DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate with applicant via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.03, 502.05.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 recites “a cell body kit-of-parts for forming a cell body of a supercapacitor, the kit-of-parts comprising: a cell body having a bottom portion, a wall portion, and a top opening; a lid assembly according to claim 1, that is insertable into the top opening so as to form a closed off cell interior discloses a lid assembly configured for closing a cell body of a supercapacitor” which causes the claim to be indefinite as “a cell body”, “a supercapacitor”, “a bottom portion”, “a wall portion”, “a top opening”, and “a lid assembly” are all previously recited in claim 1 from which claim 11 depends and thus it is unclear if claim 11 is refencing the previous recitations or bringing in additional components. For the purpose of examination, the examiner is taking “a cell body kit-of-parts for forming a cell body of a supercapacitor, the kit-of-parts comprising: a cell body having a bottom portion, a wall portion, and a top opening; a lid assembly according to claim 1, that is insertable into the top opening so as to form a closed off cell interior discloses a lid assembly configured for closing a cell body of a supercapacitor” to read “a cell body kit-of-parts, the kit-of-parts comprising: the cell body having the bottom portion, the wall portion, and the top opening; the lid assembly according to claim 1, that is insertable into the top opening so as to form a closed off cell interior discloses a lid assembly configured for closing a cell body of a supercapacitor”, Claims 12-16 are rejected in the same manner based on their dependency on claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 recites “a cell body assembly for an energy storage cell, the cell body assembly comprising a cell body kit-of-parts according to claim 11, wherein the lid assembly is fixed to the cell body so as to form a closed off cell interior, wherein the lid member is welded to the cell body, preferably the wall portion, and wherein the sealing member contacts at least one of the cell body or the lid member to form a seal and provide electrical insulation” which causes the claim to be indefinite as “a cell body kit-of-parts” and “a closed off cell” are all previously recited in claim 11 from which claim 12 depends and thus it is unclear if claim 12 is refencing the previous recitations or bringing in additional components. For the purpose of examination, the examiner is taking “a cell body assembly for an energy storage cell, the cell body assembly comprising a cell body kit-of-parts according to claim 11, wherein the lid assembly is fixed to the cell body so as to form a closed off cell interior, wherein the lid member is welded to the cell body, preferably the wall portion, and wherein the sealing member contacts at least one of the cell body or the lid member to form a seal and provide electrical insulation” to read “a cell body assembly for an energy storage cell, the cell body assembly comprising the cell body kit-of-parts according to claim 11, wherein the lid assembly is fixed to the cell body so as to form the closed off cell interior, wherein the lid member is welded to the cell body, preferably the wall portion, and wherein the sealing member contacts at least one of the cell body or the lid member to form a seal and provide electrical insulation” Furthermore, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. Claims 13-16 are rejected in the same manner based on their dependency on claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 recites “wherein the energy storage cell comprises a supercapacitor” which causes the claim to be indefinite as “a supercapacitor” is previously recited in claim 1 from which claim 13 depends and thus it is unclear if claim 13 is refencing the previous recitation or bringing in an additional component. For the purpose of examination, the examiner is taking “wherein the energy storage cell comprises a supercapacitor” to read “wherein the energy storage cell comprises the supercapacitor”.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 recites “an energy storage cell comprising: a cell body assembly according to claim 12; an electrode assembly configured to store electrical energy that is disposed in the cell interior, the electrode assembly having a current tab member” which causes the claim to be indefinite as “an energy storage cell” and “a cell body assembly” are all previously recited in claim 12 from which claim 14 depends and thus it is unclear if claim 14 is refencing the previous recitations or bringing in additional components. For the purpose of examination, the examiner is taking “an energy storage cell comprising: a cell body assembly according to claim 12; an electrode assembly configured to store electrical energy that is disposed in the cell interior, the electrode assembly having a current tab member” to read “the energy storage cell comprising: the cell body assembly according to claim 12; an electrode assembly configured to store electrical energy that is disposed in the cell interior, the electrode assembly having a current tab member”. Claims 15-16 are rejected in the same manner based on their dependency on claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 recites “wherein the energy storage cell comprises a supercapacitor” which causes the claim to be indefinite as “a supercapacitor” is previously recited in claim 1 from which claim 15 depends and thus it is unclear if claim 15 is refencing the previous recitation or bringing in an additional component. For the purpose of examination, the examiner is taking “wherein the energy storage cell comprises a supercapacitor” to read “wherein the energy storage cell comprises the supercapacitor”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by FR1439148A hereafter referred to as Leroy.
In regards to claim 1, Leroy discloses
A lid assembly configured for closing a cell body of a supercapacitor, the cell body comprising a bottom portion (4 – fig. 1; page 3 – second paragraph), a wall portion (2 – fig. 1; page 3 – second paragraph), and a top opening (portion sealed with 3 page 3 – second paragraph), the lid assembly comprising:
an electrically conductive lid member (3 – fig. 1; page 3 – second paragraph) and
an electrically insulating sealing member (8/10 & 8/9 – fig. 1; page 3 – second paragraph & page 4 – first paragraph),
wherein the lid member and the sealing member are configured to cooperatively form an expansion chamber (13 – fig. 1; page 3 – second paragraph) that is arranged between the lid member and the sealing member (page 3 last paragraph continued onto page 4), and
wherein the expansion chamber is fluidly connectable to an interior of the cell body (fig. 1; page 3 – second paragraph).
In regards to claim 2, Leroy discloses
The lid assembly according to claim 1, wherein the lid member and the sealing member are in mechanical contact with each other in order to form the expansion chamber (fig. 1).
Present Office action Fig. 1: blown-up view of Leroy fig. 1 with examiner labels
In regards to claim 3, Leroy discloses
The lid assembly according to claim 1, wherein the lid member comprises a first expansion chamber portion that includes a first support protrusion (see present office action fig. 1 (POA1) above) that protrudes towards the sealing member and contacts the sealing member, and
wherein the first support protrusion is disposed on a circumferential rim portion of the lid member (POA1).
In regards to claim 4, Leroy discloses
The lid assembly according to claim 1, wherein the lid member comprises a first expansion chamber portion that includes a second support protrusion that protrudes towards the sealing member and contacts the sealing member (POA1), and
wherein the second support protrusion is disposed radially inward from a circumferential rim portion of the lid member (POA1).
In regards to claim 11, Leroy discloses
A cell body kit-of-parts for forming a cell body of a supercapacitor, the kit-of-parts comprising:
a cell body having a bottom portion (4 – fig. 1; page 3 – second paragraph), a wall portion 2 – fig. 1; page 3 – second paragraph), and a top opening (portion sealed with 3 page 3 – second paragraph);
a lid assembly according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above), that is insertable into the top opening so as to form a closed off cell interior (fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsuki et al. (US 2002/0105776) in view of Leroy.
In regards to claim 1,
Komatsuki ‘776 discloses a lid assembly configured for closing a cell body of a supercapacitor, the cell body (2 – fig. 1; [0026])comprising a bottom portion (2b – fig. 1; [0028]), a wall portion (fig. 1), and a top opening 2a – fig. 1; [0026]), the lid assembly comprising:
an electrically conductive lid member (10 – fig. 1-2; [0038]) and
an electrically insulating sealing member (12 – fig. 1-2; [0038]). Komatsuki ‘776 fails to disclose wherein the lid member and the sealing member are configured to cooperatively form an expansion chamber that is arranged between the lid member and the sealing member, and wherein the expansion chamber is fluidly connectable to an interior of the cell body.
Leroy discloses a lid assembly configured for closing a cell body of a supercapacitor, the cell body comprising a bottom portion (4 – fig. 1; page 3 – second paragraph), a wall portion (2 – fig. 1; page 3 – second paragraph), and a top opening (portion sealed with 3 page 3 – second paragraph), the lid assembly comprising: a lid member (3 – fig. 1; page 3 – second paragraph) and a sealing member (11 – fig. 1; page 3), wherein the lid member and the sealing member are configured to cooperatively form an expansion chamber (13 – fig. 1; page 3 – second paragraph) that is arranged between the lid member and the sealing member (page 3 last paragraph continued onto page 4), and wherein the expansion chamber is fluidly connectable to an interior of the cell body (fig. 1; page 3 – second paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form an expansion chamber between the sealing member and lid of Komatsuki ‘776 as taught by Leroy to obtain a capacitor wherein the capacitor with protection from excessive pressure build up when the liquid is heated causing a break, deformation, or leakage of the casing.
In regards to claim 2,
Komatsuki ‘776 as modified by Leroy further discloses wherein the lid member and the sealing member are in mechanical contact with each other in order to form the expansion chamber (fig. 1 of Leroy).
In regards to claim 3,
Komatsuki ‘776 as modified by Leroy further discloses wherein the lid member comprises a first expansion chamber portion that includes a first support protrusion that protrudes towards the sealing member and contacts the sealing member, and
wherein the first support protrusion is disposed on a circumferential rim portion of the lid member (POA1).
In regards to claim 4,
Komatsuki ‘776 as modified by Leroy further discloses wherein the lid member comprises a first expansion chamber portion that includes a second support protrusion that protrudes towards the sealing member and contacts the sealing member, and
wherein the second support protrusion is disposed radially inward from a circumferential rim portion of the lid member (POA1).
In regards to claim 5,
Komatsuki ‘776 as modified by Leroy further discloses wherein the lid member comprises a lid opening and the lid opening includes at least one of a circumferential vertical wall (fig. 1 of Komatsuki ‘776) or a tapered circumferential wall that widens in a direction towards the sealing member.
In regards to claim 6,
Komatsuki ‘776 as modified by Leroy further discloses wherein the lid member comprises at least one of a welding groove that is disposed on a circumferential rim portion of the lid member or a welding surface that is disposed on an outermost circumference of the lid member (fig. 1-2; [0056] of Komatsuki ‘776).
In regards to claim 7,
Komatsuki ‘776 as modified by Leroy further discloses wherein the lid member includes a lid opening (fig. 1-2; [0038] of Komatsuki ‘776),
wherein the lid opening includes at least one of a vertical sealing surface that is disposed on a circumferential sidewall of the lid opening and that contacts the sealing member in order to form a seal (fig. 1-2 of Komatsuki ‘776) or a tapered sealing surface that expands downward and that contacts the sealing member in order to form a seal.
In regards to claim 8,
Komatsuki ‘776 as modified by Leroy further discloses wherein the sealing member includes at least one of a sealing shroud that protrudes upward and contacts the vertical sealing surface to form the seal (fig. 1-2 of Komatsuki ‘776) or a bead sealing portion that is disposed to be in contact with the tapered sealing surface to form the seal.
Present Office action Fig. 2: blown-up view of Leroy fig. 1 with examiner labels
In regards to claim 9,
Komatsuki ‘776 as modified by Leroy further discloses wherein the sealing member comprises a second expansion chamber portion that includes a first sealing groove (Present office action fig. 2 (POA2) above) that is disposed on a circumferential rim portion of the sealing member, and the first sealing groove has inserted therein a portion of the lid member (POA2).
In regards to claim 10,
Komatsuki ‘776 as modified by Leroy further discloses wherein the sealing member comprises a second expansion chamber portion that includes a second sealing groove that is disposed radially inward from a circumferential rim portion of the sealing member, and the second sealing groove has inserted therein a portion of the lid member (POA2).
In regards to claim 11,
Komatsuki ‘776 as modified by Leroy further discloses a cell body kit-of-parts for forming a cell body of a supercapacitor, the kit-of-parts comprising:
a cell body (2 – fig. 1; [0026] of Komatsuki ‘776) having a bottom portion (2b – fig. 1; [0026] of Komatsuki ‘776), a wall portion (fig. 1; [0026] of Komatsuki ‘776), and a top opening (2a – fig. 1; [0026] of Komatsuki ‘776);
a lid assembly according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above), that is insertable into the top opening so as to form a closed off cell interior discloses a lid assembly configured for closing a cell body of a supercapacitor (fig. 1 of Komatsuki ‘776)
In regards to claim 12,
Komatsuki ‘776 as modified by Leroy further discloses a cell body assembly for an energy storage cell, the cell body assembly comprising a cell body kit-of-parts according to claim 11 (see above rejection),
wherein the lid assembly is fixed to the cell body so as to form a closed off cell interior (fig. 1 of Komatsuki ‘776),
wherein the lid member is welded to the cell body, preferably the wall portion (fig. 1; [0039] of Komatsuki ‘776), and
wherein the sealing member contacts at least one of the cell body or the lid member to form a seal and provide electrical insulation (fig. 1).
In regards to claim 13,
Komatsuki ‘776 as modified by Leroy further discloses wherein the energy storage cell comprises a supercapacitor ([0026] of Komatsuki ‘776).
In regards to claim 14,
Komatsuki ‘776 as modified by Leroy further discloses an energy storage cell comprising:
a cell body assembly according to claim 12 (see claim 12 rejection above);
an electrode assembly (3 – fig. 1; [0026] of Komatsuki ‘776) configured to store electrical energy that is disposed in the cell interior, the electrode assembly having a current tab member (9 – fig. 1; [0041]);
wherein the electrode assembly is conductively fixed to the cell body (fig. 1; [0028] of Komatsuki ‘776), and the current tab member is electrically insulated from the cell body by the sealing member (fig. 1; [0041] of Komatsuki ‘776).
In regards to claim 15,
Komatsuki ‘776 as modified by Leroy further discloses wherein the energy storage cell comprises a supercapacitor ([0026] of Komatsuki ‘776).
In regards to claim 16,
Komatsuki ‘776 as modified by Leroy further discloses wherein the sealing member contacts the current tab member in order to seal and close off the cell interior (fig. 1 of Komatsuki ‘776).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2055645 – fig. 2 US 2021/0098200 – fig. 2
JP09129519A – fig. 8 US 2006/0203428 – fig. 2
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848