DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate with applicant via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.03, 502.05.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 4-8 & 16 objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claim 3,
“wherein the current tab member includes a plurality of contacting portions that protrude from the heat sink portion in a radial direction” is being read as “wherein the at least one contacting portion includes a plurality of contacting portions that protrude from the heat sink portion in a radial direction”
In regards to claim 4,
“wherein each contacting portion includes a tab welding portion that extends in a radial direction” is being read as “wherein each of the at least one contacting portion includes a tab welding portion that extends in a radial direction”
In regards to claim 5,
“wherein the heat sink portion includes at least one tapered heat sink portion that tapers from the contacting portion towards the terminal portion” is being read as “wherein the heat sink portion includes at least one tapered heat sink portion that tapers from the at least one contacting portion towards the terminal portion”
In regards to claim 6,
“wherein each contacting portion includes a tab welding portion that extends in a radial direction, and wherein each tapered heat sink portion includes a notch that continuously transitions into the tab welding portion” is being read as “wherein each of the at least one contacting portion includes a tab welding portion that extends in a radial direction, and wherein each of the at least one portion tapered heat sink portion includes a notch that continuously transitions into the tab welding portion”
In regards to claim 7,
“wherein the heat sink portion includes at least one thermal conductive leg portion that protrudes from the heat sink portion along the contacting portion” is being read as “wherein the heat sink portion includes at least one thermal conductive leg portion that protrudes from the heat sink portion along the at least one contacting portion”
In regards to claim 8,
“wherein each contacting portion includes a tab welding portion that extends in a radial direction, wherein the tab welding portion is formed as a tab welding groove, and wherein the thermal conductive leg portion forms at least one sidewall of the tab welding groove” is being read as “wherein each of the at least one contacting portion includes a tab welding portion that extends in a radial direction, wherein the tab welding portion is formed as a tab welding groove, and wherein the thermal conductive leg portion forms at least one sidewall of the tab welding groove”
In regards to claim 16,
“an electrode assembly configured to store electrical energy that is disposed in the cell interior, the electrode assembly having a current tab member” is being read as “an electrode assembly configured to store electrical energy that is disposed in the cell interior, the electrode assembly having the current tab member”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 & 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leis et al. (US 2019/0295784).
In regards to claim 1, Leis ‘784 discloses
A current tab member for an electrode assembly of an energy storage cell, the electrode assembly comprising a negative electrode and a positive electrode (fig. 12), each electrode including a carbon material that includes micropores ([0042]), and the positive electrode and the negative electrode being separated by a separator (fig. 12-13), wherein the current tab member comprises:
a terminal portion (portion of 3 extending beyond 2 – fig. 1);
at least one contacting portion (10 – fig. 1-2) that is configured to conductively contact the electrode assembly; and
a heat sink portion (11 and portion of 3 attached thereto – fig. 5; [0027]) that is interposed between and adjacent to the terminal portion and the contacting portion.
In regards to claim 2, Leis ‘784 discloses
The current tab member according to claim 1, wherein the current tab member is integrally formed as a single unitary member (fig. 5).
In regards to claim 3, Leis ‘784 discloses
The current tab member according to claim 1, wherein the current tab member includes a plurality of contacting portions that protrude from the heat sink portion in a radial direction (fig. 5).
In regards to claim 4, Leis ‘784 discloses
The current tab member according to claim 1, wherein each contacting portion includes a tab welding portion that extends in a radial direction (fig. 5; [0028]).
In regards to claim 7, Leis ‘784 discloses
The current tab member according to claim 1, wherein the heat sink portion includes at least one thermal conductive leg portion (11 – fig. 5) that protrudes from the heat sink portion along the contacting portion.
In regards to claim 8, Leis ‘784 discloses
The current tab member according to claim 7, wherein each contacting portion includes a tab welding portion that extends in a radial direction,
wherein the tab welding portion is formed as a tab welding groove, and
wherein the thermal conductive leg portion forms at least one sidewall of the tab welding groove (fig. 5; [0028]).
In regards to claim 9, Leis ‘784 discloses
The current tab member according to claim 1, wherein the energy storage cell comprises a supercapacitor (title).
Claim(s) 1-4 & 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miura et al. (US 2014/0293510).
In regards to claim 1, Miura ‘510 discloses
A current tab member for an electrode assembly of an energy storage cell, the electrode assembly comprising a negative electrode and a positive electrode, each electrode including a carbon material that includes micropores ([0157] – activated carbon), and the positive electrode and the negative electrode being separated by a separator ([0062-0063]), wherein the current tab member comprises:
a terminal portion (2C – fig. 1-2; [0076] or 32E – fig. 10-11; [0120]);
at least one contacting portion (2A – fig. 1-2; [0065] or 32C – fig. 10-11; [0120]) that is configured to conductively contact the electrode assembly; and
a heat sink portion (2H – fig. 1-2; [0076] or 32B – fig. 10-11; [0120]) that is interposed between and adjacent to the terminal portion and the contacting portion.
In regards to claim 2, Miura ‘510 discloses
The current tab member according to claim 1, wherein the current tab member is integrally formed as a single unitary member (fig. 2 & 11).
In regards to claim 3, Miura ‘510 discloses
The current tab member according to claim 1, wherein the current tab member includes a plurality of contacting portions (32C – fig. 11) that protrude from the heat sink portion in a radial direction.
In regards to claim 4, Miura ‘510 discloses
The current tab member according to claim 1, wherein each contacting portion includes a tab welding portion ([0120]) that extends in a radial direction.
In regards to claim 9, Miura ‘510 discloses
The current tab member according to claim 1, wherein the energy storage cell comprises a supercapacitor ([0059]).
Claim(s) 1-2 & 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Komatsuki et al. (US 2002/0105776).
In regards to claim 1, Komatsuki ‘776 discloses
A current tab member for an electrode assembly of an energy storage cell, the electrode assembly comprising a negative electrode and a positive electrode, each electrode including a carbon material that includes micropores, and the positive electrode and the negative electrode being separated by a separator (fig. 1; [0027]), wherein the current tab member comprises:
a terminal portion (portion of 9 connected to 11 – fig. 1; [0028]);
at least one contacting portion (portion of 9 connected to current collecting element; [0028]) that is configured to conductively contact the electrode assembly; and
a heat sink portion (portion of 9 tapered towards 11 – fig. 1) that is interposed between and adjacent to the terminal portion and the contacting portion.
In regards to claim 2, Komatsuki ‘776 discloses
The current tab member according to claim 1, wherein the current tab member is integrally formed as a single unitary member (fig. 1).
In regards to claim 5, Komatsuki ‘776 discloses
The current tab member according to claim 1, wherein the heat sink portion includes at least one tapered heat sink portion (fig. 1) that tapers from the contacting portion towards the terminal portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11 & 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura ‘510 in view of FR1439148A hereafter referred to as Leroy.
In regards to claim 10,
Miura ‘510 discloses a lid assembly configured for closing a cell body (4 – fig. 1; [0059]) of a supercapacitor, the cell body comprising a bottom portion (4A – fig. 1; [0059]), a wall portion, and a top opening (fig. 1), the lid assembly comprising:
an electrically insulating sealing member (5 – fig. 1; [0068]) and a current tab member according to claim 1 (see claim rejection above),
wherein the sealing member and the current tab member are in contact with each other (fig. 1). Miura ‘510 fails to disclose wherein the sealing member includes a plurality of fluid openings, and the fluid openings and the contacting portions are configured such that irrespective of a relative orientation of the current tab member and the sealing member an equivalent of at least one fluid opening is unobstructed by the current tab member.
Leroy disclose wherein the sealing member (3 – fig. 1) includes a plurality of fluid openings (12 – fig. 1), and the fluid openings in fluid communication with interior of the capacitor for allow for fluid transfer into expansion chambers during fluid expansion preventing leaks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form fluid openings that are unobstructed to the fluid of the capacitor as taught by Leroy in the sealing member of Miura ‘510 to obtain a capacitor with improved protection from leaking
In regards to claim 11,
Miura ‘510 a modified by Leroy further discloses wherein the sealing member includes a sealing opening (5A – fig. 1 & 3; [0068] of Miura ‘510) that is defined by a circumferential sidewall and the terminal portion is inserted in the sealing opening such that a seal is formed between the terminal portion and the circumferential sidewall (fig. 1).
In regards to claim 15,
Miura ‘510 a modified by Leroy further discloses cell body kit-of-parts for forming a cell body of a supercapacitor, the kit-of-parts comprising:
a cell body (4 – fig. 1; [0059] of Miura ‘510) having a bottom portion (4A – fig. 1; [0067] of Miura ‘510), a wall portion (4K – fig. 1; [0067] of Miura ‘510), and a top opening ([0067] of Miura ‘510; and
a lid assembly according to claim 10 (see claim 10 rejection above), configured to be insertable into the top opening to form a closed off cell interior (fig. 1 of Miura ‘510).
In regards to claim 16,
Miura ‘510 discloses an energy storage cell comprising:
a cell body (4 – fig. 1; [0059]) having a bottom portion (4A – fig. 1; [0059]),
a wall portion (4l – fig. 1; [0067]),
a top opening (fig. 1; [0067), and
at least one of the following feature groups:
a) a lid assembly configured to be insertable into the top opening to form a closed off cell interior, the lid assembly comprising an electrically conductive lid member and an electrically insulating sealing member; and an electrode assembly configured for storing electrical energy that is disposed in the cell interior, the electrode assembly having a current tab member according to claim 1; or
b) a lid assembly comprising:
an electrically insulating sealing member (5 – fig. 1 & 3; [0068]) and the current tab member (see claim 1 rejection above),
wherein the sealing member and the current tab member are in contact with each other (fig. 1), and
an electrode assembly configured to store electrical energy that is disposed in the cell interior, the electrode assembly having a current tab member ([0062-0063]). Miura ‘510 fails to disclose wherein the sealing member includes a plurality of fluid openings, and the fluid openings and the contacting portions are configured such that irrespective of a relative orientation of the current tab member and the sealing member an equivalent of at least one fluid opening is unobstructed by the current tab member.
Leroy disclose wherein the sealing member (3 – fig. 1) includes a plurality of fluid openings (12 – fig. 1), and the fluid openings in fluid communication with interior of the capacitor for allow for fluid transfer into expansion chambers during fluid expansion preventing leaks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form fluid openings that are unobstructed to the fluid of the capacitor as taught by Leroy in the sealing member of Miura ‘510 to obtain a capacitor with improved protection from leaking
In regards to claim 17,
Miura ‘510 a modified by Leroy further discloses wherein the energy storage cell comprises a supercapacitor ([0059]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 6 & 12-14 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or suggest (in combination with the other claim limitations) wherein each contacting portion includes a tab welding portion that extends in a radial direction, and wherein each tapered heat sink portion includes a notch that continuously transitions into the tab welding portion (claim 6), wherein the sealing opening includes a tapered sealing portion that expands downward, and wherein the tapered sealing portion is in contact with the heat sink portion (claims 12-13), wherein the lid assembly comprises an electrically conductive lid member, wherein the lid member and the sealing member are configured to cooperatively form an expansion chamber that is arranged between the lid member and the sealing member, and wherein the expansion chamber is fluidly connectable to an interior of the cell body, and the current tab member is in contact with the sealing member and electrically insulated from the lid member by the sealing member (claim 14).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN202585600U – fig. 1 CN114566766A – fig. 1-2
JP2011155214A – fig. 7 US 2017/0372848 – fig. 4 & 8
KR20160051037A – fig. 5 US 8,390,986 – fig. 2
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848