “current incarnations of the Inception architecture are restricted to filter sizes, and 1x1, 3x3, 5x5” – the 3x3 and 5x5 branches both receive the same input and have different spatial sizes from each other; p. 4, Fig. 2(a) shows each parallel convolution branch receives the same “Previous layer” input in parallel),
generating, in the second convolutional layer, a second feature map from the input and the second filter (Szegedy same as above – p. 4, Fig. 2(a) shows each parallel convolution branch generates its own output map at a different spatial size),
generating, in one or more other layers arranged after the first convolutional layer in the neural network, a third feature map from the first feature map (Szegedy pp. 3-4 larger filter output pass through subsequent Inception modules – “As these ‘Inception modules’ are stacked on top of each other, their output correlation statistics are bound to vary.” The output of one Inception module feed as the input to the next.; Table 1: inception (3a) output feeds inception (3b), which feeds inception (4a), etc. – multiple layers arranged in sequence each generating feature maps from the prior.), and
generating an output of the neural network based on the third feature map and the second feature map, wherein the output of the neural network comprises a prediction made by the neural network from the input (Szegedy p. 4 “the suggested architecture is a combination of all those layers with their output filter banks concatenated into a single output vector forming the input of the next stage.” Table 1: avg pool → dropout (40%) → linear → softmax with output size 1x1x1000 – this is the prediction output; p. 6 “The ILSVRC 2014 classification challenge involves the task of classifying the image into one of 1000 leaf-node categories”).
Szegedy discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching “feature maps.” However, Carreira in the same field of endeavor teaches feature maps (¶37 “feature maps from the upper layers of the 3D convolutional neural networks 110, 120 may be combined and provided to one or more further convolutional neural network layers implemented by combiner 130.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Szegedy and Carreira before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation for this combination of references would have been to apply the multi-scale parallel convolution architecture of Szegedy to 3D spatio-temporal data as taught by Carreira, since both reference originate from Google and address convolutional neural network architectures for feature extraction, and Carreira demonstrates that 3D CNNs generate feature maps that can be combined in the same manner as their 2D counterparts.
Claims 29, 36, and 42.
The combination of Szegedy and Carreira discloses the method of claim 26, further comprising: providing the input to a third convolutional layer in the neural network, the third convolutional layer having a third filter, wherein the third filter has a different spatial size from the first filter and different from the second filter; and generating, in the third convolutional layer, a third feature map from the input and the third filter (Szegedy p. 3 filter sizes 1x1, 3x3, and 5x5 produce feature maps of different spatial sizes).
Claims 30, 37, and 43.
The combination of Szegedy and Carreira discloses the apparatus of claim 42, wherein the operations further comprise: generating, in one or more additional layers arranged after the third convolutional layer in the neural network, a fourth feature map from the third feature map, wherein the output of the neural network is generated further based on the fourth feature map (Szegedy Table 1: output of inception (3a) contains three filter-size branches, feeds inception (3b), which in turn generates new feature maps. All of these ultimately contribute to the final softmax output. P. 4, “the next stage can abstract features from the different scales simultaneously” – each subsequent stage generates new feature maps from prior stage outputs, all contributing to the final prediction).
Claims 31, 38, and 44.
The combination of Szegedy and Carreira discloses the apparatus of claim 40, wherein the first filter and the second filter comprise a plurality of cells having the same spatial size, and the first filter comprises more cells than the second filter (Szegedy p. 3 filters of size 3x3 and 5x5 can be characterized as having cells (pixels) of the same spatial size, with the 5x5 filter having more cells (25) than the 3x3 filter (9). This is a geometric fact about filter definitions – a 5x5 filter has more cells of the same unit pixel size than a 3x3 filter.)
Claims 32, 39, and 45.
The combination of Szegedy and Carreira discloses the apparatus of claim 40, wherein generating the output of the neural network comprises: generating a first feature vector from the third feature map; generating a second feature vector from the second feature map; and concatenating the first feature vector and the second feature map (Szegedy p. 4 “the suggested architecture is a combination of all those layers with their output filter banks concatenated into a single output vector forming the input of the next stage.”; Fig. 2(a) “filter concatenation” block receives all parallel branch outputs and concatenates them; p. 5, Table 1, shows “avg pool → linear” receiving the combined feature representation).
Claims 27-28, 34-35, and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Szegedy in view of Carreira, further in view of Xu et al. (US 2019/0130573 A1 – hereinafter “Xu”).
Claims 27, 34, and 41.
The combination of Szegedy and Carreira discloses the apparatus of claim 40, wherein the first feature map has a different spatial size from the second feature map, and (Szegedy p. 3 filter sizes 1x1, 3x3, and 5x5 produce feature maps of different spatial sizes – the 3x3 and 5x5 branches both receive the same input and have different spatial sizes from each other; In Szegedy the “Filter concatenation” where all branches must have the same spatial dimensions. Szegedy achieves this through padding and stride choices, but not through an explicit teaching.).
Szegedy discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching “the third feature map has a same spatial size as the second feature map.” However, Xu in the same field of endeavor teaches the third feature map has a same spatial size as the second feature map (Xu ¶63 “Padding, which is the process of adding a border of "0's" to the activation map before being forwarded to the next convolution layer ( and application of a different filter) can be performed to achieve the same size output image as input image. Padding is typically performed in CNNs to ensure that the image size does not shrink over every convolutional layer.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Szegedy and Xu before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation for this combination of references would have been to apply the well-known padding technique of Xu to the parallel branches of Szegedy Inception module to ensure the feature maps have the same spatial dimensions prior to concatenation, as padding for dimension preservation was a routine practice in convolutional neural networks at the time of filing.
Claims 28 and 35.
The combination of Szegedy and Carreira discloses the method of claim 27, wherein the one or more other layers comprise one or more other convolutional layers (Szegedy Table 1: between inception (3a) and the fully connected layers there are inception (3b), (4a), (4b), (4c), (4d), (4e), (5a), (5b) – all convolution layers).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record but not relied, yet considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure, is listed on the PTO-892 form.
/Ross Varndell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2674