DETAILED ACTION
The following NON-FINAL Office Action is in response to application 18/527,686 filed on 12/04/2023. This communication is the first action on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/30/2023 and 01/02/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/04/2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 4-12, and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. A subject matter eligibility analysis is set forth below. See MPEP 2106.
Specifically, representative Claim 1 recites:
A system, comprising:
a logging tool configured to generate measurements in a well during a drilling operation and transmit a predetermined portion of the measurements; and
a processing system configured to be coupled to the logging tool, wherein the processing system is configured to:
calculate which data channels of the logging tool to prioritize as the predetermined portion of the measurements to transmit and transmit a control signal to configure the logging tool to transmit the predetermined portion of the measurements;
receive at least one input value as a formation model, a well trajectory value, a channel list of the logging tool, or formation measurements received from the logging tool; and
generate a resolution matrix based upon the at least one input value, wherein the processing system is further configured to generate the resolution matrix as indicative of relative importance of each data channel of a set of data channels generated by the logging tool.
The claim limitations in the abstract idea have been highlighted in bold above; the remaining limitations are “additional elements.”
Similar limitations comprise the abstract idea of System Claim 1 in Claim 12 and Claim 19.
Under Step 1 of the analysis, claim 1 belongs to a statutory category, namely it is a System Claim. Likewise, claim 12 is a Non-transitory Machine Readable Medium Claim, and claim 19 is a System Claim.
Under Step 2A, prong 1: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a judicial exception. As explained in MPEP 2106.04, subsection II, a claim “recites” a judicial exception when the judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claim.
In the instant case, claim 1 is found to recite at least one judicial exception (i.e. abstract idea), that being a Mental Process and a Mathematical Concept. This can be seen in the claim limitations of “calculate which data channels of the logging tool to prioritize as the predetermined portion of the measurements to transmit”, “receive at least one input value as a formation model, a well trajectory value, a channel list of the logging tool” and “generate a resolution matrix based upon the at least one input value, wherein the processing system is further configured to generate the resolution matrix as indicative of relative importance of each data channel of a set of data channels generated by the logging tool” which is the judicial exception of a mental process because these limitations are merely data observations, evaluations, and/or judgements in order to determine relative importance and/or redundancy of data channels and select a predetermined portion of measurements for transmission and is capable of being performed mentally and/or with the aid of pen and paper. Additionally, the aforementioned limitations recite mathematical calculations, e.g. see Spec. [0030]-[0036] describing the generation of a weighting matrix based on measurement noise levels, the computation of a sensitivity matrix (e.g. a Jacobian matrix), and the combination of the weighting matrix and sensitivity matrix to generate a data resolution matrix using matrix multiplication and matrix inversion operations.
Similar limitations comprise the abstract ideas of Claim 12 and 19.
Step 2A, prong 2 of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception(s) into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by (a) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (b) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application.
In addition to the abstract ideas recited in claim 1, the claimed system recites additional elements including “a logging tool configured to generate measurements in a well during a drilling operation and transmit a predetermined portion of the measurements”, “a processing system configured to be coupled to the logging tool”, “transmit a control signal to configure the logging tool to transmit the predetermined portion of the measurements”, and “formation measurements received from the logging tool” however these elements are found to be data gathering and output steps, which are recited at a high level of generality, and thus merely amount to “insignificant extra-solution” activity(ies). See MPEP 2106.05(g) “Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity,”. Furthermore, the claim recites that the steps, e.g. the processing performed by the ”processing system” using measurements obtained from the “logging tool”, are implemented at a high level of generality however this is found to be equivalent to adding the words “apply it” and mere instructions to apply a judicial exception on a general purpose computer does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Similar limitations comprise the additional elements of Claim 12 and 19.
The generic data gathering, processing, and output steps, are recited at such a high level of generality (e.g. using “processing system” and “logging tool”) that it represents no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exceptions on a computer. It can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exceptions to the technological environment of a computer. Noting MPEP 2106.04(d)(I): “It is notable that mere physicality or tangibility of an additional element or elements is not a relevant consideration in Step 2A Prong Two. As the Supreme Court explained in Alice Corp., mere physical or tangible implementation of an exception does not guarantee eligibility. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 U.S. 208, 224, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1983-84 (2014) ("The fact that a computer ‘necessarily exist[s] in the physical, rather than purely conceptual, realm,’ is beside the point")”.
Thus, under Step 2A, prong 2 of the analysis, even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim is directed to the judicial exception. No specific practical application is associated with the claimed system. For instance, the calculation resolution matrix is used to determine which data channels to prioritize and transmit from the logging tool. The claim does not recite any specific improvement to the operation of the logging tool, telemetry bandwidth, or data transmission mechanism beyond applying the mathematical calculation to select measurements.
Under Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, as described above with respect to Step 2A Prong 2, merely amount to a general purpose computer system that attempts to apply the abstract idea in a technological environment, limiting the abstract idea to a particular field of use, and/or merely performs insignificant extra-solution activit(ies) (claims 1, 12 and 19). Such insignificant extra-solution activity, e.g. data gathering and output, when re-evaluated under Step 2B is further found to be well-understood, routine, and conventional as evidenced by MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) (describing conventional activities that include transmitting and receiving data over a network, electronic recordkeeping, storing and retrieving information from memory, and electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document).
Therefore, similarly the combination and arrangement of the above identified additional elements when analyzed under Step 2B also fails to necessitate a conclusion that claim 1, as well as claim 12 and 19, amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
With regards to the dependent claims, claims 4-11, 14-18 and 20-21, merely further expand upon the algorithm/abstract idea and do not set forth further additional elements that integrate the recited abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more. Therefore, these claims are found ineligible for the reasons described for claims 1, 12, and 19. Specifically:
With respect to dependent claims 4-8 and 14-16 specifically, the claims further recite selecting a data channel based on diagonal elements of the resolution matrix, comparing values to a predetermined cutoff, generating a recomputed resolution matrix, determining whether a number of data channels satisfies a telemetry threshold, and generating a control signal based on such determinations. These limitations merely further define how the mathematical resolution matrix is evaluated and recalculated using additional threshold comparisons and iterative matrix operations. Such limitations amount to additional data analysis and algorithmic processing of the abstract idea described above and do not recite any additional elements that improve the functioning of the logging tool, telemetry system, or computer itself. Accordingly, these claims fail to integrate the recited abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
With respect to dependent claims 9-11 and 17-18 specifically, these claims further recite identifying pairs of data channels in an off-diagonal region of the resolution matrix having a largest value indicating redundancy and generating a recomputed resolution matrix without one of the channels. These limitations merely expand upon the abstract idea by adding further mathematical evaluation of matrix elements to determine correlation or redundancy between channels. The additional steps of recomputation and comparison to a telemetry threshold constitute further data evaluation performed on calculated values and amount to insignificant extra solution activity. These limitations merely refine the underlying mathematical concept and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05 (g) (f).
With respect to dependent claims 20 and 21 specifically, these claims further recite calculating prioritization for multiple scenarios and transmitting instructions to the logging tool to switch operation and transmit different sets of measurements. These limitations merely apply the same abstract prioritization logic in different operational scenarios and represent limiting the abstract idea to a particular field of use. See MPEP 2106.05(h). The transmitting of selected measurements constitutes conventional data transmission and insignificant extra solution activity. Accordingly, these claims fail to integrate the recited abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Accordingly, for the reasons above and those discussed in relation to independent claims 1, 12, and 19, the dependent claims are insufficient to integrate the claimed abstract ideas into a practical application or significant more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-12, and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2015027340 A1, Jili et al (hereinafter Jili) in view CN 111652402 A, Ma et al (hereinafter Ma).
Regarding Claim 1 and 12, Jili discloses a system, comprising:
a logging tool configured to generate measurements in a well during a drilling operation (Jili, [0004] In addition to a drill bit, a BHA may comprise elements such as: apparatus for steering the direction of the drilling (e.g. a steerable downhole mud motor or rotary steerable system); sensors for measuring properties of the surrounding geological formations (e.g. sensors for use in well logging); sensors for measuring downhole conditions as drilling progresses; one or more systems for telemetry of data to the surface) and transmit a predetermined portion of the measurements (Jili, [0006] A crew may make intentional deviations from the planned path as necessary based on information gathered from downhole sensors and transmitted to the surface by telemetry during the drilling process. The ability to obtain and transmit reliable data from downhole locations allows for relatively more economical and more efficient drilling operations); and
a processing system configured to be coupled to the logging tool (Jili, [0017] the protocol is determined at the uphole system by a processor and the protocol is communicated to the downhole EM telemetry system using a downlink transmission system. The protocol may optionally be determined at the uphole system by user input in combination with the processor), wherein the processing system (Jili, [0065] In other embodiments, the uphole system may transmit results of the sweep to the downhole EM telemetry system. A processor at the downhole EM telemetry system may apply an algorithm to determine a protocol to use for EM telemetry based on the results of the sweep)is configured to;
calculate which data channels of the logging tool to prioritize as the predetermined portion of the measurements to transmit (Jili, [0095] where the priority is low-latency communication, higher priority data may be sent using the highest frequency and lower priority data may be sent using lower frequencies. At the surface, data received on different frequencies may be separated using suitable filters and then separately and simultaneously displayed, stored and/or otherwise processed. In cases where the priority is given to reliable communication, then higher priority data may be sent using one or more lower frequencies and lower priority data may be sent using higher frequencies) and transmit a control signal to configure the logging tool to transmit the predetermined portion of the measurements (Jili, [0076] If block 43 determines that the signal quality is acceptable, then method 40 proceeds to block 46. Block 46 determines whether a data rate is acceptable. Block 46 may base its determination in part on the nature of the data available to be transmitted (e.g. whether the data is high priority or low priority for transmission));
receive at least one input value as a formation model, a well trajectory value, a channel list of the logging tool, or formation measurements received from the logging tool (Jili, [0006] A downhole probe may communicate a wide range of information to the surface by telemetry. Telemetry information can be invaluable for efficient drilling operations. For example, telemetry information may be used by a drill rig crew to make decisions about controlling and steering the drill bit to optimize the drilling speed and trajectory based on numerous factors, including legal boundaries, locations of existing wells, formation properties, hydrocarbon size and location, etc);
data channels generated by the logging tool (Jili, [0005] A probe may provide any of a wide range of functions including, without limitation: data acquisition; measuring properties of the surrounding geological formations (e.g. well logging); measuring downhole conditions as drilling progresses; controlling downhole equipment; monitoring status of downhole equipment; directional drilling applications; measuring while drilling (MWD) applications; logging while drilling (LWD) applications; measuring properties of downhole fluids; and the like. A probe may comprise one or more systems for: telemetry of data to the surface; collecting data by way of sensors).
Jili does not disclose generate a resolution matrix based upon the at least one input value, wherein the processing system is further configured to generate the resolution matrix as indicative of relative importance of each data channel.
However, Ma teaches generate a resolution matrix based upon the at least one input value (Ma, [Page 7] Table 2, then using the resolution matrix algorithm to calculate the attribute importance), wherein the processing system is further configured to generate the resolution matrix as indicative of relative importance of each data channel (Ma, [Page 8] calculating the importance degree of each attribute according to the formula (9); representing the number of attribute contained in each item of the resolution matrix).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Jili and Ma’s teaching because both references addresses improving how multiple data inputs are evaluated and prioritized in operational systems. Jili teaches selecting and transmitting certain measurements based on priority in order to manage limited telemetry resources during drilling operations, but does not describe a analysis method for determining the relative importance of different data channels. Ma teaches generating a resolution matrix to evaluate the relative importance of multiple inputs and identify redundant information, thereby providing a systematic technique for determining which inputs contribute most meaningfully to decision making. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying Ma’s resolution matrix analysis to Jili’s prioritization framework would predictably improve how measurement data is selected for transmission, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings to improve transmission efficiency and decision reliability by integrating both references.
Regarding Claim 4, 5, and 14, Jili in view of Ma teaches the tangible and non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 12, wherein the instructions further cause the processing system to:
determine which data channel of the set of data channels along a diagonal of the resolution matrix has a smallest value as a selected data channel (Ma, [Page 3] the relative importance degree algorithm is an algorithm for reducing the condition attribute according to the importance degree contribution to the classification of the decision attribute, [Page 3] the resolution matrix considers that when the decision attribute is changed, the condition attribute of the change is less, the condition attribute affects the decision table to form a triangular matrix, using the resolution function or heurism algorithm to reduce the matrix, obtaining the core attribute and the final approximately simple attribute combination); and
determine whether the selected data channel has a value less than a predetermined cutoff value (Ma, [Page 3] judging the threshold, because the attribute DELTA, CV, SLOPE, BA value distribution is very stable, so through the threshold value to judge the data is the standard of the outlier point is the average 20 % of the data point, [Page 7] removing the group point exceeding or below the normal value in the attribute and decision, because the attribute DELTA, CV, SLOPE, BA value distribution are very stable, so the data point is determined by the threshold value as the data point except for the average 20 % of the group point).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Jili and Ma’s teaching because Jili teaches prioritizing and transmitting selected measurement data in the drilling environment based on operational needs, while Ma teaches using a resolution matrix and threshold evaluation to systemically determine the relative importance of attributes and eliminate less significant data inputs. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that integrating Ma’s analysis technique into Jili’s prioritization framework would have improved the selection of data channels. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings to improve the efficiency and reliability of measurement selection through more informed prioritization decisions based on systemic importance and evaluations.
Regarding Claim 6 and 15, Jili in view of Ma teaches the tangible and non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 14, wherein the instructions further cause the processing system to generate a recomputed resolution matrix without the selected data channel (Ma, [Page 3] rough set attribute reduction: the rough set is a group of data pre-processing algorithm, the purpose is to reduce the attribute redundancy, improving neural network model precision. The algorithm firstly combines the prescription after splicing, working condition and prefabricated bar quality data are discretized; then removing redundancy and contradiction data; forming decision table form, then using important degree relative algorithm and resolution matrix to reduce the condition attribute; using upper and lower approximation set method to obtain the optimal formulation + working condition combination) when the value of the selected data channel is determined to be less than the predetermined cutoff value (Ma, [Page 7] removing the group point exceeding or below the normal value in the attribute and decision, because the attribute DELTA, CV, SLOPE, BA value distribution are very stable, so the data point is determined by the threshold value as the data point except for the average 20 % of the group point).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Jili and Ma’s teaching because Jili teaches prioritizing and transmitting selected measurement data in the drilling environment based on operational needs, while Ma teaches reducing attribute redundancy by removing data inputs using a resolution matrix and threshold evaluation. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that applying Ma’s data reduction approach within Jilli’s system would improve how data channels are managed by providing a structured way to eliminate channels that contribute less value when a cutoff threshold is met. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings to improve data efficiency and system performance by removing redundant or less useful data channels while maintaining meaningful measurement transmission.
Regarding Claim 7, 8, 10, 11, 16 and 18, Jili discloses the tangible and non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions further cause the processing system to:
generate the control signal based upon the recomputed resolution matrix (Jiili, [0076] If block 43 determines that the signal quality is acceptable, then method 40 proceeds to block 46. Block 46 determines whether a data rate is acceptable. Block 46 may base its determination in part on the nature of the data available to be transmitted (e.g. whether the data is high priority or low priority for transmission)) and telemetry information (Jili, [0077] In some embodiments, measurements of signal to noise ratio (SNR) and/or received signal strength are applied to determine available data rates).
Jili does not disclose the number of data channels of the recomputed resolution matrix is determined to be less than the telemetry threshold value.
However, Ma teaches the number of data channels of the recomputed resolution matrix is determined to be less than the telemetry threshold value (Ma, [Page 8] rough set up and down approximation set: the concept of the lower approximation set is all capable of accurately judging whether belongs to the set of the given class, and what kind of condition combination is sure to obtain the given decision; the concept of the upper approximation set is all the set capable of accurately judging or possibly judging the given class, [Page 3] the upper and lower similar set method can solve the sufficient condition of the decision generation, [Page 3] judging the threshold, because the attribute DELTA, CV, SLOPE, BA value distribution is very stable, so through the threshold value to judge the data is the standard of the outlier point is the average 20 % of the data point);.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Jili and Ma’s teaching because Jili teaches prioritizing and transmitting selected measurement data in a drilling environment based on operational needs, while Ma teaches evaluating data using threshold analysis to determine which inputs are less significant. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying Ma’s threshold evaluation within Jili’s system would improve how data channels are managed by providing a structured way to determine when certain data channels can be reduced based on meeting a threshold condition. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings to improve overall system efficiency by enabling decisions about which data channels should continue to be transmitted.
Regarding Claim 9 and 17, Jili in view of Ma teaches the tangible and non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 14, wherein the instructions further cause the processing system to:
determine a pair of data channels in an off-diagonal region of the resolution matrix as having a largest value indicating a largest redundancy between a first data channel and a second data channel of the pair of data channels (Ma, [Page 3] rough set attribute reduction: the rough set is a group of data pre-processing algorithm, the purpose is to reduce the attribute redundancy, improving neural network model precision. The algorithm firstly combines the prescription after splicing, working condition and prefabricated bar quality data are discretized; then removing redundancy and contradiction data; forming decision table form); and
generate a recomputed resolution matrix without the first data channel or the second data channel when the value of an off-diagonal term corresponding to the pair of data channels is determined to be greater than the predetermined cutoff value (Ma, [Page 8] resolving the matrix: the resolution matrix is an n-order square matrix symmetrical to the main diagonal, and each element in the matrix is obtained by resolving the function; the resolution matrix can conveniently solve the core attribute and the reduction combination of the attribute set; by calculating the core of the attribute set, the redundancy information can be removed without changing the classification of the original object).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Jili and Ma’s teaching because Jili teaches managing and prioritizing measurement data during drilling operations, while Ma teaches identifying and removing redundant inputs through resolution matrix analysis. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying Ma’s redundancy identification approach within Jili’s system would improve how data channels are handled by using a system to determine when certain channels providing overlap or unnecessary information. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings to improve efficiency by allowing redundant data channels to be systematically identified and removed without impacting overall system performance.
Regarding Claim 19, Jili discloses a system, comprising:
a processing system (Jili, [0065] In other embodiments, the uphole system may transmit results of the sweep to the downhole EM telemetry system. A processor at the downhole EM telemetry system may apply an algorithm to determine a protocol to use for EM telemetry based on the results of the sweep) configured to:
calculate which data channels of a logging tool to prioritize as a portion of measurements to use for processing and/or decision making based on a data resolution matrix, data importance, and redundancy (Jili, [0095] where the priority is low-latency communication, higher priority data may be sent using the highest frequency and lower priority data may be sent using lower frequencies. At the surface, data received on different frequencies may be separated using suitable filters and then separately and simultaneously displayed, stored and/or otherwise processed. In cases where the priority is given to reliable communication, then higher priority data may be sent using one or more lower frequencies and lower priority data may be sent using higher frequencies):
receive an update on a formation model and/or a drilling condition based on new information acquired during operation (Jili, [0005] A probe may provide any of a wide range of functions including, without limitation: data acquisition; measuring properties of the surrounding geological formations (e.g. well logging); measuring downhole conditions as drilling progresses; controlling downhole equipment; monitoring status of downhole equipment; directional drilling applications; measuring while drilling (MWD) applications; logging while drilling (LWD) applications; measuring properties of downhole fluids; and the like. A probe may comprise one or more systems for: telemetry of data to the surface; collecting data by way of sensors [0006] telemetry information may be used by a drill rig crew to make decisions about controlling and steering the drill bit to optimize the drilling speed and trajectory based on numerous factors, including legal boundaries, locations of existing wells, formation properties, hydrocarbon size and location, etc)); and
recompute which of the data channels of the logging tool (Jili, [0005] A probe may provide any of a wide range of functions including, without limitation: data acquisition; measuring properties of the surrounding geological formations (e.g. well logging); measuring downhole conditions as drilling progresses; controlling downhole equipment; monitoring status of downhole equipment; directional drilling applications; measuring while drilling (MWD) applications; logging while drilling (LWD) applications; measuring properties of downhole fluids; and the like. A probe may comprise one or more systems for: telemetry of data to the surface; collecting data by way of sensors [0076] If block 43 determines that the signal quality is acceptable, then method 40 proceeds to block 46. Block 46 determines whether a data rate is acceptable. Block 46 may base its determination in part on the nature of the data available to be transmitted (e.g. whether the data is high priority or low priority for transmission)
Jili does not disclose recompute which of the data channels of the logging tool to prioritize as a second portion of measurements to use for processing and/or decision making based on the update on the formation model and/or the drilling condition
However, Ma teaches recompute which of the data channels of the logging tool to prioritize as a second portion of measurements to use for processing and/or decision making based on the update on the formation model and/or the drilling condition (Ma, [Page 7] Table 2, then using the resolution matrix algorithm to calculate the attribute importance, [Page 8] calculating the importance degree of each attribute according to the formula (9); representing the number of attribute contained in each item of the resolution matrix).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Jili and Ma’s teaching for reasons similar to those discussed with respect to claim 1, as both references relate to prioritizing multiple data inputs in operational systems. Jili teaches selecting and transmitting measurements from logging tools based on priority to manage limited telemetry resources during drilling operations. Ma teaches generating a resolution matrix to evaluate the relative importance of multiple inputs and identify redundant information. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to integrate Jili and Ma’s teaching because it would allow the system to determine and recompute which logging tool data channels should be prioritized based on drilling information thereby improving efficiency.
Regarding Claim 20, Jili discloses the system of claim 19, data channels of the logging tool (Jili, [0005] A probe may provide any of a wide range of functions including, without limitation: data acquisition; measuring properties of the surrounding geological formations (e.g. well logging); measuring downhole conditions as drilling progresses; controlling downhole equipment; monitoring status of downhole equipment; directional drilling applications; measuring while drilling (MWD) applications; logging while drilling (LWD) applications; measuring properties of downhole fluids; and the like. A probe may comprise one or more systems for: telemetry of data to the surface; collecting data by way of sensors).
Jili does not disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to calculate which data to prioritize for multiple scenarios, wherein each scenario has a different set of measurements corresponding thereto.
However, Ma teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to calculate which data to prioritize for multiple scenarios (Ma, [Page 8] calculating the importance degree of each attribute according to the formula (9); representing the number of attribute contained in each item of the resolution matrix; from the formula (9), the more the attribute appears in the resolution matrix, the greater the attribute importance, the greater the attribute importance of the attribute in the resolution matrix, the comprehensive importance ranking and the single attribute in the resolution matrix to find out the core attribute), wherein each scenario has a different set of measurements corresponding thereto (Ma, [Page 4] it can predict the quality judging standard index of the product according to the real time production parameter, so as to on-line real-time guide process adjusting formulation and working condition parameter, [Page 4] it can simulate adjusting formulation and working condition to give proper recommendation formulation capable of ensuring reasonable quality parameter).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Jili and Ma’s teaching because Jili teaches selecting and prioritizing data channels for transmission in a drilling environment, while Ma teaches evaluating the relative importance of inputs using a resolution matrix to identify redundancy and remove less meaningful data. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying Ma’s structured importance analysis within Jili’s prioritization framework would improve how data channels are selected by allowing the system to identify and eliminate channels that contribute little value when a cutoff threshold is met. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings to improve overall data efficiency and system performance.
Regarding Claim 21, Jili in view of Ma disclose the system of claim 20, wherein the processing system is further configured to transmit an instruction to the logging tool (Jili, [0014] the protocol specifying protocol parameters including one or more of signal frequency, signal amplitude, and data encoding scheme; and configures the downhole EM telemetry system to transmit data to the uphole system using the protocol) to switch operation of the logging tool in conjunction with the multiple scenarios to transmit the different set of measurements corresponding to each scenario during operation (Jili, [0016] the method comprises determining a mode of the drilling operation and determining the protocol based at least in part on the mode of the drilling operation. For example, different protocols may be used depending on whether the wellbore is quiet (no flow and no rotation of the drill string), operating in a sliding mode (flow on but no or limited rotation of the drill string), or operating in a full on drilling mode (flow on and the drill string is rotated from the surface). In some embodiments, each mode of the drilling operation is assigned a pre-set protocol).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclose:
-US 6313789 B1, describing receivers used for determining user location based on signals received from multiple navigation satellites. The disclosure includes tracking channels for processing received signals, measuring signal delays, and determining timing information for positioning and navigation purposes using satellite telemetry data.
-US 20060041795 A1, describing an ultra-low frequency electromagnetic telemetry receiver configured to recover telemetry data packets in the presence of strong ambient noise. The disclosure includes processing received telemetry signals, reconstructing corrupted data frames, and improving signal reliability in downhole telemetry environments using noise estimation and confidence based validation techniques.
-CN 115166835 A, describing a controllable source electromagnetic exploration data collection parameter optimization method. The disclosure includes configuring data acquisition parameters based on geological conditions and modeling requirements to improve signal reliability, reduce exploration cost, and enhance accuracy.
Conclusion
/IBRAHIM NAGI SHOHATEE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/SHELBY A TURNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857