DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 03/31/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/31/2026.
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
2. No Information Disclosure Statement has been submitted for review.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5 recites a period after cm and it is not clear if the rest of the claim are limitations that are part of the claim or not.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 3 recites the broad recitation chemotherapeutic agents, and the claim also recites including gemcitabine hydrochloride, paclitaxel or its combinations which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. It is unclear if any chemotherapeutic agent or these specific ones meet this claim. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner interprets the claim to require gemcitabine hydrochloride, paclitaxel or combinations.
Claim 7 recites adapted to provide a time-released drug elution profile of gemcitabine hydrochloride up to 6 months. It is not clear if the recitation of adapted implies additionally altering the structure of the stent or not. For the purpose of examination, this claim is being interpreted such that any stent with the structure of claim 1 that contains gemcitabine hydrochloride meets the claim.
Claims 8-9 recite adapted to be deployed or implanted in a porcine bile duct and it is not clear if the recitation of adapted implies additionally altering the structure of the stent or not. For the purpose of examination these claims are treated as intended use of the composition and the SEMS is deployed endoscopically in porcine bile duct or implanted in a porcine bile duct via an endoscopic procedure and retain stent patency for a duration of 5 months.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frank et al. (US 2007/0293927).
Frank et al. (US 2007/0293927) (hereinafter Frank et al.) disclose a self-expanding stent with polymeric filaments intertwined with struts at specific locations along the stent (Fig 1-6, paras 0018, 0054-0056 0072, claim 29). Frank et al. disclose functionalization with nanofibers (para 0074 and Figs 6B and 6C, 0092-0093). The stent contains bioactive agents (para 0094). The polymeric filaments include polycaprolactone (para 00085). FIGs 6B and 6C show intertwined and knotted at the ends.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frank et al. (US 2007/0293927).
Frank et al. (US 2007/0293927) (hereinafter Frank et al.) disclose the stent contains bioactive ingredients that include paclitaxel (para 0131). Frank et al. disclose that the polymeric filaments have a diameter from 10 -1000 micron (para 0022).
The specific combination of features claimed is disclosed within the broad generic ranges taught by the reference but such “picking and choosing” within several variables does not necessarily give rise to anticipation. Corning Glass Works v. Sumitomo Elec., 868 F.2d 1251, 1262 (Fed. Circ. 1989).
However, it must be remembered that “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious”. KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S,Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious”, the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007). The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742.
Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have selected various combinations of the chemotherapeutic agents such as paclitaxel to arrive at compositions yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.
6. Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Frank et al. (US 2007/0293927) and Koyakutty et al. (US 20140363484).
Frank et al. has been discussed supra and disclose that the polymeric filaments have a diameter from 10 -1000 micron (para 0022). The nanofiber diameter is not disclosed.
Koyakutty et al. (US 20140363484) (hereinafter Koyakutty et al.) disclose polymeric fibers having diameter of about 10 nm-50,000 nm (para 0026). The rate of hydrolysis may be controlled by factors such as diameter for controlled release of the therapeutic (para 0030). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select the desired nanofiber diameter to control release of therapeutic. One would have been motivated to do so because the rate of hydrolysis is controlled by factors such as diameter and thus tailer the desired release profile.
7. With regards to claim 5, this claim recites a period in the claim therefore is rejected under 112 however, the claim subject matter would be allowable once the 112 is overcome. US 20170231995 disclose gemcitabine for treatment of cancer where gemcitabine is administered at doses of 1000 mg/m2 (para 0647). It does not teach the dosage is between 5 and 10 mg/cm of length of the SEMS.
CORRESPONDENCE
/DANAH AL-AWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615