DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Monsrud et al. (US2012/0291815A1).
Re claims 1-2, Monsrud et al. teach a 2-1 or 3-1 acidic composition for use in both the detergent and the rinse aid (paragraph 205) for ware washing, the acidic composition having at least one acid source (paragraph 43), at least one rinse surfactant (paragraph 47) and at least one solidification aid and/or water (paragraphs 254, 255, Table 4), with a pH of less than 6 (paragraph 40), and rinsing the rinse aid composition from the surface with a water source (paragraphs 193-194). Re claim 1, paragraph 77 of the instant specification teaches hydroxycarboxylic acids include citric, lactic, gluconic, acetic acid and alkali metal salts. Applicant is directed to paragraph 39 of Monstrud et al. which teach acid sources include citric, gluconic acids and mixtures thereof. There is a clear teaching of using citric acid for use in the acid compositions. Monsrud clearly teaches that citric acid is particularly well suited for use in the acid compositions (paragraph 39). Re claim 3, refer to paragraph 207. Re claim 4, refer to paragraph 205 for example. Re claim 5, refer to paragraph 143. Re claim 6, refer to 270. Re claim 8, refer to paragraph 319. Re claims 9-10, refer to paragraph 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monsrud et al. (US2012/0291815A1) and further in view of Andersson et al. (EP0467028A1).
Monsrud et al. teach the invention substantially as claimed with the exception of softened water source. Andersson et al. teach a process of softening treated water used in a household washing machine used for washing dishes. Page 2 teaches the effectiveness of the surfactants in the dishwashing process is inhibited with the use of hardened water, as the increase in the concentration of calcium ions in the water requires a greater quantity of detergent to obtain the desired washing results. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Monsrud et al. to include softened water, as taught by Andersson et al. for purposes of reducing the amount of calcium ions in the water, thereby allowing for an efficient and economical means to decrease detergent concentrations.
Response to Arguments
9. The rejection of the claims as being anticipated by Monsrud et al. is maintained for the reasons recited above. Applicant’s arguments are directed to failure of Monsrud et al. to teach the newly amended limitations directed to citric acid and/or lactic acid. Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive for the following reasons. Applicant is directed to paragraph 77 of the instant specification which teaches hydroxycarboxylic acids including citric, lactic, gluconic, acetic acid and alkali metal salts. Applicant is directed to paragraph 39 of Monsrud et al. which teach additional acids that are particularly well suited include citric, gluconic acids and mixtures thereof. It is also noted that claim 1 of Monsrud et al. recites citric acid. Applicant continues to argue that Monstrud teaches a wide variety of acids, with preferred acids being sulfuric acid derivatives. Applicant argues that there is no teaching out of a broad list of genus of acids taught by Monsrud to choose an acid source comprising citric acid and/or lactic acid. Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive as Monstrud et al. also teaches additional acids, such as citric acid, which are “well suited” for use in the acid composition and further recites citric acid in claim 1. Additionally, a reference may be relied upon for all that it teaches, including non-preferred embodiments because a non-preferred portion of a reference is just as significant as the preferred portion in assessing the patentability of the claims, Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 10 USPQ2d 1843. “A known or obvious composition does not become patentable simply because it has been described as somewhat inferior to some other product for the same use”, In re Gurley, 31 USPQ2d 1130. Re claim 7, no additional arguments have been presented, and therefore, the rejections of the claims as being anticipated and/or obvious over Monstrud et al. are maintained.
Sharidan Carrillo
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/Sharidan Carrillo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711 bsc