Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The previous rejection under Claims 1, 4-12, and 14-21 has been addressed and are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-12, 14-21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2015027340 A1, Jili et al (hereinafter Jili) in view CN 111652402 A, Ma et al (hereinafter Ma), in further view of US 8237584 B2, Hall et al. (hereinafter Hall).
Regarding Claim 1 and 12, Jili discloses a system, comprising:
a logging tool configured to generate measurements in a well during a drilling operation (Jili, [0004] In addition to a drill bit, a BHA may comprise elements such as: apparatus for steering the direction of the drilling (e.g. a steerable downhole mud motor or rotary steerable system); sensors for measuring properties of the surrounding geological formations (e.g. sensors for use in well logging); sensors for measuring downhole conditions as drilling progresses; one or more systems for telemetry of data to the surface) and transmit the measurements via a first set of data channels (Jili, [0006] A crew may make intentional deviations from the planned path as necessary based on information gathered from downhole sensors and transmitted to the surface by telemetry during the drilling process. The ability to obtain and transmit reliable data from downhole locations allows for relatively more economical and more efficient drilling operations, [0042] In situations where EM telemetry is more difficult, for example because of factors such as one or more of the above (and most typically a combination of several of the above), one can adjust the nature of the EM telemetry signals to improve the reliability of the EM telemetry channel); and
a processing system configured to be coupled to the logging tool (Jili, [0017] the protocol is determined at the uphole system by a processor and the protocol is communicated to the downhole EM telemetry system using a downlink transmission system. The protocol may optionally be determined at the uphole system by user input in combination with the processor), wherein the processing system (Jili, [0065] In other embodiments, the uphole system may transmit results of the sweep to the downhole EM telemetry system. A processor at the downhole EM telemetry system may apply an algorithm to determine a protocol to use for EM telemetry based on the results of the sweep)is configured to;
calculate which data channels of the first set of data channels to prioritize for transmitting a predetermined portion of the measurements (Jili, [0095] where the priority is low-latency communication, higher priority data may be sent using the highest frequency and lower priority data may be sent using lower frequencies. At the surface, data received on different frequencies may be separated using suitable filters and then separately and simultaneously displayed, stored and/or otherwise processed. In cases where the priority is given to reliable communication, then higher priority data may be sent using one or more lower frequencies and lower priority data may be sent using higher frequencies) and transmit a control signal to configure the logging tool to transmit the predetermined portion of the measurements (Jili, [0076] If block 43 determines that the signal quality is acceptable, then method 40 proceeds to block 46. Block 46 determines whether a data rate is acceptable. Block 46 may base its determination in part on the nature of the data available to be transmitted (e.g. whether the data is high priority or low priority for transmission)), wherein
the calculating comprises:
receiving an input value representing at least one of a formation model, a well trajectory value, a channel list of the logging tool, or formation measurements received from the logging tool (Jili, [0006] A downhole probe may communicate a wide range of information to the surface by telemetry. Telemetry information can be invaluable for efficient drilling operations. For example, telemetry information may be used by a drill rig crew to make decisions about controlling and steering the drill bit to optimize the drilling speed and trajectory based on numerous factors, including legal boundaries, locations of existing wells, formation properties, hydrocarbon size and location, etc);
data channels generated by the logging tool (Jili, [0005] A probe may provide any of a wide range of functions including, without limitation: data acquisition; measuring properties of the surrounding geological formations (e.g. well logging); measuring downhole conditions as drilling progresses; controlling downhole equipment; monitoring status of downhole equipment; directional drilling applications; measuring while drilling (MWD) applications; logging while drilling (LWD) applications; measuring properties of downhole fluids; and the like. A probe may comprise one or more systems for: telemetry of data to the surface; collecting data by way of sensors);
transmit a control signal to configure the logging tool to transmit the predetermined portion of the measurements via the second set of data channels (Jili, [0065] the uphole system may transmit results of the sweep to the downhole EM telemetry system. A processor at the downhole EM telemetry system may apply an algorithm to determine a protocol to use for EM telemetry based on the results of the sweep); and
transmit the predetermined portion of the measurements via the logging tool using the second set of data channels (Jili, [0095] an EM telemetry protocol may specify that data to be transmitted by the downhole EM telemetry system should be split up and transmitted using different EM telemetry frequencies (either simultaneously or in a given sequence). Signals detected at the surface may be filtered to separate the different frequencies. A different filter may be provided for each frequency. [0097] In some embodiments, where the system determines from the result of a sweep or otherwise that multiple EM telemetry frequencies are available to use, the system may be configured to simultaneously send data by EM telemetry using two or more different carrier frequencies. In cases where the priority is low-latency communication, higher priority data may be sent using the highest frequency and lower priority data may be sent using lower frequencies. At the surface, data received on different frequencies may be separated using suitable filters and then separately and simultaneously displayed, stored and/or otherwise processed. In cases where the priority is given to reliable communication, then higher priority data may be sent using one or more lower frequencies and lower priority data may be sent using higher frequencies);
Jili does not disclose generating a resolution matrix based upon the input value, wherein the resolution matrix is indicative of a relative importance of each data channel of the first set of data channels;
disable, based on the calculation of which of the data channels of the first set of data channels to prioritize, a low priority data channel of the data channels from the first set of data channels to generate a second set of data channels smaller than the first set of data channels;
However, Ma teaches generating a resolution matrix based upon the input value (Ma, [Page 7] Table 2, then using the resolution matrix algorithm to calculate the attribute importance), wherein the resolution matrix is indicative of a relative importance of each data channel (Ma, [Page 8] calculating the importance degree of each attribute according to the formula (9); representing the number of attribute contained in each item of the resolution matrix).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Jili and Ma’s teaching because both references addresses improving how multiple data inputs are evaluated and prioritized in operational systems. Jili teaches selecting and transmitting certain measurements based on priority in order to manage limited telemetry resources during drilling operations, but does not describe a analysis method for determining the relative importance of different data channels. Ma teaches generating a resolution matrix to evaluate the relative importance of multiple inputs and identify redundant information, thereby providing a systematic technique for determining which inputs contribute most meaningfully to decision making. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying Ma’s resolution matrix analysis to Jili’s prioritization framework would predictably improve how measurement data is selected for transmission, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings to improve transmission efficiency and decision reliability by integrating both references.
Jili in view of Ma’s does not disclose disable, based on the calculation of which of the data channels of the first set of data channels to prioritize, a low priority data channel of the data channels from the first set of data channels to generate a second set of data channels smaller than the first set of data channels;
However, Hall teaches disable, based on the calculation of which of the data channels of the first set of data channels to prioritize (Hall, [Col. 2 Line 14-23] the priority may be changed at the point of creation by activating or deactivating the instruments. The priority may also be changed by adjusting a preamble before the data in a communication packet. The priority may be changed by adjusting the channel in which the data is sent. The priority may be changed by adjusting the order in which data is sent. Multiple data packets may have the same priority. Data packets may each have a unique priority. Data packets may have either a high priority or a low priority), a low priority data channel of the data channels from the first set of data channels to generate a second set of data channels smaller than the first set of data channels (Hall, [Col. 2 Line 24-42] the priority may be changed remotely or onsite by either a computer or a human user. The priority may also be changed by a downhole instrument, such as a downhole processing unit. Data packets of a lower priority may be filtered out by a downhole processing unit. Data packets of a lower priority may be stored within the tool downhole for later transmission or sent up in unused or latent transmission time and stored uphole for later use. Data packets of a lower priority may be erased downhole);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Jili in view of Ma and Hall teaching because Hall teaches selectively activating or deactivating instruments and filtering lower priority data packets to reduce unnecessary data transmission and improve telemetry efficiency. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that integrating Hall’s selective disabling and filtering techniques into the telemetry prioritization framework of Jili and the resolution matrix analysis of Ma would have improved management of limited telemetry bandwidth by reducing transmission of lower priority data channels and transmitting a reduced set of prioritized data channels.
Regarding Claim 4, 5, and 14, Jili in view of Ma in further view of Hall teaches the tangible and non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 12, wherein the instructions further cause the processing system to:
determine which data channel of the first set of data channels along a diagonal of the resolution matrix has a smallest value as a selected data channel (Ma, [Page 3] the relative importance degree algorithm is an algorithm for reducing the condition attribute according to the importance degree contribution to the classification of the decision attribute, [Page 3] the resolution matrix considers that when the decision attribute is changed, the condition attribute of the change is less, the condition attribute affects the decision table to form a triangular matrix, using the resolution function or heurism algorithm to reduce the matrix, obtaining the core attribute and the final approximately simple attribute combination), wherein the selected data channel comprises the low priority data channel (Jili, [0095] data received on different frequencies may be separated using suitable filters and then separately and simultaneously displayed, stored and/or otherwise processed. In cases where the priority is given to reliable communication, then higher priority data may be sent using one or more lower frequencies and lower priority data may be sent using higher frequencies); and
determine whether the selected data channel has a value less than a predetermined cutoff value (Ma, [Page 3] judging the threshold, because the attribute DELTA, CV, SLOPE, BA value distribution is very stable, so through the threshold value to judge the data is the standard of the outlier point is the average 20 % of the data point, [Page 7] removing the group point exceeding or below the normal value in the attribute and decision, because the attribute DELTA, CV, SLOPE, BA value distribution are very stable, so the data point is determined by the threshold value as the data point except for the average 20 % of the group point).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Jili and Ma’s teaching because Jili teaches prioritizing and transmitting selected measurement data in the drilling environment based on operational needs, while Ma teaches using a resolution matrix and threshold evaluation to systemically determine the relative importance of attributes and eliminate less significant data inputs. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that integrating Ma’s analysis technique into Jili’s prioritization framework would have improved the selection of data channels. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings to improve the efficiency and reliability of measurement selection through more informed prioritization decisions based on systemic importance and evaluations.
Regarding Claim 6 and 15, Jili in view of Ma in further view of Hall teaches the tangible and non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 14, wherein the disabling the low priority data channel (Hall, [Col. 2 Line 14-23] the priority may be changed at the point of creation by activating or deactivating the instruments. The priority may also be changed by adjusting a preamble before the data in a communication packet. The priority may be changed by adjusting the channel in which the data is sent. The priority may be changed by adjusting the order in which data is sent. Multiple data packets may have the same priority. Data packets may each have a unique priority. Data packets may have either a high priority or a low priority) comprises the instructions further causing the processing system to generate a recomputed resolution matrix without the selected data channel (Ma, [Page 3] rough set attribute reduction: the rough set is a group of data pre-processing algorithm, the purpose is to reduce the attribute redundancy, improving neural network model precision. The algorithm firstly combines the prescription after splicing, working condition and prefabricated bar quality data are discretized; then removing redundancy and contradiction data; forming decision table form, then using important degree relative algorithm and resolution matrix to reduce the condition attribute; using upper and lower approximation set method to obtain the optimal formulation + working condition combination) when in response to the value of the selected data channel is being determined to be less than the predetermined cutoff value (Ma, [Page 7] removing the group point exceeding or below the normal value in the attribute and decision, because the attribute DELTA, CV, SLOPE, BA value distribution are very stable, so the data point is determined by the threshold value as the data point except for the average 20 % of the group point).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Jili in view of Ma in further view of Hall’s teaching because Jili teaches prioritizing and transmitting selected measurement data in the drilling environment based on operational needs, while Ma teaches reducing attribute redundancy by removing data inputs using a resolution matrix and threshold evaluation and . A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that applying Ma’s data reduction approach within Jilli’s system would improve how data channels are managed by providing a structured way to eliminate channels that contribute less value when a cutoff threshold is met. Further, Hall teaches selectively activating or deactivating instruments and filtering lower priority data packets, thereby reinforcing the use of selectively disabling low priority data channels. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings to improve telemetry efficiency and overall system performance while maintaining transmission of meaningful measurement data.
Regarding Claim 7, 8, 10, 11, 16 and 18, Jili in view of Ma in further view of Hall discloses the tangible and non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions further cause the processing system to:
generate the control signal based upon the recomputed resolution matrix (Jiili, [0076] If block 43 determines that the signal quality is acceptable, then method 40 proceeds to block 46. Block 46 determines whether a data rate is acceptable. Block 46 may base its determination in part on the nature of the data available to be transmitted (e.g. whether the data is high priority or low priority for transmission)) and telemetry information (Jili, [0077] In some embodiments, measurements of signal to noise ratio (SNR) and/or received signal strength are applied to determine available data rates).
Jili does not disclose the number of data channels of the recomputed resolution matrix is determined to be less than the telemetry threshold value.
However, Ma teaches the number of data channels of the recomputed resolution matrix is determined to be less than the telemetry threshold value (Ma, [Page 8] rough set up and down approximation set: the concept of the lower approximation set is all capable of accurately judging whether belongs to the set of the given class, and what kind of condition combination is sure to obtain the given decision; the concept of the upper approximation set is all the set capable of accurately judging or possibly judging the given class, [Page 3] the upper and lower similar set method can solve the sufficient condition of the decision generation, [Page 3] judging the threshold, because the attribute DELTA, CV, SLOPE, BA value distribution is very stable, so through the threshold value to judge the data is the standard of the outlier point is the average 20 % of the data point);.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Jili in view of Ma in further view of Hall teaching because Jili teaches prioritizing and transmitting selected measurement data in a drilling environment based on operational needs, while Ma teaches evaluating data using threshold analysis to determine which inputs are less significant. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying Ma’s threshold evaluation within Jili’s system would improve how data channels are managed by providing a structured way to determine when certain data channels can be reduced based on meeting a threshold condition. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings to improve overall system efficiency by enabling decisions about which data channels should continue to be transmitted.
Regarding Claim 9 and 17, Jili in view of Ma in further view of Hall teaches the tangible and non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 14, wherein the instructions further cause the processing system to:
determine a pair of data channels of the first set of data channels in an off-diagonal region of the resolution matrix as having a largest value indicating a largest redundancy between a first data channel and a second data channel of the pair of data channels (Ma, [Page 3] rough set attribute reduction: the rough set is a group of data pre-processing algorithm, the purpose is to reduce the attribute redundancy, improving neural network model precision. The algorithm firstly combines the prescription after splicing, working condition and prefabricated bar quality data are discretized; then removing redundancy and contradiction data; forming decision table form); and
to generate a recomputed resolution matrix without the first data channel or the second data channel when in response to the value of an off-diagonal term corresponding to the pair of data channels is being determined to be greater than the predetermined cutoff value (Ma, [Page 8] resolving the matrix: the resolution matrix is an n-order square matrix symmetrical to the main diagonal, and each element in the matrix is obtained by resolving the function; the resolution matrix can conveniently solve the core attribute and the reduction combination of the attribute set; by calculating the core of the attribute set, the redundancy information can be removed without changing the classification of the original object).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Jili in view of Ma in further view of teaching because Jili teaches managing and prioritizing measurement data during drilling operations, while Ma teaches identifying and removing redundant inputs through resolution matrix analysis. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying Ma’s redundancy identification approach within Jili’s system would improve how data channels are handled by using a system to determine when certain channels providing overlap or unnecessary information. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings to improve efficiency by allowing redundant data channels to be systematically identified and removed without impacting overall system performance.
Regarding Claim 19, Jili discloses a system, comprising:
a processing system (Jili, [0065] In other embodiments, the uphole system may transmit results of the sweep to the downhole EM telemetry system. A processor at the downhole EM telemetry system may apply an algorithm to determine a protocol to use for EM telemetry based on the results of the sweep) configured to:
calculate which data channels of a first set of data channels of a logging tool to prioritize as a portion of measurements to use at least one of processing and/or decision making based on a data resolution matrix, data importance, and redundancy (Jili, [0095] where the priority is low-latency communication, higher priority data may be sent using the highest frequency and lower priority data may be sent using lower frequencies. At the surface, data received on different frequencies may be separated using suitable filters and then separately and simultaneously displayed, stored and/or otherwise processed. In cases where the priority is given to reliable communication, then higher priority data may be sent using one or more lower frequencies and lower priority data may be sent using higher frequencies), wherein the calculating comprises:
receiving an input value representing at least one of a formation model, a well trajectory value, a channel list of the logging tool, or formation measurements received from the logging tool (Jili, [0006] A downhole probe may communicate a wide range of information to the surface by telemetry. Telemetry information can be invaluable for efficient drilling operations. For example, telemetry information may be used by a drill rig crew to make decisions about controlling and steering the drill bit to optimize the drilling speed and trajectory based on numerous factors, including legal boundaries, locations of existing wells, formation properties, hydrocarbon size and location, etc);
data channels generated by the logging tool (Jili, [0005] A probe may provide any of a wide range of functions including, without limitation: data acquisition; measuring properties of the surrounding geological formations (e.g. well logging); measuring downhole conditions as drilling progresses; controlling downhole equipment; monitoring status of downhole equipment; directional drilling applications; measuring while drilling (MWD) applications; logging while drilling (LWD) applications; measuring properties of downhole fluids; and the like. A probe may comprise one or more systems for: telemetry of data to the surface; collecting data by way of sensors);
recompute which of the data channels of the logging tool (Jili, [0005] A probe may provide any of a wide range of functions including, without limitation: data acquisition; measuring properties of the surrounding geological formations (e.g. well logging); measuring downhole conditions as drilling progresses; controlling downhole equipment; monitoring status of downhole equipment; directional drilling applications; measuring while drilling (MWD) applications; logging while drilling (LWD) applications; measuring properties of downhole fluids; and the like. A probe may comprise one or more systems for: telemetry of data to the surface; collecting data by way of sensors [0076] If block 43 determines that the signal quality is acceptable, then method 40 proceeds to block 46. Block 46 determines whether a data rate is acceptable. Block 46 may base its determination in part on the nature of the data available to be transmitted (e.g. whether the data is high priority or low priority for transmission)
transmit the predetermined portion of the measurements via the logging tool using the second set of data channels (Jili, [0095] an EM telemetry protocol may specify that data to be transmitted by the downhole EM telemetry system should be split up and transmitted using different EM telemetry frequencies (either simultaneously or in a given sequence). Signals detected at the surface may be filtered to separate the different frequencies. A different filter may be provided for each frequency. [0097] In some embodiments, where the system determines from the result of a sweep or otherwise that multiple EM telemetry frequencies are available to use, the system may be configured to simultaneously send data by EM telemetry using two or more different carrier frequencies. In cases where the priority is low-latency communication, higher priority data may be sent using the highest frequency and lower priority data may be sent using lower frequencies. At the surface, data received on different frequencies may be separated using suitable filters and then separately and simultaneously displayed, stored and/or otherwise processed. In cases where the priority is given to reliable communication, then higher priority data may be sent using one or more lower frequencies and lower priority data may be sent using higher frequencies);
receive an update on at least one of the formation model and/or a drilling condition based on new information acquired during operation (Jili, [0076] If block 43 determines that the signal quality is acceptable, then method 40 proceeds to block 46. Block 46 determines whether a data rate is acceptable. Block 46 may base its determination in part on the nature of the data available to be transmitted (e.g. whether the data is high priority or low priority for transmission) as well as a
predetermined minimum data rate. If block 46 determines that the data rate is acceptable, then method 40 proceeds to block 49 which keeps the current EM telemetry parameters. Otherwise, method 40 proceeds to block 47 which checks to see whether the frequency can be increased. In some embodiments, block 46 can direct execution to block 47 only where the predetermined minimum data rate has been changed since the last time block 46 was executed. In such embodiments, where the minimum data rate has not been changed then block 46 may proceed to block 49);
Jili does not disclose generating a resolution matrix based upon the input value, wherein the resolution matrix is indicative of a relative importance of each data channel of the first set of data channels;
disable, based on the calculation of which of the data channels of the first set of data channels to prioritize, a low priority data channel of the data channels from the first set of data channels to generate a second set of data channels smaller than the first set of data channels;
recalculate which of the data channels of the first set of data channels of the logging tool to prioritize to form a third set of data channels configured for transmitting another portion of measurements to use for at least one of the processing and/or the decision making based on the update on the formation model, and/or the drilling condition
However, Ma teaches generating a resolution matrix based upon the input value (Ma, [Page 7] Table 2, then using the resolution matrix algorithm to calculate the attribute importance), wherein the resolution matrix is indicative of a relative importance of each data channel (Ma, [Page 8] calculating the importance degree of each attribute according to the formula (9); representing the number of attribute contained in each item of the resolution matrix).
recalculate which of the data channels of the first set of data channels of the logging tool to prioritize to form a third set of data channels configured for transmitting another portion of measurements to use for at least one of the processing and/or the decision making based on the update on the formation model, and/or the drilling condition (Ma, [Page 7] Table 2, then using the resolution matrix algorithm to calculate the attribute importance, [Page 8] calculating the importance degree of each attribute according to the formula (9); representing the number of attribute contained in each item of the resolution matrix).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Jili in view of Ma in further view of Hall teaching for reasons similar to those discussed with respect to claim 1, as both references relate to prioritizing multiple data inputs in operational systems. Jili teaches selecting and transmitting measurements from logging tools based on priority to manage limited telemetry resources during drilling operations. Ma teaches generating a resolution matrix to evaluate the relative importance of multiple inputs and identify redundant information. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to integrate Jili and Ma’s teaching because it would allow the system to determine and recompute which logging tool data channels should be prioritized based on drilling information thereby improving efficiency.
Jili in view of Ma’s does not disclose disable, based on the calculation of which of the data channels of the first set of data channels to prioritize, a low priority data channel of the data channels from the first set of data channels to generate a second set of data channels smaller than the first set of data channels;
However, Hall teaches disable, based on the calculation of which of the data channels of the first set of data channels to prioritize (Hall, [Col. 2 Line 14-23] the priority may be changed at the point of creation by activating or deactivating the instruments. The priority may also be changed by adjusting a preamble before the data in a communication packet. The priority may be changed by adjusting the channel in which the data is sent. The priority may be changed by adjusting the order in which data is sent. Multiple data packets may have the same priority. Data packets may each have a unique priority. Data packets may have either a high priority or a low priority), a low priority data channel of the data channels from the first set of data channels to generate a second set of data channels smaller than the first set of data channels (Hall, [Col. 2 Line 24-42] the priority may be changed remotely or onsite by either a computer or a human user. The priority may also be changed by a downhole instrument, such as a downhole processing unit. Data packets of a lower priority may be filtered out by a downhole processing unit. Data packets of a lower priority may be stored within the tool downhole for later transmission or sent up in unused or latent transmission time and stored uphole for later use. Data packets of a lower priority may be erased downhole);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Jili in view of Ma and Hall teaching because Hall teaches selectively activating or deactivating instruments and filtering lower priority data packets to reduce unnecessary data transmission and improve telemetry efficiency. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that integrating Hall’s selective disabling and filtering techniques into the telemetry prioritization framework of Jili and the resolution matrix analysis of Ma would have improved management of limited telemetry bandwidth by reducing transmission of lower priority data channels and transmitting a reduced set of prioritized data channels.
Regarding Claim 20, Jili in view of Ma in further view of Hall discloses the system of claim 19, wherein the processing system is further configured to calculate which of the data channels of the firt set of data channels of the logging tool (Jili, [0005] A probe may provide any of a wide range of functions including, without limitation: data acquisition; measuring properties of the surrounding geological formations (e.g. well logging); measuring downhole conditions as drilling progresses; controlling downhole equipment; monitoring status of downhole equipment; directional drilling applications; measuring while drilling (MWD) applications; logging while drilling (LWD) applications; measuring properties of downhole fluids; and the like. A probe may comprise one or more systems for: telemetry of data to the surface; collecting data by way of sensors).
Jili does not disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to calculate which data to prioritize for multiple scenarios, wherein each scenario of the multiple scenarios has a different set of measurements corresponding thereto.
However, Ma teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to calculate which data to prioritize for multiple scenarios (Ma, [Page 8] calculating the importance degree of each attribute according to the formula (9); representing the number of attribute contained in each item of the resolution matrix; from the formula (9), the more the attribute appears in the resolution matrix, the greater the attribute importance, the greater the attribute importance of the attribute in the resolution matrix, the comprehensive importance ranking and the single attribute in the resolution matrix to find out the core attribute), wherein each scenario of the multiple scenarios has a different set of measurements corresponding thereto (Ma, [Page 4] it can predict the quality judging standard index of the product according to the real time production parameter, so as to on-line real-time guide process adjusting formulation and working condition parameter, [Page 4] it can simulate adjusting formulation and working condition to give proper recommendation formulation capable of ensuring reasonable quality parameter).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Jili in view of Ma’s in further view of Hall teaching because Jili teaches selecting and prioritizing data channels for transmission in a drilling environment, while Ma teaches evaluating the relative importance of inputs using a resolution matrix to identify redundancy and remove less meaningful data. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying Ma’s structured importance analysis within Jili’s prioritization framework would improve how data channels are selected by allowing the system to identify and eliminate channels that contribute little value when a cutoff threshold is met. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings to improve overall data efficiency and system performance.
Regarding Claim 21, Jili in view of Ma in further view of Hall disclose the system of claim 20, wherein the processing system is further configured to transmit an instruction to the logging tool (Jili, [0014] the protocol specifying protocol parameters including one or more of signal frequency, signal amplitude, and data encoding scheme; and configures the downhole EM telemetry system to transmit data to the uphole system using the protocol) to switch an operation of the logging tool in conjunction with the multiple scenarios to transmit the different set of measurements corresponding to each scenario during the operation of the logging tool (Jili, [0016] the method comprises determining a mode of the drilling operation and determining the protocol based at least in part on the mode of the drilling operation. For example, different protocols may be used depending on whether the wellbore is quiet (no flow and no rotation of the drill string), operating in a sliding mode (flow on but no or limited rotation of the drill string), or operating in a full on drilling mode (flow on and the drill string is rotated from the surface). In some embodiments, each mode of the drilling operation is assigned a pre-set protocol).
Regarding Claim 23, Jili in view of Ma in further of Hall teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to refrain from transmitting a measurement log associated with the low priority data channel (Hall, [Col. 2 Line 24-42] the priority may be changed remotely or onsite by either a computer or a human user. The priority may also be changed by a downhole instrument, such as a downhole processing unit. Data packets of a lower priority may be filtered out by a downhole processing unit. Data packets of a lower priority may be stored within the tool downhole for later transmission or sent up in unused or latent transmission time and stored uphole for later use. Data packets of a lower priority may be erased downhole).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Jili in view of Ma and Hall teaching because Hall teaches selectively activating or deactivating instruments and filtering lower priority data packets to reduce unnecessary data transmission and improve telemetry efficiency. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that integrating Hall’s selective disabling and filtering techniques into the telemetry prioritization framework of Jili and the resolution matrix analysis of Ma would have improved management of limited telemetry bandwidth by reducing transmission of lower priority data channels and transmitting a reduced set of prioritized data channels.
Response to Arguments
35 USC§ 101
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4-12, 14-21, and 23 of the 35 USC§ 101 rejection have been considered and the amendments with respect to claims 1, 12, and 19 addresses the rejection and are hereby withdrawn.
35 USC§ 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1, 4-12, and 14-21 of the 35 U.S.C. 103 Rejection have been considered but are moot and/or unpersuasive because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references (Jili in view of Ma in further view of Hall) being used in the current rejection.
Regarding the argument that the amended limitations in Claims 1, 12, and 19 the applicant argues that Jili in view of Ma does not disclose disabling data channels based on priority under the original limitation. This argument is unpersuasive because the newly cited portions of Jili in view of Ma in further view of Hall, teach or suggest the disputed limitations, as explained in the rejection above.
For at least these reasons, Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive and claims 1, 4-12, 14-21, and 23 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103. See rejection above for further detail.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IBRAHIM NAGI SHOHATEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/SHELBY A TURNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857