Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Yamauchi US Patent Application (20230030272), hereinafter “Yamauchi”.
Regarding claim 1 Yamauchi discloses a bonding apparatus for performing a bonding process A substrate bonding device [Yamauchi para 0160 and see Fig. 17] of bonding, to one of a plurality of regions in a first object to be bonded, a second object to be bonded, a bonding surface of the metal portion and a bonding surface of the insulating film of each of the substrates … the bonding surfaces of the two substrates come into contact and are bonded together [Yamauchi para 0160] comprising: a holder configured to hold the second object a second holder driver that moves the second bonded article holder relatively to the first bonded article holder in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction [Yamauchi para 0051] a surface treatment device configured to perform a surface treatment substrate bonding device according to the present embodiment is a device that bonds two substrates by performing hydrophilic treatment on bonding portions of the two substrates [Yamauchi para 0160] which includes activating a surface state of a target bonding surface of the second object held by the holder a bonding portion of a substrate is made hydrophilic by supplying water and the like to a vicinity of the bonding portion of the substrate being activated by activation treatment. [Yamauchi para 0160]; and a controller (a controller 3090 and See Fig. 18) configured to, after the surface treatment is performed for the second object by the surface treatment device, control the bonding process such that the second object is bonded to one of the plurality of regions thus pressurizes the substrate W2 to the substrate W1 in a direction of close adhesion between the bonding portions of the substrates W1 and W2 [Yamauchi para 0164] in a state in which the second object is held by the holder. Next, substrate bonding processing performed by the bonding device 3 according to … to FIG. 18. The substrate bonding processing … is started by a controller 3090. Note that, in FIG. 18, it is assumed that the substrates W1 and W2 are conveyed in the bonding device 3. Further, it is assumed that the substrates W1 and W2 are subjected in advance to a hydrophilic treatment step of performing hydrophilic treatment on each bonding portion. [Yamauchi para 0162 and see Fig. 18]
Regarding claim 2 Yamauchi discloses claim 1 in addition Yamauchi teaches further comprising a driver configured to drive the holder that holds the second object, thereby moving the second object between a first position at which the surface treatment is performed and a second position at which the bonding process is performed. The X direction driver 311 is a second holder driver fixed to a base member 302 of the bonding apparatus 30 via two X direction drivers 321. The two X direction drivers 321 each extend in the X direction, and are disposed away from each other in the Y direction. The X direction driver 321 includes a linear motor and a slide rail, and moves the X direction mover 311 in the X direction with respect to the fixing member 301. [Yamauchi para 0114]
Regarding claim 3 Yamauchi discloses claim 2 in addition Yamauchi teaches wherein the driver is configured to translationally drive the holder such that the target bonding surface of the second object faces in the same direction at the first position and the second position. The Y direction mover 313 is a second holder driver disposed below (−Z direction) the X direction mover 311 via two Y direction drivers 323. The two Y direction drivers 323 each extend in the Y direction, and are disposed away from each other in the X direction. [Yamauchi para 0114]
Regarding claim 4 Yamauchi discloses claim 2 in addition Yamauchi teaches wherein the driver is configured to rotationally drive the holder The stage 31 can move in an X direction, a Y direction, and a rotation direction. In this way, a relative positional relationship between the bonding unit 33 and the stage 31 can be changed, and a mounting position of each chip CP on the substrate WT can be adjusted. [Yamauchi para 0114] such that the target bonding surface of the second object faces in different directions at the first position and the second position. ta first bonded article holder that holds the substrate WT in a posture that the surface WTf of the substrate WT on which the chip CP is mounted faces in the vertically downward direction, that is, the −Z direction. [Yamauchi para 0114]
Regarding claim 5 Yamauchi discloses claim 4 in addition Yamauchi teaches wherein the driver is configured to rotationally drive the holder such that a direction of the target bonding surface of the second object The head driver 36 includes a Z direction driver 34, a rotation member 361, and a θ direction driver 37. The Z direction driver 34 includes a servomotor, a ball screw, and the like. The Z direction driver 34 is provided on a lower end side of the rotation member 361 [Yamauchi para 0107] is inverted between the first position and the second position. the pickup mechanism 4111 takes out the chip CP may be provided. Further, the chip supplier 4011 includes a holding frame driver 4113 that drives the sheet holding frame 4112 in the XY direction or the direction rotating about the Z axis. The frame holder 4119 includes the sheet holding frame 4112 in a posture with, on the vertically upward direction (+Z direction) side, [Yamauchi para 0168]
Regarding claim 6 Yamauchi discloses claim 1 in addition Yamauchi teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the bonding process after alignment the capturing units 35a and 35b each acquire image data including an image of the alignment marks MC1a and MC1b provided on the chip CP and an image of the alignment marks MW1a and MW1b provided on the substrate WT [Yamauchi para 0111] between the first object and the second object held by the holder is performed. the controller 90 recognizes a relative position of each chip CP with respect to the substrate WT in a direction parallel to the surface of the substrate WT on which the chip CP is mounted, based on the image data acquired by the capturing units 35a and 35b. [Yamauchi para 0112]
Regarding claim 7 Yamauchi discloses claim 6 in addition Yamauchi teaches further comprising an image capturing device configured to capture an image of the target bonding surface of the second object arranged at a second position at which the bonding process is performed, the capturing units 35a and 35b acquire image data of the capturing target portion of each of the chip CP and the substrate WT. Herein, the hollow portions 415 and 416 of the head 33H rotate about the axis AX in conjunction with the rotation of the rotation member 361. [Yamauchi para 0112] wherein the controller is configured to perform alignment between the first object and the second object held by the holder based on the image obtained by the image capturing device. the capturing target portion of the chip CP is provided with the alignment marks MC1a and MC1b described later, and the capturing target portion of the substrate WT is provided with alignment marks MW1a and MW1b [Yamauchi para 0112]
Regarding claim 8 Yamauchi discloses claim 1 in addition Yamauchi teaches wherein the surface treatment includes washing the target bonding surface of the second object. the surfaces are then washed by water in the atmosphere, and thus a particle adhering to the bonding surface of each of the two substrates is removed [Yamauchi para 0160]
Regarding claim 9 Yamauchi discloses claim 1 in addition Yamauchi teaches wherein the surface treatment includes making the target bonding surface of the second object lyophilic. {Applicant’s specification [0042] “a washing treatment … making the held surface of the die 51 lyophilic (hydrophilic)”} a hydrophilic treatment step of performing hydrophilic treatment on at least one of the first bonding portion and the second bonding portion [Yamauchi para 0027]
Regarding claim 10 Yamauchi discloses claim 1 in addition Yamauchi teaches wherein the holder holds a surface of the second object on an opposite side of the target bonding surface. a second bonded article holder that holds the chip CP from a vertically downward direction (−Z direction). [Yamauchi para 0160 and see Fig. 17]
Regarding claim11 Yamauchi discloses claim 1 in addition Yamauchi teaches further comprising a pickup unit configured to pick up one second object from a plurality of second objects supported by a support member and transfer the one second object to the holder. The chip supplier 4011 includes a frame holder 4119 that holds the sheet holding frame 4112, and a pickup mechanism 4111 for picking up one chip CP from the plurality of chips CP. [Yamauchi para 0168]
Regarding claim 12 Yamauchi discloses bonding method of bonding, A substrate bonding device [Yamauchi para 0160 and see Fig. 17] to one of a plurality of regions in a first object to be bonded, a bonding surface of the metal portion and a bonding surface of the insulating film of each of the substrates … the bonding surfaces of the two substrates come into contact and are bonded together [Yamauchi para 0160] comprising: causing a holder to hold the second object a second holder driver that moves the second bonded article holder relatively to the first bonded article holder in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction [Yamauchi para 0051]; performing a surface treatment substrate bonding device according to the present embodiment is a device that bonds two substrates by performing hydrophilic treatment on bonding portions of the two substrates [Yamauchi para 0160] which includes activating a surface state of a target bonding surface of the second object held by the holder a bonding portion of a substrate is made hydrophilic by supplying water and the like to a vicinity of the bonding portion of the substrate being activated by activation treatment. [Yamauchi para 0160]; and after the performing the surface treatment, bonding the second object to one of the plurality of regions in a state in which the second object to be bonded is held by the holder. Next, substrate bonding processing performed by the bonding device 3 according to … to FIG. 18. The substrate bonding processing … is started by a controller 3090. Note that, in FIG. 18, it is assumed that the substrates W1 and W2 are conveyed in the bonding device 3. Further, it is assumed that the substrates W1 and W2 are subjected in advance to a hydrophilic treatment step of performing hydrophilic treatment on each bonding portion. [Yamauchi para 0162 and see Fig. 18]
Regarding claim 132 Yamauchi discloses claim 12 in addition Yamauchi teaches An article manufacturing method comprising: bonding, to one of a plurality of regions in a first object to be bonded, a second object to be bonded, the bonding device 3 may bond the substrates W1 and W2 including the metal portions [Yamauchi para 0193] processing the first object in which the second object is bonded to one of the plurality of regions the bonding device 3 may press the substrate W2 against the substrate W1, [Yamauchi para 0189] and may then heat the substrates W1 and W2.; and manufacturing an article from the processed first object. as illustrated in FIG. 22A, a so-called light emitting diode (LED) panel may be manufactured by bonding, onto a panel PA, LED chips [Yamauchi para 0193]
Conclusion
/ROBERT J MICHAUD/Examiner, Art Unit 2622