DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 10 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10, respectively of U.S. Patent No. 8708694. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the issued patent claims fully anticipate the application claims.
Issued patent Claim 1 in its entirety reads: A wooden wick embedded in a wax candle, said wooden wick and said wax candle comprising: (a) a strip of a predetermined wood having each of a first predetermined length, a first predetermined width and a first predetermined thickness; (b) a wooden booster member having each of a second predetermined length, a second predetermined width and a second predetermined thickness, said first predetermined width is greater than said second predetermined width; and (c) means for adhering said booster member to said strip of wood, wherein said strip of wood is treated with a liquid wax; (d) said wax candle in direct contact with said wooden wick.
Issued patent Claim 10 in its entirety reads: A method of manufacturing a wooden wick embedded in a wax candle, said method comprising the steps of: (a) selecting a type of wood to be formed into a strip of wood to be used in said wooden wick; (b) cutting said wood selected in step (a) into said strip having each of a first predetermined length, a first predetermined width and a first predetermined thickness; (c) forming a wooden booster member having each of a second predetermined length, a second predetermined width and a second predetermined thickness, said first predetermined width is greater than said second predetermined width; (d) adhering said booster member to said strip of wood; (e) soaking said wooden booster member in a soy oil prior to assembly; (f) embedding said wooden wick in said candle such that both are in direct with one another.
The bold text above are the application claims in its entirety, showing that the issued patent claims anticipate the entire scope of the application claims.
Although terms/phrases from the application, e.g. “planar” and “to form the wooden wick” are not in the issued claims, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill that these features are present, because the wick has a “strip” of wood and together with the booster, the wick is formed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Everett [133973].
With respect to claim 1, Everett discloses: A wooden wick for use in a wax candle, said wooden wick comprising: (a) a planar strip (a) of a predetermined wood having each of a first predetermined length, a first predetermined width and a first predetermined thickness [see FIG 2]; (b) a planar booster (d) member having each of a second predetermined length, a second predetermined width and a second predetermined thickness; and (c) means for adhering (b, c) said planar booster member to said strip of wood, wherein said planar strip of wood is adhered to said planar booster member to form the wooden wick [see left column].
Everett further discloses:
{cl. 2} A wooden wick according to claim 1, wherein said means (c) for adhering said booster member to said strip of wood is an adhesive [resin is interpreted as an adhesive].
{cl. 6} A wooden wick, according to claim 1, wherein said first and said second predetermined thickness are substantially identical [see FIG 2].
With respect to claim 10, Everett discloses: A method of manufacturing a wooden wick for use in a wax candle, said method comprising the steps of: (a) selecting a type of wood (a) to be formed into a strip of wood to be used in said wooden wick; (b) cutting said wood selected in step (a) into said strip having each of a first predetermined length, a first predetermined width and a first predetermined thickness; (c) forming a booster member (d) having each of a second predetermined length, a second predetermined width and a second predetermined thickness; and (d) adhering (b, c) said booster member to said strip of wood [see FIG 2, left column].
Everett further discloses:
{cl. 11} A method of manufacturing a wooden wick, according to claim 10, wherein step (d) includes selecting a suitable adhesive for adhering said booster member to said strip of wood [resin is interpreted as an adhesive].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 14-16 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Everett [133973], further in view of McCullough et al [20030235797].
Regarding claims 14-16, Everett discloses the invention as substantially claimed however does not disclose the curing process as claimed.
McCullough makes up for these deficiencies by teaching:
{cl. 14} A method of manufacturing a wooden wick, according to claim 13, wherein said method further includes an additional step of curing said wooden wick prior to use in such candle [paragraph 0025].
{cl. 15} A method of manufacturing a wooden wick, according to claim 14, wherein said additional step of curing said wooden wick prior to use in such candle includes a step of baking [paragraph 0025].
{cl. 16} A method of manufacturing a wooden wick, according to claim 10, wherein said method further includes an additional step of drying said wooden wick for a predetermined time prior to use in such candle [paragraph 0025].
It is understood that McCullough only teaches drying the candle wick, however drying can also be interpreted as baking or curing because baking and curing result in a dried product.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the invention of Everett with the teachings of McCullough because McCullough provides a known method of how to produce a candle wick that will ensure proper capillary functioning.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3-5, 7-9, 12, 13 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Quinn [2376083] and Decker [20040009447] are considered relevant art because Quinn shows the use of strips of paper adhered to one another to form a wick, albeit the material used is asbestos paper [see FIG 1, page 1, right column, lines 22-48] while Decker shows the use of a wooden material for the wick [see FIG 2, paragraph 0011].
/AVINASH A SAVANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762
4/30/2026